??!
1 photo
Ryobi RMT1801

Ryobi RMT1801

2.8 from 13 reviews

Reviews

2.8

13 reviews
5
(1)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Previous
Next
Gravel

GravelIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

It has never let me down

published

I have rebuilt 2 rv`s and it has had a flogging , the angles this tool can get in to is amasing ,,,,, Start with a fully charged battery every time and you cant go wrong ,,, OH and blow the dust from the tool if its an a bad inviroment ,,,, you cant ask a donkey to run a horse race if it cant breath ,,, I find it utterly stupid when people Knock a tool that they abuse ,,,,,,,,,,

Purchased in March 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$79.95.

Dave H

Dave HSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 32 reviews
  • 23 likes
  • Verified purchase

Owned for just a short while

published

Not long owned this tool I was cutting along plaster in the ceiling, it kept over heating and stopping, I had to wait for it to cool down , A job that should have taken 30-45 minutes took 2 hours, because of the over heat. Been using since and it has been working fine, might have been the plaster dust clogging it. A great tool but I found the blades a little expensive

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$60.00.

Jebz

JebzMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 67 reviews
  • 42 likes

Does not last

published

Have had this from 2014 which you would think 5 years is good but when I have only used it about 30 times all up for minor bits and pieces areound the home it’s a waste of money. I have relatively new batteries (2017) it works for a few seconds and then flashes and turns off.

I also got a ryobi sander and that’s only been used about a dozen times and it no longer works.

Purchased in February 2014 for A$149.00.

Multi Tools

Find out how Ryobi RMT1801 compares to other Multi Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ares

AresBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

worth for the price

published

Nice power for the cordless hand tool, easy to cuting though the light steel rod and thin timers, but the power not enough to doing some heavy duties such as cutting a nail.
Detailed sanding work brilliant.
Battery has good life to running it, I got two 5.0A and never running flat before i feel tied.
Great for DIY use but not recommonded for commercial.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
  • Verified purchase

Brilliant, just what I wanted

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Lorraine

LorraineTweed Heads

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

First one didn't work

published

Bought it from Bunnings Burleigh. Didn't work, wouldn't charge. Tried to exchange it at local Bunnings, but being a smaller store, they didn't stock that model. Had to drive all the way back to Burleigh, but they replaced it, no problem. Tested it to make sure it works, but haven't used it on a real project yet. Instructions are poor, but thankfully it is relatively simple.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Brad from not tryall ave

Brad from not tryall avePerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Lemon of the year - Save your money, buy an electric multi tool or use the vibrate function on your

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Lethal

LethalAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very useful tool

published
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Enjoy it for the short time it works

published

After about 6 months mine just plain died. Yes, I tried different batteries and such. A week later, a person I work with had his go dead too. They also made the tool extremely difficult to take apart and try to find the problem. Even when it worked you couldn't apply any pressure on it while cutting.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Multi Tools

Find out how Ryobi RMT1801 compares to other Multi Tools

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Guppie

GuppieWA, 6062

  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified purchase

Total rubbish!

published

There seems to be some good review for this multi tool, but I found it to be utter garbage!

After the tool struggled to cut through chip board, I went and got the Bosh 240V multi tool, which cut through the material like butter!

The Ryobi vibrates a lot more, and is grossly underpowered!

Save your money and time and consider getting a better machine.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
JohnD

JohnDPalmerston, NT

  • 13 reviews
  • 12 likes

Good overall

published

Have had mine for over a year and it gets regular handyman use, mainly as a sander using the sanding pad it came with. Can't fault it. Will run well on even the low Ah batteries. The large capacity batteries last over 45 minutes. It takes a variety of other generic tool attachments for speciality jobs and I found a few of the various shaped toothed plunge saws and corundum impregnated grout removal tools superior to the attachments it came with.

Date PurchasedJul 2015

Lack of Attachments

published

The Ryobi multitool l purchased had 3 attachments. A wood/ metal/ plastic blade, a sander and wood 1/2 round blade. I then had to purchase the blades I required for removing grout. The machine worked well. It should come more attachments. I also have problems trying to register the multitool.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Yadekul

YadekulNSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Pretty good, if cordless is a must.

published

Questions & Answers

Marcella B

Marcella Basked

Hi I have a multi tool one+ that I purchased several years ago, its manufacture date is 2012. It has been in storage boxed for at least 5 years and amazingly the batteries still have power and I have just charged them. The battery is 18.0V - 24wh Li-ion 1.4ah. My questions as follows:

1. Are these batteries still viable after so long in storage. Originally probably only did 4 hours work.

2. Reading above comments says multi tool should should be operated by 5ah batteries not 1.4ah and that the manual confirmed that, however I bought this tool and the 1.4ah X 2 batteries were part of the kit in the case, the batteries were not purchased separately. Do I have to purchase 5ah batteries?

3. I am looking to purchase some more cordless tools, will these 1.4ah batteries operate things such as jigsaw, and saws in the short term, or do I need to purchase new batteries. If so what batteries are best.

3 answers
Dave H
Dave H

If it is the green ryobi tools the battery’s are still available. When I bought my ryobi 18 volt circular saw , I bought 2x 5a battery. I was told that the saws needed the 5 a battery otherwise I’d get no lift out of a charge, I’ve since bought other tools and some knock off battery’s from eBay they work well

Hope this helps

Gravel
Gravel

I have the same tool and also have the 1.4 ah and a 5 ah battery , the tool runs the same on eithr size , just lasts longer on the 5 amp , Lithium batterys hold a full charge up to about 80% of charge state so it will be ok , .. I even run my rattle gum on the 1.4ah battery it will shut down after a while but if im only do a small job or is space around where im working is tight then i grab the small battery ,, ( Fully charged ) ...

Marcella B
Marcella B

hank you so much Dave H and Gravel for responding, this helps me. Cheers.

Morris

Morrisasked

Hi after about 2 minutes of cutting timber or taking out grout , the tool heats up and stops . Then when it starts again it stops after 20 seconds . Is this normal?
Thanks

5 answers
Lethal
Lethal

I've never had that problem. Sounds like a defective tool. Mine runs as long as my hands can handle the heat that the tool generates.

wadrifter
wadrifter

Sounds like you have a faulty product. I have not experienced that problem

JohnD
JohnD

Sounds like its tripped a thermal cut-out designed to stop it burning out completely.

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.