??!
1 photo
Schmick Car Care Club

Schmick Car Care Club Questions & Answers

3.6 from 179 reviews · View Statistics

12 questions from our users

Robyn S.

Robyn S.asked

Hi , I have recently bought a new car and had Schmick applied to my car. My question is what car cleaner can I use. I don’t want to damage the coating. Thanks

2 answers
Tania
Tania

Hi Robyn
I purchased this membership with my Mercedes purchased Feb this year and it is a waste of your money. If you are still within the first 45 days of your purchase please ask for a refund and invest in a great car insurance. They take forever to reply to your inquiry if you need their help and then tell you they can't fix the scratch due to it being too deep only by looking at a photo that you send them. A complete waste. If you have more questions about my experience with them I am more than happy to answer them.

Shanie
Shanie

Hi robyn when I bought my car they actually gave me special car wash cleaner called protektiv shampoo... so maybe ring the car dealership ?

Lewis H.

Lewis H.asked

Hello,
I've just bought a car privately that has your protection on it (the car is less than 6 months old). Do you allow transfer of the membership? If so what would the transfer cost be?
Thanks

1 answer
PHILIP
PHILIP

Hi lewis,

Good question, never transferred the treatment and smick contract as the cars I have had go back when I upgrade with a new dealer. Sorry I cant help. Maybe ask Schmick.

Carlab

Carlabasked

who do you use in Perth

1 answer
Schmick Car Care Club
Schmick ClubSchmick Car Care Club

We use our own paint technicians in Perth. You don't have to take the vehicle anywhere as we come to you.

Luciano D.

Luciano D.asked

I have scmick protection on my 2020 mazda CX3 what is the best car wash for my car, I have been told a wash with silicone free. Please any suggestions.

No answers
Janna D

Janna Dasked

I am a Schmick member. I brought a new Rav 4 last year with me dealership. I had a minor dent on it and submitted a request in December 2019. Come January 2019, I was told it will be $100 to repair the dent, no mention of colour paint removal or anything.
Beginning of March, the technician came to fix the dent. 4 hours and $100 later, dent is gone but my $50000+ car was stripped of the paint protection of 2 panels, no where near the dent, the finish was gritty and paint marks that can be seen 2 meters away. It looks horrible and if I would have known this is the quality I would get, I would be more than happy to keep the minor dent which was barely noticeable.

Now I have been calling customer service for over 1 month, no one has followed up on my enquires at all.

Why continue a membership that causes more damage to a brand new car?? And where’s the customer service to fix this problem? Obviously non-existent. Scam company - beware.

1 answer
Schmick Car Care Club
Schmick ClubSchmick Car Care Club

Hi Janna,

I'm sorry to hear about the situation. We're looking into this now and will be in touch.

Kade.

Kade.asked

Hi, I am a schmick member but cannot find my membership number, how do I go about obtaining this??
Thanks

2 answers
Noor P.
Noor P.

Contact the dealership you bought vehicle from

Honda buyer
Honda buyer

If the Schmick membership came with a car purchase, yes, the best way to get the details is through the car dealer (they are likely to be responsive to a buyer, who hopefully will buy again). If you paid directly to Schmick, you will need to phone Schmick.

dave

daveasked

how does it work

4 answers
Schmick Car Care Club
Schmick ClubSchmick Car Care Club

Hi Dave,

Schmick is a cosmetic repair program designed to assist with the everyday scratches your vehicle may incur that are not large enough to be put through your car insurance. If you have a membership with us and require a repair you can download our app Scratch & Dent Assist to send us a photo of the damage. Someone will be in contact from there to discuss a booking.

dave
dave

Thank you sincerely for your reply and i will be purchasing your product. Great reviews

dave
dave

I have an appointment for Friday 29/11/19 to begin.

Keith Chisholm

Keith Chisholmasked

Bought Subaru Outback from Keystar Morayfield 17/08/17. From memory, I paid around $800 for 3 years Schmick coverage. Just notices a couple of tiny knicks and a small scratch. I am a techno-dumbo Old Fart with no camera or mobile phone. Where can I take the vehicle to have it checked out or can someone come to me in Caboolture/Morayfield area ? [details removed]

3 answers
Schmick Car Care Club
Schmick ClubSchmick Car Care Club

Hi Keith,

We do require photos of any repairs to the vehicle to ensure it is a cosmetic repair that we can assist with. The photos also let us know how long our technician needs to complete the repairs. We always want to make sure we allocate adequate time to repair the vehicle properly.

We are a mobile service so we don't have any fixed locations to bring a vehicle to. If you cannot take a photo of the damage yourself we'd suggest asking a friend or family member to assist.

Keith Chisholm
Keith Chisholm

The above vehicle was stolen 18/12/2019. I had paid for Schmick for 3 years from 17/8/17 (presumably till 17/8/2020).
I replaced the vehicle with another Subaru Outback from the same dealer Keystar, Morayfield.
Should it now be covered for the next few months (no known probs) or perhaps a small refund ?

Keith Chisholm
Keith Chisholm

I don't have much faith in technology so maybe try pumicestone03@gmail AS WELL ?

Jackie

Jackieasked

I live at Blaxlands Ridge, NSW. Can I have repairs done at my location (with private driveway/carport and power)?

3 answers
Unhappy
Unhappy

Don’t use this service - they are a rip off company. Don’t waste your money

Schmick Car Care Club
Schmick ClubSchmick Car Care Club

Hi Jackie,

Blaxlands Ridge is definitely an area we can service. I'd recommend emailing us at repairs@schmickclub.com with your location and photos of the damage. If you're a member can you please include your membership number as well? Otherwise if you're after a quotation we can assist with that as well. :)

Kan S.
Kan S.

Don’t use this service!!! So terrible and waste the money. Just crap company.

Ross

Rossasked

Can repairs be arranged on a weekend? Its difficult to find time during business hours and there is no repair area to suit can be arranged

4 answers
Edward R
Edward R

This question is better directed to Schmick rather than myself. I have never had to try to arrange a weekend appointment but it may be possible. Same goes for suitable repair area. I have a suitable area at my home so I have not had to ask about an alternative. Sorry I can’t be of much help to you on this. E

Ross
Ross

Sorry I thought this question was going to Schmick to answer

Schmick Car Care Club
Schmick ClubSchmick Car Care Club

Hi Ross,

Our paint technicians work Monday to Friday, excluding public holidays. Bookings can be made as early as 8am.

A suitable workspace will require either a garage or private driveway and access to power within 20 metres. If you do not have a suitable workspace we would suggest asking a family member or friend if they have a suitable location you can use. You may also contact the dealership you purchased the membership from to see if they are able to assist with a location for you.

Patrick

Patrickasked

How much it cost when im not a member but my car need to repair just a small dent?

1 answer
Schmick Car Care Club
Schmick ClubSchmick Car Care Club

Hi Patrick,

There are a couple of ways to obtain a quote for your dent. You can have a look at the pricing guide on our website:
https://www.schmickclub.com/pricing

Or if you prefer, please email us a photo of your dent to: repairs@schmickclub.com and we'll be able to give you an estimate.

zurizuri

zurizuriasked

Thinking of joining BUT someone suggested that even if I did a small scrape (a number of small scratches), that wouldn’t be repaired under this Programme? That they charge extra as they only repair ONE SCRATCH. Is that for real??? $1500 for 5 years and you pay $50 for one little scratch to be repaired and then extra $$$ for his friends?? Love to hear back from someone with experience

1 answer
DaveW
DaveW

First of all, my wife and I used to be their members for one year. We did not buy the membership. When we buy our new cars, we purchased some window tinting and paint protection package, and got one year complimentary Schmick membership valued at $5xx each. And for every repair, we pay $55 to them.
Even though they deny it, it feels like an insurance. The annual membership fee is the premium. And every time you make a claim, you pay an excess fee $50 or $55. Only difference is how many times you use it wouldn't affect your premium/membership for the next year.

My wife used once for her car during the one year. She had a small scratch on the lip of the boot. Their technician Ms L just brushed the scratch in like two minutes and charged $55. Really?! I can brushed it my self! After the repair, it was still very obvious and ...Ugly. This was the very first repair experience we had with Schmick, and they really let us down.
One month later, I had some scratches on my SUV rear bumper, it looked like I scratched it in the bush or something. It was about 10cm. I booked with them. The technician was Ms L again. She resprayed the whole bumper for me. It took her 30 minutes, and after the repair it looked brand new. Again, $55 for the repair. Honestly, after the first repair for my wife's car, I did not expect much from them this time at all, but they surprised me in a nice way.

Long story short, during my membership with Schmick, I used their services four times, and my wife just once. The first three repairs for my SUV were all next to perfect with respray the paint. My last repair experience was a nightmare. I lodged the request before Christmas 2017, and it was finally repaired in March 2018, and they brushed it!
From my experiences, it depends on every the scratch is. Some parts of the car body, they can easily respray a small part and it wouldn't be noticeable of the colour or shade difference. Some other body parts, like my last repair was on the car door, they only brush it, which you can DIY for a few bucks. Do not expect they will respray a whole door for $55. And if they use brush, don't expect anything good. It wouldn't be anything better than if you DIY. It will look ugly afterwards.

My last repair, which was the brush one, was done by a different technician Mr I. Though I did not appreciate his brushing repair, he told me something about Schmick company.

Mr I used to work for Schmick as a contractor. Sometime ago when he went to attend some appointments assigned to him, he was told by the customers that the repairs were already done by a Ms L. Mr I was confused and he called Schmick to find out. It turned out Schmick decided to hire a technician directly rather than continuing use the contractor. They hired Ms L, but did not tell Mr I until he found out by himself!
Then this Ms L quit her job in March 2018 without notice. I already had an appointment with Ms L on the following Monday morning, and on Sunday afternoon she SMS me saying she couldn't come because she quit.
Because Ms L quit the job without notice, Schmick already had more than 20 repairs in my area booked. They did not have time to hire a new one, so they turned back to Me I for help. Mr I finally attended my SUV and brushed it and he told me this hire and fire story with Schmick.

In one word, it appears to me that Schmick is a company with NO credibility. If you get some complimentary membership when you buy a new motor vehicle, it doesn't hurt to use it a few times. If you ask whether it's worthwhile paying $1500 for a five-year membership, run fast, run far!

Get an answer from our members and Schmick Car Care Club representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.