1 photo
Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T

Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T

4.0 from 33 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Garden Shredders in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ryobi

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (7)
  • Portability
    4.3 (6)
  • Blade Durability
    4.2 (6)
Previous
Next
JohnOH
JohnOHSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing

published

I needed a shredder/crusher for the limbs and prunings around our garden. After much research I spent $100 more than I intended on this machine.

We had just had a flood go through the bottom of our yard and there were quite a few limbs washed up; the ease with which it took care of then was great.

Next was the dreaded Boganvillia complete with 3cm spikes which I had avoided for a year. Clipped it off 3 meter cane, fed the thick end into the chute and the Ryobi did the rest; did not have to guide it or touch the viscous thing again.

An excellent machine, does an amazing job and the bonus is free mulch for the garden.

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Sax
SaxSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

It’s great but Aldi sell identical model for $199

published

I’ve been very happy with it for the past 2+ years but after some heavy work the counter blade (the adjustable plate opposite the rotating blade) cracked requiring replacement. After scanning Bigspares schematics of the machine I realised it is precisely the same as the Aldi Gardenline Silent Shredder SGS2500 (PLU 51383) which sells for $199 but only once or twice a year and my parents own. Turns out the Gardenline part was $24 off eBay and the Ryobi part was $59 but it works perfectly. So you can interchange all the parts between the Ryobi and the Gardenline. Maybe the Ryobi has a higher grade or tougher alloy in it but it doesn’t appear to make any difference whatsoever. Worth doing the research but in any case a great mulcher.

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Paul
PaulGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrific

published

Great value Easy to use. Drags the timber in as efficiently as a much more expensive petrol engined unit ...It’s makes disposing of cutting fun and I had no difficulties adjusting the blades..

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $398.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Tonez
TonezSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Who needs a panda when you have this. Working as intended

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick L
Mick LIllawarra, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Does a great job.

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Diesel fan
Diesel fanCentral West, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

I have previously owned a decent petrol powered chipper/shredder that I put a lots of stuff through but decided this time I wanted something quieter and simpler. The Ryobi does a great job, as other reviews say it chops rather than shreds. Just what I wanted. Works great on long straight stems, branches, canes, palm fronds etc Not so good with crooked or wide splayed branches, you have to cut them into fairly straight lengths so they fit the chute. That’s about it, very pleased with what it can do for the price paid ($399)

Purchased in March 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Ken
KenSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Surprisingly effective!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
alan
alan
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Really good, except...........

published

My Ryobi Silent Shredder worked perfectly, it shredded all I wanted big and small branches. However, I did wonder why the wood came out 'connected' with remaining bark. When I cleaned it after use, I found the pressure plate which is against the rotating blade was put in reversed, exactly as the manual says be careful NOT to do.
The overall performance was otherwise perfect.

Date PurchasedJune 2018

Excellent

published

great home shredder/mulcher
purchased the display unit for a good price
already assembled, not been used
Made short work of pruning from my bottle brush ttrees
You got to do a bit of pruning of side branches for the to fit in feed opening
Very pleased with it
- - - - -

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maralyn Manson
Maralyn MansonMargaret River, Western Australia
  • 26 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified

Simply set up and works with little or no mess

published
Date PurchasedJune 2018

Try getting spare parts

published

Very good all round chipper,as stated by others not so good on soft stuff but then not made for soft material.Best things are twigs and branches just eats them up.Now The Not So Good Part......Try getting spare parts!

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Adam
AdamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified

It’s a mulcher not a shredder.

published

Great mulcher. Good for shrubs and bushes as well as palm fronds. It’s does not shred leaves it’s not for that. It made short work of 2 dead 8 foot pittosporums and a stinky Prostanthera bush called “Minty”. Good construction and easy to adjust. Recommend this if you have a medium to larger garden.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ConsumerMan
ConsumerMan
  • 37 reviews
  • 34 likes

Why Didn’t I Buy This Product Years Ago

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
  • Verified

This is the ducks guts!

published

Bought it yesterday and worked it hard today. Once you work out what the stupid Japanese cartoons are trying to explain and you set the paddle depth, it is the best muncher I’ve used. It is very quiet and slowly grinds whatever to a compostable mulch. If you see a negative review I suggest the writer didn’t open the instruction book. Brilliant, buy one!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Rexyv
RexyvADELAIDE
  • 28 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified

Very Happy.

published

Had a large shrub to dispose of so i got a saw and garden shears.
That took a few hours to cut to a manageable pile. Was wondering about chasing up a trailer and taking to recycle yard.
Decided to buy myself the 2400W Electric Silent Shredder and within half hour of screwing it together and plugging it in the pile was gone.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Questions & Answers

Ken
Ken asked

Trouble shooting shredder won’t start have checked lead and is getting power to the shredder

No answers
Mark P.
Mark P.asked

Hey, we just bought the shredder bulrushes I have it adjusted to take pencil thickness branches for a test run, it worked for about 10mins the stopped, i pressed the go button and it went backwards about half a turn then forwards a fraction then stopped again, it kept doing this while I held the go button and it stopped as soon as I took my finger off the button, the blade distance is not much smaller than the branches im practising on, ive seen some pretty large branches going through on youtube

No answers
Chas T.
Chas T.asked

does it shred green leaves

3 answers
JohnOH
JohnOH

It is more a crusher that a shredder designed to chip branches into pieces about 2 ish cm long, Say I am doing palm fronds, the shafts are crushed so that I can put it on the garden as mulch but while the leaves are 'chewed' up to some extent they are still recognizable; Hope this is helpful

Chas T.
Chas T.

thank you very helpful

Sax
Sax

Anything too fibrous like fronds or banana leaves will end up stringy and possibly block the mechanism. Works better on drier leaves and timber - too green is not ideal.

See all Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T questions

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryGarden Shredders
Price (RRP)$399
Power2400W
Cutting Capacity45mm
ManualDownload manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.