?
? !
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy A50

Samsung Galaxy A50

MPNs: 1091005694, 1091005695, SM-A505YZBNXSA and 2 more
3.2 from 45 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.5 (42)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (42)
  • Software
    3.4 (40)
  • Battery Life
    4.1 (41)
  • Camera Quality
    3.6 (41)
  • Hardware
    3.5 (41)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
3nov59

3nov59Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Pathetic Rubbish

published

This is the worst camera i have ever had. when i take a photo it is replaced with an exclamation mark, and the photos are lost forever. The fingerprint thing is useless, and the Face Recognition is Ludicrous. it doesn't even recognize there is a face there at all.
It is good at making Phone Calls and sending Messages, but that's all.

Purchased in March 2020 at Officeworks for $399.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jessica

Jessica

  • 2 reviews

Worst Samsung phone I have owned

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $449.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hanna

HannaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Developed Pink/ Purple Splotch (dead pixels) after 4 months of use

published

Only after 4 months of use, Samsung A50 developed pink/purple splotch on screen, out of the blue, no incident caused it. Took it for repair to a Samsung service centre and was asked to pay $200 for LCD screen replacement. Now, that is almost half the price of the phone that was purchased merely 4 months ago!!!

Very disappointing product and customer service by SAMSUNG! I don't recommend this phone to anyone

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $499.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A50 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jazz S.

Jazz S.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Service is bad

published

Samsung refused refund becouse i am second owner of the device after 25 days sent to samsung and not ready email Samsung make many reason reciept is not clear second owner .Samsung told it cant be rapaires and i bought another phone for work and now they says its repaired Reference: 4308174696

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Jazz S.
Jazz S.

I tried this link to open in messenger doesn't work

Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rieta

RietaSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified

Brilliant

published

After doing a lot of research, I settled on this phone. It is, without doubt, the best mid-range phone out there. Everything about it is pure quality, especially the camera and screen display. It's so easy to customise too, even for the least tech-savvy person (like me!). Highly recommended if you don't wish to spend $1,000 or more for a phone.

Purchased in August 2020 at Kogan.com for $448.98.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Retta

RettaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible

published

Always had a Samsung but not anymore...it’s only 6 months old and the calls drop off all the time.sometimes 7 times in one phone call..plus the sound drops out so l can’t hear the other person on the line or they can’t hear me...
It’s very disappointing as I’ve always loved Samsung....
Throwing it out and getting a different brand of phone.Sorry Samsung. Not a happy customer anymore...

Purchased in October 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kurt

KurtRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Horrible

published

Had the a50 for just over a year so far its cost me a brand new screen (which just crap it self) then the battery stuffed up. After replacing that now the phone will not charge. Disgusted that they can sell such a poorly built phone

Purchased in May 2019 at Optus for $520.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Kurt
Kurt

My phone was sent off when the battery first expanded and break itself and i more or less got told that it was my problem (phone was 6 months old) that i probably dropped it. Why should i bother trying to get any help now ?

Samsung
KathSamsung

I'm sorry to hear that this was the outcome, Kurt. We'd be more than happy to look into this. If you wish for us to investigate into this, you're more than welcome to send us a message via the link provided above.

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Worst Galaxy phone I have ever had in 10 years

published

Constantly freezes. Needs reboot every week. MS apps like teams run very slow on this model. My old A8 was way better than this lemon. Strongly recommend not to buy this model if need it for work.

Purchased in June 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
april

aprilGippsland, VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

love it

published

good photos, not bad at night maybe could be a bit better
the brightness of the screen is great
i use my phone for alot of social media and business photos
most apps seem to be running ok
i dont seem to have any problems at all

Purchased in October 2019 for $504.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A50 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
K J J

K J JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for me

published

The Samsung A50 is a good phone that does everything that I need a phone to do.
The camera shoots great photos, easy to take on holidays for snapping memories.
The phone charges amazingly quickly too. The brightness of the display is easy to adjust. All apps run very smoothly. Very happy with my putprchase.

Purchased in November 2019 at Cellphoneshop.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tracey P.

Tracey P.South East Queensland, QLD

Glass screen broke easily

published

Glass screen broke easily...... I have never had a broken sceen before ever.... this one does not seem to have good glass screen quality .... finger print security doesn't work as well a my previous phone... apart from that it is generally ok......

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tracey P.
Tracey P.

My understanding is that the quality of glass you have in the A50 is not as good/inferior to some of your other phones... my previous ph was a Samsung also and I had it for years with no problems... very disappointed

Tracey P.
Tracey P.

Does the quality of the glass in the A50 model differ to your other models? As this is my understanding and the reason for easy breakage

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe

JoeSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unimpressed

published

Unimpressed
Very glitchy, I have to constantly turn it off and on to stop the screen jumping all over the place. Emails save to drafts when I hit send, the photo quality is awful and the fingerprint option has never worked.
I wont but another one.

Purchased in October 2019 at Online.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marnie K.

Marnie K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

I wish it was less glitchy!

published

Camera is fabulous.
Layout is good.
It is very glitchy though. I frequently have to turn it off and on to reset it, because the touchscreen goes all crazy and I cannot control movement. It is very sensitive to dampness and has a mind of its own. It is not a model I would purchase again, despite the fabulous camera.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MrsDeano

MrsDeanoBrisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 12 likes

Samsung lover to Samsung hater in one easy lesson !

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sparkyv8

Sparkyv8Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified

Excellent mid range smart phone

published

Great value for money and excellent specs, though there have been a few minor software issues, and the lack of wireless charging is a little annoying. Overall it is difficult to complain too much for a phone at this price point.

Purchased in September 2019 at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are enjoying your Samsung A50 overall. We really appreciate sharing your feedback with us and I will be sure to pass this on the team so we can improve on our products and services!

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy A50 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debra

DebraPerth

  • 25 reviews
  • 16 likes

Great value

published

I bought this phone from Big W in Aug 2019 on sale for $446. Now that I'm used to it, I love it. It has all the usual Samsung galaxy features that I'm used to, including a great camera, good battery life, clear bright display and big screen size. I use many apps and they all run well. I only took one star off because my previous Samsung Galaxy note 3 had a blue flashing LED light to notify me I had a message so I could just look at the phone without having to open it up to check for missed messages. But overall, amazing value!

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your Samsung A50, Debra. I will be sure to forward your feedback on to the team, so that we can continue to improve on our products and services!

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jyoti D

Jyoti D

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

A good deal!

published

I got my hand on Samsung Galaxy A 50 last week while I was in Office Works. Got a good deal on it and got it immediately. I am very comfortable with the interface. This phone has some special features like language translation for any script. Quite useful in my profession.. A very happy customer!

Purchased in April 2020 at Officeworks Physical store for $150.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thanks for your review! We hope you're new Galaxy A50 is treating you well :)

Sara
Samsung Australia

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ravi R.

Ravi R.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Mixed feelings!

published

Samsung has delivered a phone without bloatware which is commendable. The performance is good, I have never had any issues with the computing power of the phone. The screen is very responsive.
Cons:
The camera is definitely not taking true colors. Images appear washed out as if there is a default filter.
The worst part of this phone is the fingerprint sensor. It never works on the first go, Samsung has delivered many updates but the problem persists.
I would not recommend this phone because of the fingerprint sensor

Purchased in September 2019 at Officeworks for $550.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Scott

ScottHunter Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Samsung your geniuses

published

Samsung A50 Galaxy smart phone has extremely good graphics, a great size screen, extremely user friendly without issues and also camera graphics and options are right on que of necessary requirements and delivers what is advertised,A great phone with all the needed options.

Purchased in February 2020.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Scott
Scott

Hi,Thnx & no worries,very pleased with it Kath.
Scott.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dan Y.

Dan Y.Nicholls 2913, ACT

frame bent

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Trudy A.

Trudy A.asked

Just updated my Samsung A50 phone a few days ago, I noticed that sometimes I had to press the button on the side twice to get the screen to come on, woke up this morning to use phone and now have no screen. Has anyone else had the same issue?

3 answers
K J J
K J J

Reboot

Samsung
KathSamsung

I'm sorry to hear of this, Trudy. Are you able to perform a forced restart to see if this helps? To do this:

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/how-do-i-restart-my-device-if-it-is-frozen-or-not-responding/

If the issue continues, please send us a private message via the link below so we can look further into this for you.

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Kath
Samsung AU

Trudy A.
Trudy A.

Yes, done a reboot now phone has been sent off to tech support as issue still not resolved.

Juanita G.

Juanita G.asked

I bought the a50 not too happy. I can't save photos from email to use from my gallery or photos. I can't even find where it's saving them but no options on last phone to save to gallery/photos. Very fruustrating

1 answer
Samsung
KathSamsung

That is strange, Juanita. Are you able to send us a PM via the link below so we can further assist you with this?

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Kath
Samsung AU

Alison K.

Alison K.asked

what size memorycard can be used for extra storage?

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Alison, the A50 uses a MicroSD card (Up to 512GB).

For more info:
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-a50-a505/SM-A505YZBNXSA/

Ada
Samsung AU

See all Samsung Galaxy A50 questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $499.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight166 g
Colour / FinishBlue, Black
Dimensions 158.5 x 74.7 x 7.7 mm
Body MaterialPlastic
Display
Pixel Density403 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.4"
Screen Resolution1080 x 2340 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core (4x2.3 GHz Cortex-A73 & 4x1.7 GHz Cortex-A53)
Battery Size4,000 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB
Memory (RAM)4 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution1080p (Full HD)
Rear Camera(s)25MP Wide, 8MP Ultrawide
Front Camera(s)25MP Wide

  • GTIN14: 08801643743970 and 08806090063824
  • MPN: 1091005694, 1091005695, SM-A505YZBNXSA, SM-A505YZKNXSA and SS-A505FD-128-BK
  • GTIN13: 8801643743420, 8801643743703, 8801643743734, 8801643928131, 8801643928162 and 8806090063848

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.