??!
4 photos
Sennheiser Urbanite XL

Sennheiser Urbanite XL

MPN: URBANITEXLBLK
3.7 from 16 reviews

Reviews

3.7

16 reviews
5
(4)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Sound Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Bass
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next

Avoid at all costs

published

Sound is good but Generally these headphones fail. I have the wireless version with touch pad controls. The headphones have difficulty connecting to my phone, and difficulty staying connected. The touch pad control is ridiculous, painful, and completely unnecessary. I’m guessing that is was partially developed when released and quickly canned. Buttons would have done the job better. The buttons on the lead work well and feel nice, but these are meant to be wireless.
The ear pads are falling apart, fall off in my bag, and are difficult to get back on.
Battery life is good.
I got these to replace some sennhieser in ear headphones which cost $80 and were awesome. Expected great things for $400. Very disappointed. Usability is a big fail.

Purchased in July 2016 at Jaben Audio for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers
Dylan

DylanCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • Verified purchase

Good price to performance

published

These headphones are good and have good sound quality but the cord could have been longer and you can only get a 1.2 meter cable which could have been longer and the adjust ability could have been tighter because they can slip if you have a smaller head.

Purchased in July 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$206.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sound Quality
Bass
Comfort
See all answers

Do not buy these headphones.

published

Sound is great but the ear pads started falling off almost immediately and were a real pain to put back on. They have both now deteriorated and fallen to pieces after very little wear and the headphones are now effectively useless. I will not be buy a Sennheiser product again. Extremely disappointing.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Wired Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser Urbanite XL compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tsuska

TsuskaSydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Painful Ears - not really free 30 day return

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
ChippoJerry85

ChippoJerry85Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 18 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent sound & base levels but bulky and uncomfortable to wear for long periods

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Somebody asleep at quality control

published

Left in storage for a year without use in tropical Australia. After one hour long listening session, bits of black 'cloth' started cascading down on my work desk and the mesh underneath was revealed on both ear cups. Two days later one entire ear cup fell off and if you've tried to refit one of those, I can recommend some anger management counsellors. I bought them because in my 62 years I've yet to find any brand which can produce the sound quality that Sennheiser do for a comparable price point. These headphones were no exception - totally amazing. Replacement ear cups are $50 a pop and no way of knowing if they have changed their construction. Very disappointed.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Overflow

Overflow

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great if you have a big head!

published

We bought the iPhone version and they work fine with Android devices, however, the in-line buttons don't work properly. Don't buy if that will be a problem. Another caveat is that these ARE for larger heads; they side down my girlfriends head too easily and so aren't comfortable for her.

Sound quality, particularly base, is great. They work nicely with my PS4, too, although they don't come with a mic.

If you're big on base and have a bigger sizes head, go for it!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
NadG

NadGSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good quality and amazing customer service

published

While these headphones are on the pricey side, the quality is very good and they are very comfortable when wearing. However, sometimes the ear pads fall off which can be annoying and the sound often turns off on either the right of left side. However the customer service from Sennheiser is very good and they will immediately send out another pair

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Ben W

Ben W

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Amazing

published

Amazing headphones, long battery life at 25 hours and a sound that is addictive! I've barely had these headphones off since i bought them. Very comfortable on the ears as well.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Wired Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser Urbanite XL compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Di Q

Di QSydney

  • 5 reviews

Nothing fancy but decent sound.

published

These are not wireless nor do they have noise cancelling function, and the retail price is too high as other reviews have pointed out. However, if you put them on, you will like how comfortable they feel & they deliver decent sound. Thus if you can get them on discounted price, then you should probably consider giving them a chance; who knows, you may be pleasantly surprised.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
carey

careySydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great but overpriced!

published
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Dinusha Yake

Dinusha YakeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very good highly recommend for under $150 (eBay)

published

Picked these up for a bit over $100 and I found it great value. Sound quality is very good and bass is solid and smooth as well. The ear-cup positioning makes a massive difference on these tho when it comes to bass. A bit difficult to explain but I found that sliding them on from the front rather than from the top helped to flatten out the ears and get those ear-cups on properly. Doing so while you are playing something quite bassy would probably help with the adjustment as well. I listen to trop house, mixes, rebassed and bass boosted stuff a fair bit (youtube is a good starting point if you want to try some out) and that's where these really do shine for mine compared to say the momentums.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Pale

PaleMolbourne

  • 3 reviews

A great headphone!

published

It is very comfortable and provides a good quality sound. It becomes a good friend which accompanies with me. Personally, i think it is better than the smaller size of Sennheiser Urbanite as it is more suitable for us to wear. Well, it was a really good headphone production. I like it.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Carollyn

CarollynMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Great Headphone

published

My husband purchased these for me for Christmas and I love them.
They are comfy to wear and easy to adjust for the perfect Fit.
Sound quality is great and are pretty good considering they aren't noise cancelling.
They are convenient to travel with as they fold down and come with a carry pouch.
Love the colour (purple).

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Jay

JayMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Comfortable and wire-free!

published

Purchased with offer of EFTPOS card cashback. Sound is good and sits comfortably. Wire-free convenience is a blessing especially on the plane (adapter purchased separately). In case the batteries fail, they have included a (detachable) 3.5mm cord, which also has a locking mechanism to prevent accidental disconnection (good design). Only design flaw are the velour ear pads which can dislodge (happened whilst in protective felt bag) however it took only a few minutes (and much patience) to put them back on. Also whilst the headphones can fold up, there is no protective case included.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Wired Headphones

Find out how Sennheiser Urbanite XL compares to other Wired Headphones

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lily B

Lily BSydney

  • 7 reviews

Excellent headphones.

published

Went looking for some wireless headphones after my cats chewed through the cord of my beloved previous Sennheisers. Decided to stay loyal to the brand and these did not disappoint! Good sound quality, comfortable to wear, the battery lasts at least 12 hours per charge, and the bluetooth range is quite impressive (I can listen to things from different rooms sometimes!).

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.