??!
6 photos
Samsung Galaxy S9

Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

64GB, 256GB
3.9 from 173 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.6 (27)
  • Ease of Use
    5.0 (27)
  • Software
    4.8 (25)
  • Battery Life
    4.6 (26)
  • Camera Quality
    4.8 (26)
  • Hardware
    4.9 (25)
Previous
Next
MickQ

MickQTownsville

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Aussie model Galaxy S9

published

Arrived quickly, brand new sealed Australian model phone. Works perfectly as expected. The price was good, and I think best price for Aussie model.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Shane S

Shane SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great phone!

published

Upgraded from an S8/64 GB. Been very happy with this phone. Got it second-hand on Gumtree and it hasn't skipped a beat. Love the huge 256GB storage space.

Got lots of apps installed, so am now thinking about upgrading to the S10 for extra speed.

Highly recommend this phone.

Purchased in January 2020 at Gumtree.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Mark

Mark

  • 2 reviews

Could be the BEST phone

published

Purchased in June 2020 for A$570.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kylieah

kylieahMid North Coast, NSW

Great phone

published

Has been a great phone. Was very over priced though at $1200. Only had a minor issue with it which I fixed easily enough and was a software glitch. Had no other problems with it at all. Love the lilac colour. I've had it almost 2 years and was going to upgrade but think I'll just keep using it now. Great battery life, fast charging and I have a Samsung led cover which works great with this phone.

Purchased in August 2018 for A$1,200.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Renata Fanti

Renata Fanti

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great phone!

published

This phone has been amazing to me. I bought it second hand and everything works just fine!
I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves Samsung and their S line and dont want to pay thousands for the S10/S20...well done Samsung!

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
George D.

George D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant for the price

published

I bought the phone for my son who's a vehicle mech. He uses it for getting vehicle information off the net as well as calling parts suppliers. It has been excellent for that as the speed and screen size are perfect for the job. Because of the environment in which it is used we got the hardened glass and case and that has been perfect as well. The camera is used to document vehicle issues and to suport reports and has worked well for that task. Overall the S9a nd case has been perfect for our need and has surpassed our expectations.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$459.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
tracey n.

tracey n.Canberra 2600, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Love it

published

This is my 3rd phone from Samsung and I love it. Haven't had a problem with it. The longevity of the battery is great and its camera offers an opportunity for great photos

Purchased in February 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
kristieread

kristiereadSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great phone

published

I will never go back to Apple since having an android phone. The Samsung S9 has a great camera, is easy to use, stylish and I love that it has light notifications. Great for when you are at work. Speaker phone works well and is clear and crisp

Purchased in June 2019 at Catch for A$752.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Swanny

Swanny

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great phone

published

Camera is good but could be better at night. The phone display is nice and clear with great brightness settings. Battery has been good until the last month or so it is starting to lose its charge a lot quicker. Haven't had any isdues with using apps, can do everything easily on this phone.

Purchased in March 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Battery Life
Camera Quality
See all answers
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A really useful phone that can do practically everything. Cheap for what it is, and good with battery life.

published

Can be used for anything. Fairly cheap, apps run smoothly. Good battery life and works with most additions, such as phone pens and airpods. Fun and useful. Makes a great gift.

Purchased at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Brian M.

Brian M.

  • 4 reviews

Samsung Galaxy 9

published

I upgraded from a Galaxy 8 to the 9 and suitably impressed with the phone. I use the phone out in the country on the Telstra network. The camera on the S9 is impressive and has been able to capture images in low light.

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Robert

RobertMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

It's the best phone I've ever got 5 star for me

published

The camera is mad and it's real easy to use utube love it and the quality of the picture is good and apps run real smoothly I use games on this phone and it's mad

Purchased in January 2019 at Make it mine for A$2,000.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Emmah_kate

Emmah_kateSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing phone with everything you need!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Samsung for A$849.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mummymoo

MummymooWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best phone i own from Samsung

published

Been a samsung user for years. I'm in brand repping business and this phone is perfect to use if you dont have DSLR for capturing photos. There is an option where you can blur background photo with some cool effects.

Purchased in September 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Lauren V

Lauren VSouthwest, VIC

  • 5 reviews

The perfect mix of

published

I've been using this smartphone for over a year and cannot fault it. Screen size is optimal, and the display is durable and well designed. I use my smartphone all day long on a daily basis for both work and play, and find apps run smoothly and battery life is fantastic. Android is a very user friendly system and Samsung are both high quality and value for money. I would recommend to anyone. Photo quality is exceptional and the phone in general is a pleasure to use.

Purchased in May 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Mobile Phones

Find out how Samsung Galaxy S9 compares to other Mobile Phones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarkN

MarkNIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Best phone I have ever had

published

This is easily the best phone I have ever had
Photos are amazing and it has a great ease of use
My only cons are battery life and Bixby
I recommend disabling Bixby and just using Google assistant its is just annoying

Purchased in June 2018 at Optus.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Wetwork65

Wetwork65Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 33 reviews
  • 26 likes

Samsung is the best device for me

published

This is my 5th Samsung smartphone. They just work and have easy access to latest updates.
Always get 2 every 2 years, one for me, one for wife and pass on old to kids.

Purchased in January 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Debbie

DebbieWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my phone

published

We have had Samsung galaxy phones for years and love them especially the s9 so easy to use and so many great features. The camera is wonderful so many great pics of the kid's and nature never fails me would recommend to anyone

Purchased in November 2018 at Telstra for A$690.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware
See all answers
Sebastian D.

Sebastian D.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Samsung getting the job done.

published

Very happy with the phone in total. Great camera and user interface. No problems to report.
System runs smoothly and operates as it should. Making calls and sending messages work as it should.

Purchased in June 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Performance
Software
Battery Life
Camera Quality
Hardware

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

kamikami

kamikamiHunter Region, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

The shape is thin and long, allowing for one hand operation. The colour of the screen is vivid, responsive. The photo quality is great too. I love the slow motion video.

Purchased in March 2019 at Telstra .

Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 1 of 4
See all Samsung Galaxy S9 reviews

Questions & Answers

Damo

Damoasked

Galaxy S9 (2018)

Is there a big difference between the international and Australia version of this phone? Kogan and elsewhere sell them for around $730 to $750 which is very cheap. Kogan do have a disclaimer saying that international models may not have some features such as Samsung Pay etc.

3 answers
Val
Val

I do not know the asnwer to your question. I paid around $1000 for this phone

Damo
Damo

Thanks Val for replying. How long ago did you purchase it? With the S10 out now retailers have dropped the price of the S9 dramatically, but Samsung Australia still has them price expensively at $999 for the 64GB model.

Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Damo, international devices differ from the local Australian models through parts and software, as they are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models.

If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link:
http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/

Jo
Samsung AU

circlek

circlekasked

Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

Can you download the photos to your computer?

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi, you are able to transfer downloaded photos to your PC. I have provided similar steps via the link below to help guide you.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/mobile-devices/transfer-photos-from-phone-to-pc/

Jo
Samsung AU

Robyn

Robynasked

Galaxy S9 256GB (2018)

I've just updated to an S9 - is there some way of showing that I have a message or missed a phone call? If I don't hear a message come in there is no indication on the screen like there was on all my other phones - they used to show a small number in the corner of the app on the screen

2 answers
Ash
Ash

Check in setting if you have the notifications set on, they might not be, I get all the notifications from missed calls and texts but i also went through all the settings and changed them all to how I like them.

Samsung
PhilSamsung

Hi there, thanks for your question!

There are a few ways you can check if you have missed calls, messages or notifications.

Firstly, if you have your Always On feature enabled you will see notification icons below the time.

(Please note if you have Battery Saver on Always On gets disabled as well as the LED indicator on the top left of the screen).

Check Settings > Notifications > Enable 'App Icon Badges' > Click into App Icon Badges and make sure under 'Badge Style' Show with number is enabled.

Then below that there is a 'Show notifications' feature which if you turn on, you can press & hold onto an app, and it'll give you a small notification preview. (Please check through the list of apps in the first page to see if the right apps are enabled).

Check Settings > Display > Enable LED indicator

Hope this helps! And remember, if Battery Saver is turned on, most of your notifications indicators will be disabled to save battery.

Philip
Samsung Australia

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)
Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy S9 64GB (2018)

4.0
(131)
CategoryMobile PhonesMobile Phones
Price (RRP) A$1,199.00A$1,349.00
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage, Waterproof and Wireless Charging
Charging PortUSB-CUSB-C
Operating SystemAndroidAndroid
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Build
Weight163 g163 g
Colour / FinishMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue, Sunrise GoldMidnight Black, Lilac Purple, Coral Blue
Dimensions 147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm147.7 x 68.7 x 8.5 mm
Body MaterialGlassGlass
Display
Pixel Density570 ppi570 ppi
Display TechnologyAMOLEDAMOLED
Screen Size 5.8"5.8"
Screen Resolution1440 x 2960 pixels1440 x 2960 pixels
Hardware
ChipsetOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHzOcta-core 4x2.7 GHz & 4x1.8 GHz
Battery Size3,000 mAh3,000 mAh
Internal Storage64 GB256 GB
Memory (RAM)4 GB4 GB
Camera
Max Video Resolution2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)2160p (Ultra HD, 4K)
Rear Camera(s)12MP Wide12MP Wide
Front Camera(s)8 MP Wide8 MP Wide
Release dateMar 2018Mar 2018
Compare both Samsung Galaxy S9 (2018)

  • GTIN14: 08801643165154

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.