??!
3 photos
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0"

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0"

8.0" Wi-Fi, 8.0" 4G
4.1 from 152 reviews

Reviews

4.1

152 reviews
5
(60)
4
(63)
3
(20)
2
(2)
1
(7)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (14)
  • Battery Life
    3.9 (15)
  • Body Durability
    3.6 (14)
  • Speaker Quality
    3.5 (15)
  • Display Quality
    3.7 (15)
  • Screen Durability
    3.6 (14)
  • Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
    2.7 (12)
  • Video Quality
    3.1 (13)
  • Rear Camera Quality
    3.2 (13)
  • Night Photography Quality
    2.5 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (13)
  • Security
    3.5 (10)
  • Speed
    3.2 (14)
Previous
Next
Cameron F.

Cameron F.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Worst absolute worst product imaginable

published

Got this simply to fly DJI drone
after finding out just how horrible the touch screen was. Went through the play store
i tried over 100 times ... yes 100+ times to tick the “i accept terms button” only to take me the privacy statement again and again and again Literally over 100 times as the “tick box to accept” did not work .... at all

the touch screen was horrible the speed was woeful and the pic attached is how angry the product made me. Total time in ownership ... less than 40 minutes. I will never. Ever. Again purchase 1 single Samsung product again nor recommend one... absolute piece of crap
total cost $280, less than 40 minutes use

Purchased in June 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$280.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Sam

SamGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 8 reviews

Great for basic

published

Great for basic use and surfing internet, not great for movies or Netflix. Apps are decent in smooth easy use
Satisfy basic needs of old people or children as it’s drop proof too

Purchased in November 2018 at Samsung Online store for A$263.20.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung
Angie

AngieSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Product quality

published

The tablet great for kids. However the pixel quality very poor. If i knew I wouldn't have purchased it. I have bought Samsung before. Seems to go backwards in technology. The specs, speed is average.

Purchased in January 2020 at Kogan.com.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trude

TrudeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Nice entry level tablet

published

Purchased in April 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$255.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Great to hear you are currently enjoying your Samsung Tab A, Trude. We really appreciate the time spent to share you feedback with us and I will be sure to forward this on to the team :)

Kath
Samsung AU

Florencia

FlorenciaQueensland, 4870

  • 3 reviews

Slowness should be the name

published

My almost 4 years old samsung phone is faster than this tablet. I know is afordable but honestly, takes ages to load a simple window in chrome or just move around the system. So disapointed Samsung! It's also heavy, not sturdy... just heavy.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$200.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Michael

MichaelGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Gets The Job Done

published

I purchased the Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" WiFi 16GB 2017 from Officeworks in February this year. I primarily use this tablet when I'm traveling and connect to available WiFi networks or tether to my phone. It's great for web browsing and using apps. I had to purchase a cover to protect the tablet as I don't think it's very durable. However, it's an all round good tablet for my basic requirements.

Purchased in February 2019 at Officeworks Online store for A$276.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
Rosie

RosieCalwell 2905, ACT

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Tablet

published

I find my Tablet so handy when writing emails. Also it is great for reading books instead of having a Tinder. Also playing games is better than playing on your phone

Purchased in March 2019 at Optus for A$290.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Bhuwan

BhuwanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Perfect mid range tablet

published

Very good tablet for the price. I still have this tablet. It is not very fast but you get what you pay for. It is inexpensive and daily use tablet.

Purchased in November 2016 at Optus for A$384.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Not me

Not me

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Gr8 android

published

Reliable and easy to use for the kids and link to gmail account. Kids use it gor games and mathonline. They love it much easier then ipad. More reliable.and would recommend it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for A$290.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam M

Sam MMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

Pretty Useless, ok for kids

published

Features are poor, runs slowly and does not support a stylus, decent as a kids throw away if you can get it at a good enough size, would not recommend for any other purpose

Purchased in March 2018 at optus.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Olivia K

Olivia KGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

What's the point?

published

What's the point of buying a tablet if you can't even log into it? I have gone through 3 of these tablets since the end of November, each has had the same issue, I have been using it go away to do something else and then I can't log into it. This is a faulty product, each has lasted around 2 months before breaking, I've returned each one, this was the last one I was going to try and it worked fine until about an hour ago, now I can't even log into it. Samsung needs to fix this issue, as it is a frustrating and a pain to keep having to return them. I also left a review for the Samsung Northland store, where I was told that the only way to fix my tablet was to pay $60, not good customer service.

Purchased in November 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for A$300.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Bob

BobSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews

Definitely a good buy at the price.

published

My old tablet finally died and I got the new Tab A from JB. Better screen and faster than the old one. Great for streaming and browsing. Definitely a good buy at the price.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$298.00.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Software
Speed
Chris A

Chris AGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 51 reviews
  • 2 likes

Neat little tablet.

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Pollyfodder

PollyfodderNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 35 reviews
  • 30 likes

A very Apologetic Customer Service "Team" of "Speciallist" Excuse Makers

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Pollyfodder
Pollyfodder
Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Very handy little device, perfect for around the house mobile internetsing

published

Picked up a new Galaxy Tab A 8 through a telstra deal and we're extremely happy with it. Share it with the wife and we both use it for easy internet access and apps throughout the house. Screen is sharp and easy to read, plenty of processing power to run all the apps we need and has a sleek and shiny finish!

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Tablets

Find out how Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" compares to other Tablets

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emma

Emma

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

It does the job!

published

I use this tablet for work and sometimes watching movies. I use a few apps and it doesn't get used as much as my phone, The screen clarity is exceptional and the battery lasts a really long time which I love. It only gets charged once a week. The only issue I have is I haven't found a way to connect a keyboard, and sometimes when you click in a field to add text the keyboard doesn't pop up or is very slow to respond.
I do believe I could take to samsung and have fixed but haven't done so.
The screens are very expensive to replace in comparison to apple devices so put a case on it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Ver

VerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews

Samsung Tab A

published

Samsung Tab A is perfect for my kid to use. Just the right size (8 inches) not too big not too small for my 6 yr old to play with. Weight wise it is also excellent - not heavy for a 6yr old. it also has good battery life for my kid to play with it for a long time and charging time is also not an issue, as it charges fast.

Because it is android, it has heaps of apps for kids and easily connects to PC and TV (screen mirroring) so it is great connectivity wise.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Wander44

Wander44Dubbox

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent tablet for convenience

published

Nice device to use and carry about not too big but plenty of real estate to use and see at great ease. Battery life is very good as well. Crisp and clear screen with great automatic contrast and brightness control takes care of changing things when you move into a dim room.device speed is get too.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Sarah H

Sarah H

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great handy Tablet

published

Got this from Telstra. It's a great tablet for everyday personal use. Using this for 10 months now and haven't had any issues so far. Value for money. Good battery life (12 -14 hours) and enough storage. Quality rear camera and loved the pictures. Easy to carry design and totally love the product.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
PaulS

PaulSSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 56 reviews

Does everything I want it to

published

I've had my Samsung tablet for a couple of years now and its never played up. The battery still holds enough charge to last a whole day of continual use (though I have the screen brightness turned down). It sometimes restarts if I play heavy duty games on it, but it handles most simple games and can multitask (run Netflix and games at the same time). I know some Samsung products have had a bad wrap lately but I can't say anything negative about my tablet. It's great, and I'd buy another one tomorrow if I needed too.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Page 1 of 8
See all Samsung Galaxy Tab A reviews

Questions & Answers

Bob B

Bob Basked

8.0"

Does this tablet have a GNSS GPS for use with navigational apps?

1 answer
Samsung
MickSamsung

Hey Bob, I’ve provided a link below to the 2019 Galaxy Tab A 8.0” Wifi. The tablet does have GPS capability but if tis is in regards to a specific application, we’d recommend reaching out to the developers for specification and compatibility.

https://www.samsung.com/au/tablets/galaxy-taba-t290/

Mick
Samsung AU

3lions

3lionsasked

Galaxy Tab A 8.0" 4G

Hi,
Excuse my ignorance, but will this work using a SIM card? Like an oversized mobile basically. I noticed it says 4g, so I'm hoping that's what that means. If using wifi how safe is that?
Thanks

6 answers
Bob
Bob

There are basically two versions of the Tab A.
The wifi version. Works on wifi not on a network.
The SIM card version called Tab A lte.
This takes a SIM and can be used like a mobile phone. It is a couple of hundred dollars more than the wifi version.

Chris A
Chris A

The T385 has SIM but the T380 does not.

3lions
3lions

Thanks, I've got the T385, so that's great.
Thankyou for your reply :)

Jude

Judeasked

Galaxy Tab A 8.0" 4G

I can make and receive calls but can't hear the other end and they can't hear me how can I fix this?

2 answers
vicvicvic
vicvicvic

Not sure. Better call Samsung!

benniebeng4556
benniebeng4556

Turn volte off, use hands-free esrplugs

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.