?
? !
1 photo
Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC

Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC

1.9 from 59 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (3)
  • Number of Connected Devices 4 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    3.0 (3)
  • Reliability
    2.0 (3)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    3.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Anthony
AnthonySydney
  • 7 reviews
  • Verified

Modem is average

published

- lack of connectivity, random spikes in pings, could possibly be due to the modem heating up
- easy to setup, standard modem
- lots of cables for households that requires connection and sufficient cables are supplied

-Proof of purchase attached to this review, part of Optus bundle that i pay on a month to month basis

Purchased in August 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
jeanada
jeanadaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

it does the job

published

using it for a few weeks now and about 70% of the time the device has about 5% packet loss. This makes gaming and voice really poor. Otherwise basic admin of device is poor. Cant even add static IP through the GUI. Had to rely on someOptus and have had issues ever since with this piece of rubbish.

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Matthed Wharmby
Matthed WharmbySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

bad WiFi not good for new comers

published

i thought it would be good but when i got it after 3 months of use it kept going slow and bad i would not recommend it for all time use but for part time use

Purchased in March 2014 at Thr1ve for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Modems

Find out how Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam S
Sam SAU
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Not bad

published

Very easy installation, and the coverage of wifi is not really, i checked with my neighbor and she can use it as well, just I am not happy with the size compare to other modems this one is really big, i had one of them for 2 years and now get a new one

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Dion
DionPerth
  • 4 reviews

An OK ISP provided modem/router

published

As a modem/router offered by Optus, this does the job. An average user is not going to have many problems. However, any advanced user is going to immediately want to replace it. The signal range leaves something to be desired (I have a secondary router upstairs acting as a access point through power line). Whilst it does have some advanced preferences, it doesn't offer nearly as much customisability as open source firmware such as Tomato or OpenWRT (which isn't ported to this modem as of writing).

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Jackson B
Jackson BGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Not bad, depending on the size of your house

published

This modem overall does its job and works well. If you have a medium to large size house you'd probably need a WiFi extender for it to work at its full potential. It doesn't over heat or drop out. Quite easy to hook up and easy interface to use via your smart phone or laptop

Date PurchasedMay 2017
vvv
vvvMelbourne
  • 4 reviews

OK

published

Not the best, not the worst. Sometimes the drop outs I get are related to the modem. The light on the wifi part stops working, it needs to be reset and even then it's hard to get connected. I constantly have to physically go there (the web ip works periodically). Not sure if it's optus that's the problem or this router but I wouldn't go the extra cost to buy this.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Jeremy
JeremyPerth
  • 5 reviews

Needs to be reset often.

published

The router, when it is working (or just turned back on) works great. However, it seems that rather frequently, like once or twice a week, you are forced to turn off the router for half an hour or so, as the internet or phone service has cut out altogether. The rest of the time, however, this machine serves its purpose and serves it well.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
James D
James DBankstown
  • 4 reviews

Excellent Router, but not the best.

published

Got this router from Optus NBN installation last december. Ever since then, the modem has had no dropouts, and the speed is exceptionally fast. However, the cons for this device is that sometimes when alot of people is on the network, the bandwidth it provides is not enough therefore, the speeds might slow down.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Modems

Find out how Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lazy guy
Lazy guyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 21 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not bad but it's sagem. Anything can go wrong

published

I had it from optus NBN installation since last year. Sometimes this router can reboot itself for no reason at all randomly and it's very annoying when it does that. Easy to setup and ok for simple home owners. For technical persons, this could be too basic.

Not a bad wireless router but i wouldn't recommend this, upgrade it to netgear if possible

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Nagendra Singh
Nagendra SinghMelbourne
  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Comes included with Optus connection

published

Supposedly it can do NBN and ADSL connections. I use this for ADSL.

Because it has been dummified by Optus, menus are simple but not useful for power users.

It does not have a simple method to change the DNS servers. Optus has locked it but using some roundabout method found on whirlpool, I was able to unlock the extended menus.

Range and speed were good for me. I used it across two walls on the same floor and it worked for me. I now use it in a townhouse and it works well on both floors.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
happyrabbit
happyrabbit
  • 34 reviews
  • 17 likes

Died after 12 months usage

published

Supplied by Optus when signed up for ADSL. Flimsy looking, extremely light weigh device. Short life....it died after 12 months usage. Thank goodness Optus replace the device with no additional cost to me. The wifi function limited to approx 3 metres in the house, therefore it became useless when I need to use another device in next room.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
See all Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC reviews

Questions & Answers

Ken B.
Ken B.asked

Will this work for NBN

1 answer
Jan
Jan

It was standard issue modem around two years ago with Optus NBN. It will work with any provider as it is a generic modem. Ethernet output cable from NBN ARRIS box goes as input this modem. Note the NBN coax cable does not go into this modem.

ricky
rickyasked

my wifi extender WN2500RPv2 no longer works after the sagecom nbn modem was installed. Tried resetting via WSP and web but does not fix the problem. Ios device also cannot pick up connection with extender and keeps giving wrong IP address. Do i need to configure something on Sagecom modem ? Do i need to add MAC address etc ?

4 answers
Phil
Phil

Is the Sagemcom new? If so, I think you have to configure everything to suit. I have a Sagemcom and its wifi is useless - keeps dropping out. I still use the Sagemcom for the phone landline but I hardwire another router from for my wifi

ricky
ricky

Thanks for reply. Yes, Sagecom modem is new; was provided as part of change from cable to NBN and was set up by service provider. What do I need to change in the configuration ?

Jeyendra
Jeyendra

Along with the Segemcom modem, I am using Netgear R6400 AC1750 Smart WiFi router, there is no issues so far.

John
Johnasked

does this router have voip capability

1 answer
Phil
Phil

Yes. I plug my landline into it and seems to work ok. Just the wifi part isn’t much good

See all Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Product TypeModem and Router
Wi-Fi Type802.11 b, 802.11 g, 802.11 n and 802.11 ac
Band TypeDual Band
Ethernet Ports4
USB Ports2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.