??!
1 photo
Ryobi R18SV7

Ryobi R18SV7

MPN: R18SV7
3.7 from 25 reviews

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

3.6

11 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (11)
  • Pet OwnerYes (7) · No (3)
  • Battery Life
    4.6 (11)
Previous
Next
Michael M

Michael MHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ryobi v Dyson

published

We had a similar Dyson stick vacuum and was just say "Average" and the battery power did not last long only around 20 minutes.
The Ryobi is heavy but you adapt. The battery lasts long enough to do the whole house.
50% of the floor is timber and the other 50% is slate and a few rugs.
For this type of flooring a very good product.
With cleaning, I just remove the whole canister each time, remove the filters, empty canister and then use my Ryobi battery blower to clean the filters.
To easy!!

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Brett

BrettSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Its Just Bad

published

I had high hopes because I love all of my Ryobi gear but this isnt just below the mark, its about 100 yards off it. It doesnt pick up a quarter of the stuff my old $140 Vax did. It just moves things around so it takes triple the time to vacuum.

Every vacuum has a high pitch but this thing is next level.

The catcher needs to be at least double the size

Dont even try using this thing on tiles.

Nice try Ryobi but stick to power tools.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Madmatt

MadmattHamilton

  • 2 reviews

Fatally flawed product though has some good points

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Ryobi R18SV7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lea

LeaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pretty handy

published

Tile, floorboards and carpet were all vacuumed well with this, best if you have a couple of batteries to swap over half way through and empty it just to keep it working at its optimum. I have a Dyson that I normally use and this did a fantastic job for the money. The power head is great and it’s fantastic for under furniture. The only thing I would say is the attachments could fit a little better but in many ways more useful than my Dyson. Very happy with this as a product.

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
B Rett

B Rett

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don’t believe the positive reviews

published

Vinyl planking & low-pile carpet. It became evident in the first few weeks that we had been duped by the online ratings as this vacuum did not live up to the hype.
This unit should come with complimentary hearing protection!
On-board tools are not very versatile, the wand connections very difficult to pull apart.
When you turn it off and pick it up, all dirt stuck in the head unit falls back onto the ground.
Flimsy and not durable, spinning turbo head no longer spins, meaning it has limited suction ability
The only good thing about this stick vacuum was the battery life.
Did I mention noisy?!

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

A great cordless stick vac and the ability to use my Ryobi One batteries is icing on the cake

published

This is a very good stick vac. Replaced a Hoover stick vac with this vac and it is chalk and cheese. Picks up way more stuff out of the carpet. Cleaning out the dust canister is easy. Cleaning the filter is a bit more effort but straightforward. Using the Ryobi One batteries is great - if I run out of juice half way around the house I just slip on the second battery and keep going. Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Goodie

GoodieHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Still don't like stick vacs

published

I've used heaps of stick vacs and this is one of the better ones, but still not fussed on it.
It's good for running over the floors daily. If you have a dog, it will soon fill up.
It's fairly noisy and not very pleasant audibly.
Don't bother using on carpet.
It's useless without the power head too e.g. trying to vacuum the car.
It does last a while on a charge, and the option to swap out batteries is great.
At the price through, wish I'd bought a cheaper stick vac and a ryobi shop vac for doing the cars

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$289.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
AYam

AYamNSW, 2125

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

Solid Vacuum cleaner

published

Purchased in October 2019 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
HayleyM

HayleyM

  • 4 reviews

Better battery life than a dyson

published

I bought this for my work in real estate. I can keep it in my car and use it here and there and charge the battery once a week.
Most of them only last 20 mins.
I did upgrade and buy the larger battery instead though.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Ryobi R18SV7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KateA

KateAVictoria

Wouldn't bother

published

Apart from what seems to be good suction, there is not anything I like about this vacuum. Firstly, it is very heavy. Secondly, the handle is too short and cannot be extended. Lastly, does not perform on rug. I am taking it back for a refund

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Michael G.

Michael G.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Highy Recommend

published

It may be abit more heavier and abit more louder but it puts our Dyson to Shame. Since day dot from coming out of the box the Ryobi R18SV7 has preformed far better than it's revel Dyson. Recommend to everyone.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$260.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
See all Ryobi R18SV7 reviews

Questions & Answers

Denise H

Denise Hasked

Overall I am not unhappy with the Ryobi on carpet.. it seems to fluff up the carpet nicely and is easy to use.. (much better than having a cord).. but I really struggle with getting the right combination of the filter and pre-filter in.. are there any sites to look at how to install? It needs cleaning out every time I use it, so it would be great to get this sorted?

3 answers
Paddlepop
Paddlepop

There is a YouTube video.
I had problems the first time also.

S Tam
S Tam

Hi Denise,

Mine came pre-installed... And you are not supposed to wash the paper filter but can wash the prefilter. I have actually taken it apart many times to wash the plastic dust box as well with no problem.

Have a look at the picture on your manual and see if you can find clues. If things fit nicely, then you should be on the right track. If you have to force things in, then chances are you're probably not doing the right thing.

Denise H
Denise H

Didn’t get a manual, would never wash a paper filter and know not to force. Can someone give me the link please?

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.