??!
1 photo
Ryobi RBC52FSBBN

Ryobi RBC52FSBBN

MPN: RBC52FSBBN
2.4 from 13 reviews

See the Best Battery Whipper Snippers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
2
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
6

Rubbish!

published

I'm taking back my 2nd for a refund. So many things have gone wrong. I've lost all faith in ryobi products. Never, ever, never again will I buy ryobi rubbish

Purchased in February 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Product is used: Occasionally
Grass Type Tall grass
See all answers

It works ok

published

After reading some of the comments .i can see why alot of people are not impressed .had my for 4 months now and yes had all the problems everyone has mentioned. ..loose handlebars. Hard to start .shaft coming loose ....and to top it off tryed to start it today but would not going after afew checks got no spark ..new plug still nothing ..checked kill switch its working checked spark with a multimeter dead as a door nail.
Back burning. ...

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Philip

PhilipGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Powerful brush cutter but some issues

published

The tri-blade does a good job on blackberries.
There is an issue with the quick release clip ... it comes away with a barest of knocks when you least expect it.
Overall, a good machine. Easy to start. I prefer the "fixed line" to the bump feed line trimmer attachment. It seems to provide a stronger line that way. The harness is quite good and although the machine is fairly heavy, the harness makes it feel better than some smaller units I have tried that have only a shoulder strap. I recommend the Ryobi helmet with mesh visor and built-in earmuffs - very good noise damping.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Value for money

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Ryobi RBC52FSBBN Whipper Snipper

published

Bought the whipper snipper at Bunnings. Started okay and used the blade already on the machine. It kept snuffing every couple of minutes. Very frustrating so I took it back thinking maybe it's just a one off dud because I wanted a heavy duty snipper. Replaced it with the same machine with same results only the motor would backfire when it snuffed. The harness clip keeps undoing and awkward to redo given the weight of the machine and the blade sounded like the bearing were going to explode. The Ryobi snipper model is nothing but a heap of garbage. Fortunately Bunnings are okay with returns although I'm out of pocket given the distance I have to travel from a country area.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Don’t buy waste of money

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017

excellent

published

had a fire risk assessment done on my hilly 5achre block. got a quote for $1000 to clean up all combustables within 30m of home. so i got an rbc52fsbbn and did the work myself. once i got the hang of starting it up the machine exceeded all my expectations, ripping through grasses, rapeseed, and boxthorn.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Ordinary.

published

I had used the cheapest brand that Bunnings sell, and is better than this. This machine leaves you ears ringing after 5 mins, even when approved muffs are used. Vibration in motor and shaft bad. When you are 60 years old, and been around a bit, you get a gut feeling that this isn't safe. I was going to spend twice as much on a better brand, totally regret changing my mind. it would be hard to prove that noise and vibration didn't comply with Aust Standards

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Terry H

Terry HKingaroy

Do Not Buy

published

Wanted a heavy duty brush cutter. Purchased the Ryobi Brush Cutter from Bunnings. A cow to put together especially the handle bar. Used for about one tank. Now will not run if not flat out (Dangerous as head is spinning). Stops when you lift it from the horizontal. Really disappointed and will have to try and get a refund. Haven't got the Receipt.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Ryobi RBC52FSBBN - Head and Shaft Turning

published

Here here having the problem of the head and shaft turning with the locking pin not remaining locked even under minimal pressure.
Goes okay and the thri blade does the job but why doesn't the head remain fixed in position keeps turning 45 deg. This needs fixing as it is a serious issue.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Lofty

LoftyAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Powerful but not balanced

published

I've had the 52cc for 6 months. Done black berry and thick weeds . About 12-14 hrs work over that time.
The motor is fine very powerful, but the issue is in. The shalt. It is a split shalt and this is the weak spot. All the stress is at this point and the connector pin fails in the hole.
This is a serious design fault and makes the unit dangerous.
I'm on my 3rd replacement from Bunnings . Ryobi make it with a single shaft and it be a sensational machine
Putting it together is ok and it runs flat out for 1 hour no worry. It is heavy but it's a big unit
With the 3 finger blade it cuts all brush
Also need a better shoulder strap. The harness is shocking

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Lofty
Lofty

Got a replacement, now has carbi issues. Can't win


  • Verified purchase

All promise but all wrong!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Joseph42

Joseph42Newcastle

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes
  • Verified purchase

A good brush cutter for the price

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Questions & Answers

Mahulchandran S.

Mahulchandran S.asked

Please be kind as to let me know how cutter chord is to be threaded into the model RBCQM25SS.

2 answers
Philip
Philip

Nor sure of the exact model ... but these instructions might work ...
INSTALLING LINE IN REEL EASY LINE TRIMMERHEAD (FIG. 10)Use 2.4mm diameter monofilament line. Stop the engine and disconnect the spark plug wire. Cut one piece of line approximately 6.0 meters in length. Rotate the bump knob on line trimmer head until line on the centre of the bump knob aligns with arrows on top of line trimmer head. (image 6) Insert one end of line into eyelet located on the side of the line trimmer head and push until line comes out through the eyelet on the other side. Continue to push line through the line trimmer head until the middle section of the line is inside the line trimmer head and line outside the line trimmer head is evenly divided on each side. (images 7-8) Rotate the knob on the line trimmer head to wind the line. If using a straight shaft attachment, the knob should be rotated clockwise.
Wind the line until approximately 20cm remains protruding from the line trimmer head. Replace the spark plug boot.

This link goes to the pdf for a model that might be similar:
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/796416/Ryobi-Rbcgm25ss.html?page=7#manual

Dave E.
Dave E.

It's not easy... try https://www.manualslib.com/manual/796416/Ryobi-Rbcgm25ss.html


Miles W

Miles Wasked

Mine cuts out as soon as its warmed up. And the heat deflector above the tank has vibrated in half (is that like a replacement needed every 3 months?)

1 answer
Philip
Philip

The heat deflector issue should not be happening. Try contacting Ryobi for a replacement?

As for cutting out after warming up ... check to see if the choke has been knocked upwards? I find that I sometimes knock the choke lever by accident and need to to push it back down.


Boof

Boofasked

How do you set the handle bars?

3 answers
Lofty
Lofty

Hi, you need too hold the bar clamp down and turn the handle bar . You may need to use some force. But it will turn

Boof
Boof

Thank you Lofty. Also worked out one has to line up the arrows and then rotate the bars.

Doug
Doug

Have recently been given a machine and wondering weather it has a line fitting


Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.