2 photos
Samsung AU8000 Series
3.9 from 32 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Samsung
4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

Superb picture quality
Easy to use
Good value for money

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (27)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (27)
  • Sound Quality
    3.8 (21)
  • Software
    4.7 (20)
  • Picture Quality
    4.5 (23)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Lara
LaraSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great TV for the price

published

Purchased in October 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $858.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Linda_C
Linda_CBrisbane
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unusable At Unboxing

published

Purchased in June 2021.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mad I.
Mad I.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bad picture quality

published

Pros
Smart function is wonderful with all the streaming apps
3 x HDMI
Sound is good

Cons
It has a 50hz refresh panel, meaning if you watch sport or movies with fast moving images, the picture quality becomes blurry as the 50hz refresh rate cant keep up with those fast moving images.

Overall
TV is very smart and if you not worried about fast moving blurry images on sport & movies then this TV is for you, if not OK then look at buying a TV with 100hz panel. Be careful though as Ive seen some major Australian retailers advertise this model as 100 hz which is clearly not correct

Purchased in March 2022 for $995.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul
Paul
  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Beautiful TV! As long as you don't want to listen to the sound!

published

Purchased in April 2022 for $775.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris
ChrisBLAKEHURST
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Almost dead after 13 months.

published

It get stuck in a boot loop cycle which gets longer and longer every time it's turned on and has lines across the screen which are slowly getting worse and worse. I got extended warranty on it but it has has been almost two weeks and no one has given me and answer yet as to what is going to be done about it.
We'll see what the outcome is but with lots of bad reviews about Samsung customer service I am trying to not let this drag on for too long which it is quickly heading down that track.

Purchased in February 2021 at Harvey Norman for $1,035.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
3/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Darryl.Smith
Darryl.SmithWestern District, VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useless Remote

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in March 2022.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung AU8000 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nathan
NathanFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beautiful TV for 95% of applications

published

Purchased in March 2022 at Harvey Norman for $1,995.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dek123
Dek123Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very bad experience

published

Purchased in January 2022 for $995.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deebers
DeebersSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

$1000 for a tv and it Doesn’t even come with screws!

published

$1000 for this tv and it doesn’t even come with screws to attach it to the wall mount. That is disgusting, how much are screws really. Now I have to figure out what size I need go to Bunnings and get some. 10 minute job turned into an hour job. But hey Samsung just saved themselves 2 cents…. Typical penny pinching at the expense of consumer experience. How much is a happy customer worth 2cents? Obviously not!

Purchased for $1,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Carolyn
Carolyn
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Samsung AU8000WXXY

published
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lara
LaraSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great TV for the price

published

Purchased in October 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $858.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung AU8000 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Miallo
MialloMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Pretty great TV

published

Purchased in October 2021 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Linda_C
Linda_CBrisbane
  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Unusable At Unboxing

published

Purchased in June 2021.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jill Walsh
Jill Walsh
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic Picture - Easy to use

published

Operating system & apps are great
Loving the less is more remote
Setup is super easy and connected to our wireless internet without issue
2 HDMI ports is all I needed
Perfect

Purchased in September 2021 for $864.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung AU8000 Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
David
David
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome Tv for a great price!

published

My Tv of more than 7 years broke down, so looking for a new TV was easy. I knew I wanted a Samsung as I own a Samsung Android phone. JB Hi Fi had this one for sale & they even reduced the cost of the extended warranty. Set up was a breeze & the 4K picture quality is beyond fantastic, especially when I am playing games on my PS4. I love this TV, it has all the features I could ever ask for & the amount of channels offered on Samsung's own TV channel is amazing. If you are looking for a 43" TV, look no further than this brilliant Samsung. I'm very happy with my purchase & I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Purchased in July 2021 at JB Hi-Fi for $839.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sammi Lanwele
Sammi LanweleSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Great TV! Sound needs to be improved though.

published

English isn’t my first language so please no hate. The TV is great, i love the video and the quality that TV does provide. The sound may need improvement although. I have a speaker plug in for the TV so sound isn’t an issue, yet it sometimes echoes meaning that it is a bit annoying sometimes when it gets accidentally turned up. The video quality is very good and i have not seen a better TV screen anywhere else that is affordable. Very good TV do like it a lot. Thank you Samsung!

Purchased in July 2021.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Neil Rose
Neil Rose
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Samsung 43”

published

Purchased in June 2021 for $895.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

John S.
John S.asked
AU8000 UA65AU8000WXXY (65")

Samsung AU8000 UA65AU8000WXXY (65") Can I record with a 32 USB stick for recording my tv shows. Thank you.

1 answer
Dek123
Dek123
Neil
Neilasked
AU8000 Series

Is this a "Google TV"

5 answers
Carolyn
Carolyn

I'm not sure, I don't have wifi or internet connected to the tv. Maybe ask samsung they could answer your question.

Neil
Neil

Awesome Carolyn. Do you know why ppl who dont know the answer to question feel compelled to say so?
Youre not the only one.

Miallo
Miallo

Hi Neil. It is a smart tv and you need a Samsung account to link it. I created one when I bought it. Not sure of the answer about Google TV as I’m an Apple user and it still links to screen mirror.
I hope this is helpful

Jamez
Jamezasked
AU8000 Series

Hello, What sort of PVR does the AU8000 have?
Can you record a channel, and watch something else?
Cheers

2 answers
Jamez
Jamez

After buying one, this TV does NOT have PVR.
Its a good TV, but no PVR.

pundit41
pundit41

Plug in a fast USB thumb drive and record from the TV as a PVR

See all Samsung AU8000 Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Samsung AU8000 Series

Details

Features

  • A 4K UHD resolution provides vibrant colour and contrast, as well as a rich picture quality.
  • Bluetooth and Wi-Fi compatibility provides Smart connectivity and allows you to stream music, TV shows and music from apps like Netflix and YouTube.
  • 3 HDMI ports and 2 USB ports provide plenty of options when it comes to connecting to other devices.
  • An ultra-slim 27mm TV design means you can wall-mount this TV, or position it close to a wall, without it sticking out too much. However keep in mind the larger screen sizes are pretty heavy - the 75-inch TV weighs 32.1kg, while the 85-inch model is 41.5kg. A Slim Fit Wall Mount is sold for an additional cost.
  • Comes with a built-in Bixby voice assistant, and is also compatible with Google Assistant and Amazon Alexa voice assistants.
  • Compatible with Apple AirPlay2, which lets you stream content from Apple devices.
  • One remote control lets you control multiple devices, including gaming consoles.
  • Ambient mode lets you turn a turn that's off from a black screen into a wall display or a photo wall.

Points of praise

  • This Samsung TV was applauded for its excellent picture quality, with good colours and image clarity, including for darker scenes.
  • The single remote is easy to use also makes navigating the various apps on the Smart TV a breeze.
  • The slimline design was appreciated by reviewers for its attractive appearance.
  • Reviewers thought that this Samsung TV provided good quality for money.
Compare all 6 Samsung AU8000 Series
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) $949.00$1,049.00$1,249.00$1,599.00
Screen Size 43"50"55"65"
Screen TypeLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCD
Type of TVSmart TVSmart TVSmart TVSmart TV
Energy Rating4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)5 star(s)
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Refresh Rate 100/120Hz100/120Hz100/120Hz100/120Hz
Number of HDMI Ports3333
Number of USB Ports2222
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight8.4 kg11.5 kg15.5 kg20.9 kg
Operating SystemTizenOSTizenOSTizenOSTizenOS
Dimensions (without stand) 559.8 x 965.5 x 25.7 mm644.5 x 1118.3 x 25.7 mm708.8 x 1232.1 x 25.7 mm831.8 x 1450.9 x 25.7 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 599.8 x 965.5 x 205.6 mm683.6 x 1118.3 x 228.8 mm747.8 x 1232.1 x 228.8 mm871.0 x 1450.9 x 281.8 mm
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateApr 2021Apr 2021Apr 2021Apr 2021
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 6 Samsung AU8000 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.