??!
1 photo
Ryobi RLM36X40H40

Ryobi RLM36X40H40

MPN: RLM36X40H40
3.8 from 41 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.8

41 reviews
5
(13)
4
(18)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(5)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (2)
  • Safety
    4.5 (2)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    3.5 (2)
  • Battery Life
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Debbie B.

Debbie B.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Bunnings

published

great easy to use would recommend to not had any problems with the service person was very helpful to us and it was very helpful on our choice on what to but

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Debbie B.
Debbie B.

sorry it was a battery mower

Andrea

AndreaAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Don't bother with Ryobi ...

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Prettyelle

PrettyelleVictoria

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good electric mower

published

Bought it to replace my old Bunnings own brand electric mower because the battery type no longer available. This mower is a lot more powerful but about the same noice level as my older mower. The catcher is reasonable size, I guess you can’t have the catcher too big otherwise will be too heavy to push. No regret for paying a bit more for a much better product, as long as the battery life is long and always available if replacement is needed.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X40H40 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave4life

Dave4lifeBrisbane

Not bad for small lawns quiet easy to use

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Johnnycake

JohnnycakeBunbury

  • 4 reviews

Great battery idea but massive fail for us

published

We bought the Ryobi battery lawn mower but the battery we had for other Ryobi didn't seem to work only lasting mear minuets so we were forced by Bunnings to buy a new battery which cost avout half the price of the law mower so we wasn't very happy about that

Date PurchasedNov 2017
bzerk86

bzerk86Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 36 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect for our yard and surprisingly powerful

published

Lightweight yet feels like quality material.

Battery lasts long enough for us to mow our 50m/sq yard twice over and then some more. I haven't used the mulching function, but the bag is more than adequate.

Am yet to have it bog down or stall out even on tall wet grass.

The folding handle makes it easy to stow away in our small garden shed.

I would buy this product again.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Ken

KenYeerongpilly

Don't waste your money!!!

published

Bought for my mother. At $499. Plus batteries, not a cheap buy. But lightweight, easy to use. She is not getting younger.
3 years later and it has stopped working. Have taken it back to Bunnings who have said they will not fix it. We have to buy another one. At $500 over 3 years, I find this quite disgraceful. I will see whether there is any further steps I can take with this, I would generally expect a mower to last longer than 3 years. But we are expected to just dispose of this device, not little either, and buy a new one.
Quite disgusted. I will never waste my money on one of these again. So much for keeping as much independence in our elderly as we can. Only if we pay for it.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Argon5

Argon5Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely brilliant

published

This is my first electric mower and oh boy! What a breakthrough. Part of the pain in the backside of mowing was arranging fresh fuel and trying to start the thing. This instantly solves all that. First impression - its light! Its just so comfortable and easy to maneuver. I was worried that it wouldn't have the power to get through my often overly long grass, but not a problem. Second impression - its so strangely quiet! Just the electric zipping sound as it chews through the lawn. I am a very happy convert to electric mowers and I love this machine - its great,

Date PurchasedDec 2017
PoodleLuva

PoodleLuvaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Ryobi Cordless Lawn Mower - pleasant suprise!

published

Having had a Wheeled Flymo lawnmower which after 25 years died, I looked at the Ryobi Cordless 36V unit. As with all things new, its a bit different. The catcher hook assembly is not the easiest to engage but with use it may get easier. It is very quiet and starts after a pause. I have a large yard front and back and on the supplied 4000Ah battery it lasts with charge to spare. Cuts fantastic but yet to try in winter months. I would recommend this over the cheaper Bunnings brand as it's well built and has a good mowing diameter.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X40H40 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
krisget

krisgetAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Light & Easy

published

Mower cuts well at all levels. It is easy to operate and light to maneuver around, it is fairly quiet as mowers go. Battery charge (36V) doesn't last as long as it states, I don't have a large lawn so that's no hassle, but others may need a couple of charges and may want to have a second battery handy. Battery holds it's charge when not in use and has a meter on it to tell how much charge you have left. It is a bit pricey but is of good build, very sturdy and tough considering how light it is. Very easy to clean too. I have had mine now about 4 years. I can only recommend on what I have seen and that is only good, so yes I fully recommend.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
Rob

RobAU

  • 4 reviews

Worth every cent!

published

This mower cuts my lawn perfectly everytime. I only have a small lawn and the battery always lasts the whole time (not sure how it would fare on larger lawns). It's very easy to move around the lawn and get to the harder to reach spots. It's relatively light, so I don't have any problem pushing it as well. I'm a very happy customer so far.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Haze

HazeVictoria

  • 9 reviews

Decent lawn mower

published

We have a small patches of lawn in the front and back of our house and wanted an easy to maneuver lawn mower, and not high maintenance like a petrol lawn mower.
It works well for our grass however it struggles when i drop the length to 3 or lower. Hence i have to cut at level 5, which means regular mowing! Compared to a petrol lawn mower, it's not as loud or heavy.
It is fairly pricey but happy to pay the amount for convenience.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Hunter

Hunter

  • 4 reviews

Easy use & quieter mower

published

I had this mower more than 7 months, I never expect mowing will be that easy and quiet. The unit is also much lighter than a petrol mower, so you can take anywhere you need even your lawn have a bit slops. Each battary can mow around 200 m2 for my own case. Anyway, never leave your grass too long, electric mower is still not powerful than a petrol mower.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
lynn0904

lynn0904VIC, 3178

  • 4 reviews

Husband’s choice.

published

This product makes my cutting work easy and interesting. As it is electric and wireless, which means you can avoid the noise that interrupt your neighbors, and take it to anywhere you want. My house at the corner of the street, I just took 20 minuets to complete all! It’s hard to imagine in the past.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
bcchgeneral

bcchgeneralSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Clean, reliable lawn mower for small to medium lawns

published

Cutting results: Excellent, cuts well, starts reliably, battery lasts for a fair amount of lawn.
Maneuverability: Decent, moves like any other mower.
Operate and maintain: Excellent. Packs away nice and compact. Clean, no petrol fumes.

On a full battery charge, I can cut the lawn in both the back and front yards, and sometimes even the verge.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X40H40 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stu

StuSunbury, Victoria

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Look forward to mowing the lawns

published

Pretty happy with this purchase. Actually look forward to mowing the lawns now. I was extremely surprised about how well it could cut through tall grass. Dont have to worry about running out of petrol. If i had 1 complaint it would be that the battery life could last a bit longer. Would be handy to have a 2nd battery but they are pricey

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Pina

Pina

  • 3 reviews

A cut above the rest!

published

The Ryobi cordless Lawn Mower is a good buy. Mowing time up to 40minutes with a battery charge time of 2 hours.
No more petrol issues or forgetting to check the oil. It is lightweight and easy to use. The beauty of Ryobi charging units is that they can fit into other machinery pieces such as blowers and trimmers. Value for money and no mess!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Tom

TomBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

A work horse

published

Purchased it off Bunnings.
New to mowing, but the ase of installation and the features it provides has made me feel safe and comfortable operating the mower.
Great warrenty service that comes with it after product registration.
All in all I am happy with my purchase and satisfied with the machine.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Adrie

AdrieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Perfect mower for a Senior Female

published

Having battled with a heavy 4 stroke petrol mower for 6 years, this is an absolute breeze for me. One difficulty is the
attaching of the catcher, which is quite hard, but I expect it will get easier with use. Having sloping ground, I find it
easy to push and manoeuvre. The height adjuster is rather stiff, but I guess, like the catcher, it will get easier with use. I now look forward to mowing. Thank you Ryobi for the perfect mower for a little old lady!!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sandra56

Sandra56South East Queensland, QLD

  • 44 reviews

Perfect

published

Have had many battery operated mowers, but not one with a lithium battery - it recharges quickly, goes the distance and I love it. I have very steep slow on the back of my property and it still goes there, previous one had some trouble on a regular basis as the power would discharge quickly. It leaves some clippings, so need to ensure empty when not quite 3/4 full. Haven't yet needed to get a new battery as not yet 12 months old. But that could be the only issue.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 3
See all Ryobi RLM36 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Steve

Steveasked

RLM36X40H40

What is the warranty period for the battery with this model?

No answers
Didier K.

Didier K.asked

RLM36X40H40

I look for a mulching plug for my RLM36B40H. i only find on ebay for RLM36X40H. is it going to be a match?
thank you

No answers
Darrell L.

Darrell L.asked

RLM36X40H40

were is the mulching plug located

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.