??!
1 photo
Ryobi 500W RLT5030

Ryobi 500W RLT5030

2.9 from 9 reviews

Reviews

2.9

9 reviews
5
(0)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Previous
Next
Grumpy A.

Grumpy A.South East Queensland, QLD

Does the job...

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Aamirch657

Aamirch657Sydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

3 in 1 my edger does best job

published

Whipper sniper is good,
I was given a 0.6 mm string line and it just kept on breaking.
then I tried 1.6mm string line and it works OK with that as well. Only issue is that it doesn't comes with a kill switch which caused an injury. Does the job well for $89. Plus comes with a 4 year replacemnet warranty.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$89.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Grass Type Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers

Rubbish. Dont buy

published

I've had this trimmer for more than a year and it has been a terrible experience. Line tears off after 15 seconds of use and takes couple minutes to set it back up. Buy one with proper line not this cassette crappy one

Purchased in May 2017 at Sydney Wide Chiropractic for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Grass Type Short grass
See all answers
Electric Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 500W RLT5030 compares to other Electric Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ross

RossSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

A Ripper Whipper Snipper !

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
dialal

dialalAU

  • 2 reviews

use of

published

quite a good product, Only problem is that I have not been able to find a suitable harness to support the weight.
It becomes rather heavy to use but it is a useful tool . The replacement spools are easily fitted although are a little costly overall it is a good tool.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Ajay

AjayAuckland

Trimmer Line Feedback ?

published

As replacement is for 1.5mm, can i use 3mm instead ? any suggestions ? will it hold well ?
as the power is enough for my garden, just wanted to have some suggestions on the trimmer line anyone have any feedback on this ? please advise thanks very much. Regards

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Damodon

DamodonBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Terrible. At best a rort.

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Mainspring729

Mainspring729Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Lots of grunt

published

Cuts well with a lot of power. I feel the line will wear out too quickly relative to the 18.8 V battery unit my daughter has. But, the replacements spools seem inexpensive enough ... however, I guess that depends where you buy them.
The mode where one edges is not as good as the trimming mode.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Peter Z

Peter Z

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Line auto feeding like milking

published

It's powerful and cutting nicely. But few minutes will run out all roll of line. You had take time to clean up all short line rubbish in the grass. It's a milking machine I believed.

Electric Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 500W RLT5030 compares to other Electric Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Carl C

Carl Casked

line keeps unwinding when operating how do I set it

2 answers
Aamirch657
Aamirch657

Idea is to wind it really tightly. Use atleast 1.6 mm thick line. That helped me

Ross
Ross

Hi Carl First of all, get the correct line for the trimmer which is 1.6mm twist Powerfit. Second, get the right length: A good way is to measure it from fingertip to fingertip across your body with arms opened out, then using the first line as a measure cut another exactly the same. Thirdly: Wind both lines on at the same time making sure they are anchored into the holes in the spindle and MOST important wind them on in the correct direction. There are arrows printed on the outside of the spool. Fourthly : Wind them on tight and line the ends up with the eyelet holes and pull them through to the outside. Hope this helps. PS There are instructions on YouTube as well.

dialal

dialalasked

is there a harness to fit this model as it is rather heavy to use?

1 answer
Mainspring729
Mainspring729

Not that I am aware of.

Ajay

Ajayasked

As replacement is for 1.5mm, can i use 3mm instead ? any suggestions ? will it hold well ?

2 answers
Mainspring729
Mainspring729

I don't now, and would ask at Bunnings.

Damodon
Damodon

I would avoid trying to use a different line. I was told that they 'should' work but when I tried it, I found it to be an expensive failed experiment.

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Other Electric Whipper Snippers

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.