??!
2 photos
Samsung Galaxy J5 Pro Black

Samsung Galaxy J5 Pro Black

MPN: 1091003853
2.8 from 10 reviews

Don't bother

We are a Samsung family... All phones... laptops..TVs. My son Samsung J5 broke after 2 years ... he was waiting for an interview phone call... went into JB Hifi and ask for the exact same phone. Turned out they gave me a Pro. Bought a screen protector and case. 1 week later... Nothing!!! Completely dead. went back to JBH and they replaced it, but wouldn't refund on the screen protector... Now...1 month after... Exactly the same has happened... Don't buy a J5 Pro

Purchased in May 2019 at JB HI FI for $259.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Hi Maxine, I’m truly sorry that the J5 Pro that you received did not function as promised. Can you please contact us on the below link so we can help get to the bottom of this. Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AU

Camera quality is very poor

Very disappointed with the Galaxy J5 Pro camera quality. I don't take selfies, and general subjects are not good but ok, but landscapes/distance photos are terrible quality. With previous Samsung phones, I've been able to use images in high quality hardcopy, but that's impossible with this phone. Don't bother.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Thanks for reaching out to us, we’re really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far. We’d be more than happy to investigate further into this – Our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Downhill after update !

Bought my first smartphone, a Samsung J5 pro, 24th Oct 2018 from
JB HiFi and have to say that I've been fairly happy with it overall, easy to use, camera good and reasonable task speeds. Problems started 8 months later after downloading a software update. After 2 days things started slowing down, taking forever to do the simplest tasks, then the screen gradually got darker to the point of not being able to see anything, couldn't smart switch my data so lost it all. Took it to a Samsung outlet and they sent it off to a Samsung customer care centre. Got a call the next day saying that I've crushed the screen and will cost me $200 to repair, phone has been really well looked after so I'm lost for words, another $70 and I can get a new one. Not happy, also when I was looking at the box that it came in was stamped 2017 , so nearly 2 yrs old b4 I even got it old stock JBHiFi !
Mick T

Purchased in October 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Underrated brilliant (for the price tag)

Great phone, responsive, battery life has been great and everything just works. Very happy! Great phone. Too bad it has micro usb, but everything else is brilliant for the price. Feels premium and looks classy. Thanks!!

Purchased in May 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

IT WILL BREAK, must be faulty, never had issues with a Samsung (this is my 4th Samsung!)

I WAS a Samsung loyal, not anymore! I bought not one, but TWO J5 PRO'S as a dropped my first (nothing crazy, a very insignificant drop) and turned it around to find a smashed screen despite my screen protector. So I bought another one, got a screen protector and solid case...another minor drop and it STILL cracked!! It MUST BE FAULTY and they are covering it up because all my previous Samsung phones have had HUGE drops and NEVER broke! The scam is, the price of fixing it is nearly the same price as a whole new phone. $189! Ridiculous! It is a scam and the phine must be faulty, all my other Samsung's were fine, the only reason I got a new ome was more storage space. DO NOT BUY...FAULTY...WILL BREAK!

Purchased in November 2018 at Big W Retail Stores for $299.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
5 comments
Hi Mol, this is something that definitely shouldn’t happen, and we want to get your Galaxy back to its optimal state! Can you please send through a message to the link mentioned below? Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia LisaLink below did not work. Is there any other way to contact Samsung?Still no response or resolution. $189 to repair...the customer is always wrong in this circumstance!

Samsung Galaxy J5 Pro is a useless paperweight now.

Do not buy this phone, It will not last 6 months (if your lucky) before the screen/display fails. I read the reviews and comments about this phone having a weak screen and would not stand up well when handled roughly or bumped about. Well i thought, I'll be fine, I'll get a case and take good care of it. 4 months later it crapped itself, phone is like new, no marks ,no scratches never been dropped, sat on or handled roughly in anyway. Did an update a few days ago and the next day the screen is unreadable, LCD has failed. This phone cannot stand up to normal wear and tear & everyday use. In my opinion it's not of acceptable quality, not fit for purpose and should not be sold as is.

I spoke to my local samsung service centre who were less than helpful, got out a torch and a magnifying glass and found a hairline crack about 3 mm long in the lcd under the screen. They claimed the screen must have been stressed or stood on. Well i know the phone has only been subjected to normal use and definitely not stood on , its mint condition. Would not budge, no goodwill gestures, just wanted $180 to fix the screen. Don't throw your money away on this phone when you won't get any support from samsung. My house is full of samsung stuff, been very happy, but no more. End of Rant, feel better now, you have been warned!

Purchased in September 2018 at Officeworks Physical store for $319.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
3 comments
Thanks for reaching out to us, Bingo. We’d be happy to investigate further into this. Can you send us a direct message with your phone number or a reference number, so we can take a closer look into this? Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia LisaCan you send me an email address or direct contact for you please. Cheers BingoHi Bingo, just to let you know, we have sent a reply to your direct message to further assist. Jo Samsung AU

Smartphone and very functional

I am satisfied with my new phone, it is very functional easy to use and sleek and very stylish in black. I was looking for something mid-range and this phone fits my criteria very well, love it., is ti great, would recommend it.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Thanks for you review Jason! We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your J5 Pro! If you have any questions or need us to look into anything feel free to send us a message. Our best pint of contact is through our Facebook page so feel free to send us a PM. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Somewhat disappointing.

The phone is disappointing, the camera is good with closeups, but further away is just crap.
Also when receiving a call by the time you swipe the code and get rid of the advertisements, the caller has given up.

Purchased in December 2018 for $275.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Camera Quality
Hardware
2 comments
Hi Trevor, I'm sorry to hear your not completely satisfied with the J5 Pro. We've sent you a PM asking for more details, get back to us when you can. Lisa Samsung AUHave taken a lot of apps of my mobile and seems to be going ok at the moment, being able to answer incoming calls w ith no problem.

Perfect

Apps run smoothly, this phone does everything I need it to do without hurting the bank. The camera quality is great and I am very satisfied with the brightness of the display.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $289.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Thanks for your review Kat! We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your Samsung Galaxy J5 Pro. If you have any questions or need us to look into anything, feel free to send us a message. Our best point of contact is through our Facebook page so feel free to send us a PM. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

excellent

the phone is easy to get around for what you need.
the camera quality is brilliant, it works well with digital cameras in maintaining a quality of image for editing purposes.
the phone has a very good quality of sound and texting in the, send and receive of calls .
it can on the very odd occasion freeze due to the lack of ram which is most likely to the apps used.
there is plenty of ram otherwise 3gb.
the apps normally run extremely well, if one does not it is the app itself not the phone.
if I had to choose again I would choose another samsung and indeed this very same phone.

Purchased in December 2018 at southern phone for $230.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

See all Samsung Galaxy J5 Pro reviews

Questions & Answers

My screen is black and I can't turn it on is this normal if you get a crack in it, I had the crack for ages before it stopped working will replacing the screen fix this problem or not as I don't have the finances to fix it if it won't work afterwards.When i connect to the computer it recognises that its plugged in but says it is empty is that another problem
1 answer
Hi KMK, I'm sorry to hear that you have been experiencing difficulties with your J5 Pro. I recommend taking your device to the nearest service centre so we can take a look at this for you. Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below: https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Jo Samsung AU

Details

Samsung Galaxy J5 Pro Black
CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $299
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack and Expandable Storage
Charging Port Micro-USB
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density282 ppi
Screen Size 5.2"
Screen Resolution720 x 1280 pixels
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Camera
Max Video Resolution 1080p (Full HD)
Front Camera(s)13MP
Rear Camera(s)13MP Wide
Hardware
ProcessorOcta-core 1.6 GHz
Internal Storage32 GB
Battery Size3,000 mAh
Memory (RAM)3 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Black
Dimensions 146.2 x 71.3 x 8 mm
Body MaterialAluminium
Weight160 g
Release dateJun 2017
Compare all Samsung Galaxy J5 Pro

Visit official website
  • MPN: 1091003853
  • GTIN13: 8801643035730

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.