1 photo
Seniors Travel Insurance
Listing monitored by Australian Seniors

Reviews

4.5
17 reviews
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (11)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (9)
  • Customer Service
    4.6 (11)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (4)
    • 1-2 weeks (5)
    • 2-4 weeks (4)
    • 1-2 months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (17) · No
Previous
Next
Roger
RogerSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Fantastic As Always

published

the policy is excellent value and was so easy to set up, the young man who dealt with me could not have been more professional or more friendly. I lodged a claim last year for a flight cancellation owing to British Airways strike, and this was dealt with really quickly. Think this is the 3rd or 4th time I have used Australian Seniors Insurance.

Incentivised Review No
DestinationEurope
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
John
JohnQueensland

Good travel insurance

published

I originally chose Seniors Travel Insurance because my pre-existing medical conditions did not incur extra cost because they were controlled and I would not expect any travel incidents or need for additional cover. But this time I was hit with an additional $170 approx. charge because I wanted you to know about them else my policy may be void for all claim types.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim ApprovedYes
John
John

The survey implies I have just travelled but this is re a new policy. Other answers relate to past policies/travel. Your survey writers should step back and look at the questions.

Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi John,
Thank you for providing these details. I will pass your details on to a senior team member to get in contact with you and discuss the concerns you raised.
Kind regards,
Sharon

Margaret
MargaretGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellent cover, informative and friendly operator

published

Yes it was excellent value, most times it dudnt take long on phone.
I lodged a claim some months ago, and was paid promptly, although Chubb dud quibble until the last possible moment about accepting the claim
I cant remember how often I have used your company....possibly 13

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateFebruary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Travel Insurance

Find out how Seniors Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

So far - so good

published

Good Value no complain - It has taken me a bit of Time to set it up this Time.
1 Claim lodged - resolved in no Time.
It could be easy over 20 Times using this Insurance Company

Incentivised Review No
DestinationEurope, Middle East, North America (inc. Hawaii) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2003
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Walter,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that we can continue to provide you with affordable cover that is suitable for your travels and I hope that you have an amazing time on your trip.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Jacko
JackoDarling Downs, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Essential

published

Have used Seniors Insurance for a number of years and done extensive travel. Needed to make small claims twice and had no difficulties. It is easy to set up a policy via the website, but telephone assistance is always very helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
DestinationEurope, New Zealand and Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Jacko,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that we have been able to assist with your previous claims and of the ease in which you have been able to set up your policy.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Related Articles

Previous

Best Super Funds in 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the best super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
best-super-funds-in-2020

Best Credit Cards in 2020!

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the best credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
best-credit-cards-in-2020

What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Helen
HelenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Great value. Will continue to be repeat customer

published

I always choose Australian Seniors Travel Insurance as my preferred insurer as they offer good rates and good cover. Had to make a claim June this year and the process was efficient with a quick turnaround for reimbursement.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
DestinationEurope
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Problem with claim

published

Claim ok but for hospital on ship queen Elizabeth at sea classed as international not happy Paul. Policy easy to set up only one month about to resolve been a I three times

Incentivised Review No
DestinationAustralia
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Paul T.,
I am sorry to hear about your experience . I would like the opportunity to look into this further for you and I have sent you a private message requesting some additional information.
Kind regards,
Sharon

Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Comfortable to know I'm fully covered.

published

This is the third time we have used ASTI and, given the service, will continue to do so.
Have had one claim which ASTI handled promptly and successfully in stressful circumstances to us.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Application for new policy

published

Have used this insurance company each year for the past 10 years and have been very satisfied. A claim two years ago was settled promptly. This new policy was difficult to set up [over 45 minutes on the phone] due to discussing pre-existing illness cover. Premium was paid and upon receiving full details by email noticed there were now many exclusions which I am not happy with and will be following up.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateJune 2017
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Travel Insurance

Find out how Seniors Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Yvonne D
Yvonne DSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Best value travel insurance

published

I have always used Australian Seniors Ins. when I have travelled. Have used at least 12 - 14 times approx. Find it is necessary to have Travel Insurance especially being a Senior.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
DestinationAustralia
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Friendly site

published

I have uses Australian Seniors before and had no trouble including claims. The new policy took a bit longer because it asked for medicines etc which I hadn't been asked for before but eventually managed to work out what to do.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
DestinationEurope
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Would recommend Australian Seniors Travel Insurance.

published

The policy offered appeared a reasonable price. The length of time spent outlining the details was rather tedious. I have insured for my travel with Australian Seniors for over 6 years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
SHIRLEY WHITE
SHIRLEY WHITECanberra 2600, ACT
  • 3 reviews

travelling again

published

We are back again, as your price is the best on the market. This is the second time I think. But I do think the way the notifiable medical items are displayed is really hard to navigate. The site fell over three times when we were doing the selection, and now I will have to go back to see if it is really correct. I would love it if these things were worked through better. We travel yearly an the one time we claimed was a gastro bug caught before w could travel!..

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Shirley White,
I understand that a team member has been in contact with you about your query and this has now been resolved. Enjoy your upcoming trip.
Kind regards,
Sharon

Cheryle
Cheryle
  • 2 reviews

Great travel insurance

published

Good value and easy to set up. It only took a couple of days for our claim to come through. This is the second time we have used it. We are going to Spain next year and will use it again.

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors
Joan
JoanPerth, WA

I logged in for a quick quote and within a very short time my husband and I had our travel insurance done and paid for

published

I thought that for our age the price and cover was good value, we now use Seniors Travel Insurance for all of our trips, and probably keep doing it, thanks

Incentivised Review No
Claim Made Yes
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Joan,
What a wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that we can continue to provide you with this valuable protection at an affordable price. Thank you for choosing Australian Seniors and for placing your trust in us.
Kind regards,
Sharon

Travel Insurance

Find out how Seniors Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

john B.
john B.asked
Travel Insurance - Domestic Cover

Do we need travel insurance, Melbourne to Sunshine Coast, retrieved from a cancelled trip due to Covid.

1 answer
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi John,
Thank you for reaching out with your query.
Like many other companies in Australia and around the world, we’ve had to make some changes due to the unforeseen impact of COVID-19.
In accordance with the Australian Government’s travel restrictions and due to the complex and unpredictable nature of travel currently, we have taken the difficult decision to suspend sales of new Travel Insurance policies until further notice.
We’re hopeful that the global response to COVID-19 will see us all travelling again soon.
Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any queries in the future.
Kind regards,
Alisa

john B.
john B.asked
Travel Insurance - Domestic Cover

Should we need travel insurance for a local Australian trip?

1 answer
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi John,
Thank you for reaching out with your query.
Like many other companies in Australia and around the world, we’ve had to make some changes due to the unforeseen impact of COVID-19.
In accordance with the Australian Government’s travel restrictions and due to the complex and unpredictable nature of travel currently, we have taken the difficult decision to suspend sales of new Travel Insurance policies until further notice.
We’re hopeful that the global response to COVID-19 will see us all travelling again soon.
Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any queries in the future.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Shas D
Shas Dasked
Travel Insurance

We’ve just booked to travel to Port Douglas out of Sydney....driving from Newcastle to Sydney......fromMay 18-May 22.... 2021... Given the latest COVID scare, how do we get insurance and will our holiday be covered?

1 answer
Australian Seniors
Customer RelationsAustralian Seniors

Hi Shas,
Thank you for reaching out to us with your query. In accordance with the Australian Government’s travel restrictions and due to the complex and unpredictable nature of travel currently, we have taken the difficult decision to suspend sales of travel insurance. Like many, we are hopeful that the global response to COVID-19 will see us all travelling again soon. In the meantime, there may be other suitable options if you intend on travelling. You can refer to The Insurance Council of Australia website for a list of providers; https://www.findaninsurer.com.au/category/36
Kind regards,
Jessica

See all Seniors Travel Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and Australian Seniors representatives

Seniors Travel Insurance

Details

Compare all 3 Seniors Travel Insurance
Seniors Travel Insurance - Top Cover
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020

Seniors Travel Insurance - Top Cover

4.7
(144)
Seniors Travel Insurance - Essential Cover
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020

Seniors Travel Insurance - Essential Cover

4.6
(42)
Seniors Travel Insurance - Domestic Cover
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020

Seniors Travel Insurance - Domestic Cover

4.7
(36)
CategoryTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Car, Funeral, Home and Contents and PetCar, Funeral, Home and Contents and PetCar, Funeral, Home and Contents and Pet
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Maximum Age Covered 89 years old89 years old89 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance UnlimitedUnlimited$10,000 (Domestic Only)
Accidental Death$25,000Not Included$15,000
Emergency Dental$5,000$1,000Not Included
Pregnancy (max weeks) 24 weeks (pending assessment)24 weeks (pending assessment)24 weeks (pending assessment)
Resumption of Journey $3,000Not IncludedNot Included
Hospital Cash Allowance$100 per day, up to $8,000Not IncludedNot Included
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Loss of Income$10,400Not IncludedNot Included
Permanent Disability$25,000Not Included$15,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash $250Not IncludedNot Included
Delayed Luggage $500 after 24hrs, $1,000 after 72hrsNot Included$500 after 24hrs, $1,000 after 72hrs
Credit Card FraudReplacement covered under "Non-medical additional expenses"Not IncludedReplacement covered under "Non-medical expenses"
Travel Documents / Passport Replacement covered under "Non-medical additional expenses"Not IncludedReplacement covered under "Non-medical expenses"
Maximum Single Item Limit $4,000 (Camera, laptop, or tablet)$4,000 (Camera, laptop, or tablet)$4,000 (Camera, laptop, or tablet)
Luggage & Personal Effects $15,000$5,000$5,000
Ancillary
Personal Liability $3,000,000$1,500,000$1,000,000
Rental Vehicle Excess $8,000Not Included$5,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Optional for motorcycles/mopeds over 50ccOptional for motorcycles/mopeds over 50ccNot Included
Domestic Pet Care $500Not IncludedNot Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfIncludedIncludedIncluded
CruiseOptional ExtraOptional ExtraNot Included
Adventure Optional ExtraOptional ExtraNot Included
Snow / SkiOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Compare all 3 Seniors Travel Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.