??!
3 photos
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0"

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" (page 2 of 8)

8.0" Wi-Fi (2016), 8.0" 4G (2016)
4.1 from 148 reviews

Reviews

(59)
(62)
(19)
(2)
(6)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (10)
  • Battery Life
    4.0 (11)
  • Body Durability
    3.8 (10)
  • Speaker Quality
    3.5 (11)
  • Display Quality
    4.1 (11)
  • Screen Durability
    3.8 (10)
  • Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
    2.6 (8)
  • Video Quality
    3.1 (9)
  • Rear Camera Quality
    3.2 (9)
  • Night Photography Quality
    2.5 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (9)
  • Security
    3.7 (6)
  • Speed
    3.2 (10)

Reviewer Photos & Videos


Bill K

Bill KAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works great

published

Does an excellent job as a small and basic tablet in my opinion. Can view and share my files, emails, photos, access Wi-Fi anywhere. Nice for occasionally watching catchup tv on iview when away, really works well for reading books and playing music. I would recommend getting a good cover to keep it from damage, one that is easy to access rear camera.

Date PurchasedJul 2016

PeterWH

PeterWHTorrens 2607, ACT

  • 27 reviews
  • 2 likes

cant fault this tablet

published

I have had this table for the past 18 months and even though I brought it second hand,it does exactly what I want and need.I have a case for it,BUT no sim,so I rely on wifi to use it.
Ovverall I have no complaints with it and even though its been discontinued,its like a Toyota motor car,its keeps on keeping on.
Well done to Samsung for a good and reliable product

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Jodine T

Jodine TPerth

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

It's Okay to use as a Phone but not a Tablet!

published

I find the touch screen isn't that good and it lags. It also shuts down apps often when it freezes up. I don't use it much for this reason. Internal storage is also very low and you cannot store much on this device, as is. I would not recommend buying this is you want something that is reliable and fast, for lots of use. I love my Lenovo Yoga Book, awesome tablet!!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Katym

KatymSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great Product Does Everything I Need without having to upgrade my computer

published

First IPad I have purchased. Wanted something easy to use, access internet and emails on the run. Samsung products easy to use a with back up customer support. No longer need a laptop computer as Samsung Galaxy Tab A provides most functions.Will continue to use Samsung products when upgrading or purchasing new products.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Natasha

NatashaPerth

  • 5 reviews

AMAZING!!

published

This tablet is great, its so easy to set up and navigate, you honestly cant go wrong with it. I am an amature with technology and I have been able to download apps and really enjoy what this tablet can offer. I would definatly reccommend it, you will not be dissappointed

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Kayla B

Kayla BAU

  • 3 reviews

Ill never upgrade again!

published

Seriously Omg its actually the Best quality tablet I've ever owned ever.. i dont think ill ever upgrade again. Im absolutely in love lol
I would recommend this to family and friends for sure

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Dyson Pelgrave

Dyson PelgraveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great tablet

published

This tablet allowed for phone and data functionality which proved to be beneficial, if this device was just to be used for its data connection, in a pinch you change over the sim card it becomes a fully functional phone also. I do believe that 16gb is too small of internal storage however a micro SD card can upgrade it's capacity.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Mbnaature

Mbnaature

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing

published

I love this so much , it’s so handy for my daughter , the stylus is so smooth it and everything IS so smooth and sharp display , I love how easy it is to use , and use it like my own personal laptop but portable would highly recommend this product to anyone

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Kylie M

Kylie MCentral, SA

  • 8 reviews

Good little pad

published

Quite a good tablet for the price.
Can be a little slow at time but nothing to worrying, Runs pretty much any game you install .Good response on the screen sensitivity I would recommend this for anyone who can't afford a brand new one. And the accessories are quite cheap aswell.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Codeguru

Codeguru

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent size

published

I prefer glab A on iPad as of easy software .lite weight . 4G extendable internal memory with sd card up to 256 gig. RAM is 2gig which not that bad for tablet . You can do all basic things with Galaxy tab A good for kids studies and home work.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Dbusybee

DbusybeeBrisbane QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Nice, fast, good battery life, screen resolution and button placement let it down

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018

ScottyT983

ScottyT983

  • 7 reviews

Great mid range tablet.

published

Big enough, fast enoungh, enough ram, more than enough batterylife. I have been using this tablet for my daily browsing and viewing for a couple of months now. Runs very quickly and smoothly.

If i needed to find it's worse point, it would be a stretch, it would be its wifi range. It just doesn't have the same range as my Samsung mobile phone.

Other than that I cannot fault it.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Liz

LizPerth

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

Great tablet,got extra 3 ur warranty, just in case.got loads of memory. Takes great picture,got all features that I need.I was impressed with my service, staff were very helpful. I am scared of been hacked,as has happened before to me, so hopefully I can get good security apps so doesn't appen again

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Zoe Woodbury

Zoe WoodburyCaboolture

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for when i need it

published

I have my computer, my phone, my work computer, my laptop and when I need it the tablet is there for me to fill in any spaces that I need. It is easy for on the go, with 4G I can watch Netflix when I am out, distract the kids in the car without losing my phone. BIG WIN!

Date PurchasedMar 2017
JAK

JAK

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great little tab A

published

Got mine via Telstra and have never looked back. First tablet ever tried and loved how easy it was to use...however, I just don't like the automatic updates you can't really turn off. Once you update, you can't go back unless you do a complete factory reset and lose all your photos and apps in the process. Compact and light weight, I recommended this product. Holds charge well and can play movies all night long without needing a recharge. This baby wins my vote by its flexibility with an SD card for extra storage. Screen is a decent size for web browsing, watching a movie on your own, and the camera is easy enough to operate. My child loves that it is child friendly in its simplistic usability.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Glenn

GlennQueensland

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value

published

Great Tablet and well priced. Has a hood selection of apps and accessories and is a better option than more expensive modules due to how fast electronics go out of date. The battery life is good, camera is good quality and processing speed is adequate. The option to use external memory card is great and is some competitiors downside.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Danielle D

Danielle DAU

  • 6 reviews

Great little tablet

published

Great little tablet for on the go. Lightweight and easy to use. Pixel resolution is amazing. Very clear and bright.The only fault I say is that it runs hot sometimes and can lag every so often.
This is the 3rd tablet I have brought from Samsung and would gladly purchase another Samsung product in the near future

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Angie B

Angie BPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product

published

I love my tablet does all the things that I need it to do and doesn't waste my time on things I don't need. While it's not the biggest or the fastest model tablet out there it is perfect for browsing the web or Facebook and emails and playing games

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Ente

Ente

  • 5 reviews

Really good for a run-about tablet

published

I've really enjoyed owning this tablet all these years. Only now is it beginning to show signs of slowing down due to being forgotten about by software updates and the like. I would still recommend this tablet if you can find it brand new. It would be perfect for school kids or students wanting an easy wifi enables tablet to do research and study on the move. Super useful in car rides too!

Date PurchasedDec 2014

The Reviewer

The ReviewerSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 10 likes

It's useful for work, but not for taking photos

published

I purchased this product back in 2016. It was on sale from JBHIFI. It's functional and useful for university. However the camera is terrible. Photos taken are blurry. So if anyone wants a tab to take photos, I would not recommend this device. On the other hand, for work and/or study related purposes, I suggest this device as it has everything

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Page 2 of 8

See all Samsung Galaxy Tab A reviews

Questions & Answers

3lions

3lionsasked

Hi,
Excuse my ignorance, but will this work using a SIM card? Like an oversized mobile basically. I noticed it says 4g, so I'm hoping that's what that means. If using wifi how safe is that?
Thanks

6 answers
Bob
Bob

There are basically two versions of the Tab A.
The wifi version. Works on wifi not on a network.
The SIM card version called Tab A lte.
This takes a SIM and can be used like a mobile phone. It is a couple of hundred dollars more than the wifi version.

Chris A
Chris A

The T385 has SIM but the T380 does not.

3lions
3lions

Thanks, I've got the T385, so that's great.
Thankyou for your reply :)


Jude

Judeasked

I can make and receive calls but can't hear the other end and they can't hear me how can I fix this?

2 answers
vicvicvic
vicvicvic

Not sure. Better call Samsung!

benniebeng4556
benniebeng4556

Turn volte off, use hands-free esrplugs


Percy

Percyasked

Thinking of getting one of these to use as an e-Reader. Will it do the job? I use Overdrive and borrow books from a library. Will it do this?

2 answers
Wisey
Wisey

G'day Percy, yes, we've used this. Download APP from local library. How good it is will almost certainly depend on how good the app is .... but it's been fine for us.

Rank
Rank

Hey Percy,
I agree with Wisey. It will work well as an e-reader. I have a 7.0" Tab and have found it lighter and easier to handle than the 8.0" model.
Rank


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.