??!
1 photo
Ryobi RMT1801

Ryobi RMT1801

2.8 from 13 reviews

See the Best Multi Tools in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
4

Dave H

Dave HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 30 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

Owned for just a short while

published

Not long owned this tool I was cutting along plaster in the ceiling, it kept over heating and stopping, I had to wait for it to cool down , A job that should have taken 30-45 minutes took 2 hours, because of the over heat. Been using since and it has been working fine, might have been the plaster dust clogging it. A great tool but I found the blades a little expensive

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $60.00.


Jebz

JebzMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 60 reviews
  • 37 likes

Does not last

published

Have had this from 2014 which you would think 5 years is good but when I have only used it about 30 times all up for minor bits and pieces areound the home it’s a waste of money. I have relatively new batteries (2017) it works for a few seconds and then flashes and turns off.

I also got a ryobi sander and that’s only been used about a dozen times and it no longer works.

Purchased in February 2014 for $149.00.

Gravel

GravelAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

ryobi r18mt

published

18 volt multi tool is great i do a lot of work on motorhomes and boats BIG BOATS, with the adjustable head i haven't found a angle i can't get into, it was $149.99 from bunnings. The only gripe is the guy at bunnings said it came with 6 cutters, NO 2 cutters and 4 bits of sand paper.
But as its my 3rd multi tool (others were bosch) the tools fit.

If you have other batteries from ryobi you're winning.

I have ryobi drills x3 jig saw, rattle gun, screw driver and the air pump. Great stuff the only down side to Ryobi i can see is the BATTERY CHARGERS, i have killed 4 of them.

Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Ares

AresBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

worth for the price

published

Nice power for the cordless hand tool, easy to cuting though the light steel rod and thin timers, but the power not enough to doing some heavy duties such as cutting a nail.
Detailed sanding work brilliant.
Battery has good life to running it, I got two 5.0A and never running flat before i feel tied.
Great for DIY use but not recommonded for commercial.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

  • Verified purchase

Brilliant, just what I wanted

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Lorraine

LorraineTweed Heads

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

First one didn't work

published

Bought it from Bunnings Burleigh. Didn't work, wouldn't charge. Tried to exchange it at local Bunnings, but being a smaller store, they didn't stock that model. Had to drive all the way back to Burleigh, but they replaced it, no problem. Tested it to make sure it works, but haven't used it on a real project yet. Instructions are poor, but thankfully it is relatively simple.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Brad from not tryall ave

Brad from not tryall avePerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Lemon of the year - Save your money, buy an electric multi tool or use the vibrate function on your

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Lethal

LethalAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very useful tool

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Enjoy it for the short time it works

published

After about 6 months mine just plain died. Yes, I tried different batteries and such. A week later, a person I work with had his go dead too. They also made the tool extremely difficult to take apart and try to find the problem. Even when it worked you couldn't apply any pressure on it while cutting.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Guppie

GuppieWA, 6062

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Total rubbish!

published

There seems to be some good review for this multi tool, but I found it to be utter garbage!

After the tool struggled to cut through chip board, I went and got the Bosh 240V multi tool, which cut through the material like butter!

The Ryobi vibrates a lot more, and is grossly underpowered!

Save your money and time and consider getting a better machine.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

JohnD

JohnDPalmerston, NT

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good overall

published

Have had mine for over a year and it gets regular handyman use, mainly as a sander using the sanding pad it came with. Can't fault it. Will run well on even the low Ah batteries. The large capacity batteries last over 45 minutes. It takes a variety of other generic tool attachments for speciality jobs and I found a few of the various shaped toothed plunge saws and corundum impregnated grout removal tools superior to the attachments it came with.

Date PurchasedJul 2015

Lack of Attachments

published

The Ryobi multitool l purchased had 3 attachments. A wood/ metal/ plastic blade, a sander and wood 1/2 round blade. I then had to purchase the blades I required for removing grout. The machine worked well. It should come more attachments. I also have problems trying to register the multitool.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

Yadekul

YadekulNSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pretty good, if cordless is a must.

published

Questions & Answers

Morris

Morrisasked

Hi after about 2 minutes of cutting timber or taking out grout , the tool heats up and stops . Then when it starts again it stops after 20 seconds . Is this normal?
Thanks

5 answers
Lethal
Lethal

I've never had that problem. Sounds like a defective tool. Mine runs as long as my hands can handle the heat that the tool generates.

wadrifter
wadrifter

Sounds like you have a faulty product. I have not experienced that problem

JohnD
JohnD

Sounds like its tripped a thermal cut-out designed to stop it burning out completely.


Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryMulti Tools

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.