??!
3 photos
Samsung MS40J5133BT

Samsung MS40J5133BT

MPNs: 35963606, MS40J5133BT/ and MS40J5133BT/SA
3.1 from 46 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
9
4 star
11
3 star
11
2 star
7
1 star
8

No light at all!

published

Bought this microwave 3 days ago. Light worked for 3 days and is now non-existent. If you want a microwave that is so dark you cant see a thing, buy this microwave. If like 99% of people you want to see what is going on, buy another product. Poor design!

Purchased in December 2019 for $200.00.

1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Wendy Harrison

Wendy HarrisonGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

There's a sense this appliance is built to last!

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Gavin V.

Gavin V.Perth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Good price microwave

published

I like the design of the microwave. The door is solid, it runs quiet, has the enamel interior and a full keypad. The only downsize as mentioned in other reviews it really has a poor interior light and also the keypad requires you to press the buttons firmly. Otherwise a good medium size microwave.

Purchased in September 2019 at Betta Home Living for $198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
John S.

John S.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Beautiful but impractical

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

kp

kpSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great machine, just a bit advanced for me

published

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for $231.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

stephen

stephenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

very poor product

published

we bought a Samsung microwave MS40J5133BT last week from the good guys the zero button on there don't work very poor customer service I would never buy other Samsung products again

Purchased in August 2019 at The Good Guys for $249.00.

3 comments
Samsung
JoanneSamsung
stephen
stephen

Hi Joanne my post code is 3977

Regards Stephen

Samsung
JoanneSamsung

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Candace G.

Candace G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Don't buy this microwave it is terrible

published

Brought a microwave and it did not work when I got it out of the box. Samsung support was zero. Do yourself a favour and buy another brand. You can see what you are cooking and oh.... it does not cook... It is just a giant clock that does not cook.....

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
1 comment
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

This would be a great Microwave if only you could see food cooking.

published

It would be great to speak to the team that designed this. Seeing what’s cooking is fundamental to using a microwave.
I wonder if the light can be upgraded?
Apart from that everything seems ok.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Lisa K.Samsung

Practically non-existent internal light, but very bright light when you open the door!

published

Purchased in May 2019.

1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
David M

David MThe Mallee, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not very bright.

published

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $249.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Margarita

MargaritaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nice design

published

Purchased this microwave mainly because of the design and the brand. Overall we're happy with it. Works well without any issues. It has a large capacity. The design is futuristic, all buttons are flat, looks really good.
We didn't try to cook anything complex in it, just mainly use to reheat food.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Josh

JoshVIC, 3174

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect for a Family

published

I’ve recently purchased this microwave after the passing of my previous prehistoric model. It’s fantastic. Lots of features, very easy to use and the accompanying booklet contains some great ideas. I am very, very happy. I use it daily and it’s perfect. Defrosting is a dream and the reheating function does its job properly. I highly recommend this microwave.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Merlin51h

Merlin51h

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Not that impressive

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Samsung
PhilSamsung

Bing

BingVictoria

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Works well! Alot better than my previous

published

I really like this microwave, it has a large capacity enough to service my family of 4. This was purchased to replace a previously malfunctioned microwave that has no turntable. I prefer this traditional design more as i feel the rotating plate heats up the food more evenly. Easy to operate, has many preset functions

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Tamara

TamaraSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

It is a keeper

published

I also bought this microwave without reading the reviews because I rely on Samsung products, they deliver quality and style with innovative design and superior features. This microwave has proven to be just the same, good quality, reliable and I love it, I would recommend this product, it is a keeper.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Mike_AK

Mike_AKPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointing

published

We love Samsung products, and love them, so we bought this without reading the reviews, as it looks great, and the price was good.
However, you need to see food cooking, and the door is so dark that the light is irrelevant.
In addition, we find that after use, the bowl or plate will burn your hands off, whilst the food is only warm, so we tend to eat just warm food rather than have a plate that will melt the table.
I can't believe that these things wouldn't have shown up in the first few hours of testing.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Samsung
PhilSamsung

JamieAus

JamieAusAU

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Not to easy to use

published

we did a lot of research for a big turntable microwave before we purchased this , its not user friendly, the power setting are not like all other microwave , high,med,low etc , they are by number example , 9- 7 -1 etc and the black key pad is had to see

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Samsung takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Samsung better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Sara
Samsung Australia


Only Buy If you do not want to see your food cooking

published

It functions but why put a light in it if the front is so dark it is pointless?
It needs the light to be 5 times brighter so you can see in side when it is cooking.
I like to cook cheese on toast and you just watch it till it is good then stop it.
Now I can not do that.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Biska

BiskaSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Its good if you like everything digital.

published

I dont mind this microwave. There is not much i can fault. I would not recommend it for the elderly. There is alot to learn with this microwave. Lots of reading. Its digital so it can get frustrating when you select the wrong choice. I still havnt learnt everything that it can do. Its deffinately for the savy.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Court Mc

Court Mc

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not overly impressed

published

I’m not a huge fan of our new microwave. It tends to heat the bowl holding the food super hot and then the food within the bowl remains relatively cold. The microwave has even melted the cling wrapping covering the bowl. The microwave itself seems easy to use however fails in performance. I wouldn’t recommend to friends or family.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Viv R.

Viv R.asked

Bought this model yesterday and can't believe how poor the lighting inside is. Can a brighter lamp be used? It is important to be able see food or liquids while cooking...

1 answer
Samsung
JoanneSamsung

Hi Viv, we are unable to provide a brighter replacement light for a microwave as this is part of the design of the unit. However your feedback has not gone unnoticed. We have also provided a link below for more information.

> https://www.samsung.com/au/support/home-appliances/samsung-microwave-interior-light/

Jo
Samsung AU


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.