?
? !
4 photos
Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series

Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series

UA43TU8000WXXY (43"), UA75TU8000WXXY (75"), UA65TU8000WXXY (65"), etc...
3.4 from 51 reviews · View Statistics

4K TV Buying Guide

4K, OLED, HDR, what does it all mean? Read our 4K TV buying guide to help clear up the marketing jargon so you can make the best purchasing decision and enjoy 4K movies, Netflix and more.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Pros

  • High-resolution picture quality with HDR10+

  • Smart home assistant compatibility

  • Quick WiFi and Bluetooth connectivity

Cons

  • Built-in ads on the TV menu

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (44)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (45)
  • Sound Quality
    3.7 (45)
  • Software
    3.5 (45)
  • Picture Quality
    4.1 (46)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Leendert

LeendertGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Poor quality TV

published

Remote is a disaster.
Software is concentrated on selected apps. Dominated by Amazon and Nettflix which we don't want
We subscribed to Disney but it seems to vanish regularly hard to fix because of dodgy remote

Purchased in October 2020 at Betta Home Living for $895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gbanger

GbangerCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 10 likes

Fantastic for the price.

published

Great value for the price of this tv. It has everything you need unless you are a serious gamer. Prcture quality is good and the features are plenty for a lower price range tv.. Not sure why people have issues with the remote. Its modern, compact and easy to use once you get used to it,

Purchased for $1,295.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dazza

DazzaVictoria

Tv is great Remote is crap

published

Tv is great. picture quality is excellent, volume is average. Remote is an absolute piece of rubbish. It faulted after 3 months. Finding it very hard to get a replacement or any customer service.. I will never purchase Samsung products again

Purchased in January 2021 at The Good Guys for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam T

Adam TSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great Picture & Sound

published

Super happy with the 50”. Crystal clear picture and impeccable sound. Definitely a great value TV for medium to large sized rooms. HDMI functionality is also awesome and really good quality. Would recommend Samsung to my family and friends.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul A.

Paul A.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hits and Misses

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $979.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
aroonie

aroonieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ouch! What a terrible remote

published

Picture magnificent. 5 stars. Instruction book is a small sheet of paper which does not help at all. Everything else on line. The remote is incomprehensible My previous Samsung smart tv had a remote that was perfect. I've bought a third party remote to use on this set which I should not have to, The instructions for connecting headphones are also impossible to understand, The previous set had a dedicated headphone socket marked headphone. What could be easier? Samsung have made a set that is too clever for me.

Purchased in February 2021 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ray

raySydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great picture TV but...........

published

This TV has superb picture quality, almost feels like 3-D. However, had real trouble connecting a Samsung T650 soundbar to it. TV stubbornly refused to recognise this device, kept defaulting to Bluetooth speaker on the audio output list, and wouldn't even recognise HDMI input connected to ARC input/output. In the end I took the Samsung soundbar back to the store and got a refund and bought a Kogan system which works perfectly.

Purchased in February 2021 at JB Hi-Fi Online Store for $895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Many, many problems + Zero Factory Support

published

Picture Great, Remote Control is worthless. It is almost impossible to use the TV without a remote control. Samsung websites are worthless, and so, apparently is the warranty. Website designed so any actual interaction with Samsung is impossible. What has happened to this once fine company?

Purchased in July 2020 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rockyg

RockygSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Picture and Sound great=Remote terrible

published

Picture great- sound excellent-Remote control Terrible. Have never come across a more confusing remote control when trying to use apps Very frustrating. Key board is hopeless, no facility to scroll back and correct an error

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andy W.

Andy W.Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

TV turns on and off whenever it likes!

published

Wow Samsung, a TV so smart thats it turns itself on and off.. Except that it does it in the middle of programs aand the middle of the night. Whenever really! Have read many complaints about this series just turning on and off randomly. Have performed trouble shooting so what's the problem with your technology? If it's WiFi or other signal interruption etc WHY DON'T YOU OTHER BRAND TVS HAVE THIS PROBLEM. Also can't believe the hdmi inputs aren't flush for wall mounting.. Poor design Samsung. Reporting to Dept of Fair Trade and ACCC this week.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $2,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarah Kos

Sarah KosSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

In Love With Our New TV

published

The resolution watching Netflix is very high quality. The smart tv option works well, and has most of the Apps we use to watch different programs such as NetFlix, YouTube and Disney. Highly recommend this TV.

Purchased in January 2021 at The Good Guys for $1,495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Umer

UmerAU

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

TV Crashed after 1 week of purchase, such a bad build and service

published

I bought this TV on 9th January from Samsung Online store and got delivery last week, TV wont turn on they very next week and keeps restarting showing only Smart TV by Tizen. Tried all possible options connecting to different sockets and connecting XBOX and hard reset by pressing power button and it never turns on.
Called the Samsung service and they say they will send technician to look at it in 3 days and that is also not confirmed.
Such a bad build and service, it was my 2nd time buying a Samsung product and equally disappointed.
Would Never Buy any Samsung Product ever.

Purchased in January 2021 at Samsung Online store for $733.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
HappyMrC

HappyMrC

  • 19 reviews
  • 4 likes

Samsung not supportive when intermittent and irregular faults. Terrible Samsung Customer Care Service.

published

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sara

SaraGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

I used to be a Samsung fan, I’ll never buy anything Samsung again.

published

I have a Samsung tv that’s 5 years old and it records live tv to a hard drive (this one doesn’t). This one also has Samsung advertising on the home menu that cannot be turned off. Absolute crap, they should be paying me to use this tv due to the forced advertising. I’ll never purchase any Samsung products again based on this abomination of a tv.

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,033.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

OK for elderly people in brightly lit rooms

published

The biggest annoying issue is scheduled TV programs. I wish there was a way to turn off that feature for the elderly person who uses it. She thinks the TV has a mind of its own after she accidentally schedules a program. The colors fade slightly when viewing at a wide angle but I expected that. I tried to get the best 43" TV for a well lit room and an elderly person who just wanted a basic TV with good sound. The sound is clear enough for ordinary healthy young people but not great for mid range deaf people or audiologists.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4K Ultra HD TVs

Find out how Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series compares to other 4K Ultra HD TVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tan Ho

Tan Ho

  • 2 reviews

Crystal clear viewing better than our Q60R Samsung

published

Purchased in November 2020 for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Badger

Badger

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very Budget TV

published

Purchased in November 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,830.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung

Hi there, we appreciate the time you took to share your review. I'm sorry to hear about the troubles you had been facing with your TV but I'm glad to hear a remedy is in process.

Sara
Samsung AU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lol anon.

lol anon.Perth, WA

6 months old and unstable picture and pixle lines already. Given upon brand 2nd gone under warranty.

published

Pixels going again only 6 - 7 months old if that. Will be the 2nd that has gone under warranty. Giving up on brand. Good price but maybe it is a case of what you get for your $.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve

Steve

Terrible tv

published

TV full of ads you cant switch off! Bluetooth visibility cant be switched off which IMO is a major security and privacy breach. TV browser is next to useless. No other browsers in app store to choose from. HDMIarc does not work. The list goes on. Awaiting correspondance from ACCC before i return the TV and get my money back from these scumbags

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
Samsung AUSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Absolutely the best TV I have ever owned

published

The operating system is excellent
Features are great i would have liked the to be able to select my own apps
Wireless and Bluetooth are excellent
There are enough ports great access

Purchased in October 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Samsung
KathSamsung
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Ann

Annasked

TU8000 Crystal Series

Our current TV is Samsung. Our mobiles are Samsung. This new TV is looking to be a huge mistake - and Samsung Support must be the worse I have every come across!!! I knew more than the person at the end of the telephone which is amazing.
So, issue is we cannot record to external hard drive - there is no menu option at all. Support could not tell me anything.
And the remote is a backward step. The TV will be going back...

No answers
Tom F.

Tom F.asked

TU8000 Crystal Series

does this tv have recording capabilities
to usb drive

1 answer
Gbanger
Gbanger

Not sure about using a USB to record but I think you can use a portable hard drive. I have not attempted that yet. Might pay to call Samsung to confirm.

wendy

wendyasked

TU8000 Crystal UA43TU8000WXXY (43")

weve just purchased this tv and are having a real issue with finding freeview on it . it has freeview on demand but no freeview app. whats going on? Wendy

1 answer
ray
ray

Hi Wendy, whilst I'm no tech expert, if you press the Home button on your remote and scroll across to Source, you should see Samsung TV............Freeview should be available. Better still, go to the Apps icon and put all the channels you want to watch on your Home page at he bottom of the screen. Much easier and quicker. that seems to work well and have had no trouble with that. good luck.

See all Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Samsung representatives

Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series

Details

When choosing which TV to use to watch the best quality videos or game on, Samsung’s smart TV comes as a solid choice in a variety of sizes including 43, 50, 55, 65, 75 and 85 inches.

Features:

  • Smart connectivity allows you to easily navigate different devices and apps such as Netflix, Amazon Prime, Disney+, Apple TV and more.
  • Freeview Plus lets you watch free-to-air and catch-up TV shows, set reminders for your favourite programs and receive recommendations all in one handy place.
  • Samsung’s One Remote Control gives you quick access to compatible devices such as Netflix, YouTube, Xbox or a Soundbar with Smart Hub.
  • In ambient mode, your TV will turn into a beautiful photo wall or display when you're not watching it.
  • High dynamic range (HDR) delivers dynamic tone mapping of HDR10+ for accurate colour, detail and contrast in bright and dark scenes, creating a stunning all-round picture.
  • Smart home assistant compatibility with Bixby, Alexa, and Google Assistant lets you play your favourite content, get answers, and even control your TV and other connected devices around your home with your voice.
  • Samsung's Game Mode helps deliver smooth images and fast motion, reducing lag so you can immerse yourself in the action.

Here's what reviewers thought:

This TV features high-quality resolution and reviewers have noted that its app navigation and Bluetooth features seem to work easily and without much faff.

Some reviewers have noted that they have seen Samsung advertising on the home menu which cannot be disabled and apps that cannot be deleted.

Compare all 6 Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series
Category4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs4K Ultra HD TVs
Price (RRP) $2,899.00$1,999.00$1,399.00$1,299.00
Screen Size 82"75"65"55"
Screen TypeLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCDLED/LCD
Type of TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TVHDR Compatible and Smart TV
Energy Rating5 star(s)5 star(s)5 star(s)
Wireless OptionsBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-FiBluetooth and Wi-Fi
Refresh Rate 50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz50/60Hz
Number of HDMI Ports3333
Number of USB Ports2222
Wall MountableYesYesYesYes
Weight37.7 kg30.4 kg20.6 kg13.9 kg
Operating SystemTizenOSTizenOSTizenOSTizenOS
Dimensions (without stand) 1045 x 1829.9 x 59.9 mm958.2 x 1673.2 x 59.9 mm830.3 x 1449.4 x 59.9 mm707 x 1231 x 60 mm
Dimensions (with stand) 1148.2 x 1829.9 x 392.2 mm1047.9 x 1673.2 x 341.1 mm907 x 1449 x 282 mm783 x 1231 x 250 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateMar 2020Mar 2020Mar 2020Mar 2020
Compare all 6 Samsung TU8000 Crystal Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.