??!
4 photos
Samsung Galaxy Note 8

Samsung Galaxy Note 8 (2017-2020) (page 3 of 14)

Also referred to as: Samsung Galaxy Note 8 2019 and Samsung Galaxy Note 8 2021.
MPNs: 1091003764, SAMN8GLDOPT and SM-N950FZDAXSA
4.6 from 267 reviews

Reviews

4.6

267 reviews
5
(195)
4
(48)
3
(13)
2
(4)
1
(7)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (36)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (37)
  • Battery Life
    4.3 (36)
  • Camera Quality
    4.7 (36)
  • Hardware
    4.5 (36)
  • Software
    4.6 (36)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Adam F

Adam FPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

A little bit of a let down compared to the previous Samsung phones.

published
Adrienne Laine

Adrienne LaineWestern Australia

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Loving the note series!

published

I have upgraded from note 5 to note 8 and still does not disappoint me. Just make sure to always wipe the lenses before taking a photo. Other than that,it is all good!

Emma

Emma

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

I love this phone. Very capable

published

It has a fantastic camera, easy to use functions. Screen is large.
I love that you can change the phones appearance with different themes, and I also like that you can schedule your phone to go into do not disturb at certain times and days. There are many more features I have not learned yet but so far love it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note 8 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen

KarenNSW, 2170

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Samsung is 5 stars

published

I am satisfied with all aspects of the Note 8. Excellent phone.
I would never go to any other make of phone. The camera is one of the best. The pen works perfectly. I watch a lot of TV shows and the screen is big and bright. Recommend it to anyone!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Dani

DaniUnley

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

I honestly would never own anything else ever again

published

Amazing phone. They are quite long, but the awesomeness of the phone truly makes up for it. Large screen, great unlocking features. Fast operating system. You won't regret purchasing this phone. Its nice not to be tied to a program to function and transfer your files. Plug into a computer and drag and drop. Something iOS makes extremely restrictive. I preordered and got a wireless charger and a Galaxy Tab A. Was a great bonus.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Being able to easily drag and drop files is one of our favourite features too, Dani. We can’t thank you enough for your kind review of the Galaxy Note 8. You’re awesome!

Dr T

Dr TSydney

Very poor performance. Many errors. Poor battery life. Expensive for nothing!

published

The camera is not practical at all. You cannot take two consecutive photos. You have to press the back button after each picture to start over.
Very short battery life. Almost being charged continuously.
A lot of errors that could not be fixed: one example, autodownload everything from WhatsApp even if you disable this option.
Many other problems with the performance. Very disappointed.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Samsung
PhilSamsung
Matthew

Matthew

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Of course, an amazing device

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Sam L

Sam L

  • 15 reviews

Great phone, bad battery

published

I think it was so traumatic for Samsung to release a powerful phone with powerful battery. SO this Note 8 is certainly has everything except for powerful battery. It only last 4 hours for continuous usage (meaning, when I go travelling and use many apps such as map, translator, camera, browser, chatting). But during general 'desk-bound' days, it serves me well, the battery lasts a full day.
another cons: the selfie camera has 2 modes. the zoom in and zoom out mode. During video call, the default camera setting is the zoom-in mode. So when you are on a video call with your face 20cm from the phone, you can only see half face. I don't think I can change that setting.
best part: I use tons of apps. No lag, ever. powerful storage too!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
MrZedd

MrZeddSeaford

  • 2 reviews

This product (no longer just a phone) is one of the best mobile personal computing devices I have se

published

Transferring data from one device to the new Note is seamless, the apps are ready to be used and the hardware is supplied. The device itself works just as intended, is very smooth and lag-less.
Even though this device is from the Note family, its size and form are not huge and this is very comfortable in your hand, it weighs almost the same as older S7 edge Samsungs.
So far the battery life has been ok, this has been used a lot, mainly during set up and because it is new.

Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note 8 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tsh

TshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Trash

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Anoop Philip

Anoop PhilipSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent phone

published

The note 8 is what I would call a nearly complete phone.
Starting from a great dual camera which shoots near professional photos to the outstanding screen to the incredible s pen, this is great in nearly all respects.
Samsung takes android to next level with tons of customisation options.
The only things which could have been better are the fingerprint scanner and speaker.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Manpreet

ManpreetMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for productivity, Fast

published

This phone is a big leap after Note 7 debacle. Much better camera and live mode photography is the best feature if you are photo enthusiastic.

I used if all heavyweight apps such as AR and gaming and never had any lagging or speed issue. The stylus is very handy and I used it on the split screen for taking notes.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Mez

MezNelson Bay

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

BEST phone I've owned!

published

The camera is insane! Anyone that uses or sees photos on my screen comments on the quality.
I've dropped the phone a few times with absolutely no problems afterwards and the brightness of the screen is certainly well and truly enough!
I use my phone for my calendar, my research and pretty much my entire life and I couldn't be happier.
All of the apps runs smoothly and the screen sensitivity is the best I've had.
Super happy!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Wil

WilSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews

Great Mobile Phone!!!

published

Got this phone in April this year, 4 years after my contract on my contract with my old Galaxy Note 3 finished. It was time to upgrade. It is a very good decision because this phone is way much better - its excellent. The camera is excellent - very satisfied with the photo and video quality. The battery lasts 4x longer than my old one and charged 10× faster I think. My apps run smoothly as well.
Highly recommended.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Adam G

Adam GPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great phone - Doesn't self immolate this year!

published

Great low light camera.
Good screen. I miss the flat screen of the Note 4 but the curved does look good and make it more pocketable.
Battery last me all day under normal use.
Great tech specs, SD card expansion is fantastic.
I recommend Nova Launcher over the Stock Sammy UI though.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note 8 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Xavier

XavierFullerton Cove

  • 3 reviews

NOTE 8 IS AWESOME

published

Samsung galaxy note 8 is so Awesome.
Just everything about the phone, from the huge crystal clear High Definition screen, to the super awesome camera/ video resolution. 64 GB built in memory. I highly recommend getting the Tech 21 Brand case, which is very strong and durable case.
Love it.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Alex

Alex

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect mobile

published

The samsung note 8 is the best, there no need to own a tablet when you own this , I it's a great size it's clear oled screen with expandable storage, the pen comes in handy when you need to take notes over the call just place the call on loud speaker and pull put your pen and start taking notes and save it. And there is another feature which is amazing when your battery start getting very low and your out,there is a power saving button just tap that and it will give your many more hours to use your mobile I not sure if apple has that feature but it worth a million dollars when your stuck with a low battery.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Alex

AlexOatlands

  • 2 reviews

Great looking Phone with exceptional battery and performance

published

Fantastic phone with a battery that lasts me 2 days without charging. Like other comments say, a great camera for photos and video in daylight but not so great at night even with the flash. I seem to get a lot of red eye's in my night photos. Super fast responsiveness and superb screen display. The display is 6.3 inches, but its a tall thin phone which will make most videos stretch wider than usual even if the video is 16.9 resolution..

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Syed uzair

Syed uzairAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

I love it... Best screen and functionality. Very smooth and can be run with one finger unlike previous Note versions. Highly recommended. I am happt with battery life. Color limitation could have been increased as recently only 2 available with most of providers. Fast charging is useful as if running late it is handy

Date PurchasedSep 2017
KJKJK5757

KJKJK5757GLENORAN

  • 2 reviews

Galaxy Note 8

published

The camera function of this phone is quite satisfied, the effect of daytime photography is better than the night effect, in the night photo shoot out of the effect a little blurred.
This cell phone display a bit of a problem, the use of the process of black screen once, brightness is quite satisfactory.
In addition to the use of SMS and phone functions I also use mobile phone playing games, but in the course of the game is not smooth phenomenon, other entertainment is Good.
applications run on the phone is still smooth, not too much problem, no impact on the Use.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Page 3 of 14
See all Samsung Galaxy Note 8 reviews

Questions & Answers

Gary

Garyasked

Whats the best tradie phone from samsung.I have a J1 and am happy with phone and replacement cost is not to painful. Looking for phone that I can put in my pocket as I work as a plumber.

2 answers
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Gary, depending on the price range and features you may be looking into, we have provided links below to our different series of mobile devices.

Galaxy A Series
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-a-series/

Galaxy S Series
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-s/

Galaxy Note Series
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-note/

Ada
Samsung AU

Colin Foley
Colin Foley

Would steer away from the notes, the bigger screen is great but it is bulky in the pocket

Van N.

Van N.asked

How can you disable "moisture detected" error? Absolute rubbish feature as the phone charges fine, frustrating that the phone needs to switch off with cable inserted and switched on and wait for software to load.

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Van, we recommend for you to visit one of our authorised service centres so we can look into this.

With the global spread of COVID-19 impacting many communities, Samsung is adapting its practices to protect the health and wellbeing of our people and customers. As such, all our Galaxy Studios are currently closed. Our Experience Stores located at George Street, Sydney, Melbourne Central and Highpoint Shopping Centre are still open but at reduced operating hours.

You can also drop your device off at your local Australia Post office.
https://cybersvc2.samsungcsportal.com:83/samsungcare/au/index_m?dpFlag=Y

Ada

Gemma E.

Gemma E.asked

Hi,
What's the reception like in Rural areas?

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Gemma, if you would like further information on your network reception, it would be best for you to reach out to your service provider for further assistance.

Jo
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.