??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

64GB, 256GB
3.9 from 173 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.9 (23)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (21)
  • Software
    4.3 (22)
  • Battery Life
    4.2 (23)
  • Camera Quality
    4.4 (23)
  • Hardware
    4.3 (22)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Un3arthly

Un3arthlyMelbourne

  • 14 reviews
  • 15 likes

Good phone

published

Phone is great, does all that I need. Runs Smooth, no lags. Memory is good.
My only dislike is the curved screen, even with an expensive otter box case there is no stopping the screen from breaking. Glass screen protectors also don't stick for long. Otherwise it's a great phone.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Aff

AffMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Almost Bullit proof

published

Great phone . Have owned it for many years with out any failures. Well designed . User freindly with great style. Yes it is an older phone but will not be replacing till it dies

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung S9, Aff. We really appreciate sharing your experience with us and I will be sure to forward this on to the team :)

Kath
Samsung AU

yes i.

yes i.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Love my phone

published

Love my phone, although its difficult to save someones phonenumber from a text. Youcan only copy and paste whole messages, not just the number or text you want . Particularly annoying for addresses into maps.

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$990.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jacob Guzman

Jacob GuzmanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Nice product design

published

UI is good but UX could be better
The product design is quite nice
Camera quality still not great (front and back)
The flexibility of the software and the ability to customize is great

Purchased in January 2019 at Telstra for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mac

MacSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Quite similar to Samsung S8

published

I had a Samsung S8 and have to buy a new one since it got busted. Being an avid Samsung user, I purchased the next one, Samsung S9, as Samsung S10 was still a bit expensive for my liking. In terms of day to day functionality, Samsung S9 has the touch and feel of Samsung S8. Without considering the camera, everything is quite the same. I would recommend it, however if you have a Samsung S8 that's working, probably wait for Samsung S10 to go down in price further.

Purchased in May 2019 at Samsung Online store.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tahlea

TahleaCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty good

published

The phone is of good quality and the camera is actually very clear and looks great. The durability is alright but the phone did crack from small drops. Apps run smoothly on the phone.

Purchased in June 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Meg

MegGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good handset

published

Captures fantastic photos. Video quality is amazing. One of the best product from Samsung. Has a good battery life .Love the Samsung apps. Water detection is a bit annoying. Overall it is a good buy.

Purchased in November 2018 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung S9, Meg. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be forwarded to the team. Should you have any enquiries, please don't hesitate to send us a private message.

Kath
Samsung AU

Ted

TedBerwick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone, does the job

published

Very happy with this phone. It is fast, plenty of memory to install apps. It is fast and decent camera. No lag - so highly recommend it to anyone. It has all feature that you need and more. Battery is decent , lasts more than a day.

Purchased in January 2019 at Vodafone.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
Loumick1

Loumick1South East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Reliable phone, find the edge awkward

published

The phone was the natural choice for upgrade at the time for my lagging S5. Does what I expect. I am not a heavy user of my phone but it does all the things I would want it to do without issue. I find the ‘edge’ awkward and clumsy and often can’t seem to quite touch the screen in the right way to click things I want to if they are near the edge.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,199.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lily K.

Lily K.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Pretty great.

published

Camera quality has been great! Very clear pictures with many settings available.
The phones has crisp brightness but also option to select blue light filter.
I use phone for social apps, music, reading articles, photos etc.
Apps sometimes have issues however mostly have run smoothly.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
NoName

NoNameSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Overall good but the selfie camera tends to loose quality over time

published

Purchased at Telstra.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mike C.

Mike C.

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Everything is great except Bixby and bluetooth not compatible with some VW/Skoda models

published

Great phone and camera, had it for over a year and hasn't missed a beat, no lagging or over heating issue and battery life is good. My only criticism is bixby, cant get rid of it, the bixby button is waste of space as I don't use it and I wish i can disable it and assign it for other functions.
Another issue I have and have discovered with other VW owners is the bluetooth. You can connect with calls but not for media, need to repair bluetooth if I want to use it with media

Purchased in September 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$997.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Mike C.
Mike C.

Hi Jo,
any other way to get in touch? Not a FB user

Samsung
AdaSamsung
Linda

LindaSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 32 reviews
  • 22 likes

Good phone

published

Good phone. I love samsung and so easy to transfer files, photos and contacts over to samsung using smartswitch! Highly recommend samsung. Good size and easy to navigate and use.

Purchased in December 2018 at Officeworks for A$909.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Linda, hope you are enjoying your new S9. We're glad to hear that the switch from the old to new device has been easy! If any questions arise, feel free to let us know.

Jo
Samsung AU

Shopaholic123

Shopaholic123Perth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Upgrade of camera

published

Had been putting off upgrading my Samsung Galaxy since it was working well and I'm not one who needs the latest in technology. Turns out I'm impressed with the functionality of the camera embedded in the S9. Previously saw how the iPhone Xs camera took photos and was impressed with that but couldn't justify changing from being an Android user to an Apple user just from the camera. The filters available, the pro mode etc are all very much in use and a definite plus by the upgrade!

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sambo01

Sambo01Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great phone if you use all aspects

published

If your in to having all the modern up to date accessories then you will love this phone as did I but I'm happy with s5 or s6 so you could save hundreds if your not to concerned for being a little behind or out dated.

Purchased in May 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bozo

BozoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Happy with it

published

Camera is much better than my old samsung s6, works pretty well in low light conditions as well.

It's not as thin as the s6 edge but this works for me because I find it easier to grasp.

So far there has been no slowdown and the battery life has been quite good.

Purchased in January 2018 for A$899.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Christopher

ChristopherSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Does everything you need

published

Good phone, battery lasts all day. Good adjustable brightness. Haven't noticed any lag or delay yet with phone. Use phone for music, media everything really. I'm not much of a camera person but images do look crisp and clean

Purchased in September 2018 at Samsung for A$900.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ana

AnaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great phone

published

Amazing camera, takes great photos! Good battery life and good phone size. I love that it can fully charge within minutes. I don't like that Bixby always starts up when I accidentally swipe the bottom left of the screen - but that's just a minor thing. Overall I'm really happy with the phone.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Rad

RadSouthwest, VIC

  • 34 reviews
  • 24 likes

Much better battery life

published

Replacing my s7, the battery life was very noticeable. Set up right I can easily go into the second day or two days of minimal use. Hate Bixby, but can be disabled.
Excellent camera and very stable with fast processing speed.
Nice upgrade, no issues, fast charging.

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
FiT

FiTSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 8 likes

Decent, no issues so far

published

Pretty happy with this phone so far. The camera is quite good, haven't had many apps crash or need to re start. I use this regularly with android auto in my car. Decent battery.

Purchased in October 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 1 of 3
See all Samsung Galaxy S9 reviews

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Galaxy S9 (2018)

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU

circlek

circlekasked

Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU

Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB (2018)

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)
Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

4.0
(131)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) A$1,199.00A$1,349.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Build
Weight163 g163 g
Colour / FinishMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlass
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi570 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Screen Size 5.8"5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Battery Size3,000 mAh3,000 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB
Memory (RAM)4 GB4 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide8 MP Wide
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018
Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

  • GTIN14: 08801643165154

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.