??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy A50

Samsung Galaxy A50 (2019)

MPNs: 1091005694, 1091005695, SM-A505YZBNXSA and 2 more
3.4 from 40 reviews

Reviews

3.4

40 reviews
5
(11)
4
(12)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(8)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (37)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (37)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (36)
  • Camera Quality
    3.8 (36)
  • Hardware
    3.7 (36)
  • Software
    3.7 (35)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Kurt

KurtRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Horrible

published

Had the a50 for just over a year so far its cost me a brand new screen (which just crap it self) then the battery stuffed up. After replacing that now the phone will not charge. Disgusted that they can sell such a poorly built phone

Purchased in May 2019 at Optus for A$520.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Kurt
Kurt

My phone was sent off when the battery first expanded and break itself and i more or less got told that it was my problem (phone was 6 months old) that i probably dropped it. Why should i bother trying to get any help now ?

Worst Galaxy phone I have ever had in 10 years

published

Constantly freezes. Needs reboot every week. MS apps like teams run very slow on this model. My old A8 was way better than this lemon. Strongly recommend not to buy this model if need it for work.

Purchased in June 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
april

aprilGippsland, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

love it

published

good photos, not bad at night maybe could be a bit better
the brightness of the screen is great
i use my phone for alot of social media and business photos
most apps seem to be running ok
i dont seem to have any problems at all

Purchased in October 2019 for A$504.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A50 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
K J J

K J JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for me

published

The Samsung A50 is a good phone that does everything that I need a phone to do.
The camera shoots great photos, easy to take on holidays for snapping memories.
The phone charges amazingly quickly too. The brightness of the display is easy to adjust. All apps run very smoothly. Very happy with my putprchase.

Purchased in November 2019 at Cellphoneshop.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Tracey P.

Tracey P.South East Queensland, QLD

Glass screen broke easily

published

Glass screen broke easily...... I have never had a broken sceen before ever.... this one does not seem to have good glass screen quality .... finger print security doesn't work as well a my previous phone... apart from that it is generally ok......

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tracey P.
Tracey P.

My understanding is that the quality of glass you have in the A50 is not as good/inferior to some of your other phones... my previous ph was a Samsung also and I had it for years with no problems... very disappointed

Tracey P.
Tracey P.

Does the quality of the glass in the A50 model differ to your other models? As this is my understanding and the reason for easy breakage

Joe

JoeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unimpressed

published

Unimpressed
Very glitchy, I have to constantly turn it off and on to stop the screen jumping all over the place. Emails save to drafts when I hit send, the photo quality is awful and the fingerprint option has never worked.
I wont but another one.

Purchased in October 2019 at Online.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Marnie K.

Marnie K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

I wish it was less glitchy!

published

Camera is fabulous.
Layout is good.
It is very glitchy though. I frequently have to turn it off and on to reset it, because the touchscreen goes all crazy and I cannot control movement. It is very sensitive to dampness and has a mind of its own. It is not a model I would purchase again, despite the fabulous camera.

Purchased in April 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
MrsDeano

MrsDeanoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Samsung lover to Samsung hater in one easy lesson !

published
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Sparkyv8

Sparkyv8Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Excellent mid range smart phone

published

Great value for money and excellent specs, though there have been a few minor software issues, and the lack of wireless charging is a little annoying. Overall it is difficult to complain too much for a phone at this price point.

Purchased in September 2019 at Optus.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are enjoying your Samsung A50 overall. We really appreciate sharing your feedback with us and I will be sure to pass this on the team so we can improve on our products and services!

Kath
Samsung AU

Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A50 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debra

DebraPerth

  • 22 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great value

published

I bought this phone from Big W in Aug 2019 on sale for $446. Now that I'm used to it, I love it. It has all the usual Samsung galaxy features that I'm used to, including a great camera, good battery life, clear bright display and big screen size. I use many apps and they all run well. I only took one star off because my previous Samsung Galaxy note 3 had a blue flashing LED light to notify me I had a message so I could just look at the phone without having to open it up to check for missed messages. But overall, amazing value!

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your Samsung A50, Debra. I will be sure to forward your feedback on to the team, so that we can continue to improve on our products and services!

Kath
Samsung AU

Jyoti D

Jyoti D

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A good deal!

published

I got my hand on Samsung Galaxy A 50 last week while I was in Office Works. Got a good deal on it and got it immediately. I am very comfortable with the interface. This phone has some special features like language translation for any script. Quite useful in my profession.. A very happy customer!

Purchased in April 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for A$150.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thanks for your review! We hope you're new Galaxy A50 is treating you well :)

Sara
Samsung Australia

Ravi R.

Ravi R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Mixed feelings!

published

Samsung has delivered a phone without bloatware which is commendable. The performance is good, I have never had any issues with the computing power of the phone. The screen is very responsive.
Cons:
The camera is definitely not taking true colors. Images appear washed out as if there is a default filter.
The worst part of this phone is the fingerprint sensor. It never works on the first go, Samsung has delivered many updates but the problem persists.
I would not recommend this phone because of the fingerprint sensor

Purchased in September 2019 at Officeworks for A$550.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Scott

ScottHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Samsung your geniuses

published

Samsung A50 Galaxy smart phone has extremely good graphics, a great size screen, extremely user friendly without issues and also camera graphics and options are right on que of necessary requirements and delivers what is advertised,A great phone with all the needed options.

Purchased in February 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Scott
Scott

Hi,Thnx & no worries,very pleased with it Kath.
Scott.

Dan Y.

Dan Y.Nicholls 2913, ACT

frame bent

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Norbert

NorbertMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value but some significant issues

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$500.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A50 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jane

janeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very average camera

published

I have had samsungs for years and i am really disappointed with this purchase. I take a lot of close up macro style photography of plants and flowers and this camera performs appallingly. Takes ages to focus and often doesn't. So it's a useless camera to me.

Purchased in November 2019 at Big W for A$469.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Sarah.

Sarah.Perth, WA

Love the phone - pity its not a flawless design

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Edward

EdwardLogan City

  • 23 reviews
  • 22 likes

Unreliable, Constant Crashing

published

Samsung Brand New Mobile, started to crash 3 weeks after purchase Nov 12, 2019 and that continued despite factory default resets, and other resets. A booking was made with the closest Samsung Agent, first week New Year 2020. Mobile was totally unreliable, It did not work at all, so I had to buy another mobile, an Oppo AX7.
Finally a new update and reboot, was attempted Jan 2, 2020, and it was successful.
Overall, I would not recommend the Samsung A50, it caused me too much hassle and more expense of a back up mobile; infact I would never buy another Samsung Mobile of any type again.
My first and last Samsung mobile

Purchased in November 2019 at eBay for A$450.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Edward
Edward
Brian flynn

Brian flynn

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Camera it dose not have true colours and phone calls

published

My Samsung a50 started off fantastic then about 7 weeks ago the phone started to not be as reliable photos were lacking colours weather its day or night or using the flash a lot of photos were a waste of time taking and the phone was dropping out or ending the call contacted Optus. but was reluctant to help after about 4 calls to Optus they are going to try to fix this issue but no phone over Christmas not happy with this outcome I am 1 unhappy customer I am not happy with this phone and should not have to jump up and down to get my phone fixed shame on Optus come on Optus fix my 6 mounts old phone

Purchased in June 2019 at Optus plan.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Paula B.

Paula B.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great, camera a bit dodge.

published

Have always been a S range person but decided the new S10 was out of my price range so chose this instead. Am really happy with my decision! I upgraded from a S7 so anything was an improvement but the A50 runs quickly and smoothly. The fingerprint ID is not great, takes awhile to work, but I do still have the plastic on the phone so that could be impacting it.
It fits perfectly in my hand and is comfortable to use.
I have found the camera lacking. Sometimes it takes the most amazing photos, other times they are blurry and dull. We think the focus doesn't always work very well in low lighting and that's the problem. I now work around that and have taken some beautiful shots.
All in all I am very happy and would recommend.

Purchased in July 2019 at Australia Post Offices for A$650.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Trudy A.

Trudy A.asked

Just updated my Samsung A50 phone a few days ago, I noticed that sometimes I had to press the button on the side twice to get the screen to come on, woke up this morning to use phone and now have no screen. Has anyone else had the same issue?

3 answers
K J J
K J J

Reboot

Samsung
KathSamsung

I'm sorry to hear of this, Trudy. Are you able to perform a forced restart to see if this helps? To do this:

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/how-do-i-restart-my-device-if-it-is-frozen-or-not-responding/

If the issue continues, please send us a private message via the link below so we can look further into this for you.

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Kath
Samsung AU

Trudy A.
Trudy A.

Yes, done a reboot now phone has been sent off to tech support as issue still not resolved.

Juanita G.

Juanita G.asked

I bought the a50 not too happy. I can't save photos from email to use from my gallery or photos. I can't even find where it's saving them but no options on last phone to save to gallery/photos. Very fruustrating

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

That is strange, Juanita. Are you able to send us a PM via the link below so we can further assist you with this?

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Kath
Samsung AU

Alison K.

Alison K.asked

what size memorycard can be used for extra storage?

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Alison, the A50 uses a MicroSD card (Up to 512GB).

For more info:
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-a50-a505/SM-A505YZBNXSA/

Ada
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.