??!
2 photos
Samsung Gear Fit 2

Samsung Gear Fit 2

3.5 from 139 reviews · View Details

How to find the best smart watch or fitness tracker

Choosing a new smart wearable can be both exciting and overwhelming. Whether you're new to the world of smart wearables, or you already know your top priority is finding a waterproof smart watch or cheap fitness tracker, read on for information to help point you in the right direction.

Read now

Reviews

3.5

139 reviews
5
(35)
4
(48)
3
(23)
2
(13)
1
(20)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (2)
  • Battery Life
    3.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Ingolf

IngolfWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

I need a heart rate monitor - not a fitness monitor

published

and this is doing it for 2 years without a problem, Apps allow to download what I do and even tells me when to get up and twist! Why the armband could not be replaced - mentioned here - beats me. Takes 1 minute. I had several "smart" watches before - different brands incl.Fitbit. Not one has lasted this long.
I have Gear Fit2R5AJ505x27D. If somebody feels to make report/critic here then also say what model you are talking about!. I paid ~$AU 100 for it - and it is worth it to me -FOR MY PURPOSE!!!!

Purchased in March 2018 at eBay for A$100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
5 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Ingolf
Ingolf

Mick - do you read English???and understand it>>?? I am happy with the product - as I said. Now I also know that any comment from Samsung is a standard reply and worthless

Samsung
MickSamsung

Hey Ingold, the above comment was address the issues you raised with the armband being replaced. Sorry for any confusion. I’m glad the Gear Fit to has mostly been able to meet most of your expectations!

Mick
Samsung AU

My favorite band

published

I used to my band since 2016 year. I very glad what a bought this product.
It very functional and helpful. I use it every day, i sleep with it. I get many information about my health taught thus device.

Purchased in November 2016 for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Battery Life
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
13day
13day

Thanks)

A. MW

A. MWSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great if you like disposable items

published

I loved my Gear Fit 2 (not PRO)...for the first 6 weeks. It started off fine, heart monitor, steps, GPS tracking, music all working well. One morning I went to turn it on and the screen was only showing about 10 pixels and I couldn't see anything on the watch. It was still responsive and could still connect to my phone, just the screen display was having major issues.
Waiting to hear back from Samsung to see what they can do.

Purchased in March 2019 at eBay for A$120.00.

1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Samsung Gear Fit 2 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony

AnthonyMelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good Fitness Tracker

published

Great smart watch, screen is bright enough to be seen in direct sunlight which is a must for a fitness tracker. Heart rate monitor is fairly accurate, but sometimes will provide an inaccurate reading usually as a result of too much sweat underneath the sensor, easily fixed with a quick wipe. Battery life is ok could be better but have nothing to compare it to.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for A$54.00.

My 2nd & last Gear Fit

published

I bought the original Gear Fit when I got my Galaxy S6 4 yrs ago & the Gear Fit2 when I upgraded to an S8. My experience w/ both: recurrent loss of Bluetooth connection--at times while my phone was in the same hand on which the watch was strapped!; failure to capture or keep GPS signal; and failure to start or record workouts. Would not buy another. Due to additional issues w/ Samsung phones, going back to Apple.

Purchased in July 2017 at Nebraska Furniture Mart for A$100.00.

1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Jane

JaneRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Avoid doesn't last

published

I bought my Gear fit 2 off my son who received it with a phone. My husband had one and it seemed to get him active so I thought I might try one. BIG MISTAKE. Two weeks after I got mine his band broke. It was the second time that the band had broken on his. Then after ten months my band broke in the same position. I was just getting to enjoy it. To be frank the band is very badly designed. Try putting it on in the dark so frustrating. And to top it off my husband's new band broke again just outside of the warranty period and Samsung refused to repair it, saying it was user damaged. It is sad as most of our family have Samsung phones and they are not happy with Samsung service.

Purchased in February 2018.

1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Hairgal

HairgalSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

It's good but..

published

I really like this smart watch but wish the battery lasted a bit longer. It gets chewed up really easy once you're in exercise mode or getting a lot of notifications. It's very handy to use and pretty simple to navigate your way around. Quite sturdy aswell. I've banged it up plenty of times but it's pretty tough. I'm surprised the screen hasn't broken by now. Pretty good, but needs a better battery life. Overall I'd still recommend this watch.

Purchased in January 2017 at Jbhifi for A$280.00.

Sam Merlin

Sam Merlin

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Junk!

published

Got this watch as a package when buying S7 phone. Seemed ok for a while. I disabled the regular BP testing, because i found the light annoying. After about 12 months the face stopped working. Could still see screen when rebooting etc, so not just display problem. Watch face was replaced under warranty. Now, about 12 months since screen replaced, and it has happened again. Aside from the massive problems with product quality, it also has the worst design watch strap conceivable. Who exactly thought "watch straps have worked well for hundreds of years with the same design, what if we changed it for one that comes undone with the slightest contact with a sleeve"? Do not buy a Samsung smart watch.

Purchased in March 2017.

1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Very Poor Quality

published

Purchased in March 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Samsung Gear Fit 2 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Could have been way better at this high price point

published

Purchased in June 2018 for A$188.00.

1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Ldn2bne

Ldn2bneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Limited in setting different exercises, activities

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
Renae

RenaeGosford

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect

published

I absolutely love my watch and wear it every day. It has a great battery life. It connects smoothly and easily with my phone notifying me when I get a message call or notification. It is super helpful and handy to keep track of your fitness with the ability to record water and caffeine intake effortlessly. It keeps track of steps calories and active time also notifying you when you have been inactive. Love it!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Brett

BrettAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

They dont honour the warranty

published

Mine has been in for repair twice because it turns itself off. They replaced battery twice. Last time was only 3 weeks ago and it has stopped already. They say they cant fault it and will not replace or refund. I cant trust it to last a day after a full recharge A complete waste of money.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Brett
Brett
Chaitali

ChaitaliSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Great except waterproofing

published

Works great even after more than 1.5 years. Perfect at keeping pace. Count steps, calories used, heart rate, exercise. GPS works great. The only issue is its not waterproof. This has been fixed in the next model.
It helps to keep track of water intake, caffeine intake. It also helps track stress levels. The inbuilt timer is very handy. Lots of free watch faces. Battery life is pretty good. I have been using it continuously with only charging it when i am taking shower and getting ready. If i do that everyday, about 30 min or so, then although it doesn't get fully charged, it lasts well beyond 24 hrs and so effectively, i have been using it continuously.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Caitlin

CaitlinMONTROSE

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Worth the budget, I like it.

published

I like it so far,a bit look cheaper than the original band,but is not that bad,I can live with it.
It is not as comfortable as the original band,but I guess/hope I'll get used to it.
In summary excellent product so far . I am very pleased with the purchase and would recommend it to anyone at this point.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Find out how Samsung Gear Fit 2 compares to other Smart Watches / Fitness Trackers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tasha

TashaGary

Waste of $ due to easily unsnapping

published

I liked it a lot but lost it at work, the clasp to keep it closed on your wrist often unsnaps... A waste of $ and to think I purchased one for a family member and lost mine a month later. It was first list in my vehicle because it easily comes off with the half secured , magnetic band clamp. This time I lost it at work and I'm praying someone is honest and turns it in.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Tasha
Tasha

No one has turned it in, I'll invest in something different in the future that's made more like a real watch with a more secure fit.

Rosie W

Rosie W

  • 3 reviews

Loved it at the start but not reliable

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Samsung
PhilSamsung
Rosie W
Rosie W

Thankyou for your comment Philip. I still find it to be unreliable.

amy

amyCROYDON

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

could use some refining

published

this works ok but my husband bought it for me online when i got it i thought it looked like a was a criminal who had to wear a tracker.. it is not feminine :).. so he now wears it, the band had a wierd clip system that comes undone easily, my son also had one and it fell off and he lost it, this could use refining for sure. apart from that it does what it says it will do.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Zoe

ZoeBonville

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Fabulous!

published

I love this product. As usual Samsung never disappoints. It has all the main features you would want to use for tracking your health and fitness. Also works in sync with my phone which is probably my favourite feature about this device! I have owned others including FitBit, but this is my fave.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Absolutel Garbage

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 7
See all Samsung Gear Fit 2 reviews

Questions & Answers

Sparkly

Sparklyasked

Gear Fit 2

It won't charge. Any help?

2 answers
markden
markden

There are too many questions to ask you in return but often it will start charging after you've left it in the cradle for up to 10mins. After this time the lightning bolt will appear and it will start charging. This often happens when you let the battery run down to less than 5% or when the device is brand new.

Mum2Fourkids
Mum2Fourkids

Try opening up the device you have the Gear Fit 2 paired with and unpair the two. Give the phone a moment or two, the try re - pairing them. Afterward if you try to turn on the Gear Fit 2, hopefully it will turn on just fine.

Disappointed

Disappointedasked

Gear Fit 2

Has anyone suceeded obtaining support from the Samsung (VOC) call centre ? They have been utterly useless and actively block resolution of defects.

3 answers
Mike Dunford
Mike Dunford

Voc department was absolutely useless, i explained that my waterproof, water resistant fitness watch, was broken and under warranty, needed replacing, only to be told, it has a different level of moisture damage, and i have to pay for repairs. Not accepting this crap.
Its water resistant so if it has water damage its broke.

Valerie
Valerie

VOC was also useless in my case. My watch also failed due to water damage. When I mentioned that the watch was supposed to be water resistant (as advertised!) they just kept on repeating that the water damage was not due to a factory defect therefore not under warranty and not their problem basically.

Ingolf
Ingolf

water resistant --just google it and find out what it means in the watch business!!! Not even good enough for a shower!!! NOT WATER PROOF

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.