?
? !
11 photos
Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series
3.7 from 176 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Efficient design

  • Easy to clean

Cons

  • Expensive repair costs

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (28)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (28)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (27)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (27)
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (27)
  • Internal Layout
    3.3 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Breaks down just after warranty...again with Samsung

published

Fridge worked all good until just after the warranty period ended and then the control board and diverter valve all died costing me nearly $500 to repair!. Easier just to buy another fridge.
This is a common issue with Samsung products I have previously purchased.
I won't be buying Samsung again

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DJD

DJD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Totally stopped working after a few months

published

The fridge that was bought new for my parents stopped working after a few months, both the freezer and the bottom fridge stopped cooling. It took many calls to get Samsung to remove the old fridge quickly, so we can purchase a different brand and place a new one in the fridge space. Customer Service refused to compensate foos loss claim after months of emails and phone calls, my parents lost their medicine (provided receipt) and 1-2 weeks of stored food in the fridge during Covid. We finally gave up and agreed to the $150 compensation and when we got back to them, they simply said sorry you got back to us too late, we can’t compensate you now.

Purchased in September 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Justin C.

Justin C.Sydney, NSW

Terrible Purchase!

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Bing Lee for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

stick to tvs

published

broke down twice whist in warranttty the third time we de even bother to see if it still in warranty, would,nt touch they should stick to tv frown mow on

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bren2803

Bren2803South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Samsung Fridge broken after just 5yrs

published

I purchased a Samsung Top mount fridge in October 2014 and it has stoped working less then six years later, the entire compressor and copper piping was coroded out. The cost of repair would have been 865 dollars, after contacting Samsung they were not interested, once upon a time if a fridge would last 15yrs at least, Samsung may have all the bells and whistles but are poor quality do not touch as your money is wasted.

Purchased in October 2004 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Bren2803
Bren2803

I have already taken this as far as I can with Samsung and this was my only recourse. It is sad that the product only lasted such a short time

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emerson Júnior

Emerson JúniorSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Still extremely upset!!

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Appliances Online for $949.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Stops working after 2.5 years, mould, condensation & not cooling

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

never Buy Samsung , worst customer service worst product

published

Bought this fridge 4 year ago, around a year ago realize that back panel of TOP freezer started bulging and lately it has gone to the point , Could not even fit the ice box, contacted Samsung after a month of backward and forward they suggested to contact Samsung premium repairer . Took six calls and 3 weeks to get a repairer, came and took him 2 mins to say this fridge cannot be repaired and cost me $160.
then Samsung did all the hu ha for one month and this week they advised me that they niter fix the fridge(which I paid $160 just for call out) nor can replace.
I did not have fridge for 2 Months.. This fridge have very well known manufacturing fault guys . Never buy this.
Worst customer service ,

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2016 at The Good Guys for $943.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Antonio

AntonioSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Amazing purchase

published

It’s not the first Time that I buy a Samsung product and as always I’m amazed of its functionality and durability. This top mount fridge Is very spacious and the motor is very quite not like some other brands. Very happy with it

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cynthia

CynthiaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Good fridge for family

published

Bought this online, delivery is quick, set up is quick, It's very good for a family use, enough capacity for food, vegetable and fruit. Extra space for milk and beverage. I like the color of the fridge as well. Never been a problem using the fridge. Will recommend for friends. The fridge is easy to open and close, it can maintain a realiable and consistent temperature in all compartments.

Purchased in January 2020 at eBay for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
brofield

brofieldSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Died one year out of warranty with known problem

published

BEWARE. There is a known issue with this model cause the fridge space to stop cooling and repairs cost about $400. In my case, this fridge worked as it should for 3 years, and then stopped cooling the fridge compartment correctly. Warranty is only 2 years of course, so I called repair company. Repair man looks at it and advises me that repair will be $400 and that this is a known problem with this fridge that he has repaired many times. I call Samsung and request repair under warranty since this is a known issue but they refuse to repair it.

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
4 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
brofield
brofield
Samsung
KathSamsung

I understand that you've been in contact with our team regarding this. If you have any further questions on your enquiry, please continue contact with the team!

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Faz

FazSydney, NSW

Is fixing the thermostat unit after every 2 years a norm for this refrigerator?

published

After the first year of buying the refrigerator, the fridge stopped cooling down the foods. As we were under warranty, Samsung fixed it by replacing the thermostat unit. Now it is 3.5 years old and it is freezing up everything in the fridge chamber. This time the Samsung helpline told us to fix it on our own as the warranty cover was only for 2 years. The question is regarding the quality; the fridge did not work smoothly for 2 years and we are again facing the same issue that was fixed by Samsung. What is the useful life of a refrigerator? Did we get a faulty unit? Or, is this a norm for this refrigerator to fix the thermostat unit after every 2 years?

Purchased in December 2016 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Faz
Faz

Thanks, Kath. I already had several communication with you and Mick in last 10 days. And, I have also sent all the information you asked for on 26 June.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lloyd A.

Lloyd A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Energy Efficent and sleek

published

Had to downsize the fridge and purchased this one. Pros: are that its quiet, its pretty and it doesnt leave fingerprints. Compartments are easily adjustable and the freezer can be converted into additional fridge space.
Cons: the freezer doesnt contain a light, which i didnt think this would be a problem until you dont have it. Its small, good for a couple but i wouldnt think for a family.
I have a seprate freezer and have used the 'twin' fridge for extra space when needed. but otherwise i wouldnt see much of a use unless you already have an enternal freezer. at $599 it was a very good price !

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

OK but shop around first, bad internal build

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
kristian.karov

kristian.karovPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not a bad choice

published

Fridge is cheap, runs well, maintains temperature accurately in all compartments and is easy to use. Took off a star only because i am coming from Bosch and even though the Turkish made Bosch was not the most reliable fridge, the finishes were better and was better organised inside

Purchased in July 2017 at Appliances Online for $700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thank you for leaving your review. We hope your fridge is treating you well! Let us know if there's anything we can assist you with.

Sara
Samsung Australia

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Clownartist

ClownartistCoffs Harbour

  • 8 reviews
  • 23 likes

The fridge from hell

published

I inherited this fridge, the list of complaints. Well lets start with design, no room in freezer and fridge section you almost have to climb into to retrieve anything, like The Tardis but without space, Temperature seems dodgy, milk goes off after a few days Then this weird clunking ever few hours, I thought I was going crazy. I actually dread opening the door of this fridge because of poor design.

Purchased in December 2018 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen N.

Karen N.Hunter Region, NSW

Worst Freezer!!

published

Bulging back panel in freezer, leaking water onto floor, makes noises constantly.
Disappointed

it is approx 2 yr old. I've removed ice maker as it wont fit.
Would not recommend!!
Not impressed!!

Purchased in May 2018 at The Good Guys for $798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt

MattSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Freezer broke within 3 years. Have seen similar problem on other reviews. Rear panel accumulated ice behind the plastic

published

Rear panel bulges out about 1 inch which means the ice maker can no longer fit straight. In fact as it expanded it pushed the ice machine forward and opened the door while I was at work spoiling all of my food! Now ice maker only fits side ways. Bottom plastic also has ice behind causing it to bubble. Absolute joke of a product. Waste of money. Possibly even dangerous As the freezer is changing shape. Could cause fire or gas leak.
Also very loud. Makes cracking noises constantly which are annoying when watching tv. Again seen others have experienced same problems.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in September 2016 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
srjh82

srjh82

  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

A lemon which won't cool

published

Just doesn't get down to a safe temperature - on the maximum setting, it's at best 7 degrees, which just doesn't cut it and may actually be unsafe from a food safety perspective. On a lower setting, or in less ideal conditions the temperature is even higher and definitely unsafe.

Much of the plastic inside is pretty flimsy as well, with parts breaking off too easily.

Disappointing.

Edit: If anyone else has this problem, it appears to be a fault with one of the temperature sensors in the fridge and with the temperature control knob. These are not particularly difficult fixes for a technician and the fridge may be worth fixing for those with a similar issue.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Melissa A

Melissa AGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Faulty Fridge

published

Purchased in May 2016 at The Good Guys for $890.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Melissa A
Melissa A
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 9

Questions & Answers

Joe Bondi

Joe Bondiasked

400L Top Mount SR Series

Hi I have the same issue as above with this fridge

"Just doesn't get down to a safe temperature - on the maximum setting, it's at best 7 degrees, which just doesn't cut it and may actually be unsafe from a food safety perspective"

the best i can get is 10 degrees C

is the problem as stated above

"a fault with one of the temperature sensors in the fridge and with the temperature control knob"

or what is the problem ?

what does it cost to fix ?

Regards, Joe Scicluna

3 answers
David
David

I was told it by repairer (if is true of course) was the mainboard and diverter value which was going to cost about $380.
Not worth it as could get a new bigger fridge for $600.

Joe Bondi
Joe Bondi

David thanks so much .. im seeing that price approx $400 cited a couple of times in here and that's too much for me as well esp as even if fixed Choice magazine says its not a great model Joe

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

What did Samsung tell you ?

Lyn G.

Lyn G.asked

400L Top Mount SR399WTC (White)

Have had fridge for approx 4 years.
Constantly having an ice build up in back of fridge since I bought it, as soon as I defrost it the ice is back the next day. Rubber seals are perfect as I am single, door not opened much? Not keeping cold

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Did you get it resolved when you contacted them directly ?

Nakita

Nakitaasked

400L Top Mount SR400LSTC (Easy Clean Steel)

Hello everyone I need help I purchase this product bout week ago and my freezer isnt freezing what can I do or is their something I havent done to freezer so it can freeze my stuff and also what temp does freezer and fridge need to be on

No answers
See all Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series

Details

Features:

  • 400L capacity makes this fridge suitable for a household of 3-4 people
  • Stainless-steel fridge, which is a material that’s typically more durable and easier to clean
  • Separate storage space for meat and seafood helps to keep the fridge organised and hygienic
  • 3.5-star energy rating, which is good but there are other top mount fridges with higher ratings
  • 24/7 chat support and home support that will arrive at your house within 24hrs of requesting (not available on Sundays)

What reviewers thought about this fridge:

  • Top mount fridges aren’t known for having much space, but shelf space happened to be a recurring point of praise for the Samsung 400L Top Mount fridge. Reviewers were pleased that this fridge offered plenty of space to fit in all their weekly groceries.
  • The design of this LG fridge makes it easy to organise different kinds of foods. Shelves come out without a problem so you can wipe them down when they get dirty
  • Reviewers who needed to get their fridge repaired by LG mentioned that getting it fixed was quite expensive. However, it's important to note many comments were about out of warranty charges, which will always be more expensive than under warranty.
Compare all 4 Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series
CategoryTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsTop Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,299.00$899.00$1,199.00
Dimensions 1715 x 675 x 668 mm1715 x 675 x 668 mm1715 x 675 x 668 mm1715 x 675 x 668 mm
Energy Rating3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)3.5 star(s)
Household Size 3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people3-4 people
FeaturesConvertible Fridge/Freezer, Door Alarm and Frost FreeConvertible Fridge/Freezer, Door Alarm and Frost FreeConvertible Fridge/Freezer, Door Alarm and Frost FreeConvertible Fridge/Freezer, Door Alarm and Frost Free
Colour / FinishEasy Clean SteelBlack InoxWhiteBlack
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves3333
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1111
Door Hinge RightRightRightRight
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 400 L400 L400 L400 L
Fridge Capacity 285 L285 L285 L285 L
Freezer Capacity 115 L115 L115 L115 L
Release dateMar 2016
Compare all 4 Samsung 400L Top Mount SR Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.