??!
1 photo
Ryobi RLM36X46S5

Ryobi RLM36X46S5

MPN: RLM36X46S5
3.4 from 18 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.4

18 reviews
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.2 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (6)
  • Safety
    4.7 (6)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.0 (4)
  • Battery Life
    2.2 (6)
Previous
Next
Jacci

JacciSydney, NSW

  • 25 reviews

Amazing, easy to start, easy to use

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Broke after two uses

published

Mowed the same way as the first time. Suddenly died while i was mowing long grass on 5th setting for the second time since purchase. Checked blades and everything, seems to be engine or battery, not sure which.

Geoff

Geoff

  • 2 reviews

Useless

published

Absolutely gutless, dies on anything longer than bowli g green length. Leaves clumps of grass everywhere and dont even try to mow wet grass. Ok if you mow twice a week on dry bowling green length. Is quite light to use which is why I purchased it.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X46S5 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AndrewSmith

AndrewSmithAdelaide

  • 12 reviews

Works really well!

published

Light weight, easy to use, works incredibly well. Battery lasts for the hour. Really quiet. Struggled to figure out the catcher, but otherwise incredibly easy to set up and use. So many childproof checks in place, making it incredibly safe to have around.

Great until the battery gave up the ghost

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Steven

StevenCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Buyer Beware

published

Purchased in September 2014 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Eliza

ElizaCentral Queensland, QLD

ENGINE CUTS OUT FOR NO REASON

published

I was so excited to buy my Ryobi Lawn Mower at Bunnings. Bought it exactly 35 days ago. Second time l used it & 30 mins into mowing front lawn & it just started cutting out. It had 2 bars left in battery. I was doing everything by the manual ie: dont let go of handle. I recharged it for ten mins hoping that would breathe life into it. But no. So frustrating to stop/start & try to finish mowing front lawn. Note: first time it was used was 3 weeks ago. It is very dry up here so lawn doesnt grow fast like cooler climates. The time of day was from 5.40pm so temperature was not hot (around 28 degrees). It was not a big job....
Very disappointed in the Ryobi mower

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Sam Mac

Sam MacSouth East Queensland, QLD

Utterly useless. Possibly the worst thing I have ever bought.

published

Purchased in September 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

pretty ordinary

published

not happy with end result leaves stands of lawns i have a very small front lawn which only take 10 minutes to cut but on completion no matter how slow i push the mower it leaves individual blades of grass uncut driving me mad, tried going across lawn up and down but no difference. i hate the fact i spent so much money and get an terrible result

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X46S5 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter L

Peter L

  • 2 reviews

Exceeded my expectations

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Lacks grunt

published

Today at Bunnings i Was really excited when I saw the cordless 36 volt option, at $599 I was expecting big things!
unfortunately on its first use it has underperformed horribly. Stopped 3 or 4 times on about 30sqm of grass.
30min of mowing and the battery is on the last bar.
Only good thing was maneuverability due to its light weight.
My grass is quite dense so this may be an excuse , I will let the battery charge overnight and give it one more go on the backyard, however I dare say i’ll be back at Bunnings by 10am changing it for a petrol model

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Wai Keung

Wai Keung

  • 4 reviews

User Friendly

published

go to bunnigns and ask the staff , they recommend this products and i just buy this one is very easy to use , not too noisy powerful is ok can't compare other more expensive petrol products, trim this grass is good , 5 adjustable cutting heights just can use level 3 , level 1 is hard, the battery is enough, but run time is less than they said, don't expect the battery can run a long time.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Chriso

ChrisoVictoria, Australia

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic product

published

Effortlessly cut my 110m2 lawn evenly. This lightweight product glides over the grass where my old petrol mower would get bogged down and cut unevenly.

The ryobi cuts all at the same height and even thicker patches the blades just glide through.

Battery after doing g the lawn was still 3/4 full.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Navaraj

NavarajLidcombe

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Average

published

I am satisfied with this product somehow.while cutting grass on irregular surface,it doesn't have better suspension and flexibility .Resisting force of engine manually over such condition is tedious.product seems like applied only for plain surface.Fuel mileage can be improved compare to other brands.Handling place can be adjusted considering ergonomics of Average height people.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Phillip

PhillipLaunceston

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy Chappy

published

I had concerns about a battery mower doing 650m2 grassed area but pleasantly surprised with life left in battery,manuverability,nice high handle,light and easy to push and after a wash down lifted it up one handed and carried to shed.
This is a mulcher as well but you couldn’t see tell I had not used catcher.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36X46S5 compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Works Great

published

I love this machine and I have had a few in my lifetime. I have to say it does a great job for what it suppose to do every day and hopefully would last for a long time. Wouldn't get anything else. Great service from the company as well. Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Cirah

CirahPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Light Weight Mover

published

Bought this lawn mover a month ago and found very easy to use and clean because of its light weight. Battery lasted almost an hour which was sufficient to finish my job and found it doesn't take much time to get fully charged. Just used once so cant say more about this lawn mover.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Bob L

Bob LGeelong

Goodbye petrol mower!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Bob L
Bob L

Almost 6 months on - I have purchased the blower as well as the line trimmer. Very happy with my purchase.

See all Ryobi RLM36 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

george.shaw.948

george.shaw.948asked

RLM36X46S5

Battery is fully charged. Mower starts easily but as soon as it is moved forward it cuts out. After a few tries it will stay running on grass for around 30 seconds and then cut out. Haven;t used the mower in months because of drought. What can be done?

2 answers
Claire Bear
Claire Bear

I have seen a few comments of this happening to other people on reviews. The mower cuts out at below level 3 when cutting as it is to much of a strain on the mower. It is recommended to adjust your blade to cut at a higher level and after first run lower if needed. Another tip I found - When this happened to me it turned out to be the clamps on the bit of metal that goes up to where your hand are, weren't fully locked down. They have to be locked in place or it will stall.

george.shaw.948
george.shaw.948

Got it going after recharging battery which had been , as far as I knew , fully charged... but after an hour of recharging and putting back in the mower everything worked perfectly. Have taken note of the things you suggested and in particular the locking of the handle clamps. Thanks for a quick reply, and tips.

Steve G

Steve Gasked

RLM36X46S5

I'm half way through cutting my grass with my 36v brushless mover and it stopped working, I noticed that the battery level was still on 2 bars but I thought I would charge it anyway. I put the battery on the charger and it will not charge. I have only had the mower 3 months I noticed the battery was very hot maybe I try it again later to see if it will charge when it cools down. Any suggestions?

2 answers
gregozedobe
gregozedobe

If they get too hot the Ryobi 36V batteries will shut down and not supply any power until they cool down a bit. It happens often on my chainsaw when working hard on thicker wood. I assume your battery cooled down and started working and accepted a charge.

Chris B
Chris B

Just pop the battery in the fridge for 15 minutes or so before charging it again, works a treat

Darryl

Darrylasked

RLM36X46S5

I have used it once - second time around it goes for a few metres and then stops. What is the likely problem. The battery charged. Model RLM36x46S5

2 answers
George
George

same problem - intermittent stopping. Finally came good - have only used once. Could it be letting go of the handle lever thing?

Jenn
Jenn

When this happened to me it turned out to be the clamps on the bit of metal that goes up to where your hand are, weren't fully locked down. They have to be locked in place of it will stall.

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.