??!
1 photo
Ryobi RLM18X36L40

Ryobi RLM18X36L40

MPN: RLM18X36L40
4.3 from 7 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(4)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(0)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (4)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (4)
    • Occasionally (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (5)
  • Safety
    4.6 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.8 (4)
  • Battery Life
    3.7 (3)


Barry

Barry

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Works better than expected. Light and efficient.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Ease of Use
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Occasionally
See all answers

Rachelle

RachelleSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not enough power and battery doesn’t last enough for 170sq meters despite box says up to 350sq meters

published

This mower is supposed to be for up to 350 sq meter of grass. I have 170 sq meters and the battery dies. It takes 2 additional recharges for me to finish mowing my lawn. I mow every week so it’s not like I let it grow too long. Frustrating part is I asked for help at Bunnings when I bought this and told the lady everything about my grass...type, square meters, etc and she told me this would be fine for it. Today I rang Bunnings and the man told me he would never recommend anything with an 18V 4.0Ah battery as they don’t have enough power. Tomorrow I go and swap over my mower for the 36V. Let’s hope this one is better or I’ll be getting a full refund and going with a Masport mower.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
Matty

MattyHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Awesome better than i could imagine

published

I bought this for my 60yr old mother with some reservations being battery powered cause she had no hope of using the petrol mower and after 1 year i see i was a fool i should of got it a long time ago its great she can use it and the battery has enough in it for the edger and blower. To be honest i have been known to borrow it on occasions. You cant go wrong with this mower.

Purchased in February 2018 at bunnings for $350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

BPg

BPgGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Very convenient but not great for long grass

published

With a 5mha battery, I can cut my entire lawn 90sqm, and switch to my edge trimmer to trim all my edges AND still have enough juice for a decent clean up blow with my my blower! BUT: it doesnt have enough power to cut long grass, so I may have to start on level 3 then go round again on level 2 if I want shorter grass!

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Sam

SamSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

good mowers

published

easy to use, one battery lasts 15 mins, cann't cut long grass.first bought Nov 2017, but someday it not worked, changed for a brand new one at May 2018, worked well since then


ricdanger

ricdangerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews

Great lightweight easy to store mower. Does the job.

published

I use a 5 Amp/Hr Li-Ion battery and after 30 minutes I can still unplug it and use it on other tools. The mower's not powerful, it's meant for maintenance cutting - nothing beats a stinky 2-stroke for smashing through weeds. But it really does the job and is simple to handle, folds away nicely and takes up little space. Had one issue with the folding mechanism but just put some tension in the handle frame by bending it a bit and now it's perfect again.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers

Retired_landscaper

Retired_landscaperGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Perfect for my lawn - convenient, light, easy, quality

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Questions & Answers

omegatoo

omegatooasked

Regarding the Ryobi Lawn Mower RLM18X36L40: The mower IS NOT catching the grass at all. I've check the positioning of the catcher, and everytime it's totally empty... No cuttings in it at all? Anybody else with the same problem?
I also find the mower struggles if the grass is a bit long and/or if the grass is wet, even on a #2 setting and sometimes just dies.

2 answers

#2 setting is very low for any mower, let alone bagging. If the grass is wet, any mower struggles to bag or cut well (even petrol). When it is wet it is never a good time to cut. If the unit is cutting out in dry grass, make sure you are using the bigger pack 4.0 or higher and it's not 30 plus degrees out... batteries can overheat and wont work to protect themselves.

For baggin, if you aren't catching ANYTHING... check if you have a Mulching plug in there? With the unit off, If you take the bag off and look in the rear door, can you see the blade/ grass under the mower?

If the grass is long, raise it up higher. Cutting higher is healthier for lawns. Just cut on 4 or 5. The higher setting allows more air for better bagging clippings. It also prevents sun burns, traps moisture, chokes out weeds, and stays greener.

Barry
Barry

The mulching plug is the black plastic section with a vertical square cross-section handle you can see when you open the flap at the back. Grip the handle and pull towards you and the whole thing slides towards you. The manual is absolutely useless and doesn't even mention the muncher bit. Good luck.


Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.