??!
35 photos
Samsung Galaxy Tab A

Samsung Galaxy Tab A (page 2 of 28)

8.0", 10.1" (2019 Model), 7.0", 9.7", 10.1" (2016 Model) and 10.5"
4.2 from 552 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
240
4 star
220
3 star
57
2 star
13
1 star
22

Sion

SionGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews

Pretty decent tablet for the price

published

Got this for my little girl and she loves it. Use it for watching kid shows and drawings.
I'll say it's pretty decent tablet for kid nowadays, does it job by keeping them entertained.

Purchased in August 2018 at eBay for $299.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Bhuwan

BhuwanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Perfect mid range tablet

published

Very good tablet for the price. I still have this tablet. It is not very fast but you get what you pay for. It is inexpensive and daily use tablet.

Purchased in November 2016 at Optus for $384.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Mike C

Mike CSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for what I need

published

Perfect for what I need and perfect size. I think the only thing I would indicate here is that the tablet's system and software already occupies 4.5+GB of memory so out of 16GB, you only truly get around 11.

Purchased in August 2017.

Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
Linh Tran

Linh TranSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome basic android tablet.

published

This is a great tablet if you can get it for around ~$250. Great for basic usage, e.g. browsing, social media, media playback. It's a got a decently vibrant screen and long battery life. Feels a bit cheap as it's a plastic chassis, but I don't notice it with a case on. Speakers and camera are terrible as expected.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $280.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Not me

Not me

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Gr8 android

published

Reliable and easy to use for the kids and link to gmail account. Kids use it gor games and mathonline. They love it much easier then ipad. More reliable.and would recommend it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bing Lee Physical store for $290.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Damo

DamoSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Fantastic upgrade to a brilliant series (avoid the 2019 model)

published

Coming to a larger Samsung screen has made such a difference from my old leveno 8inch tablet.
Full HD resolution plus surround sound speakers make it the perfect movie /Netflix /YouTube machine.

Specs are on the high side, 3gb of ram should do for a mid size tablet and it is still getting Google security updates.

Can't recommend this tablet enough. I even bought my neighbour one the day after I ordered mine!

Purchased in October 2018 at Officeworks Online store for $380.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Sam M

Sam MMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Pretty Useless, ok for kids

published

Features are poor, runs slowly and does not support a stylus, decent as a kids throw away if you can get it at a good enough size, would not recommend for any other purpose

Purchased in March 2018 at optus.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

belindaatyahoo

belindaatyahooPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

IT CAUGHT ON FIRE

published

My daughter's Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7" was 14 months old. She plugged it in to charge overnight and it caught on fire. Smoke alarms went off and woke us up. The house reeked of burning plastic.

On the phone Samsung said all the right things and said to return it to them for review and replacement under warranty. Now they're saying that because i used a third party charger the warranty is void and I'll need to pay $300 to repair a $150 tablet.
I value my child's safety and will not be purchasing or recommending Samsung products to anyone.

Purchased in September 2017 at Big W Retail Stores for $150.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Battery Life
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
belindaatyahoo
belindaatyahoo

Message was sent and Samsung provided yet another polite fob off. Samsung prove yet again that they're very good at saying the right things, but really couldn't care less about faulty products or customer safety.

Olivia K

Olivia KGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

What's the point?

published

What's the point of buying a tablet if you can't even log into it? I have gone through 3 of these tablets since the end of November, each has had the same issue, I have been using it go away to do something else and then I can't log into it. This is a faulty product, each has lasted around 2 months before breaking, I've returned each one, this was the last one I was going to try and it worked fine until about an hour ago, now I can't even log into it. Samsung needs to fix this issue, as it is a frustrating and a pain to keep having to return them. I also left a review for the Samsung Northland store, where I was told that the only way to fix my tablet was to pay $60, not good customer service.

Purchased in November 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $300.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Bob

BobSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Definitely a good buy at the price.

published

My old tablet finally died and I got the new Tab A from JB. Better screen and faster than the old one. Great for streaming and browsing. Definitely a good buy at the price.

Purchased in January 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $298.00.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Software
Speed

Chris A

Chris AGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 42 reviews
  • 31 likes

Neat little tablet.

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Wendy M.

Wendy M.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Worst Tablet!

published

Purchased in January 2019 for $179.00.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers

Funky Consumer

Funky ConsumerPerth, WA

  • 27 reviews
  • 14 likes

Overpriced bottom end tablet at premium price

published

Purchased in January 2018 at Officeworks.

Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use

Pollyfodder

PollyfodderNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 26 reviews
  • 82 likes

A very Apologetic Customer Service "Team" of "Speciallist" Excuse Makers

published

Purchased in March 2018.

Value for Money
Hardware
Body Durability
Speaker Quality
Display Quality
Screen Durability
Battery Life
Camera
Night Photography Quality
Video Quality
Rear Camera Quality
Front (Selfie) Camera Quality
Software
Security
Speed
Ease of Use
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Pollyfodder
Pollyfodder
John m

John m

  • 2 reviews

Can’t connect to wifi in some instances

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $200.00.

Value for Money
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When its most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU

John m
John m

3 months after the event Samsung now want to discuss the issue .
unit returned to retailer . apple product purchased at extra expense however it works correctly.
no further correspondence in the matter required.

Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Very handy little device, perfect for around the house mobile internetsing

published

Picked up a new Galaxy Tab A 8 through a telstra deal and we're extremely happy with it. Share it with the wife and we both use it for easy internet access and apps throughout the house. Screen is sharp and easy to read, plenty of processing power to run all the apps we need and has a sleek and shiny finish!

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Emma

Emma

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

It does the job!

published

I use this tablet for work and sometimes watching movies. I use a few apps and it doesn't get used as much as my phone, The screen clarity is exceptional and the battery lasts a really long time which I love. It only gets charged once a week. The only issue I have is I haven't found a way to connect a keyboard, and sometimes when you click in a field to add text the keyboard doesn't pop up or is very slow to respond.
I do believe I could take to samsung and have fixed but haven't done so.
The screens are very expensive to replace in comparison to apple devices so put a case on it.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Matthew

MatthewMelbourne, Victoria

  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

Best of the low cost tablets

published

Was looking for a tablet computer, and was horrified at the cost of them- some exceeding 1k!!
Came across this at target for $250AUD- was a bit worried about the the quality of this item due to the low price,but 2 years later and I am still getting good performance out of this item for emails, Netflix, and web browsing.
For the price, Samsung have delivered an EXCEPTIONAL product here.

That said, it is not a high end or super high performance tablet- those looking to multitask and run high powered apps may want to up their budget a little.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Marishka

MarishkaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfect tablet!

published

I purchased this tablet for my daughter. It's a good sturdy tablet. Affordable price. I think its best option for the money. Works great with kids youtube app and android kids apps. High resolution screen. Easy to use if you already own some Samsung phones like me . Long lasting battery. Everything works great. Very happy with it's performance:)

Date PurchasedDec 2018

3Oh

3OhSunshine Coast

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect for mother with failing memory.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Page 2 of 28

Questions & Answers

Peter W

Peter Wasked

Galaxy Tab A 10.5" 4G

Transfer photos from camera sd card to Tablet ??

No answers

paulneri

paulneriasked

Dear Samsung
My wife (a newbie in the market for a Tablet) has asked me to ask you the following questions regarding this Tablet. We currently have a desktop PC wireless arrangement:
(1) Can I watch SBS News and other SBS programs?
(2) Can I watch ABC Iview news and other programs?
(3) Can I download books?
(4) Can I get weather and tidal forecasts?
(5) Can I buy a "5 series program" e.g. gardening series and store/watch it on the Tablet?
(6) Can I listen to content on the Tablet without earplugs i.e. like a radio? I want to prop it up in the Kitchen and listen to news etc without ear plugs.

Thanks

3 answers
Steve-gee
Steve-gee

Wow Paul, some gutsy questions and I am not Samsung, you should try asking them? Bless you, Steve.

Lauren D
Lauren D

Hi mate, Yeah i'm sure you can do all those things. In regards to tv shows and books you might have to download some apps from the Play Store, im not sure which ones exactly though.
Weather apps are usually pre-loaded so its a yes for that.
In regards to music, you could listen without ear plugs but i doubt it would be very loud, unless you connect to a bluetooth speaker.
I'm sure when you go to purchase the sales person could also help with these questions.

Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Paul, we'd be sure to help you and your wife out with this :) The Galaxy Tab A is able to access the internet. Hence, if you are looking into a specific program that is able to be accessed via a website, you will be able to do so. You are also able to download a third-party application on your tablet to help you with e-books. The Galaxy Tab also has a dual speaker.

You are able to weather by the app or a simple search on the internet. With the gardening program mentioned, we recommend for you look into the application used to view your program. If you require further assistance, feel free to head to your nearest Samsung Studio or authorised Australian retailer.

https://www.samsung.com/au/tablets/galaxy-taba-t290/

Jo
Samsung AU


nvs

nvsasked

I cannot find a way to change default pdf viewer from one drive to Adobe reader. Disabling one drive just makes it grey

1 answer
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Would you be able to follow the steps below to help you with changing your default app?

Settings > Apps > 3 dots on the top right > Default apps > OneDrive > Clear Defaults

Then, next time you open a PDF, you will be prompted on which app you would like set as your default. Hope this helps.

Jo
Samsung AU


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" Wi-Fi
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" Wi-Fi

22 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" With S Pen 4G (2016)
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" With S Pen 4G (2016)

38 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" 4G
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" 4G

6 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" Wi-Fi (2019)

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" Wi-Fi (2019)

No reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" With S Pen 4G
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" With S Pen 4G

1 review
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" 4G (2019) 128GB

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" 4G (2019) 128GB

No reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" 4G
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" 4G

14 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2019) 128GB

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2019) 128GB

1 review
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.5" Wi-Fi

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.5" Wi-Fi

15 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2016)
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2016)

205 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" Wi-Fi (2016)
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" Wi-Fi (2016)

74 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" 4G (2016)
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" 4G (2016)

71 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" Wi-Fi
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 7.0" Wi-Fi

96 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" With S Pen Wi-Fi
  • Discontinued

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 9.7" With S Pen Wi-Fi

3 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.5" 4G

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.5" 4G

2 reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2019) 32GB

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2019) 32GB

No reviews
Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" 4G (2019) 32GB

Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" 4G (2019) 32GB

1 review
CategoryTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTabletsTablets
Price (RRP) $249$619$469$349$549$349$499
Features3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage and Stereo Speakers3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage and Stereo Speakers3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage and Stereo Speakers3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage and Stereo Speakers3.5mm Headphone Jack and Expandable Storage3.5mm Headphone Jack and Stereo Speakers3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage and Stereo Speakers3.5mm Headphone Jack, Expandable Storage and Stereo Speakers
ConnectivityWi-Fi Only4GWi-Fi OnlyWi-Fi OnlyWi-Fi OnlyWi-Fi Only4GWi-Fi Only4G
Charging Port USB-CUSB-CUSB-CUSB-CUSB-CUSB-CUSB-CUSB-CUSB-C
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Display
Pixel Density189 ppi224 ppi224 ppi216 ppi224 ppi216 ppi216 ppi224 ppi224 ppi
Screen Size 8"10.1"10.1"10.5"10.1"7"10.5"10.1"10.1"
Screen Resolution800 x 1280 pixels1200 x 1920 pixels1200 x 1920 pixels1200 x 1920 pixels1200 x 1920 pixels800 x 1280 pixels1200 x 1920 pixels1200 x 1920 pixels1200 x 1920 pixels
Display TechnologyIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCDIPS LCD
Hardware
Battery Size5,100 mAh6,150 mAh6,150 mAh7,300 mAh6,150 mAh4,000 mAh7,300 mAh6,150 mAh6,150 mAh
Memory (RAM)2 GB3 GB3 GB3 GB2 GB1.5 GB3 GB2 GB2 GB
Internal Storage32 GB128 GB128 GB32 GB32 GB32 GB32 GB32 GB
Build
Colour / Finish Carbon Black, Silver GrayBlack, Gold or SilverBlack, Gold or SIlverBlack, Blue or WhiteBlack, Gold, SilverBlackBlack, Blue or WhiteBlack, Gold or SilverBlack, Gold or Silver
Body MaterialAluminiumAluminiumAluminiumAluminiumAluminiumPlasticAluminiumAluminiumAluminium
Dimensions 210 x 124.4 x 8 mm245.2 x 149.4 x 7.5 mm245.2 x 149.4 x 7.5 mm260 x 161.1 x 8 mm149 x 245 x 6 mm186.9 x 108.8 x 8.7 mm260 x 161.1 x 8 mm245.2 x 149.4 x 7.5 mm245.2 x 149.4 x 7.5 mm
Weight345 g1.4 g1.4 g1.4 g469 g283 g1.4 g1.4 g1.4 g
Release dateJul 2019Apr 2019Aug 2018Aug 2018Apr 2019
Replaced bySamsung Galaxy Tab A 8.0" Wi-Fi (2016)Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" With S Pen 4G (2016)Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2016)Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" Wi-Fi (2016)Samsung Galaxy Tab A 10.1" With S Pen 4G (2016)

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.