??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018) (page 2 of 9)

64GB, 256GB
3.9 from 173 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.8 (68)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (66)
  • Software
    4.0 (65)
  • Battery Life
    3.9 (68)
  • Camera Quality
    4.3 (68)
  • Hardware
    4.3 (65)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Mick

Mick

  • 2 reviews

Galaxy S9 wont load

published

Phone was good but now wont load , freezes or takes a long time to load. Have turned on and off and re booted many times. Battery drains very quickly also . I optimise my device care many times a day and close all apps when i finish with them. Have been using Samsung for many years think its time for a change.

Purchased in July 2018 for A$1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Meg

MegGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good handset

published

Captures fantastic photos. Video quality is amazing. One of the best product from Samsung. Has a good battery life .Love the Samsung apps. Water detection is a bit annoying. Overall it is a good buy.

Purchased in November 2018 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung S9, Meg. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the team. Should you have any enquiries, please don't hesitate to send us a private message.

Kath
Samsung AU

Ted

TedBerwick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone, does the job

published

Very happy with this phone. It is fast, plenty of memory to install apps. It is fast and decent camera. No lag - so highly recommend it to anyone. It has all feature that you need and more. Battery is decent , lasts more than a day.

Purchased in January 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Loumick1

Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Reliable phone, find the edge awkward

published

The phone was the natural choice for upgrade at the time for my lagging S5. Does what I expect. I am not a heavy user of my phone but it does all the things I would want it to do without issue. I find the ‘edge’ awkward and clumsy and often can’t seem to quite touch the screen in the right way to click things I want to if they are near the edge.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,199.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great phone

published

Camera is good but could be better at night. The phone display is nice and clear with great brightness settings. Battery has been good until the last month or so it is starting to lose its charge a lot quicker. Haven't had any isdues with using apps, can do everything easily on this phone.

Purchased in March 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
See all answers
Dunsobarky

DunsobarkySydney, NSW

Fingerprint sensor doesn't work and phone won't support USB connected headsets

published

It's fast and has a good enough camera. The screen is good too however...it has some usability flaws
Can't use the fingerprint sensor to unlock the phone, it fails 90% of the time.
The phone app won't use the USB-C port connected headset even though voice recorder, Youtube, music apps etc all can use it perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

A really useful phone that can do practically everything. Cheap for what it is, and good with battery life.

published

Can be used for anything. Fairly cheap, apps run smoothly. Good battery life and works with most additions, such as phone pens and airpods. Fun and useful. Makes a great gift.

Purchased at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Md Shariful A.

Md Shariful A.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not happy with this phone.

published

The fingerprint sensor for unlocking the phone doesn't work all the time. I have to press the side button. I was happy with my old galaxy note 5. Shouldn't upgrade it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Worst phone ever. And worst service. Apple is far better than samsung.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Navi. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU

Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lily K.

Lily K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty great.

published

Camera quality has been great! Very clear pictures with many settings available.
The phones has crisp brightness but also option to select blue light filter.
I use phone for social apps, music, reading articles, photos etc.
Apps sometimes have issues however mostly have run smoothly.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Brian M.

Brian M.

  • 4 reviews

Samsung Galaxy 9

published

I upgraded from a Galaxy 8 to the 9 and suitably impressed with the phone. I use the phone out in the country on the Telstra network. The camera on the S9 is impressive and has been able to capture images in low light.

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
NoName

NoNameSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Overall good but the selfie camera tends to loose quality over time

published

Purchased at Telstra.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Robert

RobertMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

It's the best phone I've ever got 5 star for me

published

The camera is mad and it's real easy to use utube love it and the quality of the picture is good and apps run real smoothly I use games on this phone and it's mad

Purchased in January 2019 at Make it mine for A$2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Emmah_kate

Emmah_kateSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing phone with everything you need!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Samsung for A$849.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mummymoo

MummymooWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best phone i own from Samsung

published

Been a samsung user for years. I'm in brand repping business and this phone is perfect to use if you dont have DSLR for capturing photos. There is an option where you can blur background photo with some cool effects.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lauren V

Lauren VSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews

The perfect mix of

published

I've been using this smartphone for over a year and cannot fault it. Screen size is optimal, and the display is durable and well designed. I use my smartphone all day long on a daily basis for both work and play, and find apps run smoothly and battery life is fantastic. Android is a very user friendly system and Samsung are both high quality and value for money. I would recommend to anyone. Photo quality is exceptional and the phone in general is a pleasure to use.

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
MarkN

MarkNIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Best phone I have ever had

published

This is easily the best phone I have ever had
Photos are amazing and it has a great ease of use
My only cons are battery life and Bixby
I recommend disabling Bixby and just using Google assistant its is just annoying

Purchased in June 2018 at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mike C.

Mike C.

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Everything is great except Bixby and bluetooth not compatible with some VW/Skoda models

published

Great phone and camera, had it for over a year and hasn't missed a beat, no lagging or over heating issue and battery life is good. My only criticism is bixby, cant get rid of it, the bixby button is waste of space as I don't use it and I wish i can disable it and assign it for other functions.
Another issue I have and have discovered with other VW owners is the bluetooth. You can connect with calls but not for media, need to repair bluetooth if I want to use it with media

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$997.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Mike C.
Mike C.

Hi Jo,
any other way to get in touch? Not a FB user

Samsung
AdaSamsung
Linda

LindaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 22 likes

Good phone

published

Good phone. I love samsung and so easy to transfer files, photos and contacts over to samsung using smartswitch! Highly recommend samsung. Good size and easy to navigate and use.

Purchased in December 2018 at Officeworks for A$909.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Linda, hope you are enjoying your new S9. We're glad to hear that the switch from the old to new device has been easy! If any questions arise, feel free to let us know.

Jo
Samsung AU

Wetwork65

Wetwork65Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 33 reviews
  • 26 likes

Samsung is the best device for me

published

This is my 5th Samsung smartphone. They just work and have easy access to latest updates.
Always get 2 every 2 years, one for me, one for wife and pass on old to kids.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 2 of 9
See all Samsung Galaxy S9 reviews

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Galaxy S9 (2018)

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU

circlek

circlekasked

Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU

Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB (2018)

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)
Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

4.0
(131)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) A$1,199.00A$1,349.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Build
Weight163 g163 g
Colour / FinishMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlass
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi570 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Screen Size 5.8"5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Battery Size3,000 mAh3,000 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB
Memory (RAM)4 GB4 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide8 MP Wide
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018
Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

  • GTIN14: 08801643165154

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.