1 photo
Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820

Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820

MPN: OPP1820
3.6 from 45 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hedge Trimmers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ryobi

Reviews

Previous
Next
ken
kenHunter Region, NSW
  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Great tool very user friendly

published

Purchased in April 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sc3d
Sc3d Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great purchase, heavier than expected

published

Great tool! Works well with a standard ryobi 18v battery.

It’s a little hard to manoeuvre if you’re short, but you get used to it. Also heavier than expected.

Easy to put together as well.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $119.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Hedge Trimmers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jorgejio
Jorgejio
  • 28 reviews
  • 20 likes

For what it is, surprisingly good. Some design weaknesses.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No
Lou
LouMelbourne
  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Handy Long Reach Pruner

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kerry
Kerry
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Pole pruner use - without the pole?

published

I have a Ryobi Pole Pruner ... but for some areas I need to be able to use the pruner without the pole. Does anyone know how to connect the pruner directly to the battery section without the pole in between? I don't wish to go an purchase another product eg chainsaw.

Purchased in July 2020.

Incentivised Review No
Paul B.
Paul B.Hunter Region, NSW

Terrible service from Ryobi

published

Lost white cap off oil tank & it can't be replaced because they released a new modal & changed the size of the cap so it doesn't fit the OPP 1820 model.

Purchased for $200.00.

Incentivised Review No
Dave
DavePerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Dear Ryobi, useful piece of equipment and works. However, user manual is a joke, a cartoon with no words? Disappointed

published

Dear Ryobi, useful piece of equipment and works. However, user manual is a joke. l would be embarrassed to produce something like this, a cartoon with no words? Very Disappointed

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $198.00.

Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next
Paul
PaulSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

Great idea but build quality seems average

published

I purchased this a few months ago because the price was good, i've had good success with other Ryobi ONe+ tools, and already had the batteries. This Pole saw is a great idea and so far has worked fine for me, however the chain oil seems to leak out all over the place and runs down the pole, handle, motor, etc. It also doesn't seem to be oiling the chain from what i can see which will lead to premature chain failure down the track too. I think this has some serious design flaws that need to be rectified. As this has the 6yr Ryobi warranty i have a bad feeling i may be needed it sooner than later. But time will tell!

Purchased in August 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Hedge Trimmers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Hibullet
HibulletForster
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

This Faulty Product Remains on Sale

published

Purchased this product a few days ago. On first use it had oil running down the pole. A quick search has revealed this is a common occurrence.
I spoke to Ryobi's technical support today and drew their attention to these reviews. They claimed they had no knowledge of the problem. I was advised to pull it apart and see if I could locate the problem.
My request to have them look into the matter and call me back was rejected. I was told if I wasn't prepared to pull it apart I should return it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Denito
DenitoMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

OK for the money if you can fix it!

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018

Potential is great

published

I found the oil ran out of it all down the handle it did not appear to get on the chain. There was a piece of sponge in the oil compartment should that have stayed or be removed. It did work ok . I was concerned about the oil on the battery contacts.

Date PurchasedSept 2018

Other Hedge Trimmers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Matt Hylton
Matt HyltonAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great. However it’s got a little flaw.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fiona292
Fiona292Canberra
  • 12 reviews
  • 16 likes

Does the job but not as easily as I’d hoped.

published

The pruner has a central extension that you can remove, I can only use it in the shorter version as it’s pretty top heavy, the male in the house has less difficulty but agrees that it’s not well balanced. I can see so many ways to better design this tool, it’s a shame Ryobi missed the opportunity. Regardless, it does the job well and runs fairly quietly.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Heath
HeathBrisbane
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Surprisingly Capable.

published

I purchased the Ryobi Pole Pruner to tame all that was difficult to reach in a Queensland yard. The product is a surprisingly capable little pruner. As others have mentioned, it does have a drinking problem. Do keep bar oil by side. And like all chainsaw the chain does require regular sharpening to perform well. Very happy with the purchase, ideal for domestic pruning purposes.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
bzyb
bzybaustralia

Easy to use and manage , some disappointments.

published

Uses a lot of chain bar oil, this runs down the handle and dips out the front of the chain,,,, The chain requires tighten/adjusting often... only had the pruner 3 weeks appears to need a new chain I will check with my local Bunnings store next week,.. Easy to use and manage handles the pruning I need to do well, battery has good life .Lady gardener..

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Questions & Answers

Ray H.
Ray H.asked

Can you purchase an Allen key for the pole chain saw

2 answers
ken
ken

Most allen keys are either metric or imperial and can be bought in various lengths and configurations from Bunnings or hardware stores so if you contact Ryobi maybe they can tell you what size and type you need. Mt guess would be its metric.
If the unit is under 6 years old they may replace it on the extended warrantee if you registerd it when you bought it or have the receipt copy. Being an engineer now retired I haven't dismantled these but it should be easy enough to fix. using a standard key.

Ray H.
Ray H.

Thanks Ken yes realise that but getting 1 with totally different sized ends might be a mission
Cheers

Thomas Cross
Thomas Crossasked

Appears to have blown a fuse on polesaw
What do I check
How can I fix it?

No answers
JSB
JSBasked

Opp18 pruner doesn't match hedge trimmer pole OHT1850S

2 answers
ken
ken

I only have one Ryobi 18v pole and it fits both the hedge trim and chain saw without a problem. I bought the pole with the chain saw attached first then after I found it does such a great job I bought the hedge attachment and that also works on the same pole.

JSB
JSB

Thanks Ken. The Opp18 pruner is 2021. The hedge trimmer pole OHT1850S is 2016. They have changed the connection a bit after only 5 years. Maybe you bought yours at the same time?

See all Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 questions

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryHedge Trimmers
Power SourceBattery
Weight4.1kg
Price (RRP)$179
Blade Length203mm
Replaced byRyobi 18v One+ Pole Pruner OPP1850
ManualDownload manual
  • MPN: OPP1820

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.