??!
8 photos
Samsung 400L Top Mount

Samsung 400L Top Mount

SR400LSTC, SR399WTC
4.0 from 156 reviews

Reviews

(64)
(55)
(18)
(5)
(14)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (14)
  • Internal Layout
    3.4 (7)
Matt

MattSydney, NSW

Freezer broke within 3 years. Have seen similar problem on other reviews. Rear panel accumulated ice behind the plastic

published

Rear panel bulges out about 1 inch which means the ice maker can no longer fit straight. In fact as it expanded it pushed the ice machine forward and opened the door while I was at work spoiling all of my food! Now ice maker only fits side ways. Bottom plastic also has ice behind causing it to bubble. Absolute joke of a product. Waste of money. Possibly even dangerous As the freezer is changing shape. Could cause fire or gas leak.
Also very loud. Makes cracking noises constantly which are annoying when watching tv. Again seen others have experienced same problems.

Purchased in September 2016 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
srjh82

srjh82

  • 16 reviews

Not the best

published

It's a nice design, and it's fairly efficient, but there are a few deal breakers with it.

The main one is that it just doesn't get down to a safe temperature - on the maximum setting, it's at best 7 degrees, which just doesn't cut it and may actually be unsafe from a food safety perspective. On a lower setting, or in less ideal conditions the temperature is even higher and definitely unsafe.

Much of the plastic inside is pretty flimsy as well, with parts breaking off too easily.

Disappointing.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Melissa A

Melissa AGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Faulty Fridge

published

Purchased in May 2016 at The Good Guys for $890.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Melissa A
Melissa A
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fiona

FionaSydney, NSW

Ice build up and water leakage

published

Purchased in October 2016 at The Good Guys for $850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Petar

PetarIllawarra, NSW

Gave me an indoor pool.

published

Bought in March of 2019 and within 2 months already had to have a technician come out and replace a part. Still had a few issues like loud cracking and poor cooling also getting really warm on the outside. Then a week ago the fridge had leaked all over the kitchen floor. Called samsung and where it was purchased from and had pretty poor service from both. Seems I will be waiting for well over a week for a technician to come out and assess the fridge. Pretty poor service and a pretty poor product. Also companies don't seem to understand Australian Consumer Law as this is a major fault.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $850.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

Terrible fridge!

published
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Joan
Joan

Hello Kath, thankyou for your response. I have clicked on the link below but it doesn't really go anywhere. Could we communicate some other way?
Cheers

Samsung
KathSamsung

That is okay, Joan. Alternatively, you may send us a private message through Product Reviews, if you are unable to access the link!

Kath
Samsung AU

Leeroy

LeeroyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Great Fridge with issues

published

I have the same problem with the door not closing it's a pain in the rear to physically close the door shut before walking away.
It might not seem like much but it just shouldn't happen..
Everything electrical and white goods is Sumsumg i love the technology and service
I've only had an issue with the fridge..

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Makes very loud banging noises

published

The fridge and freezer itself are perfectly functional and it’s a good product. However .. it makes REALLY loud banging noises at all hours of the day. Every couple of hours.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Niran

Niran

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great fridge for a small family

published

This fridge is a great looking fridge with plenty of spaces inside. Loves the way it controls the temperature with optimum value according to summer and winter. Very energy efficient and gives no sound whatsoever.

Purchased at The Good Guys for $870.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers
Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
APPLEASHA

APPLEASHASYDNEY

  • 48 reviews

Good reliable roomy fridge

published

Been very happy with this roomy, reliable refrigerator that has consistent cool temperatures, is robust, an ice maker, and strong design. Has traveled well, too. Good strong deals and opens and closes with ease. Very nice and quiet.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Naisarg Pujara

Naisarg PujaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews

Perfect Family Refrigerator with advanced Features

published

Reliable temperature controls in all compartments. Suitable for family of 4 to 6 people. Energy efficient and good features. Easy to access and cools very fast than other fridges. Designer look and very much easy to install. Not heavy in terms of moving with wheels at the bottom for ease of relocation.

Purchased in April 2018 at Appliances Online for $740.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 6 person(s)
See all answers
Rich H

Rich HSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great looking and performing fridge

published

The Samsung salesman at Bing Lee did a great job in convincing me to go with Samsung. It helped that the Samsung items were in stock and available for immediate delivery since I was moving into my new unit 2 days later. The fridge has performed flawlessly and is super low maintenance. Six months of use so far. It is well designed internally and easily fits all that I want - but at this size is only suitable for one person.

Purchased in December 2018 at Bing Lee Physical store for $862.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
UKat

UKatSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not too impressed

published

After a year of buying now we find the fridge too noisy. There is a constant noise bu the fridge and it scares at time. The material is such that its starting to break the racks and not too smooth. I wouldnt recommend it.

Purchased in January 2016 at Bing Lee for $800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Unhappy

published

Nice size fridge The fridge section failed and was repaired less than 12 months ago. The same issue is happening again. When you have a family you are reliant on the products you use to be of continual working quality. I can not recommend this fridge so make sure you purchase an extended warranty !

Purchased in October 2016 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
2 comments
hastings_rw
hastings_rw

We are also a family with insulin dependent siblings and need this fixed now Not in a week

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi there, we are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information, when its most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Anna
Samsung Australia

HappyHarry

HappyHarryIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

I got a lemon!

published

There are lemons in every product right?
After 18 months the freezer door didnt close and noticed the back panel starting to protrude.
Turned the icebox around and closed, but panel juts.

Purchased in August 2016 at Harvey Norman for $778.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When its most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU

Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Samsung 400L Top Mount compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andrew

AndrewSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Cooling works good, but no warning system if door left open

published

While the fridge is very well priced the lack of features like if you leave the door open there is no alarm or beeping to let you know, Also the compressor makes a horrible grinding noise that you can hear throughout the house, So will have to call up Samsung

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Disappointed

published

Fridge is hot to the touch on the outside and the heat radiates warming the whole kitchen (really need more heat in QLD). Fridge isn't cold or even cool on the inside. Waste of money. Looks amazing but doesn't performe amazing. No customer support from the store I bought it from.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
jessica01

jessica01queensland

  • 13 reviews

Perfect size for a small family

published

We bought this fridge for our tenants, so far they have never complained about it so it must be fine. Perfect size to fit our staircase. Stylish stainless steel look. Freezer can be transferred to normal fridge so it give more room.. It was reasonable price. It does the job we need

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Exceeded expectations

published

This fridge has run smoothly and quietly since we purchased it early in 2018. It looks sleek and has plenty of room inside. The freezer has a removable ice compartment which when removed allows additional space in freezer. The inverter technology allows you to turn off either the fridge or freezer when not in use, such as on holidays, allowing you to keep food in the freezer but not running fridge when it’s empty.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Kat

KatMelbourne

  • 9 reviews

Best fridge

published

Chose this fridge because it was one of the best fits for my fridge cavity and I’m glad I got it. Perfect amount of room and designed really well. It’s easy to open, close and keep clean (inside and out). Definitely a well designed fridge that does everything it needs to-and more!

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Matt

Mattasked

SR400LSTC

I’ve had for about 3 years and the freezer rear panel and floor are building up with ice and becoming damaged. The rear panel has buldged out about an inch so the ice maker doesn’t fit any more. In fact it pushed the ice maker forward opening the door while I was at work. Then all of my frozen food was spoiled as the door was open. Absolute joke of a fridge.

1 answer
Samsung
MickSamsung

Thanks for reaching out to us, we’re really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far. We’d like to investigate further into this.

Would you be able to send PM through Facebook messenger with a copy of this question along with photos of the issue, a copy of your proof of purchase and a photos of you compliance plate?

You can follow the link below to be forwarded to our Facebook inbox.

> m.me/SamsungAustralia

Mick
Samsung AU

Fiona

Fionaasked

SR400LSTC

Our freezer keeps getting ice build up, behind the back panel and under the freezer floor. Then leaks water into the fridge area and on the floor. We defrosted thoroughly about 6 months ago and checked the drains were clear, but it has happened again. This appears to be an issue with Samsung fridges, and of course the first time it happened it was just out of warranty. Any help?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lbnrpF4S_M

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Fiona, would you be able to send us a private message to the link below so we can gather some details on the troubles you are experiencing with your fridge?

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Ada
Samsung AU

Gab C

Gab Casked

I have purchased this fridge today. It is emitting heat from the sides. Is this normal or will this subside?

2 answers
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Gab, the front corners and sides may become warm and form condensation. To prevent condensation from forming, the refrigerator has heat-proof piping in the front corners. If the ambient temperature rises, this equipment may not work effectively. This is not a system failure.

For more info (page 48) >http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201909/20190913201332431/DA68-03377Z_04.pdf

Jo
Samsung AU

Gab C
Gab C

Thanks, it subsided overnight the day i got it, all casing now cool to touch.

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.