??!
1 photo
Sauber Excellence SE-400

Sauber Excellence SE-400

4.4 from 44 reviews

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
31
4 star
4
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
2

Hannah

HannahGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews

I love my vacuum

published

Had it for 5 years now. Power head is amazing. Never had trouble with it. Gets the carpets super clean. Also mine came with a 5yr warranty and free servicing!

Purchased in January 2014 at Godfreys for $2,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Customer S.Sauber

Good performance but cheap hardware.

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Customer S.Sauber
Kristoni Bodsworth

Kristoni BodsworthMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Broke the vacuum curse!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Nickeesha

NickeeshaChinchilla

  • 3 reviews

Best vacuum ever

published

Ive had my vacuum for just about 4 years and its amazing i would definitely get another one . The only thing i dont really like about it is going around corners apart from that ive had no problems . Love it how my family come over and bring there blow up mattress and i can use the vaccum to blow it up .

Date PurchasedNov 2014
1 comment
Sauber
Customer S.Sauber

Daniel H

Daniel HGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best Vacuum Ever Had

published

With a husky x and 2 cats, we have always been on the market for the best vacuum to clean our long carpets in our house. We have tried all the top brands from Godfreys and Harvey Norman from Dyson, Wertheims, Vorwerks and I can not go past the Sauber Excellence.

The price is definitely the key concern for post with RRP $2200, but the stores are willing to be negotiated down to $1700-1800.

I highly recommend the bag saver attachment as this captures so much of the dust and saves money on replacement bags.

Date PurchasedSep 2015

rexyb

rexybSouth West, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

Best ever bought

published

Yes its big just like the old Kirbys and Electroluxs. As a matter of fact its a luxury arm of Electrolux but you know its big and heavy when you buy it. Has fantastic filter system and when using visualiser extends bags by 6 months. Read manual carefully as you only change bag when LCD display says to not if you think it looks full. Cleans carpet better than some so called professionals and has an attachment for everything. $2500 less $300 for trade in is at the top end but does come with 10 years free annual servicing. If you stick to what the display tells you about what needs changing and service once a year should last ages.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Good but !!!

published

I purchased this product from Godfreys . My main concern was ease of use .. The salesman showed me on the floor of Godfreys and it seemed to do everything . Yes ...He was correct it does a really good job but it is so heavy and the suction tube kinks which I was told it wouldn't . I hate vacuuming and told godfreys my concern about the unit hitting into furniture etc .. They said "NO" it glides easily . I hate this vacuum cleaner ..it is so hard to use and very heavy . I paid over $1500 for it . I went to Godfreys to buy the expensive bags and yes they were out of stock !!!! I don't reside close to a city and will have to drive again over 100 kms to purchase the overpriced bags ....Go figure ?

Date PurchasedNov 2010
1 comment
Sauber
Customer S.Sauber

Love it excellent for dog hair.

published

So easy to manoeuvre not heavy at all, cleans beautifully every time had it for 2 years now not one issue. Great for carpets picking up all the dust underneath, and the power head does all the work, plus have used it as a air purifier which works well. Love it. Worth the money.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
MrHonest

MrHonestSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good product but very expensive.

published

Purchased this vacuum cleaner from Godfreys Parramatta. Salesperson convinced me to buy the product for $1800. Initially, I was very happy but over the period I realized that it is very heavy for daily use. Overly priced. I won't recommend it although the quality is very good. Not fit for my purpose.

Date PurchasedOct 2015
Brad McAlpine

Brad McAlpineAdelaide South Australia

  • 4 reviews

What a rip off

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
2 comments
Sauber
Customer S.Sauber
Brad McAlpine
Brad McAlpine

Will do later today


B.C

B.CBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes
  • Verified purchase

Over priced crap

published

This brand is not from Switzerland as Godfrey's told me - it is a Godfrey's brand dressed up like a superior brand, when in fact it is a cheap piece of crap made in China. I've had mine 4 years and I've repaired it a few times already. I've spent about $700 repairing it and it cost over $1000. It's a scam. You would be better off buying a cheap one for $200 or not even bothering and hiring one from the supermarket.

Date PurchasedDec 2013
1 comment
Sauber
Customer S.Sauber

Gab

GabNSW, 2565

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Heavy. Clunky. Not 'bagless'.

published

Waste of money. Says it's bagless with the attachment but you can't operate the vacuum without a bag in. I've hated this thing ever since it's been introduced into my household.

It's very clunky and it does not maneuver well throughout the house.

Better off getting a Dyson. Don't be sold to at Godfreys. Unfortunately that happened to the person in my home that bought it.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Flickergood

FlickergoodQLD, 4301

Works great, but bulky

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Briony Kennish

Briony KennishIpswich

  • 5 reviews

Best vacuum I have ever owned

published

I love this vacuum I have cats and dogs inside and it picks up all of their fur from the carpets and the lounges .
I find it easy to manuever but it is not a light vacuum by any means, I love being able to control the suction power on my carpets and hardwood floors plus the extra attachments that come with it and it also comes with a 10 year warranty and a service .

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
JohnSmi7h

JohnSmi7hAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best vacuum cleaner I have ever owned

published

Over the years I have owned many different brands of vacuums like Dyson, Miele, Electrolux and Nilfisk. Hands down this is the best out of all the vacuum cleaners I have owned. I have a few properties so I have tended to experiment with the popular brands that are quite good but they all fail to meet my high expectations, I have alot of carpets and pets which means pet hair is a big problem. Nothing else has managed to clean my carpets and remove those stubborn pet hairs as good as the Sauber Excellence. This has an actual deep cleaning powerhead and not an air driven turbohead as many of those other brands which I was informed of by the salesman and I can really see the difference.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Jaka

JakaMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Money well spent

published

You can never go wrong with this vacuum. The suction is the best. We also have this clear bottle that connects to the vacuum which shows how all the dust going in . It's not easy to store though but the motor on the head is powerful. You can turn motor on or you can use it without turning it on. But when the motor is on it's easy to maneuver. My carpet always feels extra clean and it's great for my crawling baby

Date PurchasedOct 2015

Cleans like no other

published
Date PurchasedJan 2016

John

JohnQld

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Can't buy any better than this

published

Best vacuum, will make your carpets cleaner than clean. Other vacuums are just a waste of money. This one is awesome if you hate dusty environments or if you're asthmatic. Awesome on cars and the turbo attachment (although expensive) is a must to save you money buying bags.

Definitey buying any new models they release next. Wish more people were selling second hand but not many people want to sell it once they have it.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Bob

BobBrisbane QLD

Great product.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Vik

Vikcampbelltown

  • 2 reviews

Amazing, stop wondering if you have allergies.

published

I thought I had a clean house. After an impressive demonstration I bought Sauber Gold on weekly payment & it picked up 3_4 times more dust then my old bagless/famous brand vacuum. It is still picking up more dust after using 6 times at my home. With in a week, I find big difference with asthma to my kids.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Quee

Queeasked

I've ran out of bags is it possible to use without until i source bags?

2 answers
Nickeesha
Nickeesha

No i wouldn't recommend it . I just emptied out the bag until I found out were to buy more .

Sauber
Customer S.Sauber

Hello Quee,
Thank you for your question.
No Plaese do not use the machine with out bags.
Regards,
The Sauber Taem


Phillip T.

Phillip T.asked

We have just purchased a Sauber Excellence Machine and have had no instruction on how to use it as it was delivered to our door. When using the powerhead the green light is on regardless whether it is on 1 2 3 or 4.
Brush is spinning however grit is coming up over the top of powerhead. What is the cause of this?

No answers

Lesley

Lesleyasked

Light flashing red when in use /

1 answer
Kristoni Bodsworth
Kristoni Bodsworth

It does that to let you know you need to adjust the height of the head. There is a dial to use just put it up to 2 or 3 for thicker carpets.


Get an answer from our members and Sauber representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.