??!
2 photos
Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series

Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series

UA43TU8000WXXY (43"), UA65TU8000WXXY (65"), UA75TU8000WXXY (75"), etc...
3.6 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (31)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (31)
  • Sound Quality
    3.8 (33)
  • Software
    3.9 (32)
  • Picture Quality
    4.0 (33)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Badger

Badger

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Budget TV

published

Purchased in November 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,830.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi there, we appreciate the time you took to share your review. I'm sorry to hear about the troubles you had been facing with your TV but I'm glad to hear a remedy is in process.

Sara
Samsung AU

lol anon.

lol anon.Perth, WA

6 months old and unstable picture and pixle lines already. Given upon brand 2nd gone under warranty.

published

Pixels going again only 6 - 7 months old if that. Will be the 2nd that has gone under warranty. Giving up on brand. Good price but maybe it is a case of what you get for your $.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Steve

Steve

Terrible tv

published

TV full of ads you cant switch off! Bluetooth visibility cant be switched off which IMO is a major security and privacy breach. TV browser is next to useless. No other browsers in app store to choose from. HDMIarc does not work. The list goes on. Awaiting correspondance from ACCC before i return the TV and get my money back from these scumbags

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolutely the best TV I have ever owned

published

The operating system is excellent
Features are great i would have liked the to be able to select my own apps
Wireless and Bluetooth are excellent
There are enough ports great access

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
mish

mishSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Samsung smart tv

published

The Tv itself is great having all the smart features like Netflix and you tube and then installing all our other streaming apps the only downfall is the remote as it doesn’t have numbers you have to scroll through all the channels and can’t select a specific one straight away

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for A$1,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Liam from Brisbane

Liam from BrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Almost perfect

published

We love the Samsung TV's for their functionality and ease of use menue and built in apps.
Very easy to use and navigate menue, the Bluetooth remote works extremely well and does not need to be pointed at the tv, the only issue is it is not compatible with our Sonos sound bar.
There are work arounds but it took a bit of searching to configure.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$2,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
Canterbury

CanterburyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

perfect Tv Samsung better than qled

published

Bought Samsung tu8000 75” really nice picture and waiting for my Samsung bar highly recommended very happy with it, I was confused between qled or Samsung but resolution of tu8000 is really clean

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$1,895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Canterbury, we are excited to hear you are thoroughly enjoying your TU8000 TV! If any questions do arise, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Ada
Samsung AU

AndreaBRIDGE

AndreaBRIDGEGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Incredibly easy to set up, works perfectly, was hung in the wall and now looks stunning. Couldn’t be happier....!

published

Smart tv and definitely is... the thing is awesome! Was set up easily and doesn’t falter! Super happy with my choice. It’s so slim, so awesome to look at and a brand I know and love.

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$1,495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We're happy to hear you are enjoying your new Samsung TV, Andrea! Your feedback is much appreciated and will be passed on.

Ada
Samsung AU

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alana B.

Alana B.

  • 2 reviews

Excellent

published

Great value.
Easy to use remote.
Streams and casts well.
Great sound and picture.
Handles all apps I want.
Enough Usb ports.
Blue tooth settings are good.
Really happy, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Purchased for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nathan P

Nathan PGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Alright, but some very rude design and missing some features

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Appliances Online for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Nick

NickSydney

  • 3 reviews

Arrived Damaged and 2 months on still not picked up for a return

published

A month after this review still no luck with the return the help desk just keep saying the same thing they are looking into and have now gone to fair trading to resolve
I purchased this TV in July 2020 from the online store opened up the packaging and behold the TV screen was damaged and unwatchable. I emailed and called Samsung about the issue and was told the courier would contact me for a pick up. Its now end of September and after numerous calls (at least 10) to the help desk who keep telling me its a priority return and then some "system issues" the damaged TV is still in my lounge room and refund not processed. I have always been used Samsung and this experience makes me want to use another brand very poor.

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
5 comments
Samsung
MickSamsung
Nick
Nick

Hi the order number is AU200525-52421378

Samsung
KathSamsung

Thank you, Nick. However are you able to forward this to us via the link provided above so we can follow upon this for you?

Kath
Samsung AU

M.SK

M.SKSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 13 likes

Samsung TVs have built in ads that you cannot opt out of

published

This TV that you paid for will force ads on you whether you like it or not.

No other brand does this as far as I know.

It is completely unacceptable !

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Brian W.

Brian W.South East Queensland, QLD

Garbage

published

My 6 year old Samsung ua40d5000 craps all over this. Seems Samsung is taking steps backwards instead of forwards in quality. Very disappointing. I will be taking it back for a refund and get something better

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Samsung
AdaSamsung
Jiminy Willickers

Jiminy WillickersAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 12 likes

Built in ads on the TV menu that can't be turned off!

published

Has built in Ads that you cannot turn off.

This TV that I purchased from JB hifi for $1450.00 has advertising on the menu bar that can't be turned off. This isn't a service issue, but hardcoded in to your TV's settings. You can only disable 'targeted' ads (ads that are selected based on your browsing history), but ads for random TV shows, products, promotions etc. will always be on your menu bar. Also not that many file formats cannot be read from your external USB stick when you insert it into the TV.

Purchased in March 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$1,495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
2 comments
Samsung
AdaSamsung

We are sorry that you feel this way, Jiminy. We want to continue to develop and enhance our customer experience and we take your feedback on-board.

Ada
Samsung AU

Jiminy Willickers
Jiminy Willickers
Laurence

LaurenceGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

Good Unit - Rich with functionality and easy to use

published

Purchased in August 2020 at The Good Guys Online store for A$815.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
6 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Laurence
Laurence

Thanks Kath... just configured it... and downloaded the e-manual. Will give it a couple of days. If all OK, I will upgrade the rating... if not, will get in touch as per your note above.

Samsung
KathSamsung

Glad to hear, Laurence. Thank you for keeping me updated and if anything else occurs, please don't hesitate to send us a private message on Facebook :)

Kath
Samsung AU

4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Madjaspa

MadjaspaCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible customer service if you can get through!

published

Purchased on 27 June 2020 from good guys. Remote sticking right and down. After days trying to get through, Jay at Samsung said I had to buy new one! It's under warranty! Good guys not helpful either. Never get a Samsung.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$995.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
4 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Madjaspa
Madjaspa

Kath. Thanks for your reply. However what do you mean by Samsung Reference number?

Samsung
KathSamsung

That is okay, if you do not have a Samsung reference number, please provide your contact details via PM so we can pull up your previous interactions.

Kath
Samsung AU

Andrew.S

Andrew.S

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Horrible.

published

Purchased in May 2020 for A$2,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
3 comments
Samsung
KathSamsung
Andrew.S
Andrew.S
Samsung
KathSamsung

Hey Andrew, you should be able to visit our Samsung AU Facebook page. Underneath our display pic, you will have the option to send us a PM.

Kath
Samsung AU

Christine

ChristineSouthwest, VIC

Not as good as hoped

published

I purchased a Samsung UA43TU8000WXXY on 21 July 2020. I am endeavouring to “set up” and am finding the remote completely unhelpful bordering on the user antagonistic. This TV is replacing a Samsung UA40J6200 – completely user friendly. My major problem is being unable to pair my Pioneer Bluetooth earphones SE-MJ553BT-K to the new TV. The headphones are not listed on Blue tooth device list. The UA43TU8000WXXY does not have a sports option for clearer picture and sound.
My previous Samsung used these headphone without “issue”.

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$895.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Peter K

Peter KGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

A Quality Product

published

Have had this TV for a couple of months now & I am very impressed with its silky design & build quality, ease of setup, picture quality & reliable internet connection. Sound quality was lacking & I paired it with the stunning Sonos Beam & I have a match made in heaven!! The minimalist remote is an eye opener, simple, intuitive, yet has full functionality. Overall, this is a quantum leap in technology at an affordable price.

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung

Nice tv easy set up but picture not as clear as it was in the store

published

The Picture is not as clear of quality as the tv set up in store,its a bit blury but love everything else about the the tv,easy to set up,good sound,

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for A$1,270.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Performance
Sound Quality
Software
Picture Quality
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

SandyD

SandyDasked

TU8000 Crystal UA43TU8000WXXY (43")

Can I install apps such as YouTube, Patreon, Skillshare, etc, onto this T.V.?
If not, what else do I need to be able to watch content from these apps on this T.V?
Thanks

3 answers
Steve
Steve

Do NOT buy this tv. Read and trust the reviews. Tv is full of ads and spyware from samsung. Get an LG or hisense. As for yor question most smart tvs come with yotube app pre installed As for the others youcan buy amazon firestick or access websites through browser

Willow S.
Willow S.

How come Steve i do not get adds at all I have utube installed thats all I also installed my Chrome cast for the apps I cannot get

lol anon.
lol anon.

Alot depends on whether or not anyone is prepared to pay for add free apps and also what you look at on other devices. Spyware is not significant as Google for the last 30 years have been intruding Facebook, Amazon they all listen in. It is called sales. Marketing for you your area and your unborn children. If you don't want any privacy intrusion do what the F.B.I agent suggested. " Go live in a cave with not even a microwave near you". End quote. Nothing to hide then who cares LG all smart T.Vs have got the rumour of a hidden inbuilt Camera. Who cares. Simple answer I walked into lounge with tablet watching You tube and it asked if I wanted to watch it on T.V I WAS WTH but just pushed no.

Dieter G.

Dieter G.asked

TU8000 Crystal Series

TU8000 2 weeks old ,
I trying to help my 82 year old Neighbor.
I can not ( or can )use a USB Stick 16G to record a Program (tried with FAT32 and NTFS).

4 answers
mish
mish

Im not too sure sorry maybe ask google

Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Dieter, would you be able to provide us with the model of the TV so we can further look into this? To locate this, head to TV Menu -> Support -> About TV

Ada
Samsung AU

Dieter G.
Dieter G.

UA50TU8000WXXY

Mike M.

Mike M.asked

TU8000 Crystal Series

How can you fix the audio lag , lip-synch ?

1 answer
Samsung
AdaSamsung

Hi Mike, we recommend for you to follow the steps in the link below to adjust your sound and picture delay.

https://www.samsung.com/au/support/tv-audio-video/sound-picture-delay-on-my-tv-how-can-i-fix-it/

Ada
Samsung AU

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Details

Compare all 6 Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) A$3,699.00A$2,499.00A$1,599.00A$1,299.00
Screen Size 82"75"65"55"
Screen TypeLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCD
Type of TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TV
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Refresh Rate 50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz
Number of HDMI Ports3333
Number of USB Ports2222
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight37.7 kg30.4 kg20.6 kg13.9 kg
Operating SystemTizenOSTizenOSTizenOSTizenOS
Dimensions (without stand) 1045 x 1830 x 60 mm958 x 1673 x 60 mm830 x 1449 x 60 mm707 x 1231 x 60 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 1148 x 1830 x 392 mm1048 x 1673 x 341 mm907 x 1449 x 282 mm783 x 1231 x 250 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2020Mar 2020Mar 2020Mar 2020
Compare all 6 Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.