??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

64GB, 256GB
3.9 from 173 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.0 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (10)
  • Software
    3.3 (9)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (10)
  • Camera Quality
    3.9 (10)
  • Hardware
    4.2 (9)
Previous
Next
John Clark

John ClarkEyre Peninsula, SA

Not a bad phone

published

I believe that the phone is quite fair for price. But it seems too be awfully light. Very easy to drop without cover. Will probably be looking at Apple products Next

Purchased in January 2019 for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dunsobarky

DunsobarkySydney, NSW

Fingerprint sensor doesn't work and phone won't support USB connected headsets

published

It's fast and has a good enough camera. The screen is good too however...it has some usability flaws
Can't use the fingerprint sensor to unlock the phone, it fails 90% of the time.
The phone app won't use the USB-C port connected headset even though voice recorder, Youtube, music apps etc all can use it perfectly.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Md Shariful A.

Md Shariful A.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not happy with this phone.

published

The fingerprint sensor for unlocking the phone doesn't work all the time. I have to press the side button. I was happy with my old galaxy note 5. Shouldn't upgrade it.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ourco

OurcoNorth Sydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Not live up to expectation

published

Not sure if it is build issue but the finger print sensor paint peel off from two months of use.
Camera has good exposure for darker scene. Focus is not as fast as my previous Sony and picture seem a bit blurry when zoom in.
Battery is another area it can do better. With only browsing internet on train/bus, i can barely get a whole day with full charge.

Purchased in April 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Linh.H

Linh.HMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect when I met you but 3 months in I started to see your true colours

published

Purchased in August 2018 at Ebay for A$799.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Linh.H
Linh.H

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mooner

Mooner

  • 24 reviews
  • 10 likes

Won't ever buy another Samsung phone again.

published

Purchased in July 2018 for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Val

ValSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Only Ok!

published

I dont find the curved screen user friendly and quite often I have to click several times for the apps to open. I am disappointed with the Samsung. Previously I had a Sony Experia which I loved.

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Terrella

Terrella

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Full of bloatware & spyware that can't be uninstalled

published

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,400.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Terrella
Terrella
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We appreciate your feedback Terella. this has been noted and we will be sure to pass this on internally.

Lisa
Samsung AU

casey13

casey13Western District, VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Its ok

published

First of all the camera quality does not disappoint, as are all samsung cameras it is excellent on the S9. I have found the battery doesn't last very long, I have to charge my phone every night, the button below the volume keys for Bixby is a tad annoying or just may take longer to get used to. Overall I have found the s9 To be just as good as my s7 Edge and my rather cheap OPPO.

Purchased in February 2019 at Telstra for A$950.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam E

Sam EPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 11 likes

Its ok! Not as 'Amazing ' as the guy in telstra said.

published

Was told the phone is amazing...
The camera never focuses, even when using the selective focus setting, it takes the photo but always says could not focus..
The battery life is terrible, my husband gets nearly two days from his phone, i get a day if that, i have only been up a hour took it of charge and it is now down to 78% and i havent watched anything just been googling reviews on this phone, and all open apps are closed,

Dont like how the screen goes around the sides so brought a phone cover,

I wish I stayed with what I had but ohh well

Purchased in November 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Sam, sorry to hear you feel this way about your S9. Have you had a chance to visit a Samsung service centre? >https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/

Anna
Samsung Australia

Ok. Just ok. Several issues. Bixby is terrible

published

Screen goes all the way to the edge. I don't like that. I kept pressing things by accident. Phone is way to slippery so had to spend 30 dollars on a cover. Bixby is a joke. Should have stuck with the s7. I loved that phone. Wonder if I can find another.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
MJD

MJDAlbury

  • 13 reviews
  • 10 likes

Has been good but one major issue.

published

Phone is generally good. However, touch screen stopped working only a few months after I bought it, and tech support were not very helpful. Was able to backup and keep files and sent away for a replacement through Optus. Not really a fan of the curved edges, feels like it makes it more prone to damage if there isn't a case.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Frock lover

Frock loverGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

I hate BIXBY and the screen shot funtion horrible

published

I hate BIXBY and do not want to use it ...but it insists upon itself ...what a waste of a butyon grrrrrrr SO ANNOYING also taking screenshots id a pain in the butt ...hard to make work and invokes BIXBY WHICH I HATE.
Lost so much functionality with camera to last model ...downgrade not upgrade ...no portrait functionality any more

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Samsung
PhilSamsung
Gem

GemNewcastle

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Should've bought an Iphone

published

Camera quality is good although i find it hard to be advertised as one of the major selling points of this phone, I would personally not buy this phone based on the Camera quality. Display is good and brightness settings (cant complain). My biggest complaint with this phone being one of the latest is that there is no IR meaning apps like tv remote do not work where as more affordable phones manage to have this feature. Also the phone boasts on being waterproof yet my speakers muffle at the slightest touch of water ...go figure.. this phone is far from living up to expectations.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Samsung
PhilSamsung
Achtlos

AchtlosCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 46 reviews
  • 21 likes

Bixby, with a dedicated hardware button?

published

The phone is as good as the price tag suggests.. but Bixby.. with a hardware button? What is this rubbish. I hope Samsung's bloatware goes in the other direction next model (or the next model I buy).
I grabbed a Gear VR for this phone (get the newer one that runs on with Note 8). Fantastic, not any really deep VR games, but it's pretty fun for a $150au add on.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bernskiez

BernskiezSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great phone, terrible battery life.

published

Bought this recently, great camera on it, but the battery life is TERRIBLE. Samsung really stuffed this up and seems like the Exynos chip is to blame that we are stuck with in Australia. If I had the choice again would probably wait a few months and get the next gen and hold onto old phone.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Pat

PatMalvern

  • 2 reviews

Initial glitches

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Msun

Msun

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Switching over from iPhone - not disappointed but would prefer the iPhone

published

Switched over from iPhone and can definitely see that there is increased flexibility and options to tailor my experience with a samsung, however, controlled as it may be, the iPhone is a simple and easy to use and beautiful platform that I have experienced more functionality and DEFINITELY more intuitive use. I could hand an iPhone to my grandma (and have), and watch her play with it and figure it out. No way she would know what to do with the samsung.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Odin voltaire

Odin voltaire

  • 2 reviews

Ok phone

published

Just got my new s9 was pretty excited because of all the hype surrounding it but was a bit dissapointed some features.
The first being that you cant customize your ph contacts with anything. No personalized ringtone, msg tone, or even pic of your contact. Bummer.
Also the super slow mo feature is really annoying in that you can only use it in short bursts when recording so your video jumps from normal speed to super slow mo & back again.
If you crack the screen your looking at $500 to if get it fixed.
If these things dont bother you then it's a great phone but for me, the lack of customization was a deal breaker.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Cynthia

CynthiaPerth

  • 5 reviews

Good phone

published

This phone does have some practical issues. With a protective screen cover the touch screen on the smooth edge is difficult to use. The other problem is lack of the home, return and screen buttons on the bottom which i had on the s6 makes it difficult for navigation. Every thing else is great but these issues lowered my over all opinion.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
See all Samsung Galaxy S9 reviews

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Galaxy S9 (2018)

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU

circlek

circlekasked

Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU

Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB (2018)

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)
Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

4.0
(131)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) A$1,199.00A$1,349.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Build
Weight163 g163 g
Colour / FinishMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlass
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi570 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Screen Size 5.8"5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Battery Size3,000 mAh3,000 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB
Memory (RAM)4 GB4 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide8 MP Wide
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018
Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

  • GTIN14: 08801643165154

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.