??!
1 photo
Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T

Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T

4.1 from 32 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.8 (6)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (6)
  • Portability
    4.2 (5)
  • Blade Durability
    4.2 (5)
Previous
Next
JohnOH

JohnOHSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing

published

I needed a shredder/crusher for the limbs and prunings around our garden. After much research I spent $100 more than I intended on this machine.

We had just had a flood go through the bottom of our yard and there were quite a few limbs washed up; the ease with which it took care of then was great.

Next was the dreaded Boganvillia complete with 3cm spikes which I had avoided for a year. Clipped it off 3 meter cane, fed the thick end into the chute and the Ryobi did the rest; did not have to guide it or touch the viscous thing again.

An excellent machine, does an amazing job and the bonus is free mulch for the garden.

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Sax

SaxSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

It’s great but Aldi sell identical model for $199

published

I’ve been very happy with it for the past 2+ years but after some heavy work the counter blade (the adjustable plate opposite the rotating blade) cracked requiring replacement. After scanning Bigspares schematics of the machine I realised it is precisely the same as the Aldi Gardenline Silent Shredder SGS2500 (PLU 51383) which sells for $199 but only once or twice a year and my parents own. Turns out the Gardenline part was $24 off eBay and the Ryobi part was $59 but it works perfectly. So you can interchange all the parts between the Ryobi and the Gardenline. Maybe the Ryobi has a higher grade or tougher alloy in it but it doesn’t appear to make any difference whatsoever. Worth doing the research but in any case a great mulcher.

Purchased in April 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Paul

PaulGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrific

published

Great value Easy to use. Drags the timber in as efficiently as a much more expensive petrol engined unit ...It’s makes disposing of cutting fun and I had no difficulties adjusting the blades..

Purchased in April 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$398.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick L

Mick LIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does a great job.

published

Purchased in November 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Diesel fan

Diesel fanCentral West, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job

published

I have previously owned a decent petrol powered chipper/shredder that I put a lots of stuff through but decided this time I wanted something quieter and simpler. The Ryobi does a great job, as other reviews say it chops rather than shreds. Just what I wanted. Works great on long straight stems, branches, canes, palm fronds etc Not so good with crooked or wide splayed branches, you have to cut them into fairly straight lengths so they fit the chute. That’s about it, very pleased with what it can do for the price paid ($399)

Purchased in March 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ken

KenSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Surprisingly effective!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Portability
Blade Durability
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Excellent

published

great home shredder/mulcher
purchased the display unit for a good price
already assembled, not been used
Made short work of pruning from my bottle brush ttrees
You got to do a bit of pruning of side branches for the to fit in feed opening
Very pleased with it
- - - - -

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Try getting spare parts

published

Very good all round chipper,as stated by others not so good on soft stuff but then not made for soft material.Best things are twigs and branches just eats them up.Now The Not So Good Part......Try getting spare parts!

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Adam

AdamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

It’s a mulcher not a shredder.

published

Great mulcher. Good for shrubs and bushes as well as palm fronds. It’s does not shred leaves it’s not for that. It made short work of 2 dead 8 foot pittosporums and a stinky Prostanthera bush called “Minty”. Good construction and easy to adjust. Recommend this if you have a medium to larger garden.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ConsumerMan

ConsumerMan

  • 37 reviews
  • 33 likes

Why Didn’t I Buy This Product Years Ago

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
  • Verified purchase

This is the ducks guts!

published

Bought it yesterday and worked it hard today. Once you work out what the stupid Japanese cartoons are trying to explain and you set the paddle depth, it is the best muncher I’ve used. It is very quiet and slowly grinds whatever to a compostable mulch. If you see a negative review I suggest the writer didn’t open the instruction book. Brilliant, buy one!

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Rexyv

RexyvADELAIDE

  • 28 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very Happy.

published

Had a large shrub to dispose of so i got a saw and garden shears.
That took a few hours to cut to a manageable pile. Was wondering about chasing up a trailer and taking to recycle yard.
Decided to buy myself the 2400W Electric Silent Shredder and within half hour of screwing it together and plugging it in the pile was gone.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Rod

RodNewlands Arm

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

The best

published

I had a pile of prunings that would have taken weeks to put through the recycle bin and I don't have a trailer. This machine is good and solid. Nearly went for the Ozito but thought this would be more stable and the bin is really worthwhile. All the favourable comments below are true, the only negative comment seems inaccurate, - maybe an adjustment problem.

One year later.....
8 months stores with no use........
Still good, just did a pile of prunings. Didn't block up but then you don't want to go stuffing fine stuff in there - it does long stems and branches even with attached leaves better. Leaves and small stuff should just go straight into your compost bin as they will break down quickly anyway.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Great value for money product

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
ChristianG

ChristianGVIC, 3191

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Constantly amazed at what it can eat

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Garden Shredders

Find out how Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T compares to other Garden Shredders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
YML

YMLSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best money I have spent this year!

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Fiona292

Fiona292Canberra

  • 11 reviews
  • 13 likes

Thoroughly impressed

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Paul N

Paul NSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great Shredder

published

Works great and very quiet, you need to adjust the cut which is easy with the knob on the side
Big improvement from my last one

See all Ryobi Silent Shredder RSH2445T reviews

Questions & Answers

Neil F.

Neil F.asked

How does the cast cover come off after the 4 screws have been removed?

2 answers
Paul
Paul

No idea. Check out YouTube .

JohnOH
JohnOH

Dunno; have not had the need to remove it as yet... sorry

Erik

Erikasked

my Ryobi shredder which is just 6 mth out of warranty has developed a problem in that after stalling on a branch it will predominantly run in reverse irrespective of the forward /reverse switch setting, togling the start/stop switch a number of times sometimes helps.
any ideas would be appreciated

1 answer
Erik
Erik

I hope the remedy I found will help someone else.
The problem was a faulty start capacitor 60uF 450volt ac, but to replace this I had to dismantle the shredder completely.

Curious

Curiousasked

Which shredder is which? Your picture and product code and review descriptions seem to mismatch. Bunnings is advertising two at the moment with $90 between them.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryGarden Shredders
Price (RRP)$399
Power2400W
Cutting Capacity45mm
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.