??!
4 photos
Sauber Intelligence SI-200

Sauber Intelligence SI-200

MPN: SI-200
3.1 from 268 reviews · View Statistics

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Lisa723

Lisa723South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not built too last & Godfrey’s just don’t care

published

Purchased in April 2012 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kelly

KellyVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Hand buttons for power stopped working

published

I purchased the Sauber vacuum cleaner around 2013/14 and rarely use it. I have developed arthritis in my hands And it is just so heavy and cumbersome. The attachments are difficult to remove. I only get it out to use the power head a couple of times a year and this morning the hand power control has stopped working, therefore no way to use the power head. I paid an exorbitant price for it with the floor wash attachment - a totally useless attachment. My Dyson leaves it for dead.

Purchased for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kym

KymSouth Australia

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bought 7 years ago

published

Purchased in April 2013 at Godfreys for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Kym
Kym

Many people have had the same problems the machine must not last past the warranty
All the electrical issues cause it to fail. One power head is hardly used and it stopped working. I wish it were made better it’s way too much money spent.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Sauber Intelligence SI-200 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Monique

MoniqueCentral Queensland, QLD

Stay away from Sauber and Godfreys

published

I just googled Sauber issues and wish I had before being conned into spending $1500 dollars I have had all the same issues and now it won’t power in like many reviews here and Godfreys NZ have quoted $700 to fix it. Even tho the warranty has expired their statement is it will last longer than 5 years. What a joke, it’s a shame they don’t take responsibility and pride in their brand even if the warranty has expired it seems to be a common issue and these are some of the most expensive vacuum cleaners. Godfreys work on commission and will never buy from them again will spend my $500’towards a more reputable brand who cares about customers and their brand. And I have a 80sq metre house not like it had a hard life!

Purchased at Godfreys for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Maria

Maria South East Queensland, QLD

The work out vacume cleaner

published

Firstly - make sure you pick up any dirt off your carpet
Second - rub the ridiculously heavy machine all over the carpet - make sure to use turbo or you won't suck very much!
Thirdly - go back and pick up any bits you missed initially as the vacume cleaner picks up very very little.
The only good thing I can say about this overpriced and useless machine is that it has a light in the head which is a great feature - but that's it.
Over priced, over heavy and completely useless.

Purchased in April 2015 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Maria
Maria

thanks Godfrey... I've had it serviced twice since purchasing it and the services were complimentary. They didn't improve the performance of the machine however.

Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Poor value for money

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Godfreys for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Helen

HelenQueensland

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Falling apart

published

My husband purchased after being told by Godfreys and believing it was the best and would last a lng long time. The casing is falling apart , I have to tape and tie it up to hold it together. Took it to Godfreys and was quoted $500 for a new casing, I was very disappointed as the cleaner cost $1700. Apart from that the motor is great however bags, filter and service are very expensive. We will never buy anything from Godfreys again.

Purchased at Godfreys for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
not happy

not happyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Simply stay away nightmare vac trouble from the 1st day

published

Honestly i dont know where to start. Multiple defects fixed multiple time under warranty but problems continued after warranty too. Braking down straight after repairing. There is always something wrong with it. Simply stay away. GODFREYS where i purchased the vac from is referring to it as a lemon. SAUBER wanted to get back to me never did ... vac is defect in the corner. $1500 wasting away.

Purchased in July 2015 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
not happy
not happy

Just got off the phone no real resolution offered Sauber takes no responsibility, offered me to get it inspected but regardless of outcome they will not repair it. Just replies here to look good.

Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rhiannon

RhiannonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best vacuum I’ve ever used, high quality

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Sauber Intelligence SI-200 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carkman

CarkmanYanchep

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Over priced

published

Purchased in August 2016 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul Turner

Paul TurnerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Overpriced rubbish

published

Paid $1,600 for this vacuum and was very disappointed, not only was the machine expensive but replacement bags and filters also expensive. After a few years the handle where the rods fit in has started to come apart!

Purchased in August 2017 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Woody

WoodySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent BUT...

published

We paid approx $1500 for it. Came with a 5yr warranty and at 2.5yrs it simply wouldn’t power on. Was repaired under warranty then 4 days after warranty finally expired the same issue happened. Otherwise excellent machine but, we could’ve just purchased a brand new medium decent vacuum each year ‍‍for how long this lasted

Purchased in July 2015 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ness_m

Ness_mNew South Wales

  • 5 reviews

It was great but doesn’t last

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2011 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The actual vacuum cleaner is great the casing is rubbish always bits breaking off the power head didn’t work for long

published

The $170.00 extra filter to reduce the use of bags fell to bits in no time and the head with the rotating brush also fell to bits in o time

Purchased at Godfreys for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Too heavy and cumbersome

published

It sucks well. But it’s so heavy and awkward and crashes into walls, door frames, and has damaged skirting boards and door corners. I miss my Dyson!! I got sucked in by the sales pitch at Godfreys. The bloody thing will never break down either, it’s too solid.

Purchased for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Sauber Intelligence SI-200 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MBW

MBWIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Bit worth the tonne of money

published

Purchased in December 2014 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
MBW
MBW
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michal

MichalSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Very Powerful Vac but critical failure points

published

Our experience was the exactly the same as numerous others', based on their reviews we've read regarding "plastic pieces cracking, dust bag lid cracked and fell apart at both hinges...wheels fell off." On the positive side, the motors are all powerful and the vacuum is designed and engineered to work well and it does. Unfortunately it has a few critical failure points with plastic bits that obviously are prone to fail. Not what one would expect from such an expensive vacuum.

Purchased in December 2011 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ash D

Ash DGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst vacuum ever purchased

published

Purchased in March 2014 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ryan

RyanGippsland, VIC

Expensive to purchase and repair...

published

Purchased in November 2014 at Godfreys for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very Happy with my Sauber

published

While the power head did have to be returned 3 times for the same issue (not fixed properly 2 times, all same return) the 3rd time the head was returned with no vibration and no issue since. We have had the machine 7 years and very happy with it and we have a dog and many cats. Returned it this week for a new brush ($100) so hopefully this machine continues to serve us well. Feel we have had our monies worth from it, so how ever more longer it works well is a bonus. Usual carpeted house and Lino kitchen and bathrooms. It doesn’t tip over and if handled carefully isn’t hard to pull around, though heavier than today’s type models.

Purchased for $1,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Danielle P

Danielle Pasked

My sauber motorized head has decided that it does not want to work when pulling backwards on the carpet (will turn on each time I go forwards but automatically stops coming back towards me) I have just had the machine fixed with the electronics and really can not justify spending more money on something that cost me $1800 initially 6 years ago that is meant to last 20+ years according to the store man. How can you help?

3 answers
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber

Hi Danielle,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing with your machine.
This sounds as through there may be a connection issue.
Unfortunately the machine will need to be rebooked in for further inspection.
Can you please advise of your previous repair number and when this was booked in?
Regards,
The Sauber Team

Danielle P
Danielle P

Sorry unsure of number and I am in NZ so you possibly can't help. It got fixed the first working week of 21

Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber

Hi Danielle,
All Godfreys stores provided a repair number when machines are booked in and repairs have a 3 month warranty.
Unfortunately the machine will need to be rebooked in for further inspection.
Regards,
The Sauber Team

Tracey

Traceyasked

My Sauber has suddenly stopped working... worked a week ago and today the vacuum won’t turn on. The power head turns on so it isn’t the electrical socket that is the problem. Is there something I am missing?

1 answer
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber

Hi Tracey,
We are sorry to hear of the issues you are experiencing with your machine.
We would recommend taking the machine into your nearest Godfreys store to be booked in for further inspection.
Regards,
The Sauber Team

Steve S.

Steve S.asked

Bag light indicator always on
New bag stays on

1 answer
Sauber
Godfrey G.Sauber

Hi Steve,
The new bag may not be sitting properly or their may be a blockage in the head, rod or hose, you can use the blower function to help clear and blockages out, this is located under the Sauber symbol near the buttons on the machine.
If you are unable to locate any blockages and are still experiencing issues with the machine, we would recommend taking it into your nearest Godfreys store for further inspection.
Regards,
The Sauber Team

See all Sauber Intelligence SI-200 questions

Get an answer from our members and Sauber representatives

Details

CategoryBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
Price (RRP) $1,599.00
Bin Capacity1.5 L
HEPA FilterYes
TypeBagged
Cord Length9 m
Power1,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateMar 2012
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: SI-200

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.