??!
2 photos
Samsung SRL458ELS (Silver)

Samsung SRL458ELS (Silver)

MPN: SRL458ELS
4.3 from 153 reviews

Reviews

(85)
(44)
(15)
(3)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (13)
  • Internal Layout
    4.6 (5)


JeremyA

JeremyAIllawarra, NSW

Very disappointing - water and ice pooling known issue

published

Put up with an issue of water and ice pooling under crispers for several years. Finally called Samsung as I was sick of emptying and defrosting. They informed that they would send out a service technician to repair the known issue. After calling service technician to organise the repair I was told that they would not repair it as I didn’t have proof of purchase. Despite being the only owner of unit and having had a warranty repair done previously. Couldn’t recommend this product to anyone.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Jackhammer Noisy

published

I bought this fridge based on glowing reviews how quiet it is. I also checked noise level with Samsung and was told 40dB. Far from it... it’s close to 60dB!
This fridge can be heard throughout the whole house, in rooms far away and with doors closed.
Most of the time now I just turn it off, especially early evenings when other noises start to die down.
No help from Samsung or Harvey Norman, they just pass the buck from one to another.
Once they take your money nobody cares! They said it’s a “normal” working noise.
It’s not! Can’t be.... my 20 years old Westinghouse was much much quieter than this modern piece of rubbish.
I was surprised to discover what is considered “normal” working noise!
I bought a jackhammer that looks like fridge!

Purchased in October 2019.

Noise Level
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Grand bg
Grand bg
Samsung
KathSamsung

4 years in needing to replace shelving

published

I've owned this unit for spot on 4 years. The draws in the freezer now need replacing and the shelving in the fridge door now all need replacing. It was my concern in purchasing the unit that the draws and shelving felt average. I wish i had of followed my initial feelings and picked a unit that freezer draws were wire and door shelving was of a higher quality. By the time I replace all that needs replacing I've paid 1/3 of a new fridge.
Disappointed.

Purchased in October 2015 at The Good Guys for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Carolyn Steele

Carolyn SteeleIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointed

published

This fridge looks great - the fridge and freezer are really good at keeping foods as should be BUT - the so called crisper just does not keep fruit and vegetables fresh at all. They are wrinkled and soft after only a few days. Sorry but would not recommend.

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Jessica W.

Jessica W.

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Freezer Draw Issues

published

I began experiencing issues with the freezer draws of my fridge approximately a month after I purchased it. The top draw falls off the hinge every time I open it and I have to physically lift it back on to the hinges to close the fridge. This happens every time I use the draw, very annoying.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,113.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Bright sight

Bright sightPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Nice and quiet

published

This fridge is worth it and a good value for what you pay for. Storage is good and nice. Reliable fridge for me so far and had no issue with it.

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Chinthaka J.

Chinthaka J.Western District, VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very quite one

published

The fridge is a nice quite one with low power consumption, easy to keep clean. I feel like, the fridge handle is not strong enough. Freezer drawers are a bit fragile.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
See all answers

San

SanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Door seals broke and fridge is still under warranty but doesn't cover

published

bought this fridge in 2015, it is till under extended warranty till 2021. after 4 years the door seals have cracks, i contacted the seller and got a reply that this is not covered under warranty, lol
they said it is a tear and wear issue.i was using cheap Simpsons fridge for 15 years and never had any issues, this is a branded fridge and paid extra for extended warranty but what is the benefit?

Purchased in December 2015 at Masters Home Improvement for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
San
San

Thank you Mick, Jo and Kath from Samsung for organizing a seal replacement very quickly, i appreciate the help you provided. i am not sure why extended warrenty guys didnt fix it before. Anyway all sorted now

San
San

updated my star ratings - awesome service

Aywa

AywaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Only got this fridge a week ago!

published

Just bought this fridge and finding that the freezer drawers are coming off their rails every time I need to get something in or out of them! Contacted retailer who's now arranging service call. Not happy!

Purchased in July 2019.

2 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Aywa
Aywa
Teresa N

Teresa NHobart, TAS

  • 8 reviews

Perfect Fridge Freezer

published

This is so good that I bought one for my new house , because the other one was left at the old house and I knew I would miss the features of this fridge. Easy to keep clean, flexible shelving arrangement so you can fit bulky things if you need to. Easy to use ice cube tray. Big shelves in the freezer that fit a lot in them. Very good lighting. Always fresh smelling. Quiet. Couldn’t be happier.

Purchased in February 2019 at Betta Home Living.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We're happy to hear this particular refrigerator model has fit perfectly in with your lifestyle and needs, Teresa! If any questions arise, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Jo
Samsung AU


Bellakelpie

BellakelpieSouthwest, VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good at first. Then the problems started

published

Purchased in January 2014 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
MickSamsung

AGSyd

AGSydSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Good sized and power efficient

published

We bought this fridge reading the positive reviews and power efficiency rating. We have been using this fridge for about 2 years and it is going very strong. Very spacious for the size. Easy to adjust the temperature for the fridge and freezer. The compartments are well designed, bottle rack is great for wine/beers. Very quiet too.

Purchased in March 2017.


Sam

SamSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Absolutely amazing

published

Perfect fridge for a medium sized family. Larger freezer space .easy to open and close. Spacious compartments. As freezer is bottom mount you don't need to bend your back when u access the fridge only.

Purchased in May 2015 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers

Damo

DamoSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love it!

published

So much room in this fridge. Every time I think it's full I find more space.
The bottom shelf let's you adjust the placement so if you have anything big & tall, you can fit it down the bottom no problem.

Excellent cooling system that goes from - 17 to 23 for freezer and 0-7 on the fridge.
Also includes a vacation mode for when you won't be opening the doors for awhile
Every time I open it in the night, the fantastic led lights remind me of close encounters of the third kind!

Buy this fridge!

Purchased in May 2019 at The Good Guys Online store.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
phoenixd

phoenixdMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 90 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

More spacious than expected

published

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 5 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Briancq

BriancqMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Item leaked water and to repair it was $160 each time and Samsung didn’t want anything to do with it

published

An absolute disgrace and that it leaks water into the freezer department
Yes it maintains temp and that’s about all I can say about it
Yes it’s easy to open but once the water freezes in the bottom of the freezer the draw won’t open

Purchased in May 2014 for $1,450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us, Brian. We've sent you a PM requesting for more information. When it's most convenient for you can you please send that through?

Jo
Samsung AU

Briancq
Briancq

Sold the fridge and now it’s someone ellses problem and I will no longer buy a any Samsung products


porcelina25

porcelina25QLD, 4503

  • 18 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect!

published

I wanted a larger fridge at a good price that was modern and would last. I already own other Samsung products so looked at a fridge. Can't fault it. Looks fabulous and has enough room and storage for our needs. Has smart sense but you can easily change the temperature. The ding noise goes off if left open too long which has saved me a couple of times when my daughter has left it open.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Bee

BeeSevenhills

  • 2 reviews

Good size

published

Yes easy to open and close doors open up wide so you can cleaning is easy to do and you can get all the parts out to clean love this fridge so easy to use and keep food in order and keeps things together I have tell all my friends

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Martin C

Martin CSydney, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Overall satisfied and would recommend

published

After having read many reviews and spoken to many work colleagues, we opted for the Samsung bottom mount fridge and are pleased with our purchase. Generally the fridge is quiet and we barely notice it operating. In comparison to other makes we've had (Westinghouse, Electrolux), the Samsung compressor is quieter and is less distracting when reading / watching TV etc..

Functionally the interior design is good - we like the wine rack, moveable shelves, and plenty of space in door for bottles etc.
Easy to use, and looks good aswell.
Happy Customer overall !

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Happy customers makes us happy, Martin! Thank you for sharing your review with us.


Zac

ZacMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Good fridge but nothing spectacular

published

This is a good fridge, it does the job but seems smaller inside than expected. Freezer isn't overly large if you have a whole family using it. Energy efficiency is good but sometimes it can be a bit noisy. Next time I would buy one with a water dispenser built in.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 8

See all Samsung SRL457MW / SRL458ELS reviews

Questions & Answers

NIL

NILasked

my samsung bottom mount srl 458els the freezer is perfect but top of fridge not cold at freezer has always been -21 top 9 celsius

2 answers
Carolyn Steele
Carolyn Steele

The fridge section of mine works well but the fruit/vegetable crisper does not keep things fresh. They become wrinkly and soft within days. Sorry but I would not recommend this fridge.

Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Nil, we understand you are having cooling difficulties with the fridge section of your unit. Would you be able to send us a message to the link below so we can further look into this?

https://www.messenger.com/t/SamsungAustralia

Alternatively, you can reach out to us on 1300 362 603 for further assistance.

Ada
Samsung AU


Allen A.

Allen A.asked

How to adjust level as my 458L fridge tilts to the left and I can only adjust the right side wheel but not the left wheel which won’t budge (unless it’s actually not an adjusting wheel).

3 answers
Carolyn Steele
Carolyn Steele

Sorry I can't help there. The delivery man set mine up.

Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Allen, both the front right and left legs are able to be adjusted. We have provided a link below to help guide you.

User Manual (page 15) > http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201908/20190806184133584/Drawing_DA68-02676A_1.5.pdf

Jo
Samsung AU

Allen A.
Allen A.

Hi Jo,
Thanks for your reply. I have the manual already. Your friendly delivery guy, Gary, came back and fixed what I thought was a stuck wheel adjuster and freed it. The fridge is now levelled. If there were more delivery guys like Gary, this world would be a better place.
Cheers,
Allen A.


4kdmpy1997

4kdmpy1997asked

How do I set the temperature for the fridge it wont let me set it

2 answers
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi, we have provided a link below to help guide you on using your fridge's control panel. If you continue to experience difficulties with this, we recommend for you to reach out to us on 1300 362 603.

User Manual (page 18) > http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201908/20190806184133584/Drawing_DA68-02676A_1.5.pdf

Jo
Samsung AU

Maz
Maz

I am having the same problem


Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.