??!
3 photos
Samsung ME6144

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
30
4 star
46
3 star
22
2 star
15
1 star
21

Asanka Vidana

Asanka VidanaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Great Choice

published

I bought this online though Buy Smarte website. I am very happy so far with the product as it works just fine. It has a very quality finish and does the job without any issues. Quite and efficient, also price was reasonable too

Purchased in September 2019 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Galooga

GaloogaAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible it started showing 5E error every time we heated something that steamed two months out of warranty

published

showing 5E error every time we heated something that steamed two months out of warranty. For a while unplugging it and leaving door open to clear the steam got it going again.
We were unplugging and leaving door open all the time this seemed to allow us to use it to defrost items.
However now it refuses to go longer than 30 seconds doing anything.
It seems to be a very common fault in the keypad with these Samsung microwaves they also apparently pose a fire risk hence keeping it unplugged.

Purchased in April 2014 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $160.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU

Galooga
Galooga
Daisy P

Daisy PGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Perfect for home

published

It takes very quick for some food to get heated up. I think it is quite easy to use and clean after use. It heats food evenly which is excellent. Overall I'm happy with my purchase

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Norman26

Norman26CHATSWOOD

  • 2 reviews

Reheat the occasional slice of pizza? This microwave might just do it for you

published

Purchased in November 2018 for $198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Kamal E.

Kamal E.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

good addition to the kitchen

published

Am very happy with my purchase. Very easy to keep clean, very powerful lots of features good manual programmable cooking cycle does everything I want. The downside though you will not be able to see inside. It is very powerful having upgraded from a lower wattage unit but instructions are easy to understand. I have used most if not all the features thus far and am not disappointed.

Purchased in October 2018 at Appliances Online for $185.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

Marie-Louise

Marie-LouiseSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Died before its third birthday

published

Purchased in May 2019 for $276.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Marie-Louise
Marie-Louise

Thanks. We bought a new one. LG. It's fabulous. Choice Winner several years in a row.


Nice Microwave!

published

This microwave is very energy efficient, does the job in seconds. The size best fits the place and is suitable. It is very very nicely designed and fulfils the needs.

Purchased in November 2018.


Haley39

Haley39Mid North Coast, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Economical, easy to use, large capacity

published

I recently had to replace my microwave and scored this samsung for under $200. I use it numerous times a day, controls are simple, it has a large internal capacity and cooks evenly. Nice stainless steel rimmed face. I would love a different tone when the timer stops, but for this price I can't complain.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
kakarot

kakarotMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Works well with no issues. Good affordable microwave

published

Read other reviews before writing my own and I and my family haven't experienced any issues with this microwave.
We got this for ~$180 last year and we have been pretty happy with it. The design seems fairly sturdy with 40L capacity, meaning it can heat up a lot of food. Others have commented that the buttons are not well designed, that is a possibility since my family and I don't frequently use the microwave but we haven't really noticed anything obvious.

In terms of heating the food evenly, there has been no issue there. I've had no issue with noise/sounds coming from the microwave. It's certainly a lot quieter than my previous microwave.

I recommend this microwave, it's good quality and value.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Don't recommend

published

We are onto our third replacement thinking that we were unlucky with the first two. Unfortunately the third microwave is also faulty. Issues have included: 1. Overheating. Cooking rice or steaming vegetables causes it to overheat and the power cuts out, and you have to wait 8mins or so to turn on again. 2. Door not closing properly, and then the start button not functioning (after 4 days of use). 3. Not heating food sufficiently. After 8 minutes in the microwave the porridge is back to being cooked on the stove top. Customer service of the company we purchased from is good, but this product is really not worth buying. The low price was attractive but the hassle isn't worth it.

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Tam, we are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information, when its most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Anna
Samsung Australia


Keith

KeithHigh Wycombe

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very happy

published

Nice and large inside for bigger dishes. Reheats and cooks very fast and evenly. The control panel is simple to follow with one touch controls. The white outside is easy to clean and doesn't show up finger marks. The inside is also easy to keep clean, well done Samsung on a quality product.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

4 Years Later Starts Tripping The RCD

published

Apart from the usual complaint of having a dark screen and there being better options... this microwave has done us ok until this this morning when it started tripping the RCD. Wasn't even using it at the time. Checked the outlet = ok. Plugged it into another outlet - trip. Bought it just over 4 years ago at just under half price (approx $190). Guess this is fairly typical. Will see if a repair is worth the hassle.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Matt

MattQueensland

  • 7 reviews

Good microwave but expected a little more from Samsung

published

Nice looking microwave but the finish isn't exactly what I was expecting from one of Samsung's more expensive microwaves. The button to open the door can be a little flimsy at times and will get stuck, hasn't broken or anything yet but I have a feeling it's only a matter of time. The enamel coating of the inside makes it really easy to clean which is great. Heats well and appears to be pretty consistent. Good microwave for what I paid for it after being on sale, wouldn't have wanted to pay anymore

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Harsh P

Harsh PSydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Product. Value for money!

published

It fulfils your daily needs from the microwave. Not a fancy product but definitely the value for money. Where usually the warranty is for 1 year, this one offers 2 years warranty. The heating bulb bursted after one year and i got it replaced without any hassles under warranty. If it has got a life a 2 years, I will find it as complete payback of little money spent on this. If it goes any further, that would be a bonus.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Brad

BradNowra NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Looks good but could find a lot better alternatives for the price

published

Pros:
- Stainless steel trim gives a modern, stylish look
- Large capacity for heating bigger things
- Quick start button (1min heating)
- Cooks/heats food (as should be expected)

Cons:
- Rather noisy for a modern day appliance (noisier than other microwaves)
- Fingerprint and dirt magnet
- Price. Paid $200 which was half price according to the tag. For a supposedly $400 machine, there is nothing
outstanding about it and I'm certain any other $400 machine would be a better value buy.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Jesse

JesseYilkari

  • 4 reviews

Excellent Value and Utility

published

We really like this microwave! It's easy to operate, even for an Adult.
It is quiet! At least it is much quieter than the old GE. Second, the various settings seem to work well. I used the sensor reheat yesterday evening for the first time and it worked very well. I have yet to try any of the other auto settings; I’ve never used many such settings in the past. But this little guy has me intrigued for some strange reason.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

pulkit

pulkitGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy with the purchase

published

Happy with my purchase, the food always come out fresh and lively, specially rice. I always cook my rice using my Samsung microwave.
Programming seems a touch too much for me but that's just me as I don't consider myself as too tech savvy.
Generally the food heats evenly - specially recommended for frozen food.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Frank

FrankSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

It looks nice and it is big

published

I have purchased 3 of them for the company. The good things about it are. 1. It is 40L so it is big enough to put in a lot of variety of food. 2. When it is working (Turning) the sound it lower than some other microwave is. 3. It looks nice and modern.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Ayse

AyseGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Excellent!!!

published

I really love this company, it always has products of good quality.
On account of the microwave, I'm pretty pretty. Very good design and easy to use. Does not dry food, quickly defrosts and quickly heats up, many convenient programs. Thanks to this microwave , we save time and money.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

David

DavidSunshine Coast

  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes

Still going strong

published

I purchased this microwave in 2013 and 5 years later it is still going as strong as the first day I bought it. The microwave has been on the move through 3 houses in that time and it has never failed me once. I use it constantly many times every day and I am surprised how well it has performed. Has plenty of power to heat or cook any foods.

Date PurchasedSep 2013

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Jess

Jessasked

ME6144W (White)

Where are the vents on this model? It would fit snugly in my microwave space at 56.5cm side to side with plenty of room at the back and top of the unit. Would that be OK for ventilation?

1 answer
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Jess, we have provided a link below to the User Manual to guide you on installing your microwave oven and the ventilation space that is recommended.

User Manual (page 6) > https://www.samsung.com/au/support/model/ME6144W/XSA/

Jo
Samsung AU


Muriel J.

Muriel J.asked

What could be the problem with my Samsung Microwave the is showing the letters SE on it.

1 answer
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Muriel, if you are receiving the SE error code, we recommend for you to switch off your microwave. Then unplug and replug it back in. If the error reoccurs we recommend for you to head into your nearest authorised service centre. If you would for us to provide the details to your nearest centre, please feel free to let us know of your postcode.

Hope this helps.

Jo


Tracy McDonald

Tracy McDonaldasked

Our microwave won’t work at all it is showing. -SE- on the digital screen

1 answer
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi Tracy, we'd be more than happy to look into this for you. Would you be able to provide me with your contact details and any reference number to our Facebook via the link below?

Please ensure to copy and paste your enquiry in a private message to us.

> m.me/SamsungAustralia

Jo
Samsung AU


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Samsung ME6144W (White)

Samsung ME6144W (White)

30 reviews
Samsung ME6144ST (Stainless Steel)

Samsung ME6144ST (Stainless Steel)

93 reviews
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $399.00$399.00
Type ConventionalConventional
FeaturesChild Safety Lock and Sensor Cooking Child Safety Lock and Sensor Cooking
Capacity40L40L
Dimensions 313 x 555 x 439 mm249 x 555 x 439 mm
Door MechanismPush ReleasePush Release
Colour / Finish Stainless SteelStainless Steel
Power1,000 W
Release dateMay 2006May 2006

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.