1 photo
Sharp R240YS

Sharp R240YS

MPN: R240YS
2.7 from 14 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Ken C
Ken CSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap but short life!

published

We don't use microwave often (once or twice a week). It broke down in just 13 mths, right after the warranty period. The shell is still in great condition but it can't heat up anything anymore. Maybe it was designed not to last. Feel sorry for the landfills.

Purchased in August 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Ken, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to us at ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

PandA
PandAAdelaide

Exploding glass on the external side of door.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2014
5 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
PandA
PandA
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear Customer, we are sorry to hear that the resolution provided did not meet your expectations.We will pass your feedback on to our customer care team.

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
SkyeM
SkyeMDarling Downs, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Lasted until the warranty ran out

published

I suppose you get what you pay for. Got it on sale at good guys. Lasted 14 months....2 months after the warranty ran out. It just stopped heating. It would turn on and do the usual but lost all heat. I tried to adjust the heat settings but still nothing. Not happy at all. Also, it wouldn't cook the whole packet of pop corn like the last one did. Put it in for abit extra time, still wouldn't pop it all and burn what was already popped. I wasn't happy from the start.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R240YS compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ShockedCustomer
ShockedCustomerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Microwave on fire!

published

Hello. I had a simple, microwave safe bowl inside, and set it to 1 minute. It then burst into flames on the inside right after 10 seconds. I don't understand why. I look after it, clean it, and don't put anything heavy on top of it. It's less than a year old. Threw it out today. This microwave is very dangerous! Please review your machines.

Date PurchasedJune 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Dee
DeeMelbourne, Victoria
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

You get what you pay for!

published
3 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next

Unhappy with Sharp Microwave R-240Y

published

Don't like it for two reasons.
1.because I'm used to a 1000w machine and this 800w model seems slow by comparison.
2. The clock is faulty, it loses time. In two weeks since i've had it, it's lost 10 miniutes. This is the 2nd machine I've had as the first one was replaced under warrenty for the same problem, also the light bulb blew out too.

faulty clock

1 comment
batchee
batchee

Mine does too, but there are plenty of clocks in a house

See all Sharp R240YS reviews

Questions & Answers

mark w.
mark w.asked

Is it possible to turn the beep off???

1 answer
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Mark, the been function on Sharp R240YS cannot be turned off or the volume cannot be reduced. Thank you

mark w.
mark w.asked

Is it possible to turn the beep off???

1 answer
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Mark, the been function on Sharp R240YS cannot be turned off or the volume cannot be reduced. Thank you

John Z
John Zasked

I bought the Sharp microwave model $240Y from Good Guys (Auburn NSW) in March 2018. But it doesn't work at all in May 2019. I tested many times but still doesn't work.

1 answer
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi John, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

See all Sharp R240YS questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP)179
Power800
Height262
Width457
Depth388
ManualDownload manual
  • MPN: R240YS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.