??!
1 photo
Ryobi RSH2445B

Ryobi RSH2445B

2.2 from 18 reviews

Reviews

2.2

18 reviews
5
(1)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(9)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (6)
  • Portability
    4.3 (6)
  • Blade Durability
    2.8 (6)
Previous
Next
Mark

MarkSydney, NSW

Remove the spindle....

published

Started off slowly using monstera and palm fronds.....quickly became jammed...however removed spindle from exit point and it transformed into my new best friend. Quickly shredded range of materials from small branches to palms, vibernum etc. It is extremely noisy - wear earplugs, eye protection and gloves. Easy to open and clear, relatively light for moving around yard

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Bob

BobBrisbane

  • 12 reviews
  • 16 likes

Remove the spindle and wear earplugs

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$329.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
consumer

consumerSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

No good, blocks up

published

I researched this product and thought ok, seems fine.
No, 2 minutes of mulching, five minutes of unclogging.
Can't put leafy branches in without trimming them with a machete.
Ended up returning it and manually trimming plants, took about 10 minutes to do what took me an hour with the mulcher.
Very disappointed.

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$329.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi RSH2445B compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Doug M.

Doug M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great mulcher but remove the stupid spindle first!

published

This is a good mulcher. As per other reviews it did clog up within the first 5 minutes of handling green pittoposrum silver sheen hedge cuttings. I literately pulled out the spindle at the bottom of the shute, it’s plastic and gives in easily. I don’t know what it’s purpose is, except clog up the exit. It then operated without a hitch for 4.5 hours mulching green and dry branches.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Peabody

PeabodyHobart, TAS

Regret buying this model

published

This machine is certainly not a mulcher, jams consistently
.Spend more time cleaning than using, had an old Rover muncher previously, wish I had kept that.
Very disappointed as Ryobi has a good reputation

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
Geoff K.

Geoff K.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Ok for dry dead sticks up to 40cm

published

I bought this machine so I could prune and mulch. You can't do that, you have to dry the cuttings out for a week or so first. It handled dried out Gumtree twigs and branches with ease but as soon as I tried to feed fresh cuttings through, it clogged and jammed up and over heated. Not what I wanted should have kept my $300. First Ryobi product I have been disappointed with.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Portability
Blade Durability
See all answers
marty

martyvic, 3134

noisest machine i have ever owned

published

Just does the job but you must wear very good earmuffs and have very understanding neighbours.
It is only 12 months old but have put in mothballs and had my old ozito fixed.
I note that ryobi also have a Silent shredder out. Reckon they should give me money back.
Would not recommend you buy the RSH 2445B
Maybe the prefix RSH should have told me something??

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Mad G

Mad GManly West, Brisbane

  • Verified purchase

Terrible. 5 minutes into using it it jammed and stopped

published

We got it home from Bunnings, put it together, and I had palm fronds and small (12mm) bamboo to shred. My old Ozito shredder finally died after about 12 years. 5 minutes in I could feel it was jammed, overheated and stopped. My husband thought it would be fine but we had to open it and it was totally impacted, unusable. We’re on our way back to Bunnings now. We chose Ryobi as it had a 4 year replacement warranty and the Ozito Silent Shredder was out of stock. I’d go Ozito any day.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Bill

Billwrpower123@optusnet.com.au

Nail scissors would be a better choice.

published

The blades get blunt before all the bark from one Manna Gum is mulched. I've never mulched anything else. I turned the blades over once with great difficulty. Now they're blunt again and I've still got about a quarter of the bark remaining. Blades are terribly expensive and seem to be only available from Bunnings. I'll have to see if I can sharpen them myself. Worst tool I ever wasted money on.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi RSH2445B compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thi N

Thi NAU

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Took a bit of fiddling but now does the job

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Wagz

WagzLakelands

  • Verified purchase

Do yourself a favour... go out and buy it.

published

Awesome bit of kit. I've just purchased this little rippa and first thing I did was remove the plastic bar with the 5 discs in the discharge chute to the catch bin, now I've just had this beast running for 8 hrs straight ( that's right all you haters - 8 hrs) feeding any and everything that will fit into the feed chutes, including and up to it's stated 45mm diameter solid wood, and has mot missed a beat. Do your self a favour...... go out and buy it

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Leo

LeoSydney

  • Verified purchase

It's great, noisy but I use earmuffs

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Absolute waste of time and money

published

I concur with all the other reviews for this terrible product. Holes are pathetic, overheats, clogs and jams continuously, incredibly noisy, spend more time fixing it than using it. When smoke started to appear after 5 minutes I suspected it needed a rest. Absolute rubbish, at least that is where it’s going. Good brand, rubbish product.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
  • Verified purchase

Ryobi Electric Impact Shredder RSH2445B

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Joshoe

JoshoeEastbourne

A wasted purchase.

published

The machine is screamingly loud in operation. It clogs frequently and with various types of materials there is always the problem that within a minute or two there is clogging and even the plunger fails to clear the problem. Instead of reducing twigs to small pieces it reduces them to sawdust. It just does not do the job. Very disappointed

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi RSH2445B compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Timbo

TimboHobart

Avoid it, useless product!!

published

Purchased from Bunnings and used once for an hour to shred twigs less than 1cm thick from a wattle. Clogged and jammed at least 6 times in that hour, cleared it each time but it backed up from the chute again within 5 - 10 mins. I gave up and took it back to Bunnings who were happy to refund my money.
Worst power garden product I have ever purchased, don't buy it!!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
rhondadknight

rhondadknightSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

almost useless

published

A very big waste of money, going to sell it, I have used it twice and it takes ages because you can only put 1 to 2cm twigs in it any larger and it jams,by the time you manage to manipulate the twigs down the chute and use up to an hour doing it you end up with tub just a quarter full. will always check reviews from now on.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Warbieguy

Warbieguy

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Buyer beware!

published

Questions & Answers

Helen

Helenasked

I have this shredder and have to unblock it frequently do to sticks clogging in the roller. Do I need to replace the blades? Also the nut in the middle of blades becomes loose.

4 answers
Peabody
Peabody

I removed the roller, although not recommended by the manufacture due to safety issues, but it did help.
It does not like all green mulching !!! Have to mix a bit of dry with the green cuttings

Doug M.
Doug M.

I did the same as Peabody. No safety issues unless you shove your arm up there whilst it’s on..... the roller is plastic and pulls out easily.
Blades are reversible,

Geoff K.
Geoff K.

I removed the roller and threw it in the bin and the machine works fine, you still have to unclogg it every hour or so though. Never had an issue with the bolt.

MEF

MEFasked

Bunnings has suggested this Ryobi shredder (RSH2445B) rather than the RSH2445T model for our needs, particularly as the cutting mechanism will cut leaves rather then just squash them.
Most of the reviews of this model are not encouraging and I am also concerned about the feeding shute/method (of both models) as it seems very small and that it would take a long time to feed smallish material into it.
I prefer to buy an electric machine rather than a petrol driven one.
So my questions are:
1. Does it cut leafy material and not just mangle/squash it?
2. Does it cut twigs into smaller pieces?
3. Is it painfully slow to feed in smaller material (rather than a longish branch type piece)?

2 answers
Timbo
Timbo

Don't waste your time and money with these shredders, you'll just end up frustrated and out of pocket. The mechanisms simply do not handle leafy material and continually jam. Twigs are ok but it is so slow that you you try to put larger pieces in which then jams the blades. You'll spend more time pulling it apart to clear jams and blockages than you will actually shredding. I ended up biting the bullet and getting a large petrol shredder and haven't regretted it. Hope this helps!!

Wagz
Wagz

Awesome bit of kit. I've just purchased this little rippa and first thing I did was remove the plastic bar with the 5 discs in the discharge chute to the catch bin, now I've just had this beast running for 8 hrs straight ( that's right all you haters - 8 hrs) feeding any and everything that will fit into the feed chutes, including and up to it stated 45mm diameter solid wood, and has mot missed a beat. Do your self a favour...... go out and buy it

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.