??!
1 photo
Ryobi R18SV7

Ryobi R18SV7

MPN: R18SV7
3.7 from 25 reviews

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

3.6

9 reviews
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (8)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    2.1 (8)
  • Pet OwnerYes · No (9)
  • Battery Life
    3.7 (9)
Previous
Next
Michael M

Michael MHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ryobi v Dyson

published

We had a similar Dyson stick vacuum and was just say "Average" and the battery power did not last long only around 20 minutes.
The Ryobi is heavy but you adapt. The battery lasts long enough to do the whole house.
50% of the floor is timber and the other 50% is slate and a few rugs.
For this type of flooring a very good product.
With cleaning, I just remove the whole canister each time, remove the filters, empty canister and then use my Ryobi battery blower to clean the filters.
To easy!!

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Puk

PukSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Too many -neg’s to make a +pos

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Tiles and Wood
Briana

BrianaSoutheast, SA

Worst stick vac I have ever used.

published

Worst stick vac I have ever used. after only about 30 seconds of use it looses suction and then spits out everything it's already sucked. I don't believe any of the positive reviews on here as it definitely does not have a high suck even right at the start when empty.

Purchased for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Ryobi R18SV7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad

BradMelb

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Handy vac

published

Bought not long ago and was impressed by suction. Used regularly with a 5amp battery.
A little on heavy side so prob better with a 2amp battery for weight.
Lot cheaper than Dyson with comparable effectiveness according to Choice.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Lolitha R.

Lolitha R.Southwest, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

wow. This is so powerful.

published

I think people complaining about not powerful should upgrade their battery as 5AH battery and upward gives more power to perform. This gets all the tiny particles in carpet. Yes it's bit noisy like a jet engine but this is the tool for me. Only cons would be bin size.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
B Rett

B Rett

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don’t believe the positive reviews

published

Vinyl planking & low-pile carpet. It became evident in the first few weeks that we had been duped by the online ratings as this vacuum did not live up to the hype.
This unit should come with complimentary hearing protection!
On-board tools are not very versatile, the wand connections very difficult to pull apart.
When you turn it off and pick it up, all dirt stuck in the head unit falls back onto the ground.
Flimsy and not durable, spinning turbo head no longer spins, meaning it has limited suction ability
The only good thing about this stick vacuum was the battery life.
Did I mention noisy?!

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum
Tony

TonySydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

A great cordless stick vac and the ability to use my Ryobi One batteries is icing on the cake

published

This is a very good stick vac. Replaced a Hoover stick vac with this vac and it is chalk and cheese. Picks up way more stuff out of the carpet. Cleaning out the dust canister is easy. Cleaning the filter is a bit more effort but straightforward. Using the Ryobi One batteries is great - if I run out of juice half way around the house I just slip on the second battery and keep going. Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Gavin B

Gavin BSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good product

published

Purchased this stick vac about 12 months ago and use it on all sorts of surfaces in our cleaning businesses.
Positives are ease of use and dual mode power head (on/off), although a little heavy with a 6AHR battery. It does CGD and loop pile carpets with ease and switch off the power head for hard surfaces. Battery changing is awesome and emptying the box is easy. Parts are easy to get.
Negatives are the noise is a little piercing and loud. The entrance to the filter box is a bit small and sometimes get blocked. Not great on really thick carpets. Performs better than most other stick vacs in the price bracket and using the batteries from the other 18v one+ Range is a bonus.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$279.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Svetlana

Svetlana

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Lightweight and easy to use.

published

I really like this vacuum cleaner, it's great for stairs, great for my car because it's cordless and can be made into a hand held vac. It has a brush and crevice tool with an attachment to keep them altogether in the stick so you don't lose them. There is a stand so that you can create a charging station and the battery last longer than a lot of other cordless vacs. It has enough guts to do my carpet and then slides easily over my tiles for that quick clean.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Ryobi R18SV7 compares to other Stick Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Ryobi R18SV7 reviews

Questions & Answers

Denise H

Denise Hasked

Overall I am not unhappy with the Ryobi on carpet.. it seems to fluff up the carpet nicely and is easy to use.. (much better than having a cord).. but I really struggle with getting the right combination of the filter and pre-filter in.. are there any sites to look at how to install? It needs cleaning out every time I use it, so it would be great to get this sorted?

3 answers
Paddlepop
Paddlepop

There is a YouTube video.
I had problems the first time also.

S Tam
S Tam

Hi Denise,

Mine came pre-installed... And you are not supposed to wash the paper filter but can wash the prefilter. I have actually taken it apart many times to wash the plastic dust box as well with no problem.

Have a look at the picture on your manual and see if you can find clues. If things fit nicely, then you should be on the right track. If you have to force things in, then chances are you're probably not doing the right thing.

Denise H
Denise H

Didn’t get a manual, would never wash a paper filter and know not to force. Can someone give me the link please?

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.