??!
7 photos
Ryobi RLM36 Series

Ryobi RLM36 Series (page 2 of 11)

RLM36B40H, RLM36X40H40, RLM36X46L50HI / RLM36X46L50HID, etc...
3.7 from 212 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.7

212 reviews
5
(89)
4
(56)
3
(13)
2
(29)
1
(25)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (27)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (27)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.4 (27)
  • Safety
    4.4 (27)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (23)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (25)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Mandy Fraser

Mandy FraserWarner

  • 4 reviews

Best lawnmower ever

published

I’ve had this mower for 4 years and it still goes like the very first day, I love it it’s easy to start, light weight and reliable, the battery allows me to mow the front and quiet a large back yard before it runs out. I would recommend this to anyone.

Purchased in November 2015 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Andrew H.

Andrew H.South East Queensland, QLD

Mower works ok but parts are impossible to get.

published

Blades wear very quickly and have been waiting 8 weeks nor for a very expensive replacement blade. Its a singe custom blade so you can not use a generic set. I will never get another Ryobi.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Alex M

Alex MMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great electric lawnmower that get's the job done

published

Great maneavorable lawnmower that has a very easy start. Ideal for medium sized lawns. The battery is good enough for about 30-45 minutes of non stop mowing as long as the grass isn't too long. All in all a good purchase.

Purchased in November 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray

RayNorth Queensland, QLD

Not up to scratch

published

This is my second Ryobi mower. It won't cut buffolo grass low and won't throw grass into the catcher properly. My first was great but won't be buying another one.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Disappointed. Flimsy plastic deck.

published

Cut well the first two or three times. After hitting what i consider to be a small river stone buried in the lawn (30mm diameter max), a hole was punched through one side of the plastic deck. The next mow, same thing, opposite side. It still cut but didn't pick up as well. Just under 12 months on, it's dead and won't start. Replaced under warranty with a petrol Victa. I'll hold off till they work the kinks out of electrics.

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Dave

DavePerth, WA

Broken Handle Unsafe

published

UNSAFE

The mower was fantastic until the handle broke whilst using the mower. The on button then got jammed with no way of shutting off the machine.

The chances of an incident occurring at the same time the handle breaks is low but never the less a design fault.

Purchased in September 2016 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
swampy451

swampy451Canberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great mower with so small faults.

published

I have two medium lawn areas and this mower just powers through them. The battery gives me about 3 complete cuts of both lawns before needing to be recharged. I live on a very steep block and 2 people were needed to get my old Honda up to my rear lawn area. I can now carry this up one handed. Now for the nags. The way the catcher connects to the mower is a bit flimsy and has a tendency to fall of at times if you scrape up against something and the self propelling motors will give you quite some resistance to pulling the mower backwards unless you let go of the handles and push the last few feet of your cut. Otherwise it is well worth the money. Love it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$749.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Tupai

TupaiWollongong

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Don't waste your money

published

Purchased in July 2015 for A$620.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

pretty ordinary

published

not happy with end result leaves stands of lawns i have a very small front lawn which only take 10 minutes to cut but on completion no matter how slow i push the mower it leaves individual blades of grass uncut driving me mad, tried going across lawn up and down but no difference. i hate the fact i spent so much money and get an terrible result

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Prettyelle

PrettyelleVictoria

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good electric mower

published

Bought it to replace my old Bunnings own brand electric mower because the battery type no longer available. This mower is a lot more powerful but about the same noice level as my older mower. The catcher is reasonable size, I guess you can’t have the catcher too big otherwise will be too heavy to push. No regret for paying a bit more for a much better product, as long as the battery life is long and always available if replacement is needed.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Rexyv

RexyvADELAIDE

  • 28 reviews

It's Very Good.

published

36cm cutting width is no worries, im not in a hurry. 70 square metres of rollout lawn to cut is no problem.
No trips to the servo for fuel, no oil mix,no pulling arm out of socket trying to start. Push a button and squeeze a trigger and it comes to life,you release the trigger it stops almost instantly.Its lightwieght.No smoke or noise,you could mow at 7am on a Sunday morning and I doubt neighbors would notice.
Purchased 10/10/2018
Keep your docket, and if you have a problem, take it back.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Ash

AshSouth East Queensland, QLD

Love this mower!

published

I love this mower. My lawn is a slight slope, so generally you have to push a bit to get it up to the top of the lawn. However the self propelled feature is amazing! I didn’t have to push at all, and my lawns get cut in under half the time. I like the mulch option, so I don’t have to worry about the catcher. However there is a specific blade for the mulch option, and the original blade is on so tight that I can’t loosen it. So I just use the mulch attachment with the normal blade. It still works well. (And near impossible to find replacement mulch blades in the store.)

The lawnmower lasts a while on one charge, and is quick to charge when it does die. I love that it’s foldable and can be stored upright in a small space.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Peter L

Peter L

  • 2 reviews

Exceeded my expectations

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Dave4life

Dave4lifeBrisbane

Not bad for small lawns quiet easy to use

published
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Lacks grunt

published

Today at Bunnings i Was really excited when I saw the cordless 36 volt option, at $599 I was expecting big things!
unfortunately on its first use it has underperformed horribly. Stopped 3 or 4 times on about 30sqm of grass.
30min of mowing and the battery is on the last bar.
Only good thing was maneuverability due to its light weight.
My grass is quite dense so this may be an excuse , I will let the battery charge overnight and give it one more go on the backyard, however I dare say i’ll be back at Bunnings by 10am changing it for a petrol model

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Battery Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM36 Series compares to other Battery Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anonymous

AnonymousSydney

  • 2 reviews

Useless warranty

published

My Ryobi lawn mower is only 3 years old, it suddenly won't start one day. I've been told it is out of warranty and that it's not worth servicing. So I've basically spent $629 for a lawn mower that has lasted 3 years. Not to mention I've purchased extra batteries. Very unimpressed.

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Great product - TERRIBLE service

published

For 30 months I loved using my Ryobi mower - and then it just stopped one day.

I contacted Ryobi to find out where I could get it fixed but the nearest location was 90 minutes away. Now I do not live remotely - living less than 2 hours from the centre of Melbourne. There is no service in Victoria east of Mt Waverley!!!

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Wai Keung

Wai Keung

  • 4 reviews

User Friendly

published

go to bunnigns and ask the staff , they recommend this products and i just buy this one is very easy to use , not too noisy powerful is ok can't compare other more expensive petrol products, trim this grass is good , 5 adjustable cutting heights just can use level 3 , level 1 is hard, the battery is enough, but run time is less than they said, don't expect the battery can run a long time.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Not powerful enough

published

Very poor power. Struggles with more than a lawn trim. Battery lasts about half the time mentioned, and then must cool fully to charge. Light and easy to maneuver, but only fit for very small yards with fine grass. Would be appropriate for twice weekly mowers or townhouses. Or buy 4 batteries.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Looks good - but adverts are sheer misleading..

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 2 of 11
See all Ryobi RLM36 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Charbz

Charbzasked

RLM36 Series

We have a RLM36B46S mower and we trying to locate a replacement blade which is not available at Bunnnings even though they stock the mower and another blade. And we not sure how to get the replacement. This seems like a painful process for such a simple item.

No answers
Nev W

Nev Wasked

RLM36 Series

I have a rlm36 cordless mower,has been going great but It started okay then stopped.The control lever is very loose and I think the cable may have disconnected or broke.Can some one advise on how to replace or repair the cable.

No answers
Wndy62

Wndy62asked

RLM36 Series

Battery only lasts for 7 minutes?

1 answer
Jacci
Jacci

My battery is brand new and have found that it will do my entire front yard and the back yard (which is a large) on a single charge, if the grass isn't too wet or too long. if it is, then it will need a second charge. Takes me about an hour or more to get both the front and back done. I

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.