??!
1 photo
Ryobi RLM36B40H

Ryobi RLM36B40H

MPN: RLM36B40H
3.9 from 43 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.9

43 reviews
5
(20)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.4 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (5)
  • Safety
    4.6 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.4 (5)
  • Battery Life
    2.8 (5)
Previous
Next
Madmick55

Madmick55Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Great Little Mower

published

This mower has all the power needed is easy to manoeuvre in my small yard and has a great easy to detach grass catcher. The battery has plenty of power. Highly recommended.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Brad G.

Brad G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Would not waste your money on these batteries

published

Bought the mower from Bunnings, while the mower works great, the work needed to keep the battery working is beyond a joke given the technology in batteries. The fact that the 36v will go into hibernation mode an not recover unless you are “using the mower and recharging the battery every two weeks” as explained by a Ryobi sales rep at a Bunnings store is sign that the product is either cheap or Ryobi have no understanding how often people need to mow small yards. Bunnings won’t do anything unless u have the receipt for a mower bought less than 12 months ago, even with each individual mower being tracked by serial number into a store. Stay away

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
dan30681

dan30681South East Queensland, QLD

Good idea but short of the mark

published

Plenty of power and good range. The catcher is a major letdown, it's difficult to get on and is angled up significantly meaning clippings don't get to the back of the catcher and they start coming back out in the grass before it is 1/3 full. The requirement to hold the Deadman levers while mowing is a bit silly too, no petrol mower ever had these. Also had two batteries fail within 12months and although they have Ryobi written all over them and the date of manufacture stamped into them, Ryobi won't replace them without a receipt.

Purchased in March 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36B40H compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex M

Alex MMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great electric lawnmower that get's the job done

published

Great maneavorable lawnmower that has a very easy start. Ideal for medium sized lawns. The battery is good enough for about 30-45 minutes of non stop mowing as long as the grass isn't too long. All in all a good purchase.

Purchased in November 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ray

RayNorth Queensland, QLD

Not up to scratch

published

This is my second Ryobi mower. It won't cut buffolo grass low and won't throw grass into the catcher properly. My first was great but won't be buying another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Brilliant!

published

Great product plenty of runtime and always cuts evenly across my yard.
So good that I can pair up my line trimmer with the same battery.
Will be buying plenty more products from ryobi in the future and will be Recommending to family and friends.
Thank you very much I love it!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Kimba

KimbaBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best mower I’ve ever had

published

I bought this after reading lots of good reviews, it’s perfect for my yard. I bought it from Bunnings in a combo with a blower and I have revived that also on here. There is roughly 400sqm of lawn at home and this works a breeze. Catcher is big enough if you mow regularly, if you have left your grass go you may need to empty it once or twice depending on how long you’ve let it go. It a good investment if you ask me.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Nikki

NikkiAU

  • 6 reviews

Does really good job, light weight

published

Love this mower!!! I used to have a 2 stroke petrol mover which was very heavy and noisy. The Ryobi is really lightweight and quiet when in use, the lightweight of the mower allows for easy maneuvering around the edges of the yard, allowing for maximum use of battery life. This size mower is ideal for a units or smaller properties however and very very happy with this mower.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Hard work

published

May be OK on flat hard lawn but is very hard to push when lawn is on a slope or has any softness.
Doesn't throw clippings into the catcher properly - have to keep emptying "catcher" when only quarter full and it still leaves piles of clipping behind.
Have to mow at least 3 times or more every time - once up high, then lower and then at least once more to pick up the mounds of clippings that it keeps dropping even with frequent emptying.
I'm sorry that I wasted my money.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36B40H compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
happymum2

happymum2Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Loving My Electric Lawnmower

published

I'm very happy with this lawn mower my husband bought. It's quiet, has adjustable cutting length, can use catcher or without, easy to operate, no petrol needed as it has a rechargeable battery. The mower is easy to manoeuvre. We're very happy with it. We purchased this mower from Bunnings

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Dee

DeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews

Great. Love that one battery fits

published

Super conevenient love that one battery fits all the tools in this range including the mowers. Overall a great mower and a great brand very durable I haven’t had issues as of yet so no negatives. Would recommend this and the other matching parts of the range. Great buy and reasonable price

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Moby

MobyPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great value

published

Great lawnmower for small to medium gardens.easy to manoeuvre and light weight.very easy to start and stop.cuts lawn adequately would recommend for most suburban house holds.baytery charging easy and lasts long enough.easy to keep clean and store. Lightweight for easy packing into car ( if someone needs to borrow!) Recommended

Date PurchasedJan 2018
gri2a

gri2aSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Sing the praises

published
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Caz

CazHobart

  • 2 reviews

Great mower

published

I love this mower, cuts nice and clean, no bulky grass lumps. I don't use a catcher when I mow anymore because this mower shreds he grass leaving it finely spread over the cut grass. Starts every time and runs well. I use the big ryobi batteries as I have a large area of grass to cut.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Will.K

Will.K

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

it's been alright

published

It works well but I thought it should be easier to use and the grass should be shorter it is easy to operate and easy to maintain so to what I guess it is a good deal it is cheap though so I guess it is good to what I paid for

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36B40H compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jamie W

Jamie WAU

  • 5 reviews

It's good and quite

published

I mean it's still loud, but since it's electric it certainly is a lot quieter then your average mower, which is good, as you can avoid a annoying your neighbours. if you have a small enough lawn this just makes mowing more convenient, you never have issues with starting it, or having ton track down the right fuel. Seriously if this will suit your yard, then pick it up, it's the way of the future.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Claire M

Claire MBrisbane

  • 7 reviews

Husband loves his lawnmower

published

This thing makes lawn moving a breeze for my hubby. We went with Ryobi as it is a well know and trusted brand.

He has to keep our garden tidy as well as the nature strip at the front of our house and the common areas.

He has had no problem with this mower. It also looks very nice in my garage and isn’t too big that it takes up heaps of space

Date PurchasedSep 2017
KKF

KKFAU

  • 4 reviews

Decent, needs to mower more frequently

published

Pros: no more pulling the engine to start, electric starts save a lot of sweat and maintenance, decent cutting, height adjustable, whole mower is comparatively light, easy to empty out.

Cons: gets hard to mow if grass left for too long, blade might get stuck with the grass if it's wet. battery lasts a small lawn and gets quite hot under load.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
jordan88

jordan88perth

  • 4 reviews

perfect cutting

published

bought this one after my previous one broke down, this is probably one of my faviourate lawn mower, It cuts in all conditions and has their is no fear of grass being stuck, its easy to push, the motor is absolutely amazing, but the best part is how easy it is maintain.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
gulja

guljaBrisbane

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent mower

published

We only have this one 2 months and to be honest it’s our first mower and it’s been great! It’s pretty light, easy initial set up and does the job right! It also consumes very little petrol I think. I trust this brand and have all my houshold and garden tools by ryobi. I was hoping to get the cordless vacuum too but it is not sold here currently.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 3
See all Ryobi RLM36 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

浩天 张.

浩天 张.asked

RLM36B40H

why do my ryobi stop working randomly

3 answers
Ivy S.
Ivy S.

I really have no idea I am afraid, I do not have this issue, is it because the grass catcher is getting full, plus how old is your battery, these are the only things I have heard of.

浩天 张.
浩天 张.

less than 1 year, is there any sensor or button on the mower, I watched a vedio but not this model which got same.problem as mine, there is a red button , but nothing on my mower.

Madmick55
Madmick55

The only time my Ryobi stops and then after a short stop can start again only to stop again is due to the battery being too low to operate try recharging your battery fully and if it contiunes your battery if its more thasn 3 years old may need replacing. Hope it helps.

Martin

Martinasked

RLM36B40H

How do you attach the catcher?

1 answer
George
George

with difficulty :(

Maxwell

Maxwellasked

RLM36B40H

Why does mower stop when battery has 2 lights on?

1 answer
Rod
Rod

I have the same issue, mower cuts out at about half battery. If I charge back up works fine again. When batteries cut out on mower they still work fine in othe Ryobi devices. I’m convinced problem lies with the mower circuitry that monitors battery voltage/ capacity.

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.