??!
2 photos
Samsung SRF583DLS

Samsung SRF583DLS

MPNs: RF67QESL1/XSA and SRF583DLS
3.2 from 108 reviews

Water leaking in the fruit and vegetable freezer

Bought this Samsung fridge only about one and half year ago And it leaks water into vegetable and fruit crispers freezers up every 3 days or so. will NEVER EVER buy Samsung again. The Samsung just says we won’t cover the repair even though this seems to be a product default. I also have only 3 people in my house and looked after well which obviously hasn’t helped.

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
1 comment
Hi Ruchi, We are always looking for ways to better our service, and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process. Please send us a PM with your reference number and contact details, so we can look into this for you. > Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia Lisa Samsung AU

Definitely not worth the money

We bought this fridge in January 2017 and not long after it started leaking water into the vegetables drawers. We had a technician come in at the end of October last year, and just when we thought it's all fixed, we started having the same problem with it. On top of that, food was going off very quickly, as it wouldn't cool down properly. Now, the warranty has expired, and I'm afraid that this is going to cost me a fortune to get it fixed again and again. It is an ongoing problem, so what can I do?

Purchased in January 2017 at Bing Lee Physical store for $1,530.00.

Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
1 comment
Hi Cristina, this is definitely not the experience we want you to have with our products. Would you be able to send through a PM via the link below, so we can follow up. Please ensure to include a copy of your review! > http://spr.ly/6188Ega88 Lisa

Worse fridge I have ever bought

Bought this Samsung fridge a few years ago for $2000 leaks water into vegetable and fruit crispers freezers up every 4 weeks or so will NEVER EVER buy Samsung again

Purchased in February 2015 at JB Hifi Home for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
1 comment
Thanks for reaching out to us, we’re really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far. We’d be more than happy to investigate further into this – Our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

WARNING - Deplorable,incompetent customer service & equally defective product.

Purchased 16/6/18 fridge started making a loud intermittent banging noise within 8 months, to this day this noise continues despite having samsung technicians out 3 times, replaced numerous parts, even just moved the fridge away from the wall as one attempt at resolving the loud banging noise & assessed twice, with 'No fault found' as the outcome of the assessments, due to the fact the technicians won't stay around long enough to hear the noise. Samsung want me to record the noise as their proof from me that this loud intermittent noise is occuring, have explained over & over again that the noise is intermittent & that its not possible to record my private life over a period of 24hrs or longer.Samsung have continued to deny me a refund or replacement fridge despite the fridge being under warranty. Latest reference call out has resulted in Samsung doing 2nd assessment, no fault found, technicians have collected the fridge yesterday & purportedly are taking my fridge back to their service centre to listen for the intermittent banging noise themselves,
When I requested a replacement fridge in the interim Samsung's policy is 'they don't do that', I than had to contact Harvey Norman & arrange a fridge after pointing out the obvious!,this has occurred but I'm blown away by the absolute lack of common sense & below poor customer service from Samsung. What does one do with their food when ones fridge has to be taken to a service centre for who knows how long? I'll take this issue to vcat if required. To anyone who has taken the time to read my review please take heed, this product is a piece of garbage & don't hand your hard earned money over to this greedy corporation.. I only wish I had of checked Google first.Once bitten, guaranteed,it will never happen again. Samsung your service is deplorable, Sydney head office staff are quite frankly lobotomized plebs who churn out the same rhetoric each & every time a customer makes contact especially when the problems start with your products. Will NOT BE RECOMMENDING SAMSUNG PRODUCTS EVER.

Purchased in June 2018 at Harvey Norman.

2 comments
I’m really sorry to hear about the experience you’ve had so far with us. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. If you wish to discuss this further, please contact us on the link provided below. don't forget to include your reference number so we can pull up your account. Facebook > m.me/SamsungAustralia\ Lisa Samsung AULisa from Samsung has provided a link that doesnt work.

Terrible

I only had the fridge for 3 years had it serviced four times because water leaks in and under the vegetable and fruit compartment. Tomorrow they are coming again cause its leaking water again . When this problem occurs it doesn't cool properly. I also had a problem with the door of the refrigerator it wouldn't shut. Very disappointed. Not happy with samsung at all . My first fridge broke down after 15 years. This one had a problem in the first year. Also had washing machine from samsung just 7 months broke down already. Now that i checked the reviews lot of other people have the same problem. They should recall it . Obviously there is a problem with the making. Mould on the doors. So what's going to happen when the warranty runs out. I need this changed asap

Purchased in March 2016 at Powerland for $1,619.00.

Household Size 4 person(s)
1 comment
Thanks for reaching out to us, we’re really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far. We’d be more than happy to investigate further into this – Our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

Don’t waste your money!

This fridge is honestly the worst appliance I have ever paid money for. It has been nothing but trouble since the moment we bought it and constantly having issues in regards to cooling.

Purchased in October 2014 at Harvey Norman.

1 comment
Thanks for reaching out to us, we’re really sorry to hear of the experience you've had so far. We’d be more than happy to investigate further into this – Our best point of contact is to send us a PM on Facebook with a copy of this review and some more information. > m.me/SamsungAustralia Mick Samsung AU

dissapointed

The technician has replaced the parts to stop water appearing in the crisper twice and now 12 months later the fridge has stopped working altogether. I guess mine is not as bad as some of the others after reading the reviews. So dissapointed. When I contacted Samsung they were unable to help as the fridge now 6 years old and it's well out of warranty. Definitely won't be purchasing Samsung again!

Purchased in September 2012.

1 comment
Hi Gladys, we are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information, when its most convenient for you can you please send that through? Anna Samsung Australia

Samsung fridge worst fridge l have ever owned big mistake

Worst fridge the fridge fills up with water in the crispers and in the bottom of the fridge .The seals went mouldy first month .The bottom freezer door gets jammed and the handles fell off .The worst thing is l bought 2 of these fridges biggest mistake l should have read reviews. I'm now looking at buying another fridge but l wont touch samsung again .

Purchased in January 2016 for $1,399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
1 comment
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When its most convenient for you can you please send that through? Jo Samsung AU

Too many problems!

This fridge has been a bit of a let down. Enough for us to stay from the brand, for all products, in the future. The fridge started showing signs of problems to come when we noticed some water in the crispers. Later on, this turned into a full-blown leakage. Some basic googling showed that this is a common problems with Samsung fridges, a design flaw. How could a billion dollar company get it wrong at that basic level is beyond me. As soon as you realise there are heaps of trouble-shooting videos on youtube for your appliance, you know you've been had.
The problem went from bad to worse, to a point where we'd have to either blow-dry the ice that sets on the inside of the fridge to just having to shut it down for a full day. Both techniques have pros and cons.
It got to a point where it started making really loud noises when the vents were blocked due to the ice formation - the fan goes crazy at that point and cooling inside the fridge takes a hit. To add to all of this, the quality of the material used for the drawers is quite bad. The drawers have cracked in about two years. A bad product overall, would not recommend it to anyone. There are plenty of better brands, with solid products out there.
After all, these are the guys that put out phones that exploded. I'll leave you with that thought.

Date PurchasedMay 2015
1 comment
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Bushido. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through? Jo Samsung AU

Leaks water in fridge & freezer

Daily we have to empty water from the bottom draws. Every couple of weeks break the ice out of the freezer. I called the Samsung support line who said it was not under warranty as it was built in 2015, even tho I’d only purchased it from Harvey Norman less than 2yrs ago. We live in a rural area and they said a technician would be at our expense. Thank Sansumg! So disappointed. Wish we could afford to buy a new one.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
1 comment
We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Katie. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through? Jo Samsung AU

Why the loud noise

like to know why it makes such a loud noise don"t know what it is motor or fan but it goes on all the time and my place is very small so can here it over the tv it is so loud it make me jump if you are standing near it i was so glad to get a new fridge but just might sell it and put my old one back its a nice fridge but the noise

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Disappointing to say the least

Leaks water, ice build up in the freezer compartment, leaks water into the crisper draws. Fridge not cooling properly now even if the temperature is set to 2 degrees. Motor/fan seems to be making loud noises. Dissatisfied thinking of going to fair trading. would like contact from Samsung. real lemon unfortunately, have Samsung TV's which have been great but this one has really let me down.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015

Poor technology for 21st century

Every 6 months technicians are needed, worse than a car! And soon warranty will be gone. The crisper draws fill with ice and water, tech comes to replace parts, 6 months later the freezer looks like an igloo and fully freezes over. What happens when my warranty goes and then I’m getting new coolant and dans every 6 months at my own cost. Products should not need to be constantly repaired every 6 months especially with the amount paid for them. So unhappy with our product, definitely will never buy a Samsung fridge again. Repairs shouldn’t need to be constantly made, should be a recall on all as faulty, which is clear going by this thread! Refunds and repair the issue for future models!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Worst design ever for humid conditions

Looks great, works great for 3 weeks then fan freezers up again. If you live north of Brisbane do not buy a Samsung fridge. Worse design ever for humidity control. We have had technician out nearly every 4 weeks to replace the fan!! He has told us out 10 fridges he repairs in this area 6 are Samsung all with the same problem across all models. Spoke with customer service, ha .. what customer service!! They fob you off and just send the tech out again to replace the fan again. Harvey Norman dont want to know about it either, they just send you to Samsung. We just want it fixed permanently or refunded not much luck there either. We just dont know what to do. Do we have any recourse? It is going into its 2nd year. I feel like Samsung are dragging it out to 2 years so they can say its not their problem because it is out of warranty.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Great refrigerator!

- Fridge is easy to use
- Temperature is consistent and reliable
- Love the design and silver finish
- Nice handles on the doors to open and close with ease
- Very spacious
- Water dispenser works well with ice cold fresh water
- Only downside is that the ice maker is very complicated to setup and use

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Horrible fridge. Nightmare

Horrible fridge, has not worked properly and leaks water into the drawers. Serviced by Samsung but no resolve. Told I did not spend enough money on a fridge. Samsung service state it’s a known problem. It’s been a struggle for the last 5 years. I am so frustrated with the situation and there is no resolve but to change to another brand and warn all those that are looking at this.

Date PurchasedMar 2012
1 comment
Hi Arnold, we appreciate the time in leaving us feedback for this unit, and we're very sorry to hear your dissatisfaction. We will pass this feedback onto our techs to further improve our products and services. We wish to extend our deepest apologies for any inconveniences that have been made. Philip Samsung Australia

Terrible fridge

I hate this fridge. We have had it for about 4 years however our problems started maybe 2 years ago. Drawers fill up with water & ice. Now all the clips on the centre bar have broken & it just flaps around making it really hard to close the fridge & make it seal. I am now looking around for spare parts. Terrible quality for the amount of money they cost. If I could afford it I would definitely buy a new fridge & it wouldn’t be a Samsung!

Date PurchasedMay 2014
1 comment
We're terribly sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with your fridge. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. Philip Samsung Australia

Water fills in Fruit and Vege Drawers, it's a nightmare

OMG I wish I had read this review before. Have had the same problem plus some other issues. Overall 4 or 5 visits from technicians but they never offered me a refund. Now I've got the same issue of water in the drawers again and Samsung won't cover it anymore. I wish I had read this tread and asked for a refund. Not happy one bit and I'm gonna make sure everyone around me knows about it. They should've refunded me first time instead of wasting my time all this time, I'm pretty sure now they knew this is not gonna go away all along and just dragged it until it is out of warranty. Bad practice Samsung...

Date PurchasedAug 2012
2 comments
This doesn't sound right, Alisdair. I'm so sorry to hear of the troubles you have been facing. I'll be sending you a message in a moment requesting for further information. Once I receive this, I'll be able to look into this for you. Sara Samsung AustraliaHi Sara, I've provided all the details, any updates?

Water fills in Fruit and Vege Drawers

Thank goodness we got extended warranty.
From 12 months water continuously fills in fruit and veg drawers we have had to put cake trays to keep them out of water. After the 3rd technician visit he decided to advise the product was faulty. Always caused lettuce to freeze inside fridge, frost all over outside of frozen food in freezer drawers. Loud vibration now when turned on.
Samsung agreed to refund. Courier collecting said he has collected about 20 of the same fridge.
Highly recommend not to purchase. we probably wouldn't purchase Samsung fridge again just in case.
Just loaded fridge on to return so sure hope refund comes through.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Sorry to hear that Noels, this wasn't the type of experience we wished you to have. I'm glad that you are receiving a remedy. We hope to improve from this and continue to create innovative technology in the future. Philip Samsung Australia

On going problem

Tech was out 3 times for issues. Water in vege draws now since they came out to fix freezer for slab of ice covering bottom and frost all over food which has happened a few times. Purchased from radio rentals and out of contract but issue has not been resolved from first call out. Very unhappy.

Date PurchasedJun 2014
1 comment
We are very sorry to hear this Kim, we can understand this would be very frustrating for you. We've sent you a PM requesting for more info, when it is most convenient for you, can you please send those details through, so we can assist you? Jazz Samsung Australia

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Is it possible to use 583l French door fridge without plumbing ??? Just want to use water dispenser and not the ice maker.
1 answer
Hi Joanne, if the water/ice dispenser is not used, plumbing would not be needed for the SRF583DLS refrigerator to function. Jo Samsung AU

I have hooked up the ice maker turned tap on and everything but the water is not coming out in the tray to make ice is there something I’m missing.
1 answer
Hi Mitchell, this sounds like something our Support Team can assist you with. If you contact them on 1300 362 603, they will be able to look into this for you. Jo Samsung AU

I am planning ti buy 583 l model, is it worth for the price, I heard few issues with the ice & water blocking. Can someone plz give me honest review
1 answer
Hi Akash, we may not be able to provide an objective review for you however, we can assure you that if any troubles arise with your Samsung products, we would be more than happy to look into it for you :) Jo Samsung AU

Details

SRF583DLS
Price (RRP) $2,299
Dimensions 1798 x 817 x 825 mm
Energy Rating2.5 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm , Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Colour / Finish Stainless Steel
Handle Type External
Smart Fridge No
Shelf MaterialGlass
Number of Shelves3
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins 2
Weight106 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 583 L
Fridge Capacity 383 L
Freezer Capacity 200 L
Release dateNov 2015

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 8806086423632
  • MPN: RF67QESL1/XSA and SRF583DLS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.