??!
1 photo
Ryobi R18SV7

Ryobi R18SV7

MPN: R18SV7
3.8 from 22 reviews

Vacuum Cleaners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of vacuum cleaner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.8

22 reviews
5
(9)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (15)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (15)
  • Pet OwnerYes (9) · No (7)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (16)
Previous
Next
Madmatt

MadmattHamilton

  • 2 reviews

Fatally flawed product though has some good points

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
Teresa L.

Teresa L.Darling Downs, QLD

Very good and affordable

published

I use my Ryobi stick vacuum cleaner on tiles and carpets. So more convenient than my regular vacuur cleaner regarding no cords and easy to use, especially with exstra fittings and light - easy to reach small areas and under beds where my regular vacuum doesn't fit. As we got plenty of Ryobi products and extra batteries, I never run out power.

Purchased in May 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Briana

BrianaSoutheast, SA

Worst stick vac I have ever used.

published

Worst stick vac I have ever used. after only about 30 seconds of use it looses suction and then spits out everything it's already sucked. I don't believe any of the positive reviews on here as it definitely does not have a high suck even right at the start when empty.

Purchased for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Ryobi R18SV7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lea

LeaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pretty handy

published

Tile, floorboards and carpet were all vacuumed well with this, best if you have a couple of batteries to swap over half way through and empty it just to keep it working at its optimum. I have a Dyson that I normally use and this did a fantastic job for the money. The power head is great and it’s fantastic for under furniture. The only thing I would say is the attachments could fit a little better but in many ways more useful than my Dyson. Very happy with this as a product.

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Brad

BradMelb

  • 18 reviews
  • 9 likes

Handy vac

published

Bought not long ago and was impressed by suction. Used regularly with a 5amp battery.
A little on heavy side so prob better with a 2amp battery for weight.
Lot cheaper than Dyson with comparable effectiveness according to Choice.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
See all answers
Lolitha R.

Lolitha R.Southwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

wow. This is so powerful.

published

I think people complaining about not powerful should upgrade their battery as 5AH battery and upward gives more power to perform. This gets all the tiny particles in carpet. Yes it's bit noisy like a jet engine but this is the tool for me. Only cons would be bin size.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
B Rett

B Rett

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don’t believe the positive reviews

published

Vinyl planking & low-pile carpet. It became evident in the first few weeks that we had been duped by the online ratings as this vacuum did not live up to the hype.
This unit should come with complimentary hearing protection!
On-board tools are not very versatile, the wand connections very difficult to pull apart.
When you turn it off and pick it up, all dirt stuck in the head unit falls back onto the ground.
Flimsy and not durable, spinning turbo head no longer spins, meaning it has limited suction ability
The only good thing about this stick vacuum was the battery life.
Did I mention noisy?!

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum
See all answers
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

A great cordless stick vac and the ability to use my Ryobi One batteries is icing on the cake

published

This is a very good stick vac. Replaced a Hoover stick vac with this vac and it is chalk and cheese. Picks up way more stuff out of the carpet. Cleaning out the dust canister is easy. Cleaning the filter is a bit more effort but straightforward. Using the Ryobi One batteries is great - if I run out of juice half way around the house I just slip on the second battery and keep going. Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Gavin B

Gavin BSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good product

published

Purchased this stick vac about 12 months ago and use it on all sorts of surfaces in our cleaning businesses.
Positives are ease of use and dual mode power head (on/off), although a little heavy with a 6AHR battery. It does CGD and loop pile carpets with ease and switch off the power head for hard surfaces. Battery changing is awesome and emptying the box is easy. Parts are easy to get.
Negatives are the noise is a little piercing and loud. The entrance to the filter box is a bit small and sometimes get blocked. Not great on really thick carpets. Performs better than most other stick vacs in the price bracket and using the batteries from the other 18v one+ Range is a bonus.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Ryobi R18SV7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Daniel M.

Daniel M.South East Queensland, QLD

Best stick vacuum we have used

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Goodie

GoodieHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Still don't like stick vacs

published

I've used heaps of stick vacs and this is one of the better ones, but still not fussed on it.
It's good for running over the floors daily. If you have a dog, it will soon fill up.
It's fairly noisy and not very pleasant audibly.
Don't bother using on carpet.
It's useless without the power head too e.g. trying to vacuum the car.
It does last a while on a charge, and the option to swap out batteries is great.
At the price through, wish I'd bought a cheaper stick vac and a ryobi shop vac for doing the cars

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$289.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
AYam

AYamNSW, 2125

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Solid Vacuum cleaner

published

Purchased in October 2019 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
HayleyM

HayleyM

  • 4 reviews

Better battery life than a dyson

published

I bought this for my work in real estate. I can keep it in my car and use it here and there and charge the battery once a week.
Most of them only last 20 mins.
I did upgrade and buy the larger battery instead though.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
KateA

KateAVictoria

Wouldn't bother

published

Apart from what seems to be good suction, there is not anything I like about this vacuum. Firstly, it is very heavy. Secondly, the handle is too short and cannot be extended. Lastly, does not perform on rug. I am taking it back for a refund

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
DeniseS

DeniseSLaunceston

  • 10 reviews
  • 17 likes

Very good for the money

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$199.00.

Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Ryobi R18SV7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Svetlana

Svetlana

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Lightweight and easy to use.

published

I really like this vacuum cleaner, it's great for stairs, great for my car because it's cordless and can be made into a hand held vac. It has a brush and crevice tool with an attachment to keep them altogether in the stick so you don't lose them. There is a stand so that you can create a charging station and the battery last longer than a lot of other cordless vacs. It has enough guts to do my carpet and then slides easily over my tiles for that quick clean.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
See all answers
Michael G.

Michael G.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Highy Recommend

published

It may be abit more heavier and abit more louder but it puts our Dyson to Shame. Since day dot from coming out of the box the Ryobi R18SV7 has preformed far better than it's revel Dyson. Recommend to everyone.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$260.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all answers
Paddlepop

Paddlepop

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great power tools but their Stick vacuum falls short.

published

I purchased a Ryobi R18SV7 a month ago and have found it to be disappointing.
I have a hard floor throughout my home.
Suction I give it only 2 out of 5.
Vacuuming of rugs I give it 0 out of 5 as the slightest bit of fluff stops the brush from spinning.

Most of my power tools that I use are Ryobi and can't fault them which is why I bought it.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
S Tam

S TamSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 25 likes

Loud, but powerful

published
Date PurchasedNov 2018
Mick

Mick

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Heavy and noisy

published

We bought this vacuum to use for cleaning the car and our caravan and ended up taking it back. Full praise to Bunnings tho for the no hassle return of it .
The vacume was very heavy and became hard to hold after a while when cleaning the car, the weight wasn't much of a problem when using in full vacume length.
The vacume makes a loud ear piercing niose constantly that was impossible to deal with.

All up very disappointed it is no comparison to our basic Dyson stick vac for the same sort of $

This is the firs Ryobi one+ product ive been not happy with as i have many and have usually full praise for the brand

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Denise H

Denise Hasked

Overall I am not unhappy with the Ryobi on carpet.. it seems to fluff up the carpet nicely and is easy to use.. (much better than having a cord).. but I really struggle with getting the right combination of the filter and pre-filter in.. are there any sites to look at how to install? It needs cleaning out every time I use it, so it would be great to get this sorted?

3 answers
Paddlepop
Paddlepop

There is a YouTube video.
I had problems the first time also.

S Tam
S Tam

Hi Denise,

Mine came pre-installed... And you are not supposed to wash the paper filter but can wash the prefilter. I have actually taken it apart many times to wash the plastic dust box as well with no problem.

Have a look at the picture on your manual and see if you can find clues. If things fit nicely, then you should be on the right track. If you have to force things in, then chances are you're probably not doing the right thing.

Denise H
Denise H

Didn’t get a manual, would never wash a paper filter and know not to force. Can someone give me the link please?

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.