?
? !
1 photo
Sharp R995DST

Sharp R995DST (page 2 of 2)

MPNs: 36384593 and R995DST
2.8 from 37 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.6 (10)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.2 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (10)
Previous
Next
johno

johnoFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

dissapointing

published

Previous 2 Sharp micro/convector ovens preset buttons were perfect for Australia, This replacement has omitted jacket potato and has pumpkin risotto! and two settings for frozen chips (thick and thin cut), Did any one from Sharp Australia check this devise before selling it in Australia? Sharp phone and on line support very poor replies to request for help asked me to use preset buttons that are not available on this machine and also seemed unable to differentiate between English and sweet potato recipes. also convector oven button alters temperature in 20 degrees Celsius which means the most popular setting (150`) for cake baking is unobtainable. A very disappointing oven.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
6 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Johno, thank you for your review. We have spoken to our Customer Care team and they would like to clarify and assist you. Please send your contact details to ccare@sharp.net.au referencing this review.

johno
johno

6/6/18 I am still waiting for a response from sharp

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Johno, thank you for your patience. Due to limited personal data availability on this website, we were unable to confirm your contact details. Are you able to send your contact details via private message or through the email, ccare@sharp.net.au?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sharpless

sharplessGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Sharp R-995DST

published

I have always used the sharp Carousel Convection microwave for 25 years. finally had to replace it and was disappointed the model was no longer available. Bought the Sharp R-995DST expecting it to be the same or better.
Could not be more disappointed, infact I hate using it now.
Manual for use is hopeless, things I have cooked before do not come out anywhere near as good. Door mists up, control buttons are misleading.
I have emailed Sharp from their website and did not get any response. I felt that was very rude and showed poor customer relationship and as a business owner, it has not done the Sharp name any service at all
Looks like Sharp are going to lose a previously very happy user

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

New purchase

published

My last one was the SuperStream oven which was great for 6 years then died. My first Sharp microwave was the Carousel R-9450 purchased in 1984. It is still going strong but I needed a convection. Tested the microwave with the brownies from the recipe section. They did not turn out well - too dry. Not as easy to use as the Superstream was.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Lois, Thank you for your feedback. We will pass it on to our product team. Have a good day.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gina palumbo

Gina palumbo

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good for the price

published

Microwave is very powerful. I feel the settings are all quite similar and I have to over ride it, otherwise my defrosted food will start to cook. Unfortunately it doesn't seem to cook evenly as it is a newer model I would have hoped that function was improved. Its quite light weight so moves around in the cavity I've built for it

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Gina, Thank you for your purchase and review of the product. If you need any assistance in regards to the cooking feature, please feel free to email us your contacts details at ccare@sharp.net.au, or by phone on 1300 135 022.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hayley

HayleyPort Douglas

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

After my wall oven blowing up I replaced it with this convection microwave and just love it. I find it does everything I used my much larger wall oven for and only takes up a fraction of the space in my small kitchen. Can cook great pizzas, cakes, roasts, reheat etc. and it doesn't create too much heat. I only have a small family of 2 so size not an issue.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp

Hi Hayley, thank you for the feedback. We are glad that you love the microwave. Have a great week ahead!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jaspa

jaspaMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great and easy to use

published

Only had for a little while and i dont use it to much for cooking just to reheat and defrost but works really well and seems very quiet and sturdy. Had an older model sharp that lasted for a long time so wanted to get same brand as felt i could trust it and it hasn't let me down

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
JBS

JBSSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 17 likes

Works as it should

published

Easy to use setting and happy with the results. The Unit is sturdy and the door and hinges quite strong. Also, it is fairly easy to clean. Steamer to clean the microwave I feel is a bit of a gimmick, but overall I am satisfied with its performance. Noise wise it is no different than the Panasonic that I had previously.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pal

PalSydney

Very disappointed in the Sharp R995D Invertor Sensor microwave

published

We had the Sharp Carousel Convection microwave for 25 years similar to other posts I have read and found it great especially the multi cook and auto menus we used a lot. It finally died and we purchased the R995D on the strength of the old one but have found the Less and More buttons don't work on the auto menus and unable to adjust the cooking times. Also relied on the time display for the light on the old one but very difficult to see the new one. As a basic microwave its ok but for the expensive price tag we would have been better purchasing a cheaper model.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
2 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Pal
Pal

Its no feedback its a complaint, we might be better off cutting our losses on this one.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mike42

Mike42South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

New Purchase

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deanne K

Deanne KBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

LOVED IT UNTIL IT DIED JUST AFTER WARRANTY EXPIRED

published

Really loved my microwave, although the internal plate is a little hard to clean, I think it's the ceramic finish.
Been using all the time, was cooking a roast Sunday night and it stopped cooking, the turntable stopped and now even the microwave isn't working. Very disappointed as the warranty ran out in Oct 16th. Last Sharp microwave I had I gave away as it was too small for growing family, was still working after 15 years. Expected more longevity, as this isn't a cheap microwave.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
7 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Deanne K
Deanne K

Thank you I have submitted an email.
Cheers Deanne

Deanne K
Deanne K

Got a prompt reply from Sharp and have popped into their repairer. Fingers crossed.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
disappointed

disappointedMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Sharp Microwave Model No. R995DW Good Kitchen Aid

published

No automatic convection for roasts and no time guides per weight for manual setting, in the booklet. The fan is very noisy and cools for a long time. The trays which are great in them selves, do not cook the food if they are put in the microwave together. I have always had Sharp microwaves and have used them every day. I am reasonably happy with this model and it has some really good features. Great if you only have a small amount of baking to do.The microwave is lighter than the old one but it seems to be well built.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

It's ok

published

Purchases new model several months ago having had a sharp convection microwave for over 25 years. Quick question is the new microwave unit not sealed as if I leave food in to cool down I always end up with flies - how to they manage to get in there. Also manual that came with this microwave is very basic - previous microwave had quite an extensive manual and cookbook.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mick

MickInnisfail

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Update as old one died.

published

New model . First in about 30 years. Not as heavy as old model and has a few more features. This is perfect if you are looking for a lower power consumption than electric oven. Have used for only one month so haven't been able to try all functions. So far have had no problems understand controls and use everyday.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Unhappy Cindy

Unhappy CindyBelrose. NSW

Not as good as the old Model

published

After having our old Sharp Convection microwave till the screen with the buttons gave up.(which was so easy to use).My husband and I had no hesitation but to get a new Sharp Convection microwave, but no it is not the same and the instruction book is hard to understand.
The old microwave had a automatic convection button for leg of lamb, but the new no, I have to guess the cooking and feed in manually. The most annoying of the changes is the elimination of the roast dinner menu, and no menu for roast leg of Lamb. Doing a balance mixed power of convection/microwave to produce a roast is not what we wanted.
This is a very expensive machine, Very disappointed.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

It lasted 1 month!

published

This microwave was pretty good when it worked for a whole month.
Then it took more than a month for parts and to have it fixed, then when i picked it up it was damaged.
I agree with a previous comment about the turntable being very slippery.
The convection oven didn't cook cakes evenly and took nearly double the time on the recipes.

I was trying to save money when my regular oven broke by buying this instead of replacing it, Should have spent the extra a purchased the smeg.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Sharp R995DST compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Linda

LindaTHIRLMERE

I'm in love with my Sharp R995DST Microwave

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeep

JeepSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

What a let down

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
7 comments
Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Jeep
Jeep

Sent the details. What about a response!

Sharp
Sharp A.Sharp
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 2 of 2
See all Sharp R995DST reviews

Questions & Answers

Cara

Caraasked

We got our sharp microwave oven 3 months short of two years ago. Just switched it on today and it caused one of the household fuses to blow. Now when we try to use the microwave it doesn't heat and the carousel doesn't rotate, but the fan goes and the countdown goes.

Any ideas what could have caused it and whether it's fixable?

1 answer
David Mauger
David Mauger

It is definitely fixable. Contact SHARP Australia.

Terry H

Terry Hasked

I have a sharpe convention microwave ( brought it on Dec 2019 ) and when doing rice it fogs up and even the clock area fogs up , it takes 4-5 hrs for the fog to disappear . Why is this or is it a problem with the microwave

2 answers
David Mauger
David Mauger

It is definitely an issue with the Unit.

Terry H
Terry H

Thanks I have taken it to a sharpe serviceman and I will see what he comes up with .

Val M.

Val M.asked

How can I cook for 25 seconds on microwave.

1 answer
David Mauger
David Mauger

You're kidding, yes?
I mean REALLY?
Maybe If you're actually capable, try Setting for 30 seconds and press Stop/Cancel with 5 seconds remaining.

See all Sharp R995DST questions

Get an answer from our members and Sharp representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $1,249.00
Type Convection
FeaturesChild Safety Lock, Grill Function, Inverter and Sensor Cooking
Dimensions 368 x 550 x 537 mm
Turntable Diameter362 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Power1,000 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36384593 and R995DST
  • GTIN13: 4974019884981

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.