??!
Ryobi RLM3640L

Ryobi RLM3640L

MPN: RLM3640L
3.5 from 23 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.5

23 reviews
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
  • Safety
    4.5 (2)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.0 (2)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Mandy Fraser

Mandy FraserWarner

  • 4 reviews

Best lawnmower ever

published

I’ve had this mower for 4 years and it still goes like the very first day, I love it it’s easy to start, light weight and reliable, the battery allows me to mow the front and quiet a large back yard before it runs out. I would recommend this to anyone.

Purchased in November 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Rexyv

RexyvADELAIDE

  • 28 reviews

It's Very Good.

published

36cm cutting width is no worries, im not in a hurry. 70 square metres of rollout lawn to cut is no problem.
No trips to the servo for fuel, no oil mix,no pulling arm out of socket trying to start. Push a button and squeeze a trigger and it comes to life,you release the trigger it stops almost instantly.Its lightwieght.No smoke or noise,you could mow at 7am on a Sunday morning and I doubt neighbors would notice.
Purchased 10/10/2018
Keep your docket, and if you have a problem, take it back.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
LeeK

LeeK

  • 3 reviews

Unrepairable due lack of replacement parts

published

I purchased this lawnmower about 5 years ago and recently broke the plastic handle to it. I've contacted Ryobi who has informed me that a replacement part is not available and that basically I'll now have to toss this 5 year old battery operated lawnmower in the garbage. While the lawnmower did a credible job, I think people need to be aware that if something breaks a repair may not be possible. While this is from this particular model the RML3640L, it could also be true of other Ryobi models. Just be careful.

Date PurchasedMay 2013
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM3640L compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great concept - poor execution

published

Mower cuts well and his light and easy to manouver. 18v Battery is sufficient for me to mow, edge and blow my smallish lawn (front and back) with power to spare. Issues with mower design with control cable having to be taped back to handle to stop it catching in folding arms immediately after purchase. Control handles plastic case cracked and had to be taped together approx year 2. Year three the soft start control mechanism has failed and is no longer available so mower can't be repaired and needs to be replaced. Will buy another cordless mower but won't be a Ryobi.

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Bev C

Bev C

  • 3 reviews

Terrible product

published

Not happy mower keeps cutting out , hard to manoeuvre overall it puts me off mowing my lawns. Needs to operate more efficiently and not cut out . Cleaning it was also very hard. Will definitely not buy this brand again.
Anyone who has time on there hands this is a good product for you

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Jenga

JengaBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Only now it runs out of steam

published

I have had this model for about 4 years now, we bought it as it was cordless and it was light enough for me to carry over the deck to our grass. It worked like a treat in the old house but since we have moved into a new house that has much finer grass the mover struggles a bit with very fines.. it may be the fact that after 2 srips of about 15m of grass the catcher if full. I would recommend this mover for small backyard and thick broad leaf grasses.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Jihye

Jihye

  • 2 reviews

Love it!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Michael R

Michael RPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Weak mower

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Paul

PaulSydney

  • 8 reviews

Very unhappy with Brand

published

As with others the plastic handle model RL3640L (grab handle) on left in our case just snapped while general mowing over a week ago ..to add insult our Ryobi 36v line trimmer motor now just smokes so also unusable (went a week before Mower) .. as with others Ryobi said tough luck out of warranty re line trimmer + put online complaint 14/1/18 to Ryobi about Mower and they haven't even replied (now 10 days later). Ryobi now offer a 6 year warranty which indicates this model with 2 years was far inferior quality. Hopefully can sell batteries and hedge trimmer to cut loses as at this point will be last Ryobi product ever buy or recommend

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM3640L compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tapestry

TapestryMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Wife can mow the lawn

published

When I know my husband is really really busy and very tired, I mow the lawn. Just turn it on and it goes it's so easy. My husband loves it because with a petrol mower there was always often up to 30mins getting it petrol and cleaning spark plugs etc etc before you even started. So this one cuts mowing time down by heaps and 'His wife can use it' aaaahhhhh. Maybe I should give it one star cause I can use it... I'm also over 60 so it's pretty easy very much like pushing my golf buggy around.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Mohammad

MohammadGeraldton

  • 8 reviews

Super Good and quiet

published

Im got this because my motorised one was just way to heavy to push and not that easy to move but i got this and it is verry good cutting the grass at a nice even level unlike my gas powered one, it is suuuper quite but the motorised one is super loud and even a pain to listen to from a far distance, the cstch tray is a tad small but it still collects a lot of grass, the blades are super sharp, had this for about 10 and a half months and still going strong

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Very poor design

published
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Kylie P

Kylie PNSW, 2536

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Plastic handle with all electrics snapped off after 3 years - Ryobi say bad luck its out of warranty

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
SK Chan

SK ChanSydney, NSW

Ryobi cordless mower using 36V battery

published

I brought the mower and battery pack in mid 2013. It costed me $299.
Now the charger is not working. As they don't sell charger separately, one has to buy the battery and the charger pack which costs $279 !!!!
I have to change my mind not to use cordless mower anymore. Too expensive to run and keep.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
Dave

DaveNewcastle

Happy, but only buy if its suitable for your lawn!

published
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM3640L compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
pharlap61

pharlap61South East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap to run

published

Bought this from bunninngs for 120 bucks as somebody stole the key and battery easily fixed with other battery I had will mow approx 25x25 metre area with a 2.6a/h battery would not use in wet due to open motor windings underneath not good where water would damage unit. But it was a pretty good buy I thought for the money

Purchased for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
mewp

mewpBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Beware - if this mower has a problem then you're stuck

published
John M

John MMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Formula 1 looks are not the real benefit

published
Lulu

Lulu

  • 31 reviews

Makes mowing the lawn much less of a chore

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Melissa H

Melissa HVIC, 3337

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best Mower Ever!!

published

I am only a small person (5'4") with a bung left hand. Used to struggle with the standard petrol push mower. This mower is fantastic. Easy to start, the charge lasts a long time and is so easy to get in and out of the mower (once i worked out there is a catch on the underneath of the battery once inserted in the mower). The mower is so easy to push and love the handle with dual hand holds. The blades cut my grass very well. Look forward now to mowing the lawn.

Page 1 of 2
See all Ryobi RLM36 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

shane75turner

shane75turnerasked

RLM3640L

I've lost my red fuse key any ideas on how to use mower still can't buy a spare anywhere

3 answers
Claire Bear
Claire Bear

ebay sells them
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Ryobi-311280001-Start-Key-Fuse-Key/254341745744?epid=21015795452&hash=item3b37f30c50:g:PTQAAOSw1m1dZCP0

shane75turner
shane75turner

Yeah but I'm sure that's not the right model can't tell if it would fit even if it's different model... but thanks

Russell
Russell

I have same problem..there are two types of keys.1 has contacts that run parallel (l l ).2 has contacts that run in line( - - ) i need first key!!

Neville

Nevilleasked

RLM3640L

Mowing lawn today using RLM3640L 36v mower. Hit a high spot and the motor stopped (stalled). Moved it off the high spot but cannot get it to restart. Have tried the suggestions here but still no go. I have continuity from battery to start buttons and shows 4 green lights. Removable fuse tested OK. Motor hand turns freely. Any ideas to get it started / reset?

5 answers
George
George

I have just bought one and used it once - same problem, with thick grass or an obstacle, it stalls. I found that if you wait and persist, it starts again.

Jenn
Jenn

Take it back to where you bought it. They will know / replace it.

Neville
Neville

Thanks for the replies. I have already tried the first suggestion when I saw it on other threads and here as well - no good. The mower was bought September 2013, so it is a couple of months out of the 5 year warranty. We have looked for repairers here in Australia other than the retailer. Now looking at modifying the operation of the mower (if possible) before scrapping it.

C.ad

C.adasked

RLM3640L

How can I release the battery in the mower? I have had this mower for 4 years and this has never happened before.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.