??!
7 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9+

Samsung Galaxy S9+

64GB, 256GB and 128GB
4.3 from 123 reviews

Excellent Product

Purchased this phone in October 2018

Quality of the phone is excellent, only con to this phone is the glass screen scratches easily.
Battery life is better than the Samsung Galaxy s8, camera quality is excellent and a definite upgrade with a dual camera.

Has extra storage for SD cards if you are unable to afford the larger gigabytes.

Games, videos and streaming is seamless, video quality is quite high compared to many other phones like iphones, telstra and other foreign brands.

Charger cord is lacking durability as mine has started to wear at the plug. Phone does get warm while charging which is expected.

Purchased in October 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Good phone but poor battery life

Have been an android and Samsung user for ages and absolutely loved my s9 plus. Just got my s9 plus and so so disappointed with the battery life. Different processor

Purchased in June 2019 for $999.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
We understand the importance of getting the most out of usage of your S9+, James. Hence, we've provided some tips below to help you increase the battery life of your device. We hope this helps :) 1. Reduce your Brightness settings 2. Turn off Wi-Fi, data usage and Bluetooth when not in use 3. Disable notifications that are unused If after some time, you still believe that there may be a fault with the battery of your device, I would recommend for you to head into your nearest Samsung service centre so that our techs can take a look into this. Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below: https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Jo Samsung AU

Love this phone

I love my Samsung S9+. I used to have an IPhone and switched to Samsung after my husband raved about it. I will never go back to IPhone now. The Samsung is so easy to use and has an excellent quality camera.

Purchased in July 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Best phone. Great camera

Love the camera. Pictures turn out great and there are several different modes including background blur which gives a great effect to photos. The battery seems to last forever. I have so many photos and apps on my phone and its storage is no where near full

Purchased in October 2018 at Samsung Online store.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Best phone I have ever had

Good battery, Fast and Heaps of Storage. What more could you ask for? I love this phone. I have been buying samsung S and note phones for years and this is definitely the best they have made.

Purchased in March 2018 at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Love this phone

The size of the screen is a great size and covers the whole screen. The camera quality is sharp and amazing. The 'Live Focus, has especially caught my attention and takes beautiful portraits. Battery life seems ok, but tends to drain out towards The end of The day if it's been in constant use. Apps run smoothly.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Good phone

Great features and very easy to navigate. Photos are great but closeups are difficult to take unlike new feature on s10 mobile. Finger print location is easy to use for quick security access

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Fed up

to Samsung I have a Galaxy 9 Plus paid $1,200 for it and now it's stuffed new update has taken over my phone I hate what you've done and I will be purchasing a new phone that is not a Samsung

2 comments
We do appreciate your feedback Terry as we’re always looking to improve our products, services and the general customer experience. As we continue moving forward, we do make design choices and revisions. Unfortunately, sometimes we’re unable to please everyone with these changes which is why we’re grateful that the customer’s take their time to give honest feed-back so we know what we have to review moving forward. If you wish to discuss this further, our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AUhi I'm not going to bother contacting Samsung at all as I have purchased a new phone which is not a Samsung and I am very pleased with my apple have a nice day

Loving my phone

This phone isnt to big. The graphics are good. The phone is very fast. Bixby is just as good as Google but at times it seems like Bixby doesnt understand. Phone never freezes up. Awesome

Purchased in April 2019 at Walmart for $549.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Broken

Bought this phone and it no longer charges with the supplied cable after less than 6 months. Other than that it was a great phone. I hope they can fix it for me :(

Purchased in September 2018 for $1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Hi Tahlia, sorry to hear that! I've sent you a PM requesting more information. Lisa Samsung AU

Can't live without it!

This phone is very close to perfect. The fingerprint read quickly and easily, the camera is the best camera I ever use on a smartphone, it is snappy and has good battery life. After the recent Android P upgrade, it becomes even better with better UI and also a longstanding recycle bin for photos. After close to 1 year, I can say that I am very happy with this phone and hesitant to move to a newer model.

Purchased in May 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Thanks for you review Adrian! We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your Samsung Galaxy S9 If you have any questions or need us to look into anything feel free to send us a message. Our best point of contact is through our Facebook page so feel free to send us a PM. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Better than the S7

My S7 broke so I traded for the S9 and couldn't be happier. The phone operates so well the only weakness I have is using the fingerprint ID is sometimes a little slow. I had to get used to using the volume key for answering a call but after a few misses am now quite adept at answering this way. Using the power key for the camera was also a change that needed practice. I don't use Bixby, that might come later so it is turned off for now. One minor change affecting Cool Reader users, I can now store my books on the SD card, (you beauty!).
The apps are fast and easy to use as are the widgets.
To sum up, I won't go for the S10 as the S9 will do me for a long time.

Purchased in August 2018 at Samsung Physical store for $950.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
Thanks for your review Peter! We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your Samsung Galaxy S9+. If you have any questions or need us to look into anything, feel free to send us a message. Our best point of contact is through our Facebook page so feel free to send us a PM. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Samsung's Best Phone Yet

After switching from an Apple iPhone to the Galaxy S9+ 4G 64GB I have been extremely happy with the phone features, speed and durability. I am paying the phone off in monthly installments of $100 over 24 months and have a standard case protecting it. The clear screen struggled to stick (possibly a result of the curved edges) however I am yet to have any issues with chips or scratches thankfully. The phone synchronizes well with streaming and file sharing apps and constant app updates are very user friendly

Purchased in June 2018 for $1,332.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Good Phone With lots of memory and great camera

I chose S9+ due to it's larger screen. even though it is slightly heavier it was a good decision. The finger touch unlock from the back is a call feature. The personal assistant (Bixby) is quite practical and follows most accents.

Purchased in January 2019 at Kogan.com for $980.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software

Overpriced and incredibly fragile

I've been a Samsung user since the S3, and I have NEVER broken a phone screen until owning the S9+. They need to stop making these stupid edge screens which are ridiculously fragile. A very light tap against a bench whilst the phone in my pocket cracked the edge of the screen. It worked fine for a month or so, and then I started getting lines and flickering in the screen. Now it looks like I'll have to send it off for repair at a cost of around $300. I baby my phones, and this one was inside a protective case at the time. The issue is the edges - it is not a smart design choice by Samsung at all. And the pricing is going through the roof! I would NEVER spend over 1k on a smartphone. I got this one for just over $800 on the grey market and even still it feels too expensive. The phone is fine for what it is, but is it that much better than my older Samsung? Nope! Just a bit faster and very slight improvement on battery life. I just hate the way these corporations are not building things to last. Their whole aim seems to be to make as much $$$ off the consumer as they can and basically force them into upgrading earlier than should be necessary. My next phone will likely be one of the cheaper options around $500 from the likes of Motorola, they have a flat screen and all the features most people could need - and I would expect it to be a lot more durable too.

Purchased in July 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Software
1 comment
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Grogg. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you, can you please send that through? Jo Samsung AU

Stop making these stupid edge screens

Have heaps of issues with screen protectors with edge screen. Touch input doesn't work well on edge.
The edge screen offers no benefits and is as useless as bixby... which is annoying.
Apart from that phone is good.. although I have had issues with zoom on camera which may be due to phone being dropped.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Awesome Phone!

I was given this phone as a birthday present. I am enjoying all of the features this phone has to offer. The quality of the photo even in low light is superb. I even bought third party lenses and they work well. I just make sure that the lenses fit snuggly around the phone lenses so that there is no ghosting. I connect the phone to our large screen Samsung Smart TB to watch my favourite YouTube shows and use an external wireless keyboard and mouse when I have a lengthy Instagram post. This phone is easily communicating with other gadgets connected to it. I use it as a scanner as well. I dropped it several times and it is still intact. There is still a lot of things this magnificent phone can do that I haven't even begun to scratch.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Love, love, love it, but has some big faults!

I love so many things about this mobile phone I bought in July 2018, But I'd suggest no-one buy the 1st model of a mobile.
Wait for the 2nd generation 4 bugs to be ironed out!

I purchased it mainly for the added features it has as in fingerprints and Iris scanner (for the biometrics).

My fingerprints and irises have been scanned twice now and both times have become unregistered and now have to go back to using pin / pattern until it's fixed again,
but everytime this happens I have to book another appointment with Samsung which is very annoying.

The first time Samsung wanted to send it away but I'd only had it 3 days & found a way to fix it on my own which I showed them, & I am non tech DUD! No tech skills at all!
Really it is something they should have thought of considering they know these phones back to front or should.

Also does some crazy things with photos only showing quarter of the photo or pages showing only quarter of the frame.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Love, Love, Love it!

This phone is awesome, I am extremely happy with its performance & just love it. I've had no issues at all & I've had it a good 5 months now. I turned of Bixby as its just hopeless & use Google instead. The camera in it is just incredible it takes photos as good as any DSL camera & has wide angle, slow mode, hyper mode, professional mode plus a list of many others. The sound is clear & really nice to listen to even at the higher volumes. The screen display is huge & crystal clear, you can even put a blue light filter on if you choose. I have found that the apps all run smoothly on it without any glitches, I play alot of games & have had no worries so far. I also use my phone for youtube & get lovely clear videos with good quality sound on here. I don't normally recommend phones as I've had no end of bad luck with them but this one is just the Best! My friend has the iPhone x & I've seen him checking out how much better my phone is. Go get yourself one, you'll not be disappointed

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Glad I went for the 9 plus

I was a bit apprehensive at first about the bigger phone but alot of friends said they love the bigger screen. The camera is amazing and the big screen works well as I mostly carry it in my handbag. If you are almost needing glasses this is the way to go as it is a large size to see

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

I bought a S9+ 256gb last year before reviews on it existed. I then heard Samsung had blocked Call Recording apps from working on it so without ever opening the phone I sold it off losing $400 & went back to the S8+. Is it true Call Recording apps don't work on this handset?
1 answer
Hi Cory, based on Google’s security policy and local law, Samsung had blocked call recording through 3rd party ACR applications. We truly do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you and I will be sure to pass your feedback along. Sara Samsung Australia

Hi, Just started writing reviews. Could you advise who to contact to arrange a trial of product for the Samsung Galaxy S9+? I'm new and not sure how to go about it. Regards, Natasha Nova
1 answer
Hi there Natasha, we're stoked that you're considering trialing our Galaxy Smartphone range! You can visit your nearest Samsung Studio for a demonstration on of the Galaxy S9+, we also have a range of other devices, which may be of interest to you, like the new Note 9. Here is a link to find your nearest store and bookings. Alternatively, a range of network providers can also give you a demonstration too. Here are the links: Store locator: https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Bookings: https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/#/ Philip Samsung Australia

Details

Galaxy S9+ 64GBGalaxy S9+ 256GBGalaxy S9+ 128GB
Price (RRP) $1,349$1,499
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging Port USB-CUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Display
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLEDAMOLED
Pixel Density529 ppi529 ppi529 ppi
Screen Size 6.2"6.2"6.2"
Camera
Max Video Resolution 2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Front Camera(s)8MP Wide8MP Wide8MP Wide
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide, 12 MP Telephoto12MP Wide, 12 MP Telephoto12MP Wide, 12 MP Telephoto
Hardware
ProcessorOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB128 GB
Battery Size3,500 mAh3,500 mAh3,500 mAh
Memory (RAM)6 GB6 GB6 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Midnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise Gold
Dimensions 158.1 x 73.8 x 8.5 mm158.1 x 73.8 x 8.5 mm158.1 x 73.8 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Weight189 g189 g189 g
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018Mar 2018

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.