??!
2 photos
Sennheiser PXC 550

Sennheiser PXC 550 (page 2 of 3)

4.6 from 49 reviews

Reviews

4.6

49 reviews
5
(36)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.2 (13)
  • Sound Quality
    4.7 (14)
  • Bass
    4.5 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (13)
  • Battery Life
    4.4 (14)
  • Bluetooth
    4.5 (13)
  • Noise Cancellation
    4.6 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Frances Craig

Frances CraigNorthern Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic in almost every way, not great for exercise

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Dr. Crashalot

Dr. CrashalotSYDNEY

  • 28 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Uncomfortable and fiddly controls

published

I bought these headphones for a long-distance fight. They had great sound quality and certainly cancelled the flight noise. However, I found them extremely uncomfortable. After a couple of hours, the top of my head was very sore and had an indentation, despite adjusting them to the largest head size possible. The volume controls and on/off switching were also quite fiddly. It was also difficult to tell when they were fully charged.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Theo

TheoPerth

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Perfect fit

published

The headphones are really worth it. I use this whenever I travel and it gives me such a huge comfort and convenience. Online Meetings become manageable as well because I was able to multi-task between discussions and writing some notes or making my brekky. I will definitely get another one for my family

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser PXC 550 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Austin

AustinCLOYNA

  • 2 reviews

Great Product

published

These are very comfortable, and very easy to use. I love the touch controls for volume, play, next tune, last tune.The sound isolation and noise cancellation is really good, sometimes I'll just put the set on for some quiet in my noisy work environment. I'm very pleased with my purchase and would buy them again.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Jaxon

JaxonPara Hills West

  • 4 reviews

Nice Sennheiser quality

published

These are very good noise cancelling headphones. Judged solely on that scale, they get 5 stars for their ability to hear content during a flight. They are also comfortable though people with very large ears may notice the pads more than I did. They can make your ears sweat a little too in humid conditions.
Notably useful is the PXC 550s ability to pair to two different devices and receive notifications on the first device while listening to music on the second device, allowing calls to come through and mute the music so you can talk.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Lisa

LisaMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Headfones

published

I have been looking for a new pair of good headphones for such a long time and finally i have found a pair that have the best sound. Way better than my previous headphones. Sound quality is fantastic. They are nice and light to wear and definitely very durable in all conditions

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Josh2002

Josh2002Melbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing quality, underrated

published

When compared to other headphones these are the most unique and underrated. Especially due to the fact that they allow you to use touch controls in order to control your music. By Simply tapping the right ear cup you are able to pause or play your music. They also have some of the best noise cancellation and have surprisingly long Bluetooth range and a long battery life.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Rev

RevFRANKSTON

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Best headphones I've ever bought

published

Comfortable, light weight, sturdy and great sound. Was after an upgrade and these headphones did not disappoint. Use them everyday, great for flights and public transport when you want to zone out from all the noise. Whether it's music or podcasts the noise cancellation is the best i've had. I recommend them to everyone

Date PurchasedDec 2017
BlueAnto

BlueAntoSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great Buy - GoodValue

published

Comfortable, great quality and so far has performed really well. You get pretty decent noise cancelling as well. I was deciding between this or just sticking with a Bose like have traditionally done for years. Glad I tried something new

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser PXC 550 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
di

diQLD, 4810

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Great for airplanes

published

After years of travelling monthly via air, grew tired of crying children and aircraft noise, it was time to upgrade from ear buds to something better. After talking in length with staff at Joyce Mayne Townsville, we settled upon these headphones. Should have bought them years ago. They have improved the flights by 100%. No more or very little noise. Can actually sleep on plane now, with or without music. Must have for frequent traveller.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Duo

DuoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

great sound quality with acceptable noise cancelling

published

Purchased these in JB Hi-Fi in April. The sound quality is very Sennheiser-style, clear with wide soundstage. Versatile performance with the Captune app. The noise cancellation is a bit worse than Bose. However, taking sound quality into consideration, it's easy to say that this is a very good product, probably among the top-3 NC headphones.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Josh

Josh

  • 4 reviews

Exactly what I was looking for

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sindy

Sindygeelong

  • 4 reviews

Outstanding Headphones

published

I really love these headphones. They were a treat to myself and I really appreciate them. The over the ears style are very comfortable for long periods and they do a good job of cutting out the outside noise. You can really get lost in the music with these. The reproduction is just that good! I would recommend them to anyone - they are the best headphones I have ever owned.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Undoubtedly the best I have ever owned

published

This is by far the best headphones I have ever owned. Even if I wanted to , can't find a fault with these. Awesome Noise cancellation, balanced sound quality , handy gestures, sturdy build quality and comfortable. Almost at par with qc35 on noise cancellation too, waiting for them to release wireless earbuds as well.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Smoog

SmoogHedland

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great pair of headphones

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Wireless Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser PXC 550 compares to other Wireless Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
frogger

froggerSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Brilliant Sound with Amazing Battery Life and Handy Controls

published
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Brilliant

published

Finally fronted up the cash and i bought these even though everyone was telling me to buy QC35's. Absolutely no regrets. Had these for a few months now and never had any issues. Battery life is good also. Used for gaming and taking and receiving phone calls around the house or listening to music.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
neus

neusNgunnawal 2913, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great

published

Already own the Bose QC35, Sony WH1000XM2B and Beats Studio Wireless. The Sennheiser PXC 550 had good functions for enhanced sound. There is present for movie or speech. I found that by turning on the enhanced sound the music was more vibrant compared to the Bose QC35 which is my preferred headphones but some music didn’t work that well with enhanced sound. Music with bass such as dance and rnb sounded better with the enhanced sound on the sennheisers.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
David F

David FSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

You should get these headphones

published

Initially I was reluctant to spend so much money on headphones, but I’m so glad I bought these and haven’t regretted it once. They are super comfortable (although can get warm and sweaty, particularly in warm climates) and the sound quality is fantastic. When flying or if you just want to block out those around you, the noise cancelling works really well. Battery life is excellent and recharge is fast. Highly recommend.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
K.K.W

K.K.WSydney

  • 4 reviews

If you travel... get yourself a pair

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 2 of 3
See all Sennheiser PXC 550 reviews

Questions & Answers

Nidia

Nidiaasked

Can one listen to audio books downloaded on my iPhone on the headphone?

1 answer
Dr. Crashalot
Dr. Crashalot

Yes. If you pair the headphones with your iPhone via Bluetooth you can listen to all audio. They also come with a cable to use as wired headphones. But if you have a newer iPhone, you will need the lighting to headphone adapter.

Izeth Semmer

Izeth Semmerasked

Using GarageBand with iPad I tried my PXC 550 sounded awesome listening to recordings , but when I plug guitar in ITrack audio interfacethe sound is delayed and really bad that was Bluetooth then tried the lead into iPad the same terrible sound is there a step I’m missing or doing something wrong?

1 answer
avi g.
avi g.

Call quality???

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.