??!
2 photos
Samsung Gear Fit 2

Samsung Gear Fit 2

Gear Fit 2 and Gear Fit 2 Pro
3.0 from 189 reviews

Been repaired 2 times now going back again.

Been sent in 2 times for repair. The last time the screen was replaced at $220. New screen lasted 2 weeks now flashing again. I will be looking for a refund on this. I have a 2nd gear fit pro and I hope it lasts. Samsung tells customers we damage them. No it's your product that's at fault.

Purchased in November 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $290.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life

Faulty bands, terrible battery, heart rate not working

Got this watch for Xmas. Wore for less than 2 months and one band connection broke. Was told no warranty because of 'trauma'. Argued the fact and they finally agreed to replace one half of the wristband. Also complained that even though I hadn't even downloaded a single App, I could barely get 24hrs out of the battery. Was told battery tested fine. 1 month later second half of wristband broke. I ended up buying a full replacement band however then the heart rate monitor now completely stopped working. I was going to once again return the product the coming Monday but while fishing the day before I heard a splash in the water and found that my replacement band had given out and my watch was now 30m below the ocean. Seriously for $300 Australian this is absolute garbage. Everything I own is Samsung so I am obviously bitterly disappointed.

Purchased in December 2018 for $300.00.

Value for Money
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life

Faulty wrist band

I am on my second gear fit 2 pro watch in less than 2 years and the wrist band has broken again. Samsung has refused to give me a refund. Its obviously a faulty product if it can't even last 12 months. Im not happy and very disappointed. It doesn't give me much confidence for all the other Samsung products around my house if something went wrong with them.

Purchased for $274.00.

1 comment
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through? Jo Samsung AU

Bought two!

Bought two they both died after 6 months, never been wet. I sent for warranty and returned it without repair. As if nothing had happened, total disrespect. More than $ 500 in the trash. I still have them to show to other people include the invoice.

Purchased in January 2018 for $250.00.

4 comments
We're sorry to hear that you have been experiencing difficulties with both of your Gear Fit 2 Pro, Rod. We'd be happy to look into this for you. Would you be able to send us a message via the link below with your reference number and contact details? Please ensure to copy and paste your product review in a private message to us. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Jo Samsung AULink to Facebook Messager? This is a joke or a scam? I do not have Facebook. Even if I had Facebook I would never put my ID and password on this suspicious link. Terrible service.Hi Rod, if you don't have Facebook, you can also reach out to us by sending us a private message (PM) through Product Reviews with your contact details and reference number. We recommend for you to keep an eye on your inbox as we have also have sent a PM to your inbox. Jo Samsung AU

Worst fitness tracker ever

Regularly stops registering my heart rate no matter how loose/tight you have it. Doesn't register activity, stops midway through a workout if heart rate reaches above 98 bpm. Seriously its awful i have more screaming matches with this pathetic watch than i do my kids. I just completed a 45 rpm/spin class i get my heart rate to 171 i push hard and yet my watch says i did a "light workout" for 19mins. I regularly want to record what my calories total burnt the day before were when i wake up only to find the watch has erased it and claims i only burnt 347 cals the whole day even though i saw 1327 before bed. Apparently i am barely alive according to the watch i go to the gym and do spin at home and run around like mad but i only burn resting rate cals. DON'T BUY SAMSUNG IS RIPPING YOU OFF.

Purchased in November 2017 for $399.00.

3 comments
We're sorry to hear you have been experiencing difficulties with your Gear Fit 2 Pro, Trinette. We recommend taking your device to the nearest service centre so we can take a look at this for you. Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below: https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Jo Samsung AUIt's been like this since the beginning i can reference 19 different websites of reviews and complaints of exactly the same problem. I DID go and ask for it to be reviewed but was told because there are no faults just my own unrealistic expectations of a fitness tracker that nothing caan be repaired as the software is limited. I was astonished. I am not wasting another cent on fixing something i should have working since day one. I shouldn't have to pay for it to work they way the product claims it's meant to. Will i have to pay because its a software problem out of warranty. Been fighting this since 6 months after purchase.We'd be happy to look into this for you, Trinette. Would you be able to provide us with your reference number and contact details via the link below? Please ensure to copy and paste your product review in a private message to us. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Jo Samsung AU

Never tracks my run accurately

Had the watch for 2 years and it's getting unwearable. All updated but my run distances are never accurate. I mean NEVER. Ran 11kms today for 1.03 hours to be logged at running 2kms. Aaaaaaaaah. Can't do it anymore. sorry watch it's you not me. I'm not going to retrieve you from the toilet bowl next time the band malfunctions.

Purchased in January 2017 at JB Hifi Home for $216.00.

1 comment
I’m really sorry to hear this has happened to you. We recommend taking your device to a service centre to have it assessed by a technician to determine the outcome. I have provided a link that would help you locate your nearest service centre: https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below: https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ You can also reach out to us to discuss this further by sending a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Very poor battery life

Very poor battery life! I bought this watch to be able to run and listen to music (one of the few watches that supported Spotify at the time). If you have it fully charged and the run and us the GPS (app like Strava) and use Spotify at the same time it takes a lot of the battery. I’m down to 20% after just running 10 km. Disappointing to say the least.

Purchased in August 2018 for $242.00.

1 comment
Hi Daniel, we’re sorry to hear about this. Battery life will depend heavily on your use and what apps you run often. You can look at screen brightness, heartrate sensor settings as well as what apps you may be using up the battery. If you do believe this is more of a manufacture’s fault, you can head into your nearest Samsung Studio so our tech’s can have a look, please see the link below to locate and make a booking at your local studio. https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ If you wish to discuss this further, our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Great if you like disposable items

I loved my Gear Fit 2 (not PRO)...for the first 6 weeks. It started off fine, heart monitor, steps, GPS tracking, music all working well. One morning I went to turn it on and the screen was only showing about 10 pixels and I couldn't see anything on the watch. It was still responsive and could still connect to my phone, just the screen display was having major issues.
Waiting to hear back from Samsung to see what they can do.

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for $120.00.

1 comment
Hi A, this is something that definitely shouldn’t happen, and we want to get your Galaxy back to its optimal state! We would suggest booking your device in for an assessment, so our techs can help out. You can find your closest service centre via the link below: >https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Remember, all visits require a booking: >https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AU

Good Fitness Tracker

Great smart watch, screen is bright enough to be seen in direct sunlight which is a must for a fitness tracker. Heart rate monitor is fairly accurate, but sometimes will provide an inaccurate reading usually as a result of too much sweat underneath the sensor, easily fixed with a quick wipe. Battery life is ok could be better but have nothing to compare it to.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $54.00.

Gear fit 2 won't hold a charge

I wear my Gear Fit 2 everyday and even when I charge it over night the charge will not last an entire 24 hours. I workout at lunch and if I don't turn the watch off after a hard workout the watch will continue to think I am still working out which runs down the battery. I was very happy until apparently an update was done to contribute to this draining. I have turned off everything I can think of and really only rely on it for counting steps now. With the drainage of the battery I am unable to utilize the watch for much else. I have have replaced my watch several times to no avail.

Purchased in March 2018 for $130.00.

2 comments
We don't like the sound of this, Stefani. I would suggest heading in to your local Samsung store to have your Gear Fit 2 Pro assessed by a Samsung technician. >https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Bookings> http://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/#/ Don't have time to visit or can't get to one of our Service Locations? You also have the option to drop it off at your local Australia Post office: https://cybersvc2.samsungcsportal.com:90/samsungcare/au/index Sara Samsung AustraliaHi Stefani, We’d be happy to look into this together if you are noticing an issue with your Gear Fit2. You can reach out to us via direct message and a team member will be in touch to resolve this. Don't forget to include a copy of your review. Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AU

Good fitness tracker that doesn't last long

The Gear Fit Pro 2 was a decent fitness tracker and synced to my Samsung phone. Unfortunately, a few months after buying it the screen started flickering with white lines, and going black, to the point where it was unusable. According to what I've read online, this is a common issue with this model. It was still under warranty but Samsung REFUSED to fix it as they was a microscopic scuff on it, which they claimed was due to dropping the device. I NEVER dropped it, it was only normal wear and tear, but they absolutely refused to fix it. This is the second time Samsung have not delivered on their Warranty. I will not be buying from Samsung again. Buyers Beware!!

Purchased in June 2018 for $260.00.

1 comment
Hi Silver, we're sorry to hear about the experience you have had so far. We would like to look into this for you. We've sent you a PM requesting more information. When its most convenient for you can you please send that through? You can also reach out via Facebook- please ensure to copy and paste your product review in a private message to us. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AU

My 2nd & last Gear Fit

I bought the original Gear Fit when I got my Galaxy S6 4 yrs ago & the Gear Fit2 when I upgraded to an S8. My experience w/ both: recurrent loss of Bluetooth connection--at times while my phone was in the same hand on which the watch was strapped!; failure to capture or keep GPS signal; and failure to start or record workouts. Would not buy another. Due to additional issues w/ Samsung phones, going back to Apple.

Purchased in July 2017 at Nebraska Furniture Mart for $100.00.

1 comment
Hi Kevin, we're sorry to hear that this is what you have experienced with the GearFit and GearFit2. We always recommend taking your device into a service centre if you experience any troubles so our techs can get to the bottom of this, You can find your closest service centre via the link below: >https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Remember, all visits require a booking: >https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Lisa Samsung AU

Avoid doesn't last

I bought my Gear fit 2 off my son who received it with a phone. My husband had one and it seemed to get him active so I thought I might try one. BIG MISTAKE. Two weeks after I got mine his band broke. It was the second time that the band had broken on his. Then after ten months my band broke in the same position. I was just getting to enjoy it. To be frank the band is very badly designed. Try putting it on in the dark so frustrating. And to top it off my husband's new band broke again just outside of the warranty period and Samsung refused to repair it, saying it was user damaged. It is sad as most of our family have Samsung phones and they are not happy with Samsung service.

Purchased in February 2018.

1 comment
I’m really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far with us, and that we didn't meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss this further, you may contact us on the link provided below: > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

It's good but..

I really like this smart watch but wish the battery lasted a bit longer. It gets chewed up really easy once you're in exercise mode or getting a lot of notifications. It's very handy to use and pretty simple to navigate your way around. Quite sturdy aswell. I've banged it up plenty of times but it's pretty tough. I'm surprised the screen hasn't broken by now. Pretty good, but needs a better battery life. Overall I'd still recommend this watch.

Purchased in January 2017 at Jbhifi for $280.00.

A sports watch that can't sweat it!

My Gear Fit 2 Pro, purchased in November 2017 was all that I needed to record my bi-weekly running sessions. Unfortunately, the watch did not cope with sweat and the strap links corroded within 12 months. A sports watch should be able to handle a sports environment. Difficult to use on-line options to get some attention from Samsung in relation to wearables!

Purchased in November 2017.

1 comment
Hi Bingo, we're really sorry to hear about your experience with Samsung so far. We've sent you a PM requesting more information. When its most convenient for you can you please send that through? You can also reach out via Facebook- please ensure to copy and paste your product review in a private message to us. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AU

Junk!

Got this watch as a package when buying S7 phone. Seemed ok for a while. I disabled the regular BP testing, because i found the light annoying. After about 12 months the face stopped working. Could still see screen when rebooting etc, so not just display problem. Watch face was replaced under warranty. Now, about 12 months since screen replaced, and it has happened again. Aside from the massive problems with product quality, it also has the worst design watch strap conceivable. Who exactly thought "watch straps have worked well for hundreds of years with the same design, what if we changed it for one that comes undone with the slightest contact with a sleeve"? Do not buy a Samsung smart watch.

Purchased in March 2017.

1 comment
I’m really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far with us, and that we didn't meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss this further, our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Very Poor Quality

This was my second Gear fit. First one band broke at watch interface, fixed by Samsung then broke again but fell into motor mower. No fix by Samsung. Stupidly, I bought Samsung S7 with one as a package. Band broke in same spot within 10 months. Samsung repaired it. 9 months later while traveling band broke again in same place. I glued it on so I could keep using until I got home. When I arrived home next problem was one terminal on back of watch disappeared and I could no longer recharge watch. Sent watch off to Samsung. Their assessment was: band could not be fixed under warranty as there was glue on band and the terminal had been "gouged" out so also no repair under warranty. 2 Gear fits in 3 years at $500 + is extremely expensive. It is an ACTIVITY watch for the WRIST so the band should sustain activity and the terminals which are in contact with a sweaty wrist should be able to cope. Certainly would not recommend getting one and Brand loyality - a joke.

Purchased in March 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

1 comment
I’m really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far with us, and that we didn't meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss this further, our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Terrible watch and even worse customer service

This is my 2nd gear fit and neither has lasted a year!
This time my gear fit 2 pro constantly switches itself off and on every 5 minutes and the battery lasts 2 hours because of it.
Ive contacted Samsung severals times and have been into stores and they tell me its a software issue which is covered under warranty but because i have a scratch on the screen they wont fix the issue unless i pay $249 for a new screen, i have told them 100 times the small scratch doesnt bother me i just want the software issue fixed so i can use my watch. They dont care! Their simple response is pay for a new screen then we will look at the software issue. Samsung are by far the worst company i have dealt with regarding a warranty issue and it amazes me they can get away it. They repeatedly say my software issue is covered under warranty but they still refuse to fix it.

Purchased in November 2017 for $299.00.

1 comment
I’m really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far with us, and that we didn't meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss this further, our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

DUD - ACCC should recall this fitness band.

I bought two of these 'smartwatches'.. the first one after a week, all the health sensors stopped working eg heart rate, steps etc... Upon returning the 1st one, i purchased a second one..... DEAD on arrival... once again, Heart rate and fitness sensors NOT working.... called Samsung Support to be told.. this is the 'FIRST' we have had do this... my search on the internet suggest OTHERWISE that nearly ALL of these watches are DUDS... with ALL having the SAME issue. NEVER EVER AGAIN, will i purchase a Samsung Fitness band.... Samsung should be recalling these fitness bands.... also i thought the difference between the SMALL and LARGE was the wrist band... but apparently NOT.. if you look at the specs the SMALL comes with only 2Gb(as opposed to 4Gb on the large) and the large is rated to 5atm's waterproofing as opposed to 'swim resistant' on the SMALL. Very poor SAMSUNG... very very poor.

Purchased in March 2019 at David Jones Retail Stores for $149.00.

1 comment
I’m truly sorry that the Gear Fit2 that you received did not function as promised. I would be happy to look into this. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information when its most convenient for you can you please send that through? Lisa

Quality and Support for this product is the worse I have seen

Some facts as a consumer
Product purchased online from an Australia reseller who is not in business any longer.
Item stopped turning on after 3 months of normal use.
Talking to Samsung the warranty is not available for this product as it seems the seller import it from USA and sold it in Australia and we have no way of identifying the fraud during the purchase. which we could return in time if this option was given.
As a customer receiving the unit as a gift I am now stuck with a lemon which I believe from the search I have done the product has some serious design issues as many have experiencing the same fault with this model.
Most of all the support from Samsung Australia is useless as they act like the product I purchase is not theirs.
So here is another unit in the bin and will keep away from this company forever !

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for $250.00.

2 comments
Hi Tony, I do understand that this situation would be frustrating for you. As the device differs in parts and software to the Australian variants. They are fitted, programmed and optimised for the country of purchase. Our service centres here in Australia are not equipped with the necessary parts and/or software to cater for international models. If you do have any issues with the device, it is best to get in contact with the country of purchase to receive a remedy. You can find out more information via the below link: http://www.samsung.com/au/made-for-australia/ LisaLisa I strongly disagree with you. On this product the software and hardware are 100% the same and as i user getting this as a gift its difficult to do what you are asking. We use your brand due to its quality and word wide support but i suppose this is not true in many cases and the product is worth nothing to me at this stage as its failed in a couple of months. By the way i ams till waiting for a call back as i was promised fromnthe head office after logging for long time now.

Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Hi, i was given a gear fit 2 as a present, The sensors have stopped working and ive tried all the suggested fixes. I have no way of getting a copy of the receipt. Samsung have told me it is still under warranty until the 19th of dec 2019 but wont repair it as i have no proof of purchase. if they know the warranty dates why should it matter, they can check all the info via the serial no, NOT happy........does any one know if i have any consumer rights for this repair please? .................seems this is a common problem with these watches too !!
4 answers
We understand the importance of getting your Gear Fit 2 up and running, Kers. Hence, we recommend for you to contact the place of purchase to see if they are able to provide you with a proof of purchase so we can further look into this. Jo Samsung AUI can't as she has no idea where he purchased prior to Christmas. Only knows it was an Australian store. All her receipts have been destroyedThanks for letting us know, Kers. Would you be able to reach out via Facebook so we can further look into this? Please ensure to copy and paste your product review in a private message to us. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Jo Samsung AU

the band has broken, is it possible to get a replacement
2 answers
Buy one from EBay but get the one with the clasp and loop not the original as it keeps opening when heavy exercising.Hi Dianne, we recommend for you to visit us in-store so we can help you out with finding a replacement band for your Gear Fit2. Locate your nearest centre> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/service-centre/ Jo Samsung AU

Hi I have a gear fit 2 pro and the best watch ever. Recently it stopped showing steps and heart rate. The lights on the back no longer light up. I have looked after the watch and it is not treated roughly as I have a heart condition. Can you help? Cheers Al Rennie
1 answer
Hi Al, I recommend taking your device to the nearest service centre so we can take a look at this for you. Remember, all visits require a booking - you can make yours via the link below: https://www.samsung.com/au/samsungstore/bookings/ Jo Samsung AU

Details

Samsung Gear Fit 2Samsung Gear Fit 2 Pro
CategorySmart Watches / Fitness TrackersSmart Watches / Fitness Trackers
Price (RRP)$289$289

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8806088360423
  • MPN: KHSGGF2LBLK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.