??!
2 photos
Ryobi RLM4619SMB

Ryobi RLM4619SMB (page 2 of 7)

MPN: RLM4619SMB
3.5 from 132 reviews

See the Best Petrol Lawn Mowers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
45
4 star
42
3 star
8
2 star
14
1 star
23

DanishKiwi

DanishKiwi

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Terrible; Dusty and hard to start

published

Very disappointed by this mower. It is very hard to start and refuses to start if there is the least bit of moisture in the air. Will start if placed in sunlight to completely dry out. And I'm storing it under cover.

Ironic as my biggest problem with the mower is that the catcher has uncovered wholes where dust, seed and grass comes out when mowing to the degree that I have to wear a mask when moving. Bought from Bunnings who contacted Ryobi NZ who couldn't help. Bad design.

So in summary: unreliable (impossible to start) and catcher is poorly designed.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

MarkEm

MarkEmMelbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Competent, but sometimes hard to start and some bits feel flimsy

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Fred

FredBrisbane

  • 3 reviews

Reasonable mower

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Best thing!Do not hesitate!

published

Best machine I have ever had more satisfaction than the most sold best German chain saw brand ever provided, unbelievable power for a little mower.I’had many big expensive brands they don’t come near this machine it feels unkillable dose not struggle even in the thickest weeded grass as long as you can push the mower init it does the job without choking! you waisting your money on anything else!

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Must have got a lemon

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Flossy

Flossysydney

cheap and nasty

published

Had a good mower I'd been using for 15 years but my adult children thought I needed a new mower so they bought me a new Ryobi mower. This Ryobi is nice and shiny and cuts OK but is a piece of junk compared to my old mower.
The Ryobi blows smoke when first started and then the height adjustment arms and blade base rattle and vibrate like crazy.
You know with all the vibration things are going to start breaking and falling off - probably as soon as the warranty runs out. Anyway can't take it back to Bunnings because it was a gift but will keep my old mower to use when the Ryobi falls to bits.
Also the catcher is difficult to use and poor quality.
I advise you to pay a bit more and get a decent mower.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

ron

ron

  • 2 reviews

Ask for an old fella

published

Cuts well
Goes any where
Starts good @ easy to change oil @ clean filters I found folds up well to transport to other relations place they intend to buy one when they move out of rental property to there new place so I'll be mowing theirs till then (free of charge)
It's an easy job.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Algard74

Algard74Illawarra, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Takes a beating

published

Purchased from Bunnings mid 2014. I have not attempted to look after this mower at all. Never checked oil or air filter or spark plug. Never bothered to sharpen or replace blades. It starts first time every time. Coming into winter now so I've decided to give it it's first service after 4 years of abuse in a thick Sir Walter buffalo lawn.
4 years of trouble free mowing so far.

Date PurchasedJul 2014
Gary966

Gary966Perth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 17 likes

Lawnmower does the job very well

published

Ryobi mower with a Subaru motor.
Starts very easy and runs very well.
Never had a problem
Solid clippings catcher with mulching plug
Mulches very well.
Four swing blades
Very frugal on fuel, 4 stroke.
Had mower about 12 months now.
I Recommend this lawn mower for domestic and commercial use. Its a cracker.

Date PurchasedApr 2007

Not worth the money

published

Mower catcher is the worst for actually catching anything.
After 4 months the ignition coil has given up.
Heavy.
Needs refinement before they get a good name.
Purchased from Bunnings and they had a salesman there convincing people to buy these mowers.
About to return mine tomorrow and hopefully let them know what a POS it is.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Not worth $500 bucks

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

AFK

AFKPeel, WA

  • 49 reviews
  • 40 likes

Great lawnmower, plenty of power

published

Has a subaru motor and 4 cutting blades. Easy valve start and runs very well cutting with ease. I would have given this mower 5 stars if not for the high amount of dirt and dust that blows out the top of the catcher. The catcher need to allow high air flow but it kicks up a lot of dust. If the lawn didnt have any bare patches might not be so dusty. Apart from that its a very good mower if a tad heavy but not a deal breaker

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Z Li

Z LiMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Pricy but good

published

Bought from bunnings a year ago and going strong. Much better than the electrical wired mower I used to own. Just make sure you check the petrol and oil level each time...Price is a bit steep and hopefully it last for a few years (warranty is good for ryobi product).

Date PurchasedApr 2017

PeteJ

PeteJMoranbah

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Ferrari engine in a Leyland chassis

published

Subaru 190CC engine is a ripper. Starts first crank and has unbelievable torque yet runs very quietly. Mower body is a bit of a let-down however. Catcher is hard to remove and feels flimsy, as does the rest of the body, push handle and wheels. Still happy with the overall package however. Expect this mower to last me many years as I treat my tools with great care.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
TAMEEKA REICH

TAMEEKA REICHAdelaide

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very easy to use!

published

I was skeptical on purchasing this as it had a Subaru engine and Dad had always told me to buy Briggs&Stratton lawn mower but I can't fault this!
Starts on the first pull every time.
The mulching capability is awesome!
I don't think the hubby has mowed the lawn since we've purchased this! :)

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Efficient..

published

I have bought this one before six months no complaint s yet,easy to use n fast as well no fuss
cuts the grass in equal size and maintain s correct grass size a ND this is an wonderful lawn mower for a healthy and gerat looking lawn.. would strongly recommend to anyone,less oil goes long way..
Thank Ryobi.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Edward

Edward

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great lawn mower

published

I enjoy using it on a fortnightly basis as i have a huge backyard and i since yet found it reliable and haven't had any issues with it whatsoever, i believe its a great lawnmower. I do not have any problems with it and i really like the warranty on it

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Whats the point of the catcher?

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Kristen

KristenDundas Valley

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a great mower

published

Great and easy to use mower. Like how you don’t have to mix the oil and petrol together. Very easy to use for females. It also comes with a mulcher if you don’t want to use the catcher. I live this mower over most of them. This mower has a great Subaru engine

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Yani S

Yani SAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but not Amazing

published

What I don't like about it is, The back lip juts out a bit too much past the back wheels. So going down steps the wheels don't reach and the metal at the back screeches down the front of the step. Other than that. It starts every time and runs super smooth.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Page 2 of 7

Questions & Answers

Steve

Steveasked

My mower is not collecting the grass in the catcher, it sits in the body or spreading all over the grass, what do i do the mower is only 1 year old

2 answers
ed_8
ed_8

Has the mower ever collected the grass or is this a recent problem?
If it's been like this from day one then I know this sound like a silly question but do you have the mulching plug fitted? If you have the mulching plug fitted then remove and it should be okay.
If the problem has only just recently appeared then check your blades. Ensure they're the correct ones for the model, aren't worn out, and that they're free to swing out when the mower is running.
When you're mowing, go in a clockwise direction or have the uncut grass on the right hand of the mower.
The blade spin clockwise (when viewed from above) and the grass chute in on the right side of the mower.
Could also be wet grass that does clump but there should still be some grass going into the catcher.

ibast
ibast

Agree with ed. It did come with the grass return fitted. Needs to be removed. And the mower doesn't deal with wet and long grass particularly well. Also check the vents for the catcher are clear. If these are clogged it will be reluctant to catch grass.


Gary X.

Gary X.asked

I have a 190c EA190V RLM4619SMB model, it suddenly wont start

3 answers
ed_8
ed_8

I find the mower is sometimes hard to start if it's been sitting unused for a few months (e.g. over winter).
Topping up with fresh petrol and cleaning the spark plug usually results in the mower running correctly again.
If it has been sitting it will take a few pulls of the starter cord to fill the carb with petrol so it won't start immediately.

ibast
ibast

Have you ever changed the plug?

Gary X.
Gary X.

Thanks, I use it every week. Maybe i should check up the plug.


Renal Chand

Renal Chandasked

Price

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryPetrol Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $499
Power SourcePetrol
FeaturesFoldable Handle and Mulching Capability
Catcher Type Rigid
Catcher Capacity50 L
Cutting Deck MaterialSteel
Cutting Width460 mm
Height of Cut10 mm to 75 mm
Number of Blades4
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Displacement190 cc
BrandSubaru
Engine Type4-Stroke and OHV (Overhead Valve)
Engine NameSubaru 190cc 4-stroke

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: RLM4619SMB

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.