?
? !
4 photos
Samsung Galaxy Note 8

Samsung Galaxy Note 8

MPNs: 1091003764, SAMN8GLDOPT and SM-N950FZDAXSA
4.6 from 271 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.7 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (28)
  • Software
    4.9 (28)
  • Battery Life
    4.6 (28)
  • Camera Quality
    5.0 (28)
  • Hardware
    4.9 (28)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
pr_member

pr_memberMelbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Beautiful phone; excellent photos and editing is a breeze

published

There are people in my photography group who love the photos I'm getting with my phone (they use pro cameras). That's how good some of the photography is.

I also use it with photo editing apps and the experience is great. (One of the areas the Note 8's stylus excels over other phones)

Apps run smoothly and water resistance is great.

Also, when I've accidentally damaged the phone, Samsung's warranty and servicing departments have provided great service, getting the phone back to me quickly and even doing a repair for free, just outside the warranty period.

Purchased in September 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We really appreciate your 5 star review! If you ever require assistance please let us know, we're always happy to help :)

Sara
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
B. Lu

B. LuGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

still going strong

published

had this phone about 3 years now. still working perfectly (no signs of slowing down or system crash). camera take great pictures (live focus function is pretty cool). screen display is great. only problem was mine is 64gb only which isnt sufficient for more than 3 years photos and videos. got myself a 128gb sd card for added storage.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We're happy to hear your Galaxy Note 8 is treating you well! :)

Sara
Samsung Australia

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joshua

JoshuaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Been 3 years and still working great!

published

I've been using the note 8 since 2017, and I still find the phone relevant and working in 2020 in terms of interface, design, speed, camera quality and overall use. The plus side to this phone was the USB-C port, head phone jack and the S-Pen. I've used the Note 3, 4 & 8 and I notice I hardly use the S-Pen, but when I do need to use it, it does come in handy. So it's a nice to have feature. The only cons would be the screen burn, so avoid leaving the screen on full brightness for a long period of time.

Purchased in July 2017 at Samsung Online store for $1,499.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Fantastic to hear you are still enjoying your Samsung Note8, Joshua! We really appreciate the time spent to share your feedback on this product with us and I will be sure to share this with the team :)

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note 8 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sanjeev

SanjeevGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified purchase

Galaxy note are better than S series

published

Samsung phones are all reliable. I had this Note 8 for an year. No problems. Good quality camera and screen. Dropped it a few times still did not break. I had silicon protector on it though. Handles multi apps at the same time very well. Best thing is that it is still in demand. It sold so quickly on ebay at good value.

Purchased in December 2018 for $750.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Reco

RecoCroydon

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Brilliant Phone

published

Samsung Note 8 is a fantastic smart phone and it is effortless to use. Graphic display on camera is high quality. They do need to work on battery life though.

Purchased for $1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam G.

Sam G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Note 8 - Still the beast

published

I've been using Note 8 since last 2 years and what I can I tell without any doubt it is a great phone with
1. Great Camera,
2. Awesome Display
3. Smart stylus
and amazing design.

Purchased in August 2017 at PhoneBot Physical store for $800.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Sam. We're happy to hear your Note 8 is treating you well :)

Sara
Samsung Australia

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul

Paul

  • 2 reviews

Excellent so far

published

Had the phone for 18 months or so, it's been great an still going strong, it's fast , good battery, bright screen, the stylus is handy, plenty of apps ... walks all over my wifes iPhone

Purchased in January 2019 for $999.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pedro C.

Pedro C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

First Time Galaxy Owner, Last time Iphone User

published

Purchased in October 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,198.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Pedro C.
Pedro C.

Hello Mick

WIll do , Thankyou for your help , changing the power mode to Optimised , enabled adaptive power saving and putting apps to sleep has improved battery life.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Murtaza Love K.

Murtaza Love K.Illawarra, NSW

SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE 8

published

So far the best Samsung Galaxy I've used. Faster and more responsive than Samsung Galaxy s8+. The extra memory is a God Send and really lets the phone multitask perfectly.

Purchased in June 2018 at eBay for $899.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note 8 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dans review

Dans reviewGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Highly recommended mobile phone

published

Purchased in August 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Margaret

MargaretSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Very satisfied customer
So good to use
Doesn't brake
Good for business work
Quality of camera is amazing
It's not very expensive
Had it for 3 years now and it's in best condition

Purchased in December 2017 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,500.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Noni

Noni

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My whole life in the palm of my hand!

published

I mostly upgraded for the camera, & I wasnt disappointed!! Amazing quality! Both day & night. Being able to slide the pen out & make notes straight on the home screen is so handy at work & for every day memos in general. In 14 months I've never had an issue, & I'm pretty clumsy with it! I've set the display brightness to auto adjust & have the blue light filter on & am noticing less headaches then with my previous model.

Purchased in September 2018 at Telstra for $999.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Glad to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung Note8, Noni! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the team. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us via private message, should you have any enquiries.

Kath
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Natasha

NatashaWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Favourite phone's

published

Galaxy notes are my favourite devices I currently have the note 9 but I had the note 8 and it was just as good as the 9 continue to make awesome products

Purchased in June 2018 at Optus for $1,599.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Donna M.

Donna M.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Can't live without it!!

published

I love my phone it works amazing camera is awesome all apps work great sound is loud and awesome battery last ages and with fast charging even better highly recommend.

Purchased in June 2019 for $500.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JJ L

JJ LGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Versatile and easy. One of Samsung's best so far.

published

I have had this phone for 2 years now and not an issue with phone lag, blurry photos and short bettery life like thier previous product's.

Camera quality is top notch.

Processing of apps is super fast.

High resolution games run smoothly without lag.

I would definitely recommend this and I am looking forward to their future product releases.

Purchased in September 2017 at Vodafone for $2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Note 8 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dwight Nelson

Dwight NelsonVaughan/Toronto

  • 4 reviews

Samsung 8+

published

The camera quality is outstanding. I use at night with no issues
The durability of this phone is just great. Takes a licken and keeps on ticking
I use my phone more for business
The apps run extremely fast, especially since this new Samsung update

Purchased in March 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jamie

JamieMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Excellent smart phone

published

Purchased at Telstra for $1,399.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

So professional..never let's me down...

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GrimReaper555

GrimReaper555South East Queensland, QLD

  • 24 reviews
  • 20 likes

Best phone I've ever had

published

Biggest phone in the world pretty much the screen is the size of the tv. Fast as a top notch msi computer and the stats are right next to a gaming computer with its stats. The pen is so handy when you are on the phone can just put it on speaker and write notes in emergencies. The battery life is amazing. The graphics and speed of it is so smooth. Best phone.

Purchased in April 2018 at Telstra.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We're happy to hear that your Note8 has fit perfectly into your everyday lifestyle. Your review has been much appreciated. If any questions arise, please feel free to reach out to us.

Jo
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
pinky

pinkyMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

its good to carry everyime in your daily lifes.

published

CAMERA quality is pretty good for my daily selfies foer intsgarm and food photos .my brightness and durability of pphone was good .my apps work alltime very clean and neat i dint see any shutdowns in the middle of using apps

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 10
See all Samsung Galaxy Note 8 reviews

Questions & Answers

Ian

Ianasked

I have been using my Note 8 since 2017 it continues to be a very reliable phone. I am considering an upgrade to the S21 Ultra but I'm concerned about reports on this website regarding extreme overheating problems. Do you have any information on this? Don't want to spend $1800 on a dud.

No answers
Gary

Garyasked

Whats the best tradie phone from samsung.I have a J1 and am happy with phone and replacement cost is not to painful. Looking for phone that I can put in my pocket as I work as a plumber.

2 answers
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Gary, depending on the price range and features you may be looking into, we have provided links below to our different series of mobile devices.

Galaxy A Series
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-a-series/

Galaxy S Series
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-s/

Galaxy Note Series
https://www.samsung.com/au/smartphones/galaxy-note/

Ada
Samsung AU

Colin Foley
Colin Foley

Would steer away from the notes, the bigger screen is great but it is bulky in the pocket

Van N.

Van N.asked

How can you disable "moisture detected" error? Absolute rubbish feature as the phone charges fine, frustrating that the phone needs to switch off with cable inserted and switched on and wait for software to load.

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Van, we recommend for you to visit one of our authorised service centres so we can look into this.

With the global spread of COVID-19 impacting many communities, Samsung is adapting its practices to protect the health and wellbeing of our people and customers. As such, all our Galaxy Studios are currently closed. Our Experience Stores located at George Street, Sydney, Melbourne Central and Highpoint Shopping Centre are still open but at reduced operating hours.

You can also drop your device off at your local Australia Post office.
https://cybersvc2.samsungcsportal.com:83/samsungcare/au/index_m?dpFlag=Y

Ada

See all Samsung Galaxy Note 8 questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

CategoryMobile Phones
Price (RRP) $1,099.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Stylus (Included), Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Build
Weight195 g
Colour / FinishMidnight Black, Maple Gold
Dimensions 162.5 x 74.8 x 8.6 mm
Body MaterialGlass
Display
Pixel Density521 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLED
Screen Size 6.3"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetExynos 8895
CPU Octa-core (4x2.3 GHz Mongoose M2 & 4x1.7 GHz Cortex-A53)
GPU Mali-G71 MP20
Battery Size3,300 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB
Memory (RAM)6 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide, 12MP Telephoto
Front Camera(s)8MP Wide
Replaced bySamsung Galaxy Note 9
ManualDownload manual

  • MPN: 1091003764, SAMN8GLDOPT and SM-N950FZDAXSA
  • GTIN13: 8806088930220, 8806088930237 and 8806088979205

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.