??!
1 photo
Ryobi RLM46160S

Ryobi RLM46160S

MPN: RLM46160S
2.9 from 18 reviews

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

2.9

18 reviews
5
(3)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(3)
  • Build Quality
    1.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (7)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (7)
  • Safety
    2.6 (7)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (7)
Previous
Next
Abel

AbelSouthwest, VIC

Excellent

published

Excellent performance and fair quality.i used in buffalo and Kikuyu and did a beautiful job , the catcher is good quality and large enough . I can't be more happy with it.

Purchased in September 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$339.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Rubbish

published

This is piece of junk, I always thought Japanese had good quality system but this mower is breaking apart after 2 uses. the catcher hole always break obeviously who ever designed it is not going to use it.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Aitcho

AitchoNorth Queensland, QLD

Worst Ryobi product I’ve bought

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$389.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM46160S compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mehmet

MehmetSydney, NSW

Only used 10~12 times, fuel pipe line is split just after main extraction under fuel depo,

published

All "control wires" electrical contact, speed control are on the side and exposed to terrain while mowing, I usually get 4~5 years from the mowers I purchased. This one did not last a year

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$375.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
P. Maloney

P. MaloneySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Fragile

published

Purchased in December 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
FPA

FPASouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute rubbish, dont waste your money!

published

Drive cable broke 2 weeks after warranty ended. Customer service from Ryobi was terrible but eventually figured part to order through Bunnings spares.

In trying to replace drive cable, it clearly becomes apparent that the design is poor and that the parts they use are cheap rubbish. Numerous over tightened bolts that have now stripped.

I'll have to throw out a two year old mower and buy another brand. I have quite a number of Ryobi tools and will never by another. Steer clear!

Purchased in November 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Alex Newton

Alex NewtonHunter Region, NSW

Poor quality build

published

Fuel line split after less than 10 uses - this has happened for other reviewers on this site. Not easy to find a replacement part. Bloke in DIY store nearby said Chinese rubbish, good luck with finding a part! Ryobi website is useless - doesn't offer spare parts. Bunnings doesn't stock it.

Colnick

ColnickHawks Nest

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Some good but too much bad.

published
Mini Miner

Mini MinerWestern Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 14 likes

Traded my second warranty replacement in for another brand

published

Purchased Oct 2018 from Bunnings and self drive failed after three months (six uses). I needed a self-drive mower as suffering from cancer and weakened from treatment. Returned for new replacement in January 2019. Bugger is heavy and requires lots of assembly but had plenty of practise. Fuel line on replacement unit perished/cracked and started leaking in August 2019 after a dozen uses. Returned to Bunnings again and opted to replace with another self-drive mower. Impossible to source new fuel line for Ryobi model or have it installed. Throw-away item featuring design obsolescence...very dissatisfied.

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM46160S compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul and Lisa

Paul and Lisamelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Model 4 stroke Ryobi 160cc18inch self-prop RLM46160S

published

Purchase 3/2/18, used ? 12 times, went to use this am, starter cord broke off in my hand, unscrewed top only to find rest of cord tangled around black broken plastic winder, took to Bunnings, as it has 2 yr warranty, only to be told warranty on motor only, need to speak to speaciality orders to order a whole new starter assembly, checked Ryobi site, they do not make this part anymore,mower is only 17mths old, what am I to do , not happy!!

Purchased in February 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$389.00.

Product is used Occasionally

This is an OK replacement mower

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Gidi

GidiFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good and reliable

published

Good around the garden for small jobs. It's great to have it self propelled as we have a steep block. Lost a bold from the handle (obviously because of the vibration) after a very short time. It would be helpful if these had a lock, and/or supply the mower with a spare bolt if this is a chronic problem (like they give you spare buttons with a new shirt).

Date PurchasedDec 2017
warren g

warren gHunter Region, NSW

  • 16 reviews

first pull

published

great mower starts first pull every time never missed beat very impressed.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Taking my second one back

published

First new mower ever purchased, wanted self propelled as I have big yard & on a slope, went great first time I used it but wouldn’t turn off, had to manually turn off at the motor not from the handle, took it back, got a replacement, same problem, the replacement also isn’t as fast moving as the first. I have the same issue as others with the grass flying up in my face when I have to empty the catcher, the small chute clogs with grass if grass not completely dry, does not do well with longer gras sections.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
P.B.

P.B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Exactly what I hoped it would be!

published

We have a sloping River block with an extensive lawn. I was cautious purchasing a self propelled mower within the lower price range. After the first four months I have been super impressed with the Ryobi 160 cc 18” self propelled mower I purchased from Bunnings.
I have owned 3 mowers and have never had a mower start first time with little effort - awesome!
The large catcher sits comfortably on the mower and is easily emptied. The large fuel tank is also a bonus. The self propelled component works fantastically. It was easy to assemble with most of the unit pre-assembled. Hoping that the mower will provide a good decade of fortnightly mowing.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Ryobi RLM46160S compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Ryobi 160cc 4 stroke self propelled

published

Bought from Bunnings, 1st time I used it the self propel would not engage. Have to sa that the moter was great, great grass cutting and mulching. Another problem is that the locking nuts on handles always loosen due to Vibration or poor design. No matter that I tightened them to breaking point they always loosened within 1 few minutes. Bunnings gave me a full refund...machine only 1 day in use.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Decent value

published

Decent mower for the price cuts well good power, self propell is a great feature but the mower sometimes bottoms out and wheels spin. It's a bit tricky to manoeuvre at times but overall I'm quite happy, the catcher with the half mesh might be a problem down the track but fine now. A deck wash feature would have been very helpful, the 4 yr warranty is fantastic when you register the product.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
johnnyk

johnnyk

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

For the price a great mower

published

For the price, this mower is value for money and comes with a 4-year warranty when you registered the mower on the Ryobi web site. easy to assemble and start. easy to use and tackles them sloping sites with ease.

Questions & Answers

Jacob W.

Jacob W.asked

Hi, I've got the 46160p and I'm having trouble with it. It sat for a while, now it runs slow and won't cut grass to save it's life. Tried cleaning the carby which helped but still same problem. However if i leave the carby a bit loose, it runs at max throttle. Is this a gasket problem somewhere? It also sputters and spits out black smoke

No answers
Umesh

Umeshasked

Spark plug code

2 answers
Colnick
Colnick

Can't help you Umesh. I can only suggest you take the old plug to your nearest auto/electrical outlet and they will match it for you.
Col.

Umesh
Umesh

That's what I did. It was a Torch F7RTC plug.
Champion equivalent is RN9YC available from.Bunnings.
So all good. Thanks.

zoeeplezmarston

zoeeplezmarstonasked

Hello,
The self propelling action has stopped, I’m pretty sure the cable came out, how do I fix it?

1 answer
Colnick
Colnick

Can't help. I have the "P" model. Not self propelled.
Col.

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.