1 photo
Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC

Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC

1.9 from 59 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Modems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Sagemcom? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (1)
  • Number of Connected Devices 5 devices
  • Ease of Setup
    2.0 (1)
  • Reliability
    2.0 (1)
  • Wi-Fi Range
    2.0 (1)
Previous
Next
George D
George DAdelaide
  • 23 reviews
  • 19 likes

Dont buy this

published

This modem is terrible. It has poor range and not worth the hassle of set up. I will be returning it and getting a better one that has better range.

Purchased in February 2019 for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Colin
ColinMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad wifi range and drop outs

published

Works fine a a wired lan router but I found my self having to restart the device once a week due to wifi dropping off. The wifi range is also not great but I could live with that if I didn't have to reboot the modem constantly. It was free from Optus so cant complain about the price.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Brian M
Brian MWyoming
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Poor WiFi

published

I got this from Optus as part of my NBN package and whilst some of the issues relate to the fact Optus has locked down many of the features. It has too many WiFi issues to be able to recommend it it for anyone to buy. WFi coverage is poor and devices constantly lose internet connection despite showing as connected, wired connections are fine so definitely wifi issues

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Modems

Find out how Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Edstar
Edstar
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not so fast

published

Poor router slow wifi on 2.4 GHz channel. Poor signal and drop outs on the 5ghz .
Get better wifi connecting a second router using eithernet and making it a access point.
If you aren't getting this through internet plan choose anything else.
I have NBN connection and the wifi on this router slows your speed down

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Sarah v Shazza
Sarah v ShazzaWoodville, South Australia
  • 5 reviews

Very hard to set up and constant slow speed even on nbn

published

Not very happy with our nbn provider giving us this modem as its been bad since we got it. We get speed around 2-4 mbs but have a speed of 40 nbn and it's actually been the modem slowing it down. Had two replacements the second did well at first but back to the same and the tec support is shocking

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Chris Y
Chris YSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Paperweight

published

To be completely honest, the router isn't so bad, when it's working. Constant dropouts and low signal strength don't help. The inbuilt control panel is full of options that have been blocked (that would make it a much better router) and that really rubs me the wrong way. Sad, just sad.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Shafeel
ShafeelSydney
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Great Modem - Easy Install

published

Arrived on time promptly form Optus, set up was very easy also. Sleek modern look also. The connection has been great, doesn't drop out at all. Perfect size and easy to hide in plain sight. Optus has done a great job with the nbn connection also, couldn't be happier. Entire process was smoothe and communication was great also. Answered all our queries about modem/nbn and helped us understand the best possible bundle for our new home.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Franco
FrancoBLACKTOWN
  • 15 reviews
  • 14 likes

Frequently Wifi Drop Outs

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Other Modems

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Daniel
DanielBox Hill North
  • 4 reviews

got mine yesterday

published

To put it in simple terms, if you dont know anything about computer and stuff, this is more then enough for you.
but if you are like me then heck no.
your ac wifi speed tops at around 400 Mbps which is very slow compare to anything by asus. also the firmware is hell to work with.
your 2.4hz band wifi wont even hit your ISP's top speed so just get something els by tp -link or somethign

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Modems

Find out how Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC compares to other Modems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Ken B.
Ken B.asked

Will this work for NBN

1 answer
Jan
Jan

It was standard issue modem around two years ago with Optus NBN. It will work with any provider as it is a generic modem. Ethernet output cable from NBN ARRIS box goes as input this modem. Note the NBN coax cable does not go into this modem.

ricky
rickyasked

my wifi extender WN2500RPv2 no longer works after the sagecom nbn modem was installed. Tried resetting via WSP and web but does not fix the problem. Ios device also cannot pick up connection with extender and keeps giving wrong IP address. Do i need to configure something on Sagecom modem ? Do i need to add MAC address etc ?

4 answers
Phil
Phil

Is the Sagemcom new? If so, I think you have to configure everything to suit. I have a Sagemcom and its wifi is useless - keeps dropping out. I still use the Sagemcom for the phone landline but I hardwire another router from for my wifi

ricky
ricky

Thanks for reply. Yes, Sagecom modem is new; was provided as part of change from cable to NBN and was set up by service provider. What do I need to change in the configuration ?

Jeyendra
Jeyendra

Along with the Segemcom modem, I am using Netgear R6400 AC1750 Smart WiFi router, there is no issues so far.

John
Johnasked

does this router have voip capability

1 answer
Phil
Phil

Yes. I plug my landline into it and seems to work ok. Just the wifi part isn’t much good

See all Sagemcom F@ST 3864AC questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Product TypeModem and Router
Wi-Fi Type802.11 b, 802.11 g, 802.11 n and 802.11 ac
Band TypeDual Band
Ethernet Ports4
USB Ports2

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.