4 photos
Sharp R395YS / R395YBK
2.3 from 212 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Microwaves in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Sharp

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Janey
JaneyPort Macquarie
  • 2 reviews

Only lasted three years

published

It was bought in September 2016 and has just suddenly stopped working. It sounds and looks the same with all the lights & beeps but just not cooking anything. Three years just seems a pretty short life expectancy.

Purchased in September 2016 at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Janey, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

ravinder kumar
ravinder kumarSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great microwave till today

published

Hi i purchased this microwave on 30 July 2016 and it stop working today 22 July 2019 just less than 3 years. It was working great till today. This stop heating or cooking. This was a great microwave. Love it so far but not happy now. I think one year warranty ia not enough for this expensive product. I hope sharp can repair this at no cost please. Would love to buy again.

Purchased in July 2016 at 2nds World for $260.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Ravinder, we are concerned to hear of your experience with this product. We would encourage you to reach out to ccare@sharp.net.au, referencing your review to discuss this further with our Customer Care team.

ravinder kumar
ravinder kumar

Thanks sharp for repairing this product.great help and customer service

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Tony Q
Tony QSydney, NSW

Turntable stopped working and microwave no longer heating

published

Our Sharp microwave is just over 5 years old and has suddenly stopped working. Turntable stopped working and microwave no longer heating and display does not revert to "Cooling" at end of the selected timer period. The microwave played up a few weeks ago and was not working properly but after turning it off at the mains power plug and restarting it worked ok. Last night and again today we have turned off and unplugged the power plug and attempted to heat half a cup of water for 20 seconds then a further 50 seconds, the turntable did not rotate and the water remained tepid. Can it be repaired or will this cost almost as much as a new microwave?

Purchased in July 2012 for $234.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised Review No
Tony Q
Tony Q
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS / R395YBK compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Riju
RijuCanberra
  • 2 reviews

Really cool

published

Bought this from good guys in Fyshwick we were looking for a good new microwave and the technology used in the sharp modeling is inverter technology which aids in even cooking of the food say if you are cooking meat or rice it can cause even heating and good texture the colour and look of the model is also great

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Riju, Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We will pass this on to our product team.

Hayley
HayleyPENROSE
  • 4 reviews

Wonderful microwave!

published

Great microwave at this price point. Looks great with other black appliances.We are enjoying our new microwave. It seems to cook things to perfection.Excellent product! Easy to install and great features! Very attractive on my countertop! Would recommend to anyone in the market for a countertop microwave!It works well and functions as noted. We were very pleased with the purchase.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Hayley, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is always great to get feedback from customers. Have a good day!

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Jan S
Jan STraralgon East
  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great microwave

published

Love this microwave and use it all the time. Heats and cooks evenly..I also purchased one for each of my sons..highly recommend. It not only compliments my kitchen but works well to.. It is easy to clean and not to bulky. It was also a reasonable price. You won't be disappdisappointed.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Jan, thank you for the lovely feedback. We will pass it on to our product managers. Have a good day.

Skyej
Skyej
  • 5 reviews

Amaziing

published

This product is the best thing since sliced bread. i cannot believe how well this item works, i read the manual and it is one of the easiest microwaves out there to use. the price is great too i will deff keep buying this brand of appliance, just amazing :-)

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Skyej, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is always great to get feedback from customers. Have a good day!

Worked great until now

published

We bought this microwave 4-5 years ago and have been very happy with it until now.
Turned on microwave and there is white sparking coming from behind metal plate. I have read in previous posts this is arcing which seems to be a common problem. Now we are looking to replace our microwave as it seems very unsafe to use.

Date PurchasedJune 2013
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Renee
ReneeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellently

published

This microwave is durable, I have had mine for over 5 years now. The power of this microwave is stronger than others. I find I need minimal time to heat or cook anything, which is a blessing with a busy young family. I am very happy with mine. The model number may not be accurate but the description is correct.

Date PurchasedNov 2010
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Renee, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is always great to get feedback from customers. We hope you continue to enjoy using the microwave.

Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS / R395YBK compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lily
Lilysydney
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

good

published

bought it about a year ago to use in my little coffee shop, so far does a good job, no dramas at all. easy to clean and not making too much noise when heating things compared to the LG one l used at home. black stainless steel looks very stylish. a no regret buy

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Lily, That is great news! It is always great to get feedback from customers. We hope you continue to enjoy using the microwave. Cheers!

Julie
JulieMerrylands
  • 5 reviews

Slow wave

published

This micro wave is so slow just to start cooking and I don't think it speaks English or understands Aussie cooking. It is way to hot when it does eventually start. I don't think I haven't burnt any thing in it to date.. Maybe I need cooking lessons or they could come complimentary with the oven

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Julie, we are sorry to hear about your experience in regards to the product. If you could please send your contact details through to ccare@sharp.net.au, a member of our team can assist and troubleshoot for you.

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Julie
Julie

I am mistaken and you are right it is kmarts own brand I am so sorry.

Nick
Nick
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

So far so good

published

I bought this because I had owned a Sharp microwave that served my family well for over 15 years which was quite amazing. Having read some of the reviews for this model, I am a little nervous, but 2 weeks down and so far so good. It seems to cook food quicker (it's more powerful) and more evenly (it is an inverter model) which are both pluses. Given the other reviews I'll report back if anything goes wrong.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Nick, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Have a good day.

Duckers
Duckersmelbourne
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Lovely Stylish Microwave

published

I am delighted with this Sharp microwave. It absolutely suits the decor in my kitchen and looks head and shoulders better than any other model that I could see. It is finished in a stylish smoked stainless steel and has very simple, clearly laid out menus. It cooks quick as a flash, much faster than our old one due to the inverter system and I am still getting used to the correct timing. I am very pleased with it..

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear customer, Thank you for the wonderful feedback. It is always great to get feedback from customers. We hope you continue to enjoy using the microwave.

Babs
BabsSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Better luck next time

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Babs, we are sorry to hear about your experience and we will pass your feedback on to the relevant managers. Have a great day ahead!

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
MumOfBoys
MumOfBoysAdelaide
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

This is a 'cradle to the grave' brand for me

published

Grew up with an early version of Sharp Carousel (90s), the hubby owned one before we got married and then we used it for many years, and this recent purchase in the last few years, is even better with the Inverter. So happy with the even cooking, defrosting and reheating of things. Mainly use it for steaming vegetables, reheating dinners, defrosting meat, and occasionally nuking ice-cream for 8-seconds so it's a little bit melted. They have improved the button choices (or just updated with the times) but most food types are covered off that you'd want to put in the microwave.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Dear MumOfBoys, we are glad that you enjoy using the microwave. Thank you for being a loyal customer!

MumOfBoys
MumOfBoys
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R395YS / R395YBK compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Angie b
Angie basked
R395YS / R395YBK

I just used my microwave to heat a curry for less than 2 minutes, I removed the curry and then put in the pappadums and after about 10 seconds the microwave made a small explosion noise and lit up. I opened the door and there was a small amount of smoke coming from the metal plate on the right hand inside wall. I took my chances and let it cook for another 30 seconds and it worked but when I opened it again I saw black burn marks on the metal plate that I was speaking about where the smoke was coming from. I am too scared to use it again, what could it be.

2 answers
Peter V.
Peter V.

Much the same with mine. Smoke and black marks inside. I expected it to last more than a couple of years

Angie b
Angie b

I am presuming that you threw it out? I am so disappointed with it.

Muscat
Muscat asked
R395YS / R395YBK

Hi, my SHARP microwave beepsand marks END but the fan is still going. What should i do?

No answers
Lydell
Lydellasked
R395YS / R395YBK

can you please tell me where I can purchase a new waveguide for this model

No answers
See all Sharp R395YS / R395YBK questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Sharp R395YS / R395YBK

Details

Compare both Sharp R395YS / R395YBK
Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel)
  • Discontinued

Sharp R395YS (Stainless Steel)

2.2
(162)
CategoryMicrowavesMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $369.00$419.00
Type ConventionalConventional
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Inverter and Sensor CookingChild Safety Lock, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Dimensions 310 x 520 x 442 mm310 x 520 x 442 mm
Turntable Diameter320 mm329 mm
Power1,200 W1,200 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless SteelBlack Stainless Steel
Release dateSept 2011Jan 2012
Compare both Sharp R395YS / R395YBK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.